Emerson Inn By The Sea

Emerson Inn By The Sea

Favorite
Rockport, MA
 
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service
5.0
Responsiveness
4.9
Professionalism
5.0
Value
4.7
Flexibility
4.8
Profile Picture
Lettie
4 Reviews
11/08/2014
5.0

All the stuff at the Emerson In by the sea were so accommodating and flexible for our last minute wedding. Since the first call they responded and we were able to have our special day there.
We can't thank them enough for their help.
BTW: The rooms are beautiful. The restaurant: a 5 star. The grounds GORGEOUS..!!!
Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Mr. & Mrs. Glass

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
David
2 Reviews
11/01/2014
5.0

Beautiful venue: wonderful location, elegant and understated setting - just right. My daughter's extensive contacts with Melissa before the event were very positive, the staff were all friendly and highly professional. The wedding reception could not have gone better. Very much recommended.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

The Emerson Inn by the Sea is an amazing place to get married! The picturesque views of the Atlantic Ocean and rocky shores, the classic quaint New England charm of the Inn, the exceptional service from every employee... this place has it all! We could not have imagined a better venue for our wedding.

From the moment we first contacted the inn to inquire about wedding services, we knew we had found a special place. Laura Abraham Long, the Event Sales Manager, was a pleasure to work with. She gave us a great tour of the inn, answered all of our questions, and was in constant communication with us during the contract negotiation period. She made the whole process very easy and very painless.

Melissa Hobbs, the Wedding Coordinator, is equally as fabulous. We owe so much to her and could not have pulled off the wedding of our dreams without her guidance and support. She is exceptionally talented, and goes so far above and beyond to make your wedding day special. She was always available to answer questions and worked very closely with us to make sure we had everything thought through and taken care of. She was consistently pleasant to deal with and always seemed to be calm (this is a great quality for a stressed out bride and groom!). She coordinated every aspect of the wedding and kept everything running smoothly on the day of.

The inn is situated on a large lawn that is well kept and has beautiful flowers arranged around the perimeter. It was so beautiful that additional décor for the wedding ceremony was not even necessary. The chef puts the same effort into the food for the wedding serving 120 people as he does when he crafts the individual meals he serves during the normal restaurant hours. Do yourself a favor and try the crab cakes, they are amazing.

We cannot say enough good things about the Emerson Inn by The Sea. It is one of the most beautiful venues in the entire North Shore and should definitely be on your list of places to visit!

Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Wedding Planning
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Rob
1 Review
09/06/2014
4.8

The Emerson staff demonstrated exemplary planning and catering for our wedding, and extreme flexibility in the face of adversity. My husband and I had a small wedding of only 22 guests, but the Emerson staff, led by Melissa Hobbs, provided us with housing, a guest breakfast in the Grand Cafe, a cocktail hour, a wedding scheduled for the lawn, and a dinner in the Ocean Terrace Room. Melissa helped us connect with vendors from across the region, and when a major storm forced our ceremony indoors and briefly knocked out the power, the Emerson team was still able to relocate us quickly, keep the dinner on schedule, and create a memorable event for all our friends and family! Our only concern was the temperature of some of the rooms -- it was a little warm -- but given the quality of of everything else the Emerson provided, who could really complain?

Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Planning
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Bethany
2 Reviews
07/26/2014
4.8

Our wedding at the Emerson Inn was wonderful! Melissa, the wedding coordinator, was so helpful! She was organized, helpful in decision making and letting us know what to expect and always so calm!! Among other things she worked with us to find ways of setting up the dining room that were different from the usual set ups and it came out perfectly!

The rooms used for the wedding are elegant and the views of the ocean are the real draw of this place. Also, my guests appreciated being to sit outside at tables on the porch and relax after dinner. We did use the small dance floor but most guests were relieved to be able to chat and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and not feel pressured to dance.

We really liked the option of having stations for dinner rather than buffet or table serving. All the food I tried was delicious and I heard many positive remarks about the food from my guests as well.

The staff I interacted with were all very nice and professional. The grounds of the Emerson are beautiful and we took some of our professional photos there.

One thing to know if you are looking at the Emerson is that the cheaper option of having your wedding from 12-5pm, as well as the fact that the reception area must transition from a restaurant to the reception dining area in an hour makes set up and getting ready for the wedding, as well as lighting for photography, a little tricky. But we worked it out and we don't regret that choice at all!

My parents did end up spending more than they planned when all the taxes and fees and things we're added in but I guess that is normal. I recommend you ask about fees and taxes and any other charges when you make your initial inquiry to avoid this.

Emerson Inn by the Sea is gorgeous, romantic, peaceful and was perfect for our wedding! Thanks to Melissa and her staff for making our day so wonderful!

Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

The staff at the Emerson Inn were fabulous!!! They made our wedding day very special. They were very professional and and went out of there way to make sure everything went off without a hitch. The food was delicous and the view... just amazing! Our guest were delighted!!!

I would reccomend the Emerson Inn to anyone who was planning a party of any type.

Services Used: Officiant, Wedding Cake
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Chelsea
1 Review
05/31/2014
4.9

Emerson Inn was a fantastic venue for our wedding! The views are incredible, the staff is extremely friendly, and for an 150 year old building the rooms are very accommodating. We found the Emerson after our original venue foreclosed and we had a short time frame to find a new venue. They were very accommodating to our needs and it ended up being a blessing in disguise! The only reason we didn't give all 5's is because we were having too much fun at the wedding and didn't want our music to end at 10 p.m. State law said otherwise so we had no choice. People are still talking about the wedding and how much fun they had. One of the comments that we heard the most was that people couldn't believe what a beautiful venue it was. The food was fantastic, the attention to detail was great, and this was by far the best wedding we could have had!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
2+ years ago
5.0

The setting can't be beat. The special events coordinator was so easy to work with and worked well with all the vendors. The result: a flawless wedding.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Lesley
2 Reviews
07/14/2013
4.8

I am writing this review for both the Emerson Inn and the best wedding coordinator ever- Melissa Hobbs! We had the wedding of our dreams at the Emerson Inn and staying there was a wonderful experience as well. Everything about our wedding was top-notch- the food, the venue, the view, etc. Melissa was absolutely wonderful every step of the way- there was no question too stupid, no email she wouldn't respond to, even when she was very busy she made us feel like we were her only engaged couple getting married. Her suggestions about the wedding were invaluable....she recommended our wonderful justice of the peace, Rick Perry Jr. of www.gloucesterweddings.com, and his son, Jon Perry for the sound. She even recommended our DJ- John Dudley, who was excellent. She was great when my dad had a lot of questions about the wedding contract- her patience was amazing! The wedding itself was perfect, the only reason I put four stars on flexibility was because they only do weddings from 12-5pm, and I felt another 1-2 hours of dancing would have been great. But it was hot and dancing in my dress was hard, so I guess all good things come to an end! They also have sound ordinances, which our DJ had to adhere to, but I felt the music was loud enough. I can't say enough about Melissa and the Emerson Inn- the housekeeping staff even left us a note with well wishes, which we thought was so sweet! We had 120 people, which is a large wedding for this vendor (the max is 150), and our guests were able to enjoy the gorgeous indoors and outdoors. Thanks Melissa and Emerson Inn for the best day of our lives!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

We cannot appreciate Melissa more for helping us to set up our wedding!! My wife and I had only one month to prepare everything of our wedding. Melissa use her professional server and knowledgable advices made us stress less. The wedding was a big success and we will definitely go back to Emerson Inn By the Sea for our anniversary. I still can remember the beautiful ocean view and the delicious food there!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
2+ years ago
4.6

The Emerson Inn by the Sea is an absolutely beautiful venue for a wedding! We had the ceremony and cocktail hour on the lawn with dinner in the downstair room - it was perfect!! Our guests raved about everything from the beautiful landscaping and view to the delicious hors d'oeuvres and fabulous dinner.

Right from the initial visit, our wedding coordinator Melissa was great - very helpful, professional and friendly. This was the second marriage for both of us and we decided on a small inimate affair. Even though we had only 22 people, Melissa treated us with respect and made many helpful suggestions. She said they strive to make all weddings, big or small, special - and they suceeded 10 fold with ours!

So, if you're looking for a gorgeous seaside setting, delicious food, friendly, helpful staff for your wedding go to Emerson Inn by the Sea in Rockport - well worth every penny!!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Jack
1 Review
06/21/2013
5.0

My event was a rehearsal dinner. Everything was perfect. Started with a reception hour for guests before dinner. Had a wonderful hors d'oeuvres and full bar. Champagne for toasts was individually served. Food was cooked to perfection.

Services Used: Wedding Planning
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

Our entire experience at the Emerson Inn was perfect! Melissa Hobbs was knowledgeable, organized and extremely flexible. Her organization seemed effortless. The planning process was not stressful at all because she was on top of everything. Every detail of the day was worked out and our guests loved the setting. I can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

The wedding hospitality provided by everyone at The Emerson Inn By the Sea was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!! From the moment we were greeted by the Front Office, things were terrific. The rooms were clean, and ready well before the standard check-in time. We were never left without coffee, tea or extra cookies. The wait staff at breakfast was most delightful. The entire place was beautiful.

The teams working the wedding, reception and dinner service were phenomenal. The ceremony was spectacular. The view was stunning and everyone was able to hear. The bar service was just as planned. The appetizers were a huge hit. The way the guests were gobbling them down, I'm surprised there were any left for the married couple after we finished all the pictures. But someone had the foresight to keep a few stashed away. Much appreciated.

Dinner and the wait-service was top-notch. The food was as good as I remember from our previous visit. Brian and his team deserve special recognition. The food was prepared perfectly and our guests haven't stopped talking about it.

Melissa was the perfect person to work with through the entire process. From the first time we met, I knew it would be a pleasure working with her. She is absolutely wonderful and has a very unique and calming way to work through issues when the couple get a bit stressed. But it's also obvious she has the support of the rest of the "Inn". With all of them working together, the wedding went off without a hitch. Not even one of our guests has made a single comment on something that could've been better. That's an amazing feat! PERFECTION!!!

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Laurie
8 Reviews
01/12/2013
5.0

We got married at the Cruiseport in Gloucester on 1/12/13. Most of Gloucester is seasonal so it was difficult finding a hotel for our guests afterwards. We looked at several hotels in the area and came across Emerson Inn By the Sea. It was beautiful and right on the water. It had a wonderful feel and great character. We had spoke with Melissa Hobbs and had asked her if the inn would be available for January for our wedding guests. She had said that they close a portion of the inn during the winter months, but would open it to guests as needed. It turned out that we ended up renting almost the whole hotel. Both the hotel and staff were GREAT! After the wedding they let us use the lobby for all of our guests to continue our amazing night. It was a great time for people to kick back and relax, chat, and have snacks. We all stayed down there until about 3am! We also had a brunch the next day for all of our guests in the main dining area. It had everthing from cereals to omelet stations. The food was delicious! We couldnt be happier for choosing Emerson Inn by the Sea. We would highly recommend it!
Nick and Laurie

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Louise
1 Review
11/03/2012
5.0

It was a great experience to have the wedding and post wedding events here. The venue is beautiful and the food was fabulous. Service by all was fantastic. Melissa was a pleasure to work with.

Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes