Woodlawn Farm Reviews

7 | Ridge, MD
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for Woodlawn Farm

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

7

5 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Ashlee · Getting married on 11/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning historic farm in southern MD

    Although we ultimately did not host our wedding at Woodlawn, we absolutely loved the venue. Woodlawn is stunningly beautiful and the owner is a pleasure to work with. It is so nice to see a venue with flexible policies, so willing to accommodate couples. Woodlawn is a rare find and anyone would be lucky to have a wedding there!

    Sent on 04/16/2020
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Country Venue!

    This venue was so breathtaking that we knew it was the place we wanted the minute we arrived! The farmhouse and cottages were beautiful and excellent accommodations for the wedding party. The barn was beautifully decorated with string lights and the porch was a great hangout place during the reception. Jim and Maggie were the best hosts and made sure every detail was covered for us. You will be extremely satisfied if you choose this venue, and the view of the water was amazing!!

    Sent on 04/30/2019
  • L

    LaRane · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful Venue!

    Beautiful property, flexible and responsive owner, awesome bar tenders (We had nearly 180 people and there was almost never a line). Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/13/2018
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at Woodlawn Farm. When we had started looking for wedding venues, Woodlawn Farm was one of the last we were to be visiting. The venue was so far from where all of our guests live, so we were secretly hoping that we would hate it when we visited. But we were immediately blown away by Woodlawn’s beauty, seclusion, and unique-ness. We liked the venue so much that we decided to wait a full year and half until one of their next available weekends. And it was certainly worth the wait! Throughout the process, Woodlawn Farm owner, Jim Grube, was extremely responsive and professional. I always felt like I had a ton of questions, but Jim answered them all gracefully, respectfully, and kindly. We felt immense support from Jim as he worked to ensure that we had a perfect wedding weekend. Aside from the venue’s beauty, we loved the aspect that we could have the entire venue for ourselves the whole wedding weekend. We and our bridal party stayed onsite within Woodlawn’s accommodations. We got to enjoy the beautiful grounds and the water of the Calvert Creek. Despite a lot of rain, our wedding say was absolutely perfect, in large part thanks to Woodlawn Farm!

    Sent on 06/14/2018
  • A

    Ali · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I went to college at St. Mary's, so when I started planning my wedding the first place I thought of was Woodlawn. The property is so beautiful and well-maintained we really didn't have to add and decorations. The reception barn was newly finished when we had our wedding there and it was a great space. We rented the whole property from Thursday to Sunday, which meant our families could stay on-site and it made for such a perfect and relaxed weekend. I can't say enough about Jim Grube and how helpful and accommodating he was through the entire process. His recommendations helped us find a fantastic day-of coordinator (Shawn Gray at TreBella events), a great local florist, and some beautiful rental houses nearby for our extended family and friends. Jim made the whole process feel less like a "business transaction" and more like a friend or family member that was pitching in to help make the wedding memorable. We received so many compliments from our guests on the venue and I can't thank Jim, Maggie, Tucker, and the Woodlawn staff enough for helping create an unforgettable weekend for my family.

    Sent on 11/25/2015
  • E

    Emilie · Married on 08/01/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of my favorite places on Earth! In search of a waterfront inn for our wedding seven years ago, we came across Woodlawn Farm on a bed and breakfast website. We called Jim Grube, the owner and wedding coordinator, to schedule a meeting and the rest is history. It is hard not to fall in love with the beauty of the location and the hospitality of such wonderful people.

    We got married at Woodlawn seven years ago yesterday. The wedding was everything I had every dreamed of. Jim, his staff and our vendors were wonderful! Although it was a hot day in August, our guests still rave about how much fun our wedding was. Our immediate family stayed at Woodlawn in the beautifully decorated rooms and cottages. The breakfast on both Saturday and Sunday were prepared in the beautiful kitchen overlooking the sparkling Calvert Creek.

    We have returned to Woodlawn several times since our wedding. Each time we visit, we fall more in love with the inn and the lovely owners. Jim, Maggie and family have most recently included the addition of their delicious wine from Slack Winery. During our last two visits, we've enjoyed wine and music on the lawn at Woodlawn. It is simply a wonderfully relaxing way to spend a Sunday afternoon. Our most recent visit was one of our favorites. We were treated like family by Jim and Maggie.

    Please consider this beautiful, scenic inn for your upcoming wedding or for a relaxing Sunday picnic by the water. Simply lovely!

    Sent on 08/02/2016
  • J

    Jessalyn Walters · Married on 11/05/2019

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Serene wedding weekend escape

    We had a wonderful experience working alongside Jim Grube at Woodlawn Estate.
    Jim and his staff were professional and easily accommodated our wedding day wishes. We had a few special requests of Jim, including making a few adjustments to the historic property to become accessible for a handicapped grandmother, and an autistic brother. Jim was more than happy to provide a ramp into the manor house, as well as a place for quiet respite, if needed. It was wonderful to be able to include all of our family on our special day! Furthermore, we requested to host a scotch and cigar bar in addition to our main bar, and Jim was happy to acquiesce to that request.
    The estate itself was a tranquil escape from our year of wedding planning. Couples have full access to the estate beginning at noon on Friday, through 11am Sunday. The absence of time restrictions was liberating, and further aided in our relaxing weekend. An added bonus to full weekend access, are the on -site accommodations. The estate sleeps up to 16 people, and we used this to our advantage by having the majority of our bridal party stay with us on site. It was wonderful to have them all close at hand! We loved the ability to stay in the c.1634 Trinity Manor House, and loved waking up to serene Calvert Creek each morning.
    All in all, our wedding day at Woodlawn Estate was everything we could have asked for! The only worry on our day was the threat of rain, and Jim's staff was ready to spring into action at my word, should we have needed to go to 'Rain Plan B' or even 'Rain Plan C'. In the end, the rain held, and we were able to enjoy the most beautiful day on this historic Maryland property.

    Sent on 05/14/2019