Spencer Country Inn
500 Main St
Spencer, MA 01562  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (13)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Beautiful venue. Loved everything about it! All employees were wonderful and very helpful!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spencer Country Inn was a great ally with us throughout the planning process -- from explaining their policies and procedures to the professionalism and care of the waitstaff on the day of the event. Working with them was a joy and we work with them again if the opportunity were to arise.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The two women who run and organize the banquet section were extreamly helpful, organized, and gave us ideas of how to stay within our budget. All of our guests said that the food was excelent!
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything at the Inn was amazing. Although the staff cleared the plates a little to quickly but over all everything was wonderful!
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were able to have the wedding of our dreams because of all the staff at the Spencer Country Inn! All our requests were granted, the service was wonderful, the staff helpful and courteous, the food was spectacular, our vision of our decoration items placed in the perfect locations throughout the hall & it was in a wonderful country facility to host our family wedding! The accommodations were perfect and brunch the following morning was fantastic! We are so pleased with everything that we cannot wait to have another meal, event, or overnight stay there!

Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Spencer Country Inn was the best wedding vendor we could have asked for. Their prices were the single most reasonable ones we found in the county. (Leicester Country Club was a close second). But, more than that, they were professional, helpful, patient, and put on a fabulous event. Our families were very approving and very impressed. The venue is very quintessential New England. We utilized the venue for the ceremony and the reception. We did the ceremony in front of the beautiful, lit fireplace. We had cocktail hour held in the Hog's Head Tavern downstairs, a great location for people to relax and socialize. The banquet hall was decorated for the holidays with decorated Christmas trees, garland/lights around the fireplace mantle, etc. They were very flexible and were willing to even take down the trees if we preferred not to have them. We kept them though - it was a plus to save money on decorations as they had so many seasonal decorations up that fit our winter wedding theme. The servers were very quick and efficient, clearing out plates and putting down courses very quickly. They took care of breakdown entirely. And, for the guests who wanted to stay on after the event, they opened up a special side room for them to continue conversing after we left. The inn also had room rates that were INCREDIBLY reasonable for our guests to stay overnight. All of the overnight guests who came for the wedding also could get brunch for half price the next day (bride and groom are free for the bridal suite and brunch the following morning if they decide to take advantage of it- the room they offer is beautiful, complete with it's own bathroom with an oversized tub and stand alone shower, pedestal sink, etc).

Definitely recommend!
Wedding: 12/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great place! Everyone loved the food and service was great! Beautiful venue
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This was a beautiful venue with great food. It was sooo much cheaper than all the other venues we looked at because they all charged fees for renting the room, at the inn, they just charged us for catering and putting the chair covers and sashes up. The blue room was offered to me and the groom for free and there was an amazing breakfast buffet the next morning. I definitely recommend it.
Wedding: 08/13/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding was perfect, and the prices are very reasonable!
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
NOTE: THIS WAS JUST MY RECEPTION VENUE. WAS MARRIED AT A NEARBY CHURCH.

The Spencer Country Inn was great. Phyllis & Louise take you through the planning like its a walk through the park. Always with an eye to your experience, your wishes, etc. I had a few different ideas for them, which they took in stride for the most part, though there was one snafu that was quickly figured out. It was like coming home for my reception, and when I looked up at the ceiling at night, saw the shadows from the dance floor dancing on the rafters it was such a magical night.
Wedding: 11/13/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I enjoyed having my reception at the Spencer Country Inn. They were professional and enjoyable to work with. My only comment would be the cost. Although affordable, and much cheaper than surrounding venues, they could have added more perks to their packages for the money you spend.
Wedding: 10/23/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When my fiance and I were looking for a reception site, we fell in love with the Spencer Country Inn. It was everything we were looking for; it had the old country charm, delicious food at the right price and great service.

The food is fantastic and Phyllis (the owner) does not up-charge for weddings. If the chicken marsala is $14.95 on the dinner menu, it is $14.95 on the wedding menu also. In addition, she does not charge a fee to use the facility. Other places we looked charged $4,000 or more to use the facility and that got you nothing, but access to the grounds. NOT the Spencer Country Inn...you pay for your food. She has owned it since 1981 and her exact words were "when I got married, I did not think it was fair that I had to pay a rental fee, so I don't want to do that to my brides."

Phyllis catered to all of my requests and executed them perfectly. (I literally had 2 pages of requests.) The food was delicious and the atmosphere was wonderful. People could not stop talking about how delicious it was. I can not speak highly enough of both Phyllis and her assistant (Louisse). Even if you're just going there for dinner it is fantastic. The brunch on Sunday is only $10.95 and it is phenomenal. (I questioned it because it was so "cheap", but it was amazing!)

Check it out...it's worth it!

Don't expect the rooms to be anything spectacular if you stay over...it's an old Inn and it "is what it is", but for $50 for the night after an open bar...can't lose!!
Wedding: 09/26/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
The venue was great, duw to the design of the reception hall the seating plan and table set up could be however I wanted it to be. It had a very nice feel and went well with any theme. The bar was easily accesiable but was off to the side, so it didn't detract from anything.
Wedding: 07/29/2006
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths
 508-885-9036
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0