Skip to main content
Weddings

Tabard Inn Reviews

Tabard Inn

Tabard Inn

Washington, DC
View more information

88 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 88
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

26 User photos

  • A
    Alexa Married on 05/07/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tabard Inn is the place for intimate wedding

    Tabard Inn is such a beautiful place for small, intimate wedding. The patio has greens in the background and reception space is cute already. Daniel is very responsive and helpful. We would recommend Tabard Inn for weddings.
  • Laurie
    Laurie V. Married on 12/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream NYE Wedding

    The Tabard was the first (and only!) venue we looked at for our New Years Eve wedding. We fell in love with the garden/patio space, but since we were planning a late (8 pm) ceremony, we weren't sure if we were going to be able to use it. During our walkthrough, Daniel brought up the idea of a restaurant buy out for the evening - which would let us hold our ceremony in the garden, as well as use the other parts of the restaurant during our wedding and reception. We loved the idea, and thankfully so did the Tabard and their staff!

    Since the hotel is employee owned, they were super flexible and allowed us to make some changes and swaps their usual bar and reception packages. They also moved around furniture and had some amazing suggestions that really helped us capture our vision for the evening. The additional rooms they made available to us to get ready in and for the DJ were also absolutely perfect. Daniel did a great job of communicating with us throughout the process, and was extremely helpful.

    Our wedding turned out exactly as we dreamed (the best NYE house party you've ever been to), and we owe a lot of that to the Tabard and their wonderful staff.
  • Matilda
    Matilda B. Married on 10/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Perfect Venue and Team

    We visited Tabard Inn as a possible venue shortly after we got engaged in January 2020. My husband and I knew we would have a small, intimate wedding (under 60 guests) at the time. We wanted a venue that felt like we were getting married in a cozy, intimate setting (like home) and Tabard Inn fit the bill. We needed minimal decor (we only had floral centerpieces and the chuppah for the reception and ceremony) given the beauty of both the ceremony space (patio) and reception spaces. Furthermore, when Covid hit, Daniel and his team offered to postpone our wedding at no extra charge from September 2020 to the date of our choosing. The team was super flexible and helpful as we all navigated the new normal. We were so happy with the service, we decided to stay and get ready at Tabard Inn for our self-officiating elopement in October 2020. As our new date approached (October 2021), Daniel and his team were beyond helpful in making sure we were able to make the most of the reception food and beverage packages given our decreased guest list due to pandemic. His team helped set up our wedding favors and guest book, reserved a space for our ketubah signing and for yichud (seclusion) with hors d’oeuvres and champagne while the rest of the guests were in the cocktail reception. Furthermore, when my husband and I got stuck in traffic returning from our first look portraits and were late to our own ceremony, the team was flexible in letting us take family portraits in the ceremony space for a few minutes after the allotted time. We could not have picked a better venue and team to host our wedding!
  • Meredith
    Meredith M. Married on 08/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Trust the Tabard

    We were like many couples whose initial plans were altered by the pandemic. When we decided to have a safe, small civil ceremony Daniel and the team at the Tabard really came through for us. The Tabard patio is a covered, outdoor space meaning that we were able to have a personal intimate celebration even in the face of shifting indoor masking mandates during the rainiest month in D.C. with out any worries. We had many, many gluten-free guests who were able to enjoy almost everything that was served and Daniel made sure to check each order with the chef. We were able to have valet parking which made our city location easier for our guests with cars and the cocktail hour started as we wrapped up photos at our ceremony site. Service was flawless, the food was delicious, and the F&B minimum was the most reasonable rate we found of a party of our size anywhere in town. The team even rolled away our central table after dinner and dessert to ensure we had a little space to dance and helpfully played a playlist controlled by one of the guests over the speakers to the patio. Daniel was easy to work with and responsive. For a smaller party, the patio at the Tabard is a perfect, safe venue for these crazy times!
  • C
    Colleen M. Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical place for wedding guests to stay

    Funky place! So much fun! Delicious food! Highly recommended
  • Julia
    Julia Married on 05/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Venue was stunning, service was excellent

    I can't say enough good things about the Tabard! It was the perfect place for us to hold our wedding. We got married on the patio and then went right upstairs for happy hour, dinner, and dancing. It's the oldest hotel in DC, and the building is charming with lots of unique and interesting artwork everywhere. If you want a vintage wedding then this is the place. Daniel, the catering manager, was essential to the success of our wedding. He and his team took care of every detail and made sure the event ran flawlessly. I didn't have to worry about a thing. Thank you to the whole Tabard team for helping us on our special day!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 12/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue, perfect for an intimate wedding

    My husband and I had our marriage celebration at the Tabard Inn in December, one year after we eloped (our families live in different countries, and it was important for us to bring everyone together to meet and celebrate with us). It was a perfect night for us and 50 of our closest friends and families, and exceeded our expectations in every way.

    We had a completely DIY wedding, without a wedding planner, but this is so doable at the Tabard, because they provide almost everything, and the rooms are so colorful and gorgeous that all we did was buy some roses (from Costco) and the beautiful setting did the rest of the work. Daniel worked with us to put together a perfect evening that was better than we ever imagined. Tabard is a special venue because it's affordable yet so charming, elegant, and unique. The food is amazing; Daniel put together a tasting for us and two friends, and we were blown away by the options. We went with a plated dinner with lamb or fish, and convinced all the couples to go half and half so that everyone could try both dishes. Dessert was a chocolate orange cake, and the chef surprised us with a beautiful cake for my husband and me to split so we could have a cake cutting ceremony.

    We had 50 guests, and the combination of rooms 24 and 26 was perfect. We had cocktail hours, a ring exchange, and dancing in the smaller room, and then dinner was in the larger room. I'm uploading pictures so you can see how we did the layout. The Tabard provides all the linens, tables, chairs, and candles. And the best thing is, the value is amazing! As long as you meet the food and beverage minimum, the venue itself and all the rest is free!

    Our guests loved staying there, as all the rooms are unique and colorful, and the breakfast in the restaurant is great. The Tabard is the opposite of a corporate hotel, with lots of tucked away rooms and hallways. So guests with disabilities or who couldn't handle lots of winding stairs (there are no elevators at the Tabard) stayed at the Kimpton next door, which was super convenient. One thing to be aware of is that the lighting can be tricky for photographers, so have your person check out the venue in advance, or go with one of the Tabard's recommended photographers or someone who's worked there before. Also, since it's an active hotel, things need to end by around 11PM, but our guests all relocated to the downstairs lounge and hung out there until the bar closed.

    We truly can't say enough good things about the Tabard (I had said more but the Wedding Wire website lost the text of my review!). It was also the place we stayed the night we eloped, so it is going to remain a very special place for my husband and me. Our guests all raved about it, and we are so grateful to Daniel and the rest of the Tabard team.

    The Tabard is truly an amazing gem right in the heart of DC, allowing you to have an intimate wedding in a unique venue with amazing food for an unbeatable value. The best!
  • N
    Natalie Married on 08/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I worked with Angela Butler to plan a bridal shower for 18 people. Everything was so smooth, from beginning to end, and Angela was a pleasure to work with and made herself available whenever I wanted to stop by in person, or ask questions via email or telephone. The venue itself is beautiful - we were set up in Room 26 - and the staff throughout our party were so accommodating and kind, and went out of their way to give us what we asked for all throughout. The food was delicious, the drinks were a heavy pour, and we were able to bring in our own flowers and music/speaker.

    All in all, I really couldn't have asked for anything more. Everything was perfect and well-organized. The bride loved the party, as did all of the guests!
  • L
    Luther Married on 08/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Personnel was friendly and flexible. I highly recommend.
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 03/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding reception was here and it was a wonderful experience. Judy and Daniel were responsive and helped us make all the decisions for making our day the way we wanted. I was very grateful for how welcoming they were of our guests with special needs. The wait staff were really pleasant and friendly. Everything went off without a hitch and we are very appreciative. The food was also delicious and we received many compliments from guests about the 'classy setting'. We were able to show elegance, delicious food and fun dancing within our time there.
  • M
    Mary-Margaret Married on 12/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved loved loved the Tabard Inn. So happy we had our intimate, charming wedding at this delightful inn. Judy and her staff were outstanding. Our guests kept remarking about the wonderful service , atmosphere and food. A+
  • K
    Kerstin Married on 12/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were totally blown away with everyone at the Tabard Inn, and are so thrilled that we chose them as the location for the venue and reception!
    Shout out to Judy and Marianna, they made everything perfect for the special day.

    You won’t regret having any event there!
  • L
    Linda Married on 10/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Charming, festive - an iconic Washington institution that wowed our guests of 50 for our son's Rehearsal Dinner. A professional staff of coordinators from Judy and Elena in Special Events and Restaurant Manager, Daniel who helped with our wine selection. From set-up to take down - and everything in between - a well-run, first-class operation. Fine, fine food..wine...venue. (Crab cakes possibly the best in the D.C. area!). Thanks to your team that made it a magical, memorable evening.
  • A
    Amy Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Professional team, fantastic food. The room upstairs is stunning. Perfect all around.
  • S
    Shannon Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't have imagined a better venue for our small wedding (about 55 people). Special thanks to Judy and Elena for going above and beyond to make everything went smoothly. The patio and rehearsal dinner were picture perfect, and the food was incredible. Don't think twice about hosting your event here!
  • M
    Martha Married on 09/27/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful experience hosting a large-scale dinner at Tabard Inn! The staff were helpful, responsive, flexible, and so wonderfully kind! They made the whole experience easy and trouble free. Food was delicious and everything went well! We will definitely be hosting more events at Tabard Inn!
  • M
    Marilyn Married on 09/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely speechless! Every guest, family member and the happy couple (that includes me) were astounded by the effort, commitment and dedication to making the big day memorable. The Tabard Inn was one of our first dates, so, naturally, it held a special place in our hearts. The space is truly unique, especially the patio where we first had dinner. The biggest selling point, though, was the staff. The Special Events Lead Judy Ingabire was by far the deciding factor in our decision to book. I've said it many times and will continue to say it. Judy made us feel secure. And that's a HUGE deal. She understood our perspective and was open to sharing insights with us. Even better, our day was EXACTLY as she had detailed and we had no surprises. When Judy was not available to chat, Elena was an amazing support as well. She carried us through the winter months when we just getting all the big details together.
    We also leveraged the Tabard Inn for our room block. If you've never seen a Tabard Inn room, they're extraordinarily quaint, with no TVs (there's wifi, no worries), clawfoot tubs, big open windows and a maze-like quality through the three townhouses. It's that place you always read about when growing up, but never had the opportunity to see for yourself. Many guests stayed on-site to maximize their wedding experience and it worked. Nothing like walking upstairs or down the hall to your room. On this front, Alba was our quarterback. All I can say is... WOW! Alba was quick to respond, made every room special and established a strong connection from the moment we chatted.
    One last thing! THE FOOD!!!! The Tabard Inn made everything so easy as it was a one-stop shop. Catering, venue, room block all in one. Every guest told us how much they loved the structure of our wedding. We didn't do a traditional sit down, but had delicious passed appetizers with stationed bites and nibbles throughout the entire night. Thanks to Hotel Manager Dave for cheering us on as well!
  • L
    Laura Married on 08/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am very grateful to everything the Tabard Inn did to make my wedding reception this August a relaxed, lovely event.
    The staff is outstanding and the meetings leading up to the event really helped shape it into exactly what we
    wanted. The rooms were great, the food outstanding. I highly recommend this wonderful venue!
  • A
    Alex Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tabard Inn went above and beyond putting together the perfect evening for our rehearsal dinner. They listened to each of our requests and somehow put together an evening that far exceeded our expectations. The only thing that trumped the service (which was impeccable) was the absolutely delicious food. If I could rate them higher than 5 stars I certainly would!
  • J
    John Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our experience with Tabard was excellent and we would definitely use them again. Every detail was thought of and any hiccups were quickly taken care of in a professional manner. Thank you for helping make our rehearsal dinner special.
  • A
    Abby Married on 02/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Perfect venue for a smallish wedding. Everyone loved it! The staff was very helpful and food was delicious!! We had 57 people and it still felt intimate.
  • User3006077 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We could not have selected a better place than the tabard Inn to be married in the winter. While the tabard Inn is great for all seasons, we chose to get married in the winter which leaves us with a lack of locations. Tabard Inn was absolutely magical, like a fairytale. But also made getting married at the tabard Inn so great was working with their staff. And particular, Elena was wonderful and spearheaded everything for them on their end. She was very responsive, levelheaded, and punctual. We truly felt like everything was taken care of with her and had full confidence. From an economic standpoint, the tabard Inn is very reasonable. In fact my husband and did a double take when we got the bill because we were so pleased with it. I would recommend tabard Inn to anyone!
  • A
    Abigail Married on 02/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you want something extraordinary, you will be happy you chose the Tabard Inn. It's a one of a kind experience and our guests absolutely loved it!
  • E
    Erin Married on 12/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff at the Hotel Tabard Inn was absolutely fantastic in planning and executing a stunning birthday dinner for my mom's 60th. From the menus to the cocktails to the decorations... everything was beautiful. They incorporated flowers I had delivered and the table setting was absolutely stunning. Judy, Elena, and the entire staff were fantastic and easy to work with. Thank you, Hotel Tabard Inn, for such a wonderful event!
  • Susan
    Susan Married on 12/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The one word that comes to mind when thinking back on our wedding at the Tabard Inn is: spectacular. Every detail was seen to, from the lighting on the patio for our ceremony to the serving of the incredible meal at our reception. Elena was absolutely wonderful, as were all of the staff. We couldn't have been more thrilled, and our guests are still complimenting us on how beautiful the venue was and how all of the food was impeccable. We would happily and heartily recommend Tabard to anyone who is looking for the perfect venue.