Water's Edge
The Only Thing We Overlook Is Manhattan
    41 Reviews
401 44th drive
Long Island City, NY 11101  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can't say enough how happy we were with the Water's Edge. The view from the reception was incredible. Everyone took such beautiful photos with the skyline of Manhattan in the background. The food was excellent and we have received numerous compliments from our guests. Everyone was a pleasure to work with and always responsive to our questions and requests. We have nothing but great things to say!
Wedding: 10/25/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank You, Thank You To Abhi,Lateef,Mildred,
Scott & Waiters At The Water's Edge You All Did An Outstanding Job. My Huband & I Couldn't Have Picked A Better Venue.

We Had Our Wedding On September 26,2014
Our Wedding Was Aboustly Flawless. All Of Our Guest Couldn't Stop Talking About The View, Food & Great Service. We Highly Recommend This Venue.

Mr & Mrs Ascolesi
Wedding: 09/26/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the Water's Edge was phenomenal. They were flexible, accommodating... everything you want your wedding day venue to be! We were so impressed with their level service, from the banquet manager, to bridal attendant. The food was much better than we had expected... the cake was delicious! We had some minor issues the day of, but the venue was able to step in and make up for the lack of service and professionalism from another vendor. Not only was the service great, but the location was beautiful, the views are breathtaking! I Highly recommend this venue! You will not be disappointed!
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Catering, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a wonderful wedding we had! We had invited over 200 people to our wedding, and everything came out perfectly. My husband and I met Kathy when we first booked our date for June 22, 2014. My husband is a foodie, and wanted to make sure that the food was excellent—he was not let down. We went to several tastings thanks to Kathy, and we were pleased every time. After the wedding, people were calling us and telling us what a great time they had and how excellent the food was. Scott (the bartender) made sure that everyone always had a full glass.
The highlight of our night was the bridal attendant, Mildred. She always made sure that I was comfortable: she helped bustle my dress, made sure we were well fed, and she even fanned me when I was sweating from dancing.
Overall, we highly recommend this hall. The food was stellar, the view was spectacular, and the service was remarkable. After the wedding, people were calling us and telling us what a good time they had, what great pictures they got with the view, and how excellent their food was. Our day went perfectly, and Waters Edge largely attributed to that.
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had both our ceremony and reception at the Water's Edge and it was wonderful. We booked the event through Kathy and she was so warm and friendly...she would respond to my (many) emails quickly and thoroughly. She was also helpful in coordinating our alternative wedding cake - we opted for a variety of pies and ice cream bar...she even helped us get one that was gluten-free so I could enjoy it! Mildred - our lady in waiting - was AMAZING! She made sure we both ate during the cocktail hour, shooed away unwanted guests stopping by the bridal suite and even sewed my dress when I had a wardrobe malfunction. All of our guests raved about the food and some said it was the best filet they ever had (and these guests came from Texas). Not to mention the view...it was perfect.
Wedding: 06/13/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just had our wedding on April 11th, 2014. I could not be happier that we chose Waters Edge in Long Island City for our wedding venue!
My fiancé and I wanted a New York City feel for our venue, and Waters Edge was perfect! They delivered above and beyond our expectations. The view from Water's Edge is priceless....amazing during the day and spectacular at night.The venue has such a great outdoor space that allowed our guests to filter outside for our cocktail hour to enjoy fresh air and take beautiful pictures with the NYC skyline in the background. Everyone was in awe.
In addition, our family and friends could not stop raving about how great the food was...and I come from a very picky Italian family. In order to make sure myself, my husband and our bridal party got to eat, they even set aside a sampling of the cocktail hour food for us eat before our cocktail hour even began! This enabled us to get food into our stomachs since eating while mingling with our guests at the cocktail hour was very much a challenge as the bride and groom.
Every single person we worked with at Waters Edge was fabulous! They really know customer service and how to put on a great event. Everything ran flawless. Staff were friendly, professional, and accommodating...from the managers to the servers. Kathy, Abhi, Lateef, Scott, Matilda....You guys deserve a huge "Thank You" for all the hard work you put into making the Shea/Griffin Wedding a night to remember.
I would recommend Waters Edge to everyone. And I'm sure the 220 guests at our wedding will be talking about this place too!
Wedding: 04/11/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Abby 3 Reviews
Water's Edge pulled off our wedding flawlessly. From the signature cocktails, to the service, to tiny little details - they executed my vision perfectly. We received so many compliments on the food, people hardly noticed the view... but I mean - THE VIEW! You can't beat it - it was everything I had dreamed it could be. We had a great time, and it was so easy - I didn't stress at all. It's a bit of a higher price tag, but worth every penny. I couldn't have been happier.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding day was everything we imagined from great food to incredible view. Amazing staff not one person that attended our wedding was disappointed they loved the food, view is breathtaking no better place to get married. The staff was always there to help to call with the smallest concerns prior to the day etc highly recommend this venue!
Wedding: 03/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Officiant, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We had our wedding here in February and it was absolutely amazing. The views of the NYC skyline and the 59th st bridge are unparalleled and our out of town guests were falling over themselves taking pictures of the incredible backdrop. Abhi is the new wedding coordinator there and he did an incredible job. He met with us before the wedding and walked us through every detail to make sure they were able to meet every request we had. The cocktail hour food was plentiful and VERY good, the Coney Island station was a huge hit. The dinner food was excellent, normally at weddings people aren't expecting steaks to be cooked to perfection but our friends and family were very impressed, as was my husband who eats at a lot of steakhouses. The staff did everything imaginable to make the night perfect, especially Mildred the bridal assistant who never let our glasses of champagne, water and cocktails get below half way. She made sure we ate some dinner and made us a reserved table at our cocktail hour to eat some appetizers. She also packed all of our gifts, envelopes, extra favors, koozies, napkins, etc. for our family to take home after we had left, it was so helpful. Overall this was the perfect setting for our wedding. Everything was absolutely beautiful and we would HIGHLY recommend to anyone considering this venue, you won't be disappointed.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I really can't say enough good things about Waters Edge!!! Our wedding reception was absolutely perfect!

I am very hands on (I can be annoying haha) but from the very beginning Daniela and Kathy were patient with me and my wedding planner. They helped me with countless questions/food ideas/set up issues. They covered it all and it really showed the night of the reception.

All of my guest raved about the food!!! Poached pear salad and braised short ribs were my fav( and my guests)!
The cake was delicious and beautiful. The chocolate fountain was awesome, all our guests enjoyed it.

All the staff the night of the reception were great especially the bridal attendant and waiters. We never had an empty glass/plate. Our bridal attendant made sure we never missed anything going on (which is easy to do with guest constantly coming up to you).

Waters Edge worked very well with all our vendors and was responsive to our vendors when necessary.

Lastly, the venue itself is stunning! The view makes the place so special. Our guests loved the balcony and everyone said they didn't feel cramped on the dance floor, there was plenty of space to move around.

Great job everyone at Waters Edge!
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were blessed with a beeeautiful weather weekend so Manhattan was gorgeous from Water's Edge. Besides the ambiance, we had a great time with Latif, our maitre'd who was cool, calm, and collected throughout the entire reception. He definitely made the party flow the right way and allowed us to relax and enjoy. The guests raved about how delicious the food was and noted that it was unlike any other wedding caterer they've been to. Daniella and Kathy were very responsive to emails throughout the coordinating process and overall our experience with Water's Edge was EXCELLENT!! If you're looking for a skyline venue, there's nothing better :)
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The team at Water's Edge was amazing. We couldn't have asked for a better group of people to help us on the best day of our lives. They went above and beyond to accommodate us with all of our needs. Although we didn't have the greatest weather, there's nothing that could take away that spectacular view of the city skyline. And the weather held out for the best part of our night.. the after party on a yacht! We sailed for 2 hours after the reception to the statue of liberty and back. We even went back for dinner on our one year anniversary, and they practically rolled out the red carpet for us. It was such a great feeling! I know everyone says that their wedding was the best, but with the help of all our vendors, and our after party on a yacht, it's going to be hard to beat!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I have had dinner there numerous times and just had my wedding there last month! First about my experiences with dinner: everything has always been perfect. The food, the wine, the service, the view, all spectacular. I've eaten a wide variety of food here for dinner: steak, seafood, chicken breast and plenty of desserts. All have been perfectly cooked and delicious. The skyline is so gorgeous and breathtaking that it creates such a romantic, intimate environment. Everything about this place is wonderful!

Between the food and the view, that was enough to convince me to have my wedding there, which was also such a wonderful, dream-come-true kind of night. Everything was perfectly planned and executed. From day 1, we worked with Kathy, and she was so easy to work with, so relaxed (in a good way) and SO thorough. She made the process easy, fun and stress free. The night was flawless. She also made great suggestions for other vendors which was awesome!

The night of, Mildred, the bridal attendant, was amazing. She made sure that my husband and I were well fed, my dress was steamed and wrinkle free, my glass was full and that I was having a good time. She also made sure to put all of our gifts and mementos together at the end of the night so packing up was nice and easy. The maître d' as well as the head bartender were also so thorough and organized, which made the evening go so smoothly and fun for all! Everyone working together made the evening such an incredible night for me and my husband and we couldn't be more thankful to Kathy and team for it!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot express enough how wonderful the Water's Edge venue was for our wedding ceremony and reception. Kathy and Daniela were helpful from the very start and responded quickly to any questions that we had throughout the entire planning process. Day of: Mildred- the bridal attendant of our dreams, she made sure that me and the groom and entire wedding party were taken care of the entire night, she had a special spread in the bridal suite of all of the cocktail hour hors d'vours so that the groom and I could actually enjoy. She was amazing. Paul: Maitre D': Made sure everything ran smoothly and we did not have to worry about any details. Scott: Head bartender, our glasses were never empty and he made the perfect bride and groom signature drinks. After the wedding, two of our guests took a cab to Brooklyn instead of going with the shuttle back to Manhattan and he actually waited outside with them until the car came. Very impressive.The bridal suite was locked the entire time and Mildred made sure to pack up all of our wedding items gifts, cards, table placements, even my grandmother's rosary that was wrapped around my bouquet, so that when we left, we had it all ready to go in a plastic bin. Our gift card box was placed behind us in the main reception room and in plain sight the entire time and they took very special care to make sure that it was never left unattended. We have gotten tons of compliments on the food, views, service, etc from our guests and we could not be happier. Food was incredible, views were spectacular. My one suggestion would be to make sure that if you have your ceremony here, you plan for the sun to have already set, we started at 6:30pm and until the sun went behind the buildings, it was a bit uncomfortable. Our one thing we would change is having the ceremony start at 6:45pm so that the ceremony would have been a bit more comfortable. Besides that, it was perfect and we are very happy!
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Water’s Edge was an amazing venue! They went above and beyond my expectations. There was no detail that was over looked. Daniella, Mildred, Paul, Scott and the entire Water’s Edge staff were incredible. They were so attentive to our needs and our guest needs. Our guest raved for weeks about the food, the service and the view. I cannot express enough how happy I am that we selected the Water’s Edge as our venue. They really made our wedding special. The only little problem I had was the air condition, during cocktail hour and the first part of dinner it was fine. However, when the band started playing with all our guest dancing mixed with the July temperature it became way too warm for me as a bride with all the layers. The problem was fixed just make sure it’s cool before all your guest start dancing.
Wedding: 07/03/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We had our reception at Water's Edge - we were married at a church before hand. The views are what sold us on the venue before we even tasted the food. To our delight, the food was AMAZING. People of all ages raved about how good it was, many saying it was the best "wedding food" they ever had. And the abundance of it was unbelievable. The cocktail hour stations were especially beautiful. The staff who take care of you during the event really know what they are doing, they really anticipated our every need. Each staff member operated at a very high level of professionalism, from start to finish. They were all warm and full of hospitality.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 718-482-0033
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0