The Lucerne Inn Reviews

21 | Holden, ME
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for The Lucerne Inn

Recommended by 93%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Looking for a Wedding Venue? Look NO Further!

    We chose The Lucerne Inn for our daughter’s wedding venue... we had the rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, wedding, reception, and a breakfast the next day all at The Lucerne Inn. The entire experience was superb!! I had heard from a number of locals how marvelous the food was...and it was absolutely delicious!! The selections available for the meals, including appetizers after the wedding while family was taking pictures, was superb! And we hired Chelsey as the Wedding Coordinator and she made the entire experience perfect. We seriously cannot think of one thing that would have made the weekend better. Thank you, Lucerne Inn!!

    Sent on 08/13/2019

    The Lucerne Inn's reply:

    Thank you so much for those kind words--Our whole experience with you - your family and friends was wonderful.

    We wish nothing but the best to Arla and Kevin
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lucerne Inn staff are absolutely amazing!! We had the best time planning our wedding with Meg and Jason. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We will never forget this day and cannot wait to visit again!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • D

    dave · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue! Would absolutely recommended to anyone! Staff is great, especially Dave, our bartender!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • S

    Shaylah · Married on 08/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lucerne was a beautiful place to have a wedding. the staff is so friendly and helpful Meghan and Jason are absolutely amazing. I couldn't have asked for a better wedding ans reception!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Lucerne Inn. The event planners were wonderful and were on top of everything! Day of I felt comfortable leaving the details to them. They really let my husband and I put our touches on the venue so it didnt feel like a wedding factory! Thanks to the Lucerne we have the best memories of our special day!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • amandals

    Amanda · Married on 05/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Still working with them, so far it's been wonderful. They have the BEST prices in the entire area, friendly staff, very helpful with planning, nice rooms, great food, can't wait to have our ceremony there!

    Sent on 08/03/2008
  • L

    Alyssa · Married on 05/26/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are getting married in coastal Maine this is the place to have the ceremony and reception! I had my ceremony at my own church but they have several Gazebos with fantastic views. There are mountains and a beautiful river as your back drop! Fantastic.
    Bryan the new wedding coordinator there and his team are fantastic. They facilitate your every need and are so professional but have that great New England attitude of generosity!

    Sent on 07/14/2008
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 06/09/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lucerne Inn was fabulous. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a simple but elegant wedding. They were extremely accommodating to all our needs, providing us with all of the resources, ideas, and flexibility that we needed to complete a wonderful, stress-free day! They made it possible for me to have the wedding I had always dreamed about as a little girl!!

    Sent on 01/15/2008
  • User3538264 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was perfect location for all of us. We all traveled to have our wedding here. We lived in the greater Portland area. Friends and Family located all around the state as well as out of state.

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • C

    Cassandra · Married on 09/03/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the best day ever! The venue was beautiful and we received many compliments from our guests on how delicious the food was! The wait staff was very friendly and even kicked out some wedding crashers. We went a little over the 10PM curfew and management still allowed us to have a final song.

    Sent on 09/18/2016

    The Lucerne Inn's reply:

    Hi Cassandra!

    Happy to hear you had a wonderful time as we did also! We were honored to be part of your special day! Hope to see you back in the future!

    Best Wishes,
    The Lucerne Inn
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased to hold a beautiful wedding at Lucerne for our daughter. Brian and Danielle were extremely kind, professional, knowledgeable and flexible. Their attentiveness to our needs and ability to keep the festivities moving along in a stress-free manner were greatly appreciated. All in all, a great day was had by all, thanks to their guidance. No question...we would definitely recommend the Lucerne Inn for a memorable occasion!

    Sent on 07/01/2012
  • User3539110 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at The Lucerne Inn is great. It starts with the event planners, Meghann and Jason. Seriously don't know what I would do without them. They made sure everything was in order, were involved as much as I wanted them to be or they thought they needed to be when I was pre-occupied. Everything went off without a hitch. From contacting them about information to a checklist they go through that literally has everything on it. The waitstaff on our wedding night were great, she made sure that if we needed anything we had it. Seriously the views are gorgeous and you can get everything in one place. It made everything such a breeze.

    Sent on 11/09/2013
  • M

    Jennifer · Married on 09/26/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Lucerne Inn this past September. The ceremony was performed outside in their gazebo overlooking beautiful Philips Lake and the surrounding hills. Our reception was in the smaller of their two sites, the Overlook Room. It was perfect for us. We were able to do everything there�ceremony, reception, catering and our guests were able to stay at the Inn. We also had the five suites that were in the Overlook Building, which is separate from the main Inn, so it was almost like we had our own private building. The staff was very accommodating, friendly and professional; the food was excellent and it was very affordable. I would highly recommend the Lucerne Inn to brides-to-be!

    Sent on 10/13/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/31/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married at the Lucerne Inn over Labor Day Weekend and could not have asked for a better weekend! We primarily dealt with Brian Dougherty in the Events office and he was very accomodating to all of our ot of town guests and their requests.. they are very origanized and they do a lot of weddings, so things went very smooth... the food and service at the reception was excellent and all of the vendors they recommended were great too! The only complaint I have is their inability to accommodate a lot of guests.. we live in Charlotte, NC and had a lot of friends and family flying in from NC and FL, but due to the limited number of rooms at the Inn and the 5 other weddings that were there that weekend, we were limited to 4 guest rooms... kind of a bummer... we wish we could've had more rooms for our guests... but overall we had a wonderful experience at the Lucerne and would recommend it!!

    Sincerely,
    Jen & Ryan Day

    Sent on 11/12/2008
  • Gabrielle

    Gabrielle · Married on 08/15/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We chose The Lucerne Inn for our wedding for many reasons. One important reason is that it had everything we wanted from a beautiful view, place for guests to stay the night, catering offered on site and the ceremony and reception were all right there. We also knew the food was delicious and have had many friends and family get married there so our expectations were already high. Living out of town and having a coordinator who was easy to contact was a must and Cindy always got back to us quickly via email or phone and she was knowledgeable, professional and great to work with . Our expectations were not only met but exceeded the day of our wedding. They made sure that after the hustle and bustle of the ceremony and pictures we had time to sit, cool down, get a drink and have our own appetizers waiting for us before being announced into the reception. EVERY staff member there was courteous and the catering found out our theme had blueberries in it and surprised us with homemade blueberry butter!!!! Our friends and family have not stopped talking about how great everything was and we can't either. It's a beautiful location all year round and we definitely recommend it!

    Sent on 08/31/2015
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 04/19/2008

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Lucerne Inn is a gorgeous back drop for any wedding. The staff is very helpful, and willing to help out in any way. Because I had my wedding in the spring, the cost was great for the venue (both ceremony and reception). The biggest cost was the catering, which must be provided by the inn, but it was well worth the cost. I would recommend the Lucerne Inn to anyone looking to have a Maine wedding.

    Sent on 03/04/2009
  • K

    Kylie · Married on 06/26/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our wedding ceremony/reception there in June 09. We were lucky to get two days that didn't rain. The day was beautiful and couldn't have been more perfect. We worked mostly with Brian the event coordinator...he was wonderul. The only complaint that I have was the difficulty with requesting rooms and booking rooms. We had a lot of people from out of town come to the wedding and it was a difficult process to get them rooms. But...we were able to work it out. The view is amazing and everything ended up being wonderful. We were able to come and taste test the food that we were looking at providing. The food was delicious. Everyone at the wedding loved the haddock and filet mignon. We also provided a vegetable lasagne as our vegetarian dish and the presentation was poor and those who had it said it didn't taste very good. We had approximately 160 people and everything went smoothly. Brian was amazing again...he made everything easy he was fun to work with. Great reviews from our friends and family with the flow and transitioning from ceremony to reception. The staff did a great job with passing around our signature drinks, dinner plates and cake. Thank you! :)

    Sent on 02/27/2010
  • J

    Jana · Married on 07/28/2007

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with the Inn from the moment we toured it. We knew it was the perfect place to be married. They were extremely helpful and accommodating with everything, Brian was like our own wedding consultant!!

    Sent on 05/04/2008
  • User4293681 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The Lucerne Inn is a gorgeous venue and reasonably priced. The food served at our wedding was excellent. The wait staff were fantastic, they were accommodating to our guests and efficient with their service without being overbearing. The Inn allowed us to make our wedding our own and were flexible with their rules on décor and decorating. Our wedding and reception were great! We planned most of it from out of state and found the event coordinators to be efficient with their communication. 8 weeks before our wedding the Inn had a change of staff regarding the event coordinators of which we were not informed. An email or phone call from management informing us of the changes in staffing would have been appreciated. We had been told that all of our tables would be set up with linens and glassware by the time we were allowed to decorate, they were not. The cloth napkins provided by the Inn were were not ironed and of 2 different shades of the color we had selected. We chose the The Overlook Room for our reception so that we could have A/C. When we arrived the A/C was not on and the room was very stuffy. We couldn’t find any staff to help us locate the A/C controls and had to search the venue until we found it ourselves. After our ceremony the bridal party were to meet in the lounge for hors d'oeuvres . None of us knew where the lounge was, we thought the event coordinators would be present and show us where to go but they were nowhere to be found. Once we made it to the lounge we discovered that there were no hors d'oeuvres (something we paid for) for anyone. At the cake cutting there were no plates or forks. We had to hold the cake we were feeding each other in our hands. There is no place to get ready at the Inn unless you book a room in addition to what you are already paying for the venue. Our wedding was great The above are little details and did not ruin our day. Working in the event industry myself it's all in the details that makes a great event excellent!

    Sent on 08/01/2014
  • K

    Kevy · Married on 07/12/2008

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Brian is the even coordinator we worked with, and he was great. He really helped me out when I didn't have any idea what was going on. The only complaint I had was that he was somewhat hard to get ahold of because he was never at his desk. I know he needs to be all over the place while he's at work but the company needs to have a better way for people to get ahold of their events coordinator. Brian and I ended up playing phone tag alot which was very frusterating.

    Sent on 11/15/2008
  • User3426942 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    The venue is beautiful, the tented area is already partially decorated, which is great. But in general we had a bad experience. The Inn changed management soon after we booked the place and not everything was communicated. When we paid the final bill, the new manager didn't give us the $3/person discount promised until I brought it up. Even then, he said he wasn't aware of the discount (it was written on the paperwork). He also did not refund the extra gratuity charged.

    The wedding coordinator said she would coordinate with the DJ on the day of the wedding and we had told them that we were not going to use the gazebo (extra $500), but the wedding coordinator was not there to help him set up. He ended up in the gazebo as no table was set up for him. We ended up having to pay an extra $500.

    Sent on 07/12/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review