Emerson Inn By The Sea
Where "Happily Ever After" Begins...
    34 Reviews
One Cathedral Avenue
Rockport, MA 01966  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 225
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (34)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the Emerson Inn were fabulous!!! They made our wedding day very special. They were very professional and and went out of there way to make sure everything went off without a hitch. The food was delicous and the view... just amazing! Our guest were delighted!!!

I would reccomend the Emerson Inn to anyone who was planning a party of any type.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The setting can't be beat. The special events coordinator was so easy to work with and worked well with all the vendors. The result: a flawless wedding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We cannot appreciate Melissa more for helping us to set up our wedding!! My wife and I had only one month to prepare everything of our wedding. Melissa use her professional server and knowledgable advices made us stress less. The wedding was a big success and we will definitely go back to Emerson Inn By the Sea for our anniversary. I still can remember the beautiful ocean view and the delicious food there!
Wedding: 06/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jack 1 Reviews
My event was a rehearsal dinner. Everything was perfect. Started with a reception hour for guests before dinner. Had a wonderful hors d'oeuvres and full bar. Champagne for toasts was individually served. Food was cooked to perfection.
Wedding: 06/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our entire experience at the Emerson Inn was perfect! Melissa Hobbs was knowledgeable, organized and extremely flexible. Her organization seemed effortless. The planning process was not stressful at all because she was on top of everything. Every detail of the day was worked out and our guests loved the setting. I can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else!
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The wedding hospitality provided by everyone at The Emerson Inn By the Sea was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!! From the moment we were greeted by the Front Office, things were terrific. The rooms were clean, and ready well before the standard check-in time. We were never left without coffee, tea or extra cookies. The wait staff at breakfast was most delightful. The entire place was beautiful.

The teams working the wedding, reception and dinner service were phenomenal. The ceremony was spectacular. The view was stunning and everyone was able to hear. The bar service was just as planned. The appetizers were a huge hit. The way the guests were gobbling them down, I'm surprised there were any left for the married couple after we finished all the pictures. But someone had the foresight to keep a few stashed away. Much appreciated.

Dinner and the wait-service was top-notch. The food was as good as I remember from our previous visit. Brian and his team deserve special recognition. The food was prepared perfectly and our guests haven't stopped talking about it.

Melissa was the perfect person to work with through the entire process. From the first time we met, I knew it would be a pleasure working with her. She is absolutely wonderful and has a very unique and calming way to work through issues when the couple get a bit stressed. But it's also obvious she has the support of the rest of the "Inn". With all of them working together, the wedding went off without a hitch. Not even one of our guests has made a single comment on something that could've been better. That's an amazing feat! PERFECTION!!!
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laurie 8 Reviews
We got married at the Cruiseport in Gloucester on 1/12/13. Most of Gloucester is seasonal so it was difficult finding a hotel for our guests afterwards. We looked at several hotels in the area and came across Emerson Inn By the Sea. It was beautiful and right on the water. It had a wonderful feel and great character. We had spoke with Melissa Hobbs and had asked her if the inn would be available for January for our wedding guests. She had said that they close a portion of the inn during the winter months, but would open it to guests as needed. It turned out that we ended up renting almost the whole hotel. Both the hotel and staff were GREAT! After the wedding they let us use the lobby for all of our guests to continue our amazing night. It was a great time for people to kick back and relax, chat, and have snacks. We all stayed down there until about 3am! We also had a brunch the next day for all of our guests in the main dining area. It had everthing from cereals to omelet stations. The food was delicious! We couldnt be happier for choosing Emerson Inn by the Sea. We would highly recommend it!
Nick and Laurie
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Louise 1 Reviews
It was a great experience to have the wedding and post wedding events here. The venue is beautiful and the food was fabulous. Service by all was fantastic. Melissa was a pleasure to work with.
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our major goal was to find a location for an oceanfront ceremony in New England with an appropriate alternative in case the sun didn't choose to shine on us. In the Emerson Inn, we found that and so, so much more! The grounds, the veranda, the parlor and the restaurant were exclusively ours from 12-5 and each flowed into the other to create a perfect atmosphere. I cannot say enough about every member of the staff, from Wonderwoman herself Melissa Hobbs to Carol and all of the staff we encountered at the Front Desk and all of the servers and the grounds crew who paid exquisite attention to every detail.
Wedding: 05/06/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Oh my gosh, where to start! Having our wedding ceremony at the Emerson by the Sea was the best decision we ever made. We originally decided upon having our ceremony on the back lawn overlooking the water but, due to weather were forced to have the ceremony in the parlor, which turned out better than we could have ever imagined. The staff at the Emerson have hosted literally hundreds of wedding ceremonies and have things down to a science. The Emerson's event/wedding coordinator Melissa Hobbs was instrumental in making our day all the more special. Melissa thought of every little detail (even things we had not thought of), made suggestions along the way that we incorporated into the ceremony, helped keep the event flowing naturally, and just fit in with everyone like she was part of the family. We love you Melissa! All of our wedding guests cannot stop talking about how much fun they loved the Emerson and its history and the quaint little New England fishing town of Rockport. The town truly looks like a picture from a post card. Many of our guests are planning to return to Rockport for their own personal vacations . Overall we would highly recommend that any choose the Emerson by the Sea to host their wedding ceremony or special event, you will not regret it!
Wedding: 10/29/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
While we were planning my daughter's wedding my husband had health problems. Melissa Hobbs, the wedding coordinator, was absolutely essential to our plans. She helped us every step of the way, at a time when I was not totally functioning. Everything was absolutely perfect. The venue was beautiful. Leigh was married outdoors and we overlooked the ocean, had drinks on the porch, dinner in the dining room, and the band in the parlor. I can honestly say, there was not one glitch on that day. My husband and I will remember this day forever.
Wedding: 08/13/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melissa Hobbs and her staff provided a beautiful bridal tea for us. She worked with us on menus, pricing, setting etc. Coming to The Emerson, our guests were enthralled by the beauty of Rockport and after the personal touches of the event, they walked away with smiles on their faces.
Many thanks to Melissa. If you are in the area, you MUST visit.

Chris Dohoney, San Antonio, Texas
Wedding: 07/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We envisioned a small, elegant and romantic wedding by the sea. The Emerson turned out to be the perfect venue for this. From our ceremony overlooking the ocean to the cocktail hour on the veranda and the following first-rate dinner, everything exceeded our expectations. The staff, particularly Melissa Hobbs, the Event Coordinator, did a wonderful job of looking after all the details for us. The entire event went off without a hitch so we and our guests could really enjoy the occasion. We have memories for a lifetime in part due to this fantastic location, the outstanding service, and the friendly and helpful people.
Wedding: 07/15/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Emerson Inn By the Sea was the perfect venue for my daughter's wedding and reception. The groom and his family had never experienced New England as they are from the west coast. Rockport was the perfect place to highlight how special NE is and the Emerson Inn By The Sea was the perfect location. From the time our daughter became engaged until the wedding date it was only eight short months. Melissa Hobbs, the Event Planner at the Emerson Inn, was the perfect person to help us through this process. She had wonderful suggestions and was always very responsive to any questions we put to her. The Clam Bake dinner we had for our guests was very well prepared and the staff was terrific. Only regret is that I only have one daughter and can't plan another wedding. Almost one year later those guests that attended the ceremony and reception are still talking about what a wonderful experience we all had. Everyone was amazed when the dozen or so sailboats sailed by just as the vows were completed. I don't know if Melissa was responsible for that perfect moment but I do know that she and the staff at the Inn were responsible for all the other perfect moments. I continue to recommend the Emerson Inn By The Sea in Rockport, MA as the place to have a wedding or any other special occasion. The entire experience was wonderful.
Wedding: 08/22/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Emerson Inn by the Sea was the perfect place for our wedding. Everyone at the Inn was extremely helpful and friendly. The wedding coordinator, Melissa, is wonderful to work with and very kind. The whole experience of planning our wedding was pretty stress free and a lot of fun. We chose the lobster/clam bake for our wedding meal. Our guests loved the food and everyone had a lot of fun. The location of the Inn is absolutely perfect, too. You can't ask for a more beautiful place!
Wedding: 08/08/2009
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The only thing the Emerson could not provide was perfect weather - we had a foggy, cold day in June - but the venue was gorgeous and full of character and the folks at the Emerson squeezed everyone inside with no fuss at all. (We had a few more guests than they usually accommodate, but we were able to forgo dancing to fit a few more people, which was fine since it was a lunchtime affair.) We were able to have the ceremony outside, and it was beautiful with the misty sea behind us. The food was delicious and all of our guests seemed to have a great time. I loved that everything we needed was right there, and there were no ridiculous fees. They even let me have a few friends stay in my room the night before, and cleaned it up for me and my husband to stay in after the wedding.
Wedding: 06/28/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 800-964-5550
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0