Carnegie Institution of Washington
1530 P Street NW
Washington, DC 20005  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (55)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is a beautiful venue if you are looking for an impressive "Washington DC" space. Our wedding had 135 people and we fit very comfortably inside. The venue is VERY flexible (you can choose all your vendors and bring in your own alcohol), and the staff is extremely accommodating. Of all our vendors, the venue was the best!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

kelly 5 Reviews
We fell in love with Carnegie because of the beautiful building design and structure. The interior was spectacular, the rotunda was perfect for our ceremony- about 150 seated. Our guests loved the 360 view of the ceremony. The spiral staircase made for a grand entrance. The rotunda turned into the dance floor, the highlight of the night. The other rooms are lovely as well. The staff is very responsive and professional. I enjoyed working with Alexis. My only note is that they should have turned the AC up, earlier. But it cooled eventually and the guests really enjoyed themselves. I definitely recommend this venue, great layout, great photos!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carnegie is beautiful, no question about it. Cant say enough positive things about the Carnegie. They have an incredible building, location, and staff. Laura and the other staff at Carnegie were ever responsive and helpful. One thing that did kind of catch us by surprise was the start time on the day of that our vendors could get access to the building. All the vendors had seemed to want access prior to when the Carnegie would provide it. Everything worked out fine, but just something to make your vendors aware of before hand. We also paid for the doors to be opened, but ended up only having them open for the beginning and end of the night, as it was raining during the ceremony and reception.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carnegie was absolutely amazing to work with for my wedding. We found the venue when I was looking for a downtown DC location where we could have a ceremony and reception in the same space and find a place beautiful enough to pass for Paris, France, where my parents were married. Carnegie took my breath away when I first visited with my roommate...and I snatched up the first available date they had. My groom is active duty military, and when an unexpected deployment ruined our original wedding date, I could not have hoped for a better group of women to work with to reschedule my wedding. I had already paid a deposit, and they could have easily offered an opening that came up in May to another couple and made more money, but instead they called me and were patient while I waited to hear from the groom and the US Army to see if we could make it work. I was moved to tears by their generosity. They were very easy to work with and were wonderful about coming in to use the space to show it off to family before the big day. They also did a wonderful job sneaking in an opera singer the day of the rehearsal so that my mother wouldn't see or hear him. (He was a surprise for her, and they were very accommodating to him as well.) The staff at the Carnegie Institution is hands down fantastic. They will forever be a happy memory of our wedding day...especially since we have so many wonderful pictures of our guests arriving and giving jaw-dropped stares at how stunning the interior is. ;-)
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I want to convey my sincere thanks to the staff at the Carnegie Institution for Science! My husband and I held our April 2012 wedding ceremony and reception at the Carnegie Institution and could not have picked a better location. Neither of us is religious so we had already decided that we wanted a non-traditional venue. Having investigated many options in Washington, DC we quickly decided upon Carnegie. Not only was it more beautiful, it was much less expensive than many other options.

The space itself is beautiful and very DC--marble floors, soaring ceilings, and stately columns. We had the ceremony in the Rotunda which created an intimate ceremony "in the round". Later, the Rotunda turned into a dance floor and dinner was served in the Ballroom. We utilized the gorgeous spiral staircase to make the bridal party's entrance. We had also rented the Library which we utilized for the cocktail hour and bar, and the Portico served as a gorgeous outdoor space for our guests to sip beverages and enjoy celebratory cigars. The entire space looked absolutely gorgeous in photographs and I can't tell you how many of our guests commented on what an amazing place we had chosen to have our wedding. I have to say I agree.

The staff at Carnegie were also a pleasure to work with. They were helpful whenever we needed them but also very accommodating of all of the requests from us and our vendors. Carnegie has very few restrictions on what you can do with the space which allowed all of our vendors to really show off their creativity. My one complaint is that we had to end the event at midnight. We would have loved an additional two hours for sure!

Thank you again Carnegie for helping us host such a memorable night!

Joy
Wedding: 04/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our ceremony and reception at Carnegie. I was really nervous for the months leading up to the big day that our 160 person guest list would not fit....However, I was so wrong! It was the absolute perfect size venue for us. It was large enough to accommodate everyone for a sit down dinner yet small enough to still feel intimate. The venue is gorgeous and the set-up in terms of flow from ceremony to cocktail hour to reception is perfect. We would 100% recommend this venue to everyone but book now- it fills up fast!!!
Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
the carnegie is beautiful. We used up-lighting - even more beautiful. We did not mikes - in the end I wish we had because some people told me afterwards that they had trouble hearing. Laura and Alexis were very responsive. The venue looks much more expensive that it is - I would definitely recommend it to anyone considering it. the only limitation is the size - only 160 can be comfortable. WE originally had more on our list but in the end had to cut down alot to fit the venue. Otherwise I would definitely recommend it.
Wedding: 02/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The minute we saw Carnegie we knew we'd found our venue. It is an exceptional space and has a very DC feel to it which is exactly what we wanted. First, the price for the space is very reasonable for what you get and is far cheaper than nearby alternatives. Second, unlike other nearby venues, we had the run of the place. No special charges to use the library, no rules about what food could or could not be served in the boardroom, etc. Other venues made us feel like there were tons of hidden fees and surcharges for using the space. The Carnegie staff was incredibly responsive, flexible, and patient with us and Laura and Alexis are fantastic to work with. During the event everything was perfect and our guests raved about the space. We had a perfect wedding and the space played a very large part in that. It turns out the venue is very popular and books up quickly so plan ahead!
Wedding: 12/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we found Carnegie, I couldn't believe this beautiful architectural gem was somwhow "hidden" in the middle of Dupont Circle. It is truly a grand space and was an amazing setting for the wedding. Alexis was easy to work with from the start and incredibly responsive. The ability to have so many beautiful rooms at your disposal was also a plus. The rotunda is magnificent and there is hardly a space in the city that can rival it. We did not bring in any outside lighting and the natural lighting during our sunset ceremony was gorgeous. All our guests could not get over how elegant and grand the space was. The dining room is warm and initimate and when the pocket doors are open for dancing back in the rotunda, it creates the perfect distance between dining and dancing, while still making everyone feel a part of the event. Overall, I could not have picked a better venue - they were flexible on so many issues with vendors and the space was just gorgeous and timeless, while initimate for groups large or small.
Wedding: 11/20/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Jessica 7 Reviews
Beautiful venue (everyone was impressed, even the guys who normally couldn't care less about such a thing) and a wonderful team of people to work with at Carnegie. The best part of working with them (besides the truly amazing photos we were able to get because the whole place is just so beautiful) was that there was always someone available to answer our questions, so we never had to wait and wonder like with some other vendors. If we could do our whole wedding over, we would still do it at Carnegie.

The only downside was that they were not flexible with regards to the rehearsal time and then asked us to change the time after we had already booked a restaurant and paid a deposit for brunch that day (we put our foot down on the time change, and they seemed to be okay with it). That inflexibility was understandable since our rehearsal had to be on a Saturday, and they had to work around that Saturday's wedding. We ended up not being able to have a traditional rehearsal dinner and instead had to have a rehearsal brunch beforehand, but it worked out okay in the end.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5
The venue cannot be beat. It is stunning and our guests were amazed at how beautiful it was. The women at the venue are generally very helpful. We did have a hiccup with one of them (who is no longer there) exaggerating how many guests could fit there, only to find out with a month to go that our expected guest count would be a super tight fit. Unfortunately we had many guests decline (out of town for both sides) so our actual turnout fit just fine, but it would have been an unpleasant squeeze had everyone been able to attend, and that wasn't great to find out so close to the event. Also, they're a little inflexible in terms of load-in and load-out time, and while the base price sounds great (for DC), with the 10% holiday weekend surcharge and the extra hours we added, it ended up being rather pricey. However, the sheer beauty of the venue outweighs all of that. Just keep in mind that you really only get tables and chairs included so it's a lot of work to find all of the additional services you will need.
Wedding: 11/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carnegie Institution was an amazing venue! It was so beautiful, and the people we worked with were great. It's the perfect place for a DC wedding, and their prices are much better than similar venues!
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot recommend the Carnegie highly enough - they were wonderful. Reasonably-priced venue in DC where you can hire any caterer you want? check. Gorgeous venue that requires no decoration at all? check. Responsive and helpful staff who reply to emails quickly, can set up tours of the site at the drop of a hat, and are always polite and friendly? check, check, check.

The venue was beautiful, had every space we wanted, easily accommodated our 90 guests, and allowed us to drop things off the day before to store in advance. Alexis was great, and was always quick to reply to the endless chain of questions I sent her way. The cost is not extremely low, but a venue of this type (lovely historic building) that is this flexible (amplified music is fine, red wine is fine) that can accommodate all your guests INSIDE and not partially in tents, that allows you to bring in your own caterer and avoid huge food and beverage minimum costs....it balances out.
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Had my wedding at the Carnegies on 9-10-11. It was truly a beautiful setting. The marble and decor limited the amount we had to spend on floral and other decorations as it is truly beautiful unadorned. It makes for great pics on the steps facing 16th street, in the rotunda, and even in the round driveway on P Street. I had 17 10 seater rounds in the ballroom and that was just enough; anymore and it really would have been too crowded. As is...the waiters had just enough room to maneuver around to serve. Dancing in the rotunda follwoing the reception worked well especially with guests being able to flow in and out of the boardroom for drinks or to sit. We added small circular tables with 2/3 chairs around the edges of the rotunda for our older guests to be able to sit down and watch the fesitivities onf the dance floor. The staff was great and very flexible in terms of letting us come and see the venue multiple times in advance with different vendors. I would most definitely recommend it. Here is a link of the 6 minute "review" of our day that shows how truly beautiful the venue looked...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InqrePFFkDI
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Malarie 8 Reviews
Carnegie is a *breathtaking* venue. I was in love with it from the minute I saw it and feel so lucky we were able to have our ceremony and reception here. The staff, especially Alexis, was so responsive and very flexible the week before the big day. For DC, you cannot get a venue like this for the price. All comparable venues go for 10k and up - this is truly the best bang for your buck if you really want the DC feel. The only downer is that holiday weekends are up-charged, so it ended up being a little pricier than we originally budgeted for. Worth it in the end. Our guests are still raving about the beauty of Carnegie....
Wedding: 09/04/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place is the BEST place, for the money, to get married in DC. Laura was incredibly helpful and the most responsive of anyone we worked with. She allowed us to visit the venue countless times (and even practice our first dance more than once!) It is a gorgeous venue and we were thrilled with our choice. I would recommend it to ANYONE. The best part is that you can use any caterer you want and you can even bring your own alcohol. And, everything is all in once place: ceremony, cocktail hour, reception...the perfect choice for anyone trying to have a "simply elegant" affair.
Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 202-939-1139
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0