Carnegie Institution of Washington

Carnegie Institution of Washington

1530 P Street NW
Washington, DC 20005 | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Maximum capacity: 150
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
 
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.8 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.8 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We were married at the Carnegie Institute on a Sunday and can’t say enough about how much we love this venue and Becky! This was the first venue that we visited and not only was the price perfect, the scenery/architecture amazing, Becky was extremely professional and welcoming. The venue was very flexible with wedding day times and kept us up to date on changes to other weddings that same weekend that gave us more flexibility on our rehearsal time and vendor deliveries. We truly appreciated how helpful Becky was with estimates for capacity in the ceremony space and answering questions about the tables and chairs available and included in the rental cost. Carnegie let us use candles and have red wine – things that other venues don’t allow. We really saved on the rentals with how much Carnegie offers as included in their package – enough tables for our food stations, bars, and enough chairs for our 150 person ceremony! Becky was lovely at our walk through appointment and worked beautifully with our caterer and wedding planner – what a delight! She is truly an asset to this beautiful venue and we can’t thank her enough for all her good work! Please ask Becky for our contact information for a reference if you are considering this spot and need to chat! We were married on 10/19/14.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
7 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We fell in love with this space immediately! It is so beautiful and elegant without being too much.

The space is absolutely perfect and the people who work there are very friendly, patient, and accommodating. It was pretty stress free to get everything ready and they were great with all of our vendors. It is absolutely a perfect place for a wedding. We wouldn't have wanted to do it anywhere else!

For DC, the price is EXTREMELY competitive. We definitely feel like we got our money's worth!

  • Wedding: 09/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 3.5
  • Flexibility: 4.0

This place was amazing. Our guests kept commenting on how beautiful it was. Decorations were kept to a minimum because the location was so beaituful on its own.

  • Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 4.5
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had a fantastic wedding reception at Carnegie and are so happy we picked it as our venue location. While it was a bit more expensive than other venues we were looking at, the incredible beauty of the place made it well worth the money for us. We also had a great time working with Becky - she was responsive, kind and accommodating throughout the entire process. Our caterer had worked at Carnegie before and it made the whole process incredibly seamless. We're so happy we ended up at Carnegie and cannot wait to see the pictures!

  • Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 4.0

On June 7,2014 I had my ceremony and reception at the Carnegie and couldn't have picked a better place. One word i would use to describe this location is regal - which is what some of our guest told us after the wedding. I initially worked with Alexis but she took a different position and we continued with Ana. Both ladies were a pleasure to work with and answered all my questions with easy and accommodated my many requests. The venue allows you full use of about 5 rooms - each room is elegant and breathtaking. I loved the idea of having our wedding in a more non-traditional location beside the usual catering hall. The rental fee is the best for the location - I researched about 100 places and they wanted outrageous fees. Carnegie was well within our budget and worth every penny. The space is limited for head count and can only hold about 150 people but that worked for us. We had a photobooth, dedication table, candy bar, cigar bar etc - we made use of every space and it turned out wonderful. The table and chairs are included with the rental however we opted to rent our own chairs. We received nothing but compliments (still are!) on our wedding and I'm sure it's in part due to the beautiful location we selected. A few things to note if you select this location - google the date and make sure there isn't a big event happening in DC on that day! there was actually a parade which was directly on the street of the building - police blocked off many streets leading to the building which made it very difficult for our guests to get to the ceremony. I do wish someone at Carnegie would have informed us but I figure they didn't know either since we didn't know until we saw the parade go by! Secondly, the dinner space best accommodates a plated meal - which is what we went with. It would be a bit tight to have a buffet.

  • Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 4.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 4.0
  • Flexibility: 4.0

My husband and I held both our ceremony and reception at the Carnegie on Saturday, May 24, 2014. When we began our search for a venue we wanted a venue that was “DC”, but also could accommodate approximately 120 guests and would be convenient for both local and out of town guests. After searching through the many hotels, museums, restaurants, and other venues in D.C. we decided on Carnegie as it was not only elegant, but accommodated all our other requirements in addition to being well priced in comparison.

Price: $5,200 Base Cost for 8 hours of use of the Ballroom, Rotunda, Boardroom, Mayor Room, Library and Portico with access to the Kitchen. Use and Access to the Portico is an Additional $800. Additional hours if booked in advance are $300 & if holding your event on a holiday or holiday weekend there is an additional 15% fee.

Pros:
• Becky, our liaison at Carnegie, was extremely friendly, responsive, and accommodating
• No Vendor Restrictions
• Temperature is adjusted as appropriate
• You can bring your own alcohol (no restriction on red wine) – we used ACE Beverage who we highly recommend
• Rotunda works great for ceremony (sat 110 chavari chairs comfortably), dance floor, and band acoustics

Cons:
• TINY kitchen with VERY limited refrigeration
• Must Rent Everything - Although Carnegie has a number of round and rectangular tables available (no cocktail high tops), you must rent chairs (if you want Chavari) tablecloths, glasses, etc.
• 8 Space Parking Lot – If you need additional spots for vendors you will need to purchase parking permits for the meters located in front and on the side of the building
• No bathroom on the 2nd floor – Bathrooms only available on the 1st and 3rd floors, however, there is an elevator
• Rotunda must be mopped after use typically causing a late departure for vendors (i.e. $ taken out of deposit)
• No outdoor grass space

  • Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Amazing venue, with great photo opportunities! Only warning I would give brides is that it can get hot QUICK if it's warm out - the AC was playing catch up the remainder of the night after our cocktail hour with people propping open the side doors to go outside. Becky was amazing to work with and very prompt with her responses. She was also very flexible when we needed to make vendor visits.

  • Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Nicky
6 Reviews
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 3.5

Fantastic venue. Very accommodating, and everyone was awed by how beautiful the setting was. The staff was very professional and delivered on their promises. Highly recommend this venue.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
2 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I didn't have a wedding at the Carnegie Institution for Science but I did have a fundraising event that was a cocktail reception and seated dinner. However, the venue is extremely conducive to weddings. The rotunda and ballroom are fabulous! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who asks.

  • Wedding: 05/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Carnegie Institution for Science is hands down the best place for an intimate wedding and reception, all in one place! It is grand on a small scale, perfect for 80-150 guests. Becky and the rest of the staff are responsive before and during the event and willing to work creatively with vendors to make any bride's vision for her wedding a reality. We LOVED getting married at Carnegie.

  • Wedding: 04/11/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

So glad we chose the Carnegie for our wedding! It was love at first sight; such an elegant and grand setting that worked perfectly for our small-ish wedding of 110 guests. Becky and all the Carnegie staff worked seamlessly with our wedding planner and were always helpful, responsive and professional.

The Carnegie is such a unique venue and our guests were blown away by the architecture and historic details. We chose to have our ceremony in the round and received so many compliments on the set-up. The photos we took on the portico are especially breathtaking! Just make sure to book well in advance, it is so worth it!

  • Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Carnegie is simply a spectacular venue and the team there could not be nicer and more responsive. The best part about the venue is that it is so elegant you can get away with adding very little to it and it still shines and wows the guests.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
4 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I had a dream wedding-- and it was in large part to being married in a dream building. Booking the Carnegie Institution was the FIRST thing I did as a newly engaged bride. The staff, notably, Becky-- helped me set everything up with such ease. I fell in love with the venue and had dreams of walking down the spiral staircase. Becky and the Carnegie Institution made it possible and all of our out of town guests had so much fun and said they had never seen such an amazing/beautiful venue! Thanks, Becky!

  • Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We absolutely loved this venue and received countless compliments on our wedding night of how beautiful, unique, and perfect it was!

Becky and Amanda at the Carnegie were so helpful with everything from providing measurements so I could buy decor, providing recommendations, support with meeting vendors at the venue for walk throughs, and assistance with storage the day before the wedding. They are very professional and helpful!

The space itself is simply gorgeous and cannot be beat when it comes to price and beauty in the DC area. Comparable venues that we saw cost nearly double.

We paid extra to use the main doors and purchased an extra hour as the base package of 4 hours was too short since we held our ceremony there as well. If using the Carnegie for your ceremony, definitely have your chairs set up in a circular pattern. It was intimate, beautiful and my guests were raving that it was the best venue they had ever been to. The bride's suite is an upstairs library which is perfect for unique photos and allows you to peek downstairs at everyone coming in!

We booked this venue over a year in advance and had to settle for a Friday date since it books so quickly on Saturdays but it was totally worth it and I would not have changed a thing! Thanks, Carnegie staff for maintaining such a gorgeous piece of DC!

  • Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Tina
2 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The Carnegie was the perfect venue for our wedding. The staff was excellent to work with and made sure our special day was perfect. The site itself is absolutely beautiful right in downtown DC near DuPont Circle. Our guests were blown away with how nice our venue was.

I would highly recommend the Carnegie Institution to anyone that is looking to married in DC.

  • Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Alexis and the Carnegie team were amazing. They have hosted many events so the entire team is extremely knowledgeable about local event policies as well as those for their venue. A big part of why we chose them is that you get the use of the full venue for your day, they only schedule one event per day, and it was and visual that we wanted at the best price point in the city. The marble floors, beautiful skylights and details meant that we didn't have to invest a lot of extra money into heavy decor also! I can't say enough wonderful things about this venue and the events team.

  • Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Prev
202-939-1139
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
4.9
out of 5.0
70 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2014 logo small
2014 Couples' Choice Award®
Bca 2013 logo small
2013 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2012 logo small
2012 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2011 logo small
2011 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2010 logo small
2010 Bride's Choice Award®