Patina Events at Brooklyn Botanic Garden Reviews

39 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for Patina Events at Brooklyn Botanic Garden

Recommended by 90%

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.4
Sort by:
  • Megan

    Megan Myers · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Venue + Premiere Service

    The wedding/events team at Brooklyn Botanic Garden (Patina) is spectacular! Victoria was our lead planner and she was organized, attentive, and professional. Throughout the planning process she rolled with the punches, accommodated our every request, and delivered above and beyond our expectations. When we walked into our bridal suite there was an unexpected huge bucket of champagne on ice - what a beautiful touch! Also, the day of, we had someone assigned to just us for food, drink, unpacking, packing up, etc. which meant we literally had nothing to worry about logistically except getting married and having a wonderful time with our guests. As for the overall guest experience, they knocked it OUT OF THE PARK! The food at cocktail hour and dinner was delicious. The waitstaff was attentive, the course roll-out was on time and on point, and the beverage selection across wine, liquor, beer was plentiful and diverse. Truly every detail was perfectly executed, organized, and seamless. Our wedding was already three weeks ago and we still have friends and family telling us how magnificent the wedding was and that was wholly due to the flawless event Patina orchestrated and executed!

    Sent on 06/19/2019
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional, polished, beautiful venue, amazing food

    We had a great time working with Patina. They are pricey, but we saved a lot by getting married on a Sunday night. We worked primarily with Emily at first, and then worked closely with Sophia. Both were totally professional and polished and easy to work with. They were responsive (often late at night) and tried to accommodate our needs as best as they could (at times, because the venue is a non-profit organization and a museum open to the public, things were out of their hands).

    The venue itself is gorgeous and felt so magical on the day of our wedding. It ultimately was too cold to have the wedding outside (late October), but we didn't mind at all -- the glassed-in atrium was beautiful and airy for the ceremony, and having our cocktail hour in the Steinhardt Conservatory, where our guests could go explore the different plant rooms was so unique and such a big hit. The Palm House was again beautiful for the reception -- much more modern than your typical reception hall (warm lighting and that beautiful chandelier, which looks amazing in photos)

    And of course, the food was amazing. At first we were nervous about booking a venue with an in-house caterer because we really wanted modern, restaurant-quality food (we hate tired, old-fashioned wedding food that you often get from in-house caterers). The food was delicious from beginning to end, and full of unexpected surprises and modern touches. Everyone loved our New York appetizing station (complete with bagel wall) and Italian antipasto spread for cocktail hour. The hors d'oeuvres were chic and delicious. And finally, the CAKE!!! Wedding cake is normally so blah. This cake (devil's food with salted caramel mousse) was unbelievable. We felt like we really lucked out with it being included in the package.

    Overall, Patina was great to work with and we couldn't imagine a more beautiful space than the Brooklyn Botanic Garden.

    Sent on 01/13/2019
  • M

    Mindy · Married on 09/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding of my dreams! I've always wanted to get married at this venue and Victoria and her team made it possible. They were attentive to all the details. I had so many changes last minute and they accommodated to all of it. I can't stress how amazing the staff were, their service was impeccable. During that night, I forgot to bring a garter, Victoria and her team took the time to hand stitch one. I can't thank them enough. We had an awesome time at our wedding.

    The CAKE was delicious!!

    Sent on 09/27/2017
  • M

    Marilyn · Married on 06/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception in the Palm House of the Brooklyn Botanic Garden in June 2017. It was an incredibly beautiful venue. It offered everything you can think of. The garden area is exquisite and the Palm House itself is a breathtaking glass structure. We had to use their catering service, which worked out great because the food was excellent. We worked with Emily P. throughout the planning process who was easy to work with and extremely helpful. For example, we didn’t have a lot of time for pictures in the garden because our reception took place shortly after our church ceremony. Emily helped us plan accordingly, so we could get a golf cart to take us for a quick trip to the rose garden and some other areas for pictures before the cocktail hour ended. Additionally, all the wedding day staff was outstanding. They provided excellent service. We want to thank Emily P., everyone at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden and the Patina Restaurant Group for their great work and for helping to make our wedding reception a truly wonderful experience.

    Sent on 11/05/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 05/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The obvious: great food, beautiful venue.
    Not obvious: extremely professional staff; amazing communication skills; attention to detail (I really tested this one: I made changes so many times, coordinate made ZERO mistakes in updating her end); thorough.
    I cannot stress this enough, especially when it gets down to the wires, having a vendor that communicates well and has superb attention to detail makes a world of difference.

    Sent on 05/24/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 03/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved loved loved every moment of our wedding in the Atrium at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. We fell in love with the space as soon as we visited it and we made a point of returning to the gardens a few times in the run-up to our wedding; they are beautiful!

    We had a small wedding - only 50 guests - but the space was absolutely beautiful and perfect for that number. Everything was indoors (there was still snow on the ground!) and extremely well organized. They turned over the Atrium from 'Ceremony' to 'Party' without any of us having to lift a chair. It was such a relief not to have to organize linens or chairs or silverware ourselves; we left that all up to Patina and everything came out great. The caterers were top notch professionals - the servers were extremely well coordinated and the food was delicious - we even had an Asian street food cart during the Reception that was a hit with our Asian guests! Our only regret is that we can't get married at the BBG every week... but at least we have wedding cake in our freezer!

    Sent on 05/01/2017
  • A

    Agnes · Married on 07/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah and her team at BBG did a fantastic job creating the wedding of our dreams. David and I could not have been happier. Everyone kept remarking on how beautiful the venue was and how AMAZING the food was. They were incredibly accomodating with food allergies and special menu requests. Thank you Sarah!!! We could not have imagined a better venue or caterer.

    Sent on 07/27/2016
  • L

    Lilach · Married on 07/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Patina, and specifically, Emily Piuggi, at Brooklyn Botanic Garden was an incredible experience for planning our most important day. During the most stressful event you'll ever plan, you want top quality customer service and that's exactly what Emily delivered with her team. Emily was responsive, organized and courteous and juggled so many requests for months leading up to our big day. She listened, took detailed notes, was extremely attentive in face to face meetings and follow up emails, and became truly comforting in the days leading up to the wedding itself. And most importantly, she was completely unflappable on our big day and expertly coordinated so many moving parts.
    We recommend Emily and the Patina team without any hesitation. We are still receiving strong praise from guests on the incredible service, setting (that's a given) and accommodating staff. Patina delivered at the highest level on the day of, and we can share that a large part of the success on "day of" was because Emily expertly accompanied us for months of planning in the lead up.

    Sent on 07/30/2016
  • A

    Adam · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were lucky enough to have Emily Piuggi and the Patina Events team at Brooklyn Botanic Gardens to craft and execute an absolutely perfect evening. While the beauty of the Palmhouse, Lily Pond and the entirety of the Botanic Gardens is second to none, Emily and the Patina group enhance and add to that beauty with their attention to detail and support throughout the entire process. While we did not have a wedding planner, Emily certainly played the role on the day of, connecting with all of our vendors and seamlessly facilitating any of their needs. We could not have pictured a better night. Thank you Emily and thank you everyone on the Patina Events BBG team!

    Sent on 09/05/2016
  • C

    Courtenay · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden was spectacular. We worked with Emily Piuggi, who was fabulous from our first visit through the day of our wedding (and some beyond!). Everything about working with Emily and the rest of the team at Patina Events (and all the folks from the BBG) was seamless and wonderful. Emily was very responsive, super helpful, and answered all our questions with detail and helpful suggestions. We had a large number of friends and family vendors and the team was very willing to work with us to make our wedding day come together to be the most wonderful day of our lives! We could not have been more thrilled to have our wedding in the Osborne Garden and reception in the Atrium. We are eternally grateful to Emily and her team for helping realize our quirky vision for our wedding day and help create a magical, cheerful and incredibly fun event that we will remember for the rest of our lives.

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • M

    Mia · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Have to agree with every word of Katherine's review. I also worked with Sarah Duffin at Patina - she was lovely throughout the entire process, but what really blew me away was how incredibly warm, efficient and just ridiculously awesome everyone on the Patina team are- from their head of catering right down to the servers and bar tenders at the event. Patina made my wedding day a dream come true and made the coordination look like a breeze (I didn't even have a day of planner - they did everything) and we were on schedule, everything was queued perfectly and the food was OUTSTANDING. My guests are all still talking about the food. I never fully appreciated when people used to say their wedding day was the best day of their life - now I do and can agree that my wedding day was the best and most fun day of my life and I have to extend a HUGE thanks to Patina for that. If I could do it all again, I would pick them 10 times out of 10.

    Sent on 06/23/2016
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the wedding of my dreams at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden with Patina Events. Each member of the staff (and especially my wedding coordinator Sarah Duffin) were incredibly professional and organized but also warm and genuinely excited to take part in my special day. Along the way, they worked patiently with me, my fiancé, and our family to ensure that everyone was very happy on the wedding day. Additionally, the food is amazing, which made for very happy wedding guests. Of course, the venue is beautiful and Patina helps you to make the most of it - pre-wedding with photos as well as during the actual ceremony and reception. I really can't say enough good things...so thrilled to have had a perfect wedding at the BBG! One tip is to look early if you're interested in the venue because dates book far in advance!

    Sent on 06/01/2016
  • A

    Angela · Married on 05/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were absolutely thrilled with our wedding at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. We worked with Emily who was incredibly responsible as well as accomodating throughout the planning process. We had so many issues with the final guest count, including a cancellation about two days before for a guest who was 38 weeks pregnant and then told by her doctor she had to be on bedrest and they graciously allowed us to change our guest count. The venue is beautiful, and it's nice that the bad weather contingency areas are just as nice and interesting (we didn't end up having to use the greenhouse space but we thought it was great that guests could explore the greenhouses if we had had bad weather).

    Finally, the food. That was the most important part of the wedding to us and we were a little nervous since we had to use Patina Events as the caterer. We weren't wow'ed by our tasting so we went into the wedding with trepidation that the food would be, well, wedding food. Turned out, the food at the actual event was much better than the tasting. Our guests raved about the quality and quantity of the options and the few bites we had were fantastic. We got the Orchid package and everything was great!

    Sent on 05/22/2016
  • D

    Don · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Atrium is a beautiful venue for up to 110 to 130. We had about 110 and the space is absolutely beautiful. We also had our ceremony in the garden and you really cannot compare the beauty of the space.

    As for Emily and the staff at Patina Group, she was extremely responsive. We had two friends that had to cancel the week prior to our wedding, and they were gracious enough to adjust on the fly.

    As for the food, we got many compliments on the food and cocktails at the cocktail hour and at our reception. Even the cake was delicious.

    If you want an outdoor wedding in the middle of the city, you cannot go wrong with the Brooklyn Botanic Garden! Everything went perfectly. We have absolutely nothing to complain about.

    Sent on 04/28/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was last weekend at the Palm House and was like a dream! The gardens were stunning even in early April! We're also so lucky to have worked with Leigh and the Patina Group. Leigh was amazing from day one, she's so positive, friendly, and professional. On the day of the wedding she was with us helping us coordinate every detail (including bringing my husband and I snacks and drinks from the cocktail hour while we were in our photoshoot). Our guests all raved about the gardens and the food as well. We really couldn't be happier and can't thank Leigh enough for helping us plan this perfect day!!

    Sent on 04/12/2016
  • M

    Max · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is amazing for a wedding. If your lucky enough to get Sarah and her group as the planners you will have nothing to worry about. While everyone at the gardens is amazing, Sarah is on another level. She is so onpoint when it comes to all the planning and scheduling. She even was at my wedding making sure everything ran smoothly and we had everything we could need at 9 MONTHS PREGNANT. She is amazing and I can't thank her enough for everything. She even kept my wife calm and collected which is virtually impossible. Thank You so much everyone for an amazing wedding.

    Sent on 12/07/2015
  • User4240832 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue for your entire wedding. The Patina Group just took over as the exclusive caterer and they are outstanding. The event coordinator, the day of staff, and everyone in between are extremely warm, kind, professional, responsive, flexible and work hard to make the even run seamlessly and effortlessly.

    Sent on 10/19/2014
  • M

    Marisa · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married here last March and it was perfect. Most of what made it amazing had to do with Charles, Sally, and Charles catering. They were beyond fabulous and made sure that we had everything we asked for and more!! Even in hindsight there isn't any where else I would have wanted to get married.

    Sent on 01/27/2015
  • User3618960 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a beautiful venue - very low key to do a garden ceremony but just the perfect outdoor space.

    Sent on 10/21/2013
  • User2130255 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue and top-notch professional service. This group knows what they are doing and make planning a wedding a breeze. I did not need a wedding planner because Leigh was so helpful throughout and made the day-of run seamlessly. We had rain clouds looming all day but Leigh was confident that we could try to have the ceremony outside and if it started to rain, they could easily and quickly move the ceremony indoors. Luckily it did not rain and the entire day was just perfect. Food is great and they even got our favorite bourbon.

    Sent on 01/23/2013
  • G

    Gregory · Married on 07/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lee took care of everything and anticipated all of our needs. She was amazing and treated us and our guests extremely well.

    Sent on 06/20/2012
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 10/03/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got engaged here and the Erik Guzowski Wedding Photographers of New York City also known as Exhale Photojournalism did our engagement photography here last summer. We love BBG as we think it is one of the most beautiful places around New York City two have engagement photos done.

    Sent on 03/05/2010
  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When you book your wedding at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden, you know only get a setting of natural beauty but you also get to work with an extremely professional organization in Patina Events, who happen to also serve delicious food! But the best part of my experience at the BBG was Emily Piuggi, who, until the very last hour of my daughter's reception, was unflappable, responsive, cheerful, accommodating, flexible ... she was a dream to work with and has the patience to withstand even my long winded and seemingly unending emails! She took the time to coordinate the timeline with all of our other vendors so that the ceremony and reception could proceed flawlessly - and they did. People were in awe of the Palm House and talked endlessly about how good the food was and how beautiful the setting (and we moved our ceremony inside because of the threat of rain ... it was still magnificent). At all times Emily combined a warm friendliness with all the best attributes of an ultimate professional. I highly recommend the Brooklyn Botanic Garden and Patina Events (and ask to work with Emily!).

    Sent on 07/13/2016
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding in large part thanks to the Patina team at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden. They were communicative, prompt and easy to work with. We heard all night long that the food was great and people couldn't seem to stop telling us how delicious our cake was! We knew the day would be beautiful because of the setting but this team made it exceptional.

    Sent on 09/17/2017
  • H

    Honor · Married on 08/20/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and the food was GREAT

    Sent on 09/09/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review