Hotel Monaco Alexandria, A Kimpton Hotel
480 King Street
Alexandria, VA 22314  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (76)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Hotel Monaco is a beautiful, unique venue. The outside courtyard (that now has permanent hanging lights!) is a great option to have as part of the cocktail hour. The lobby provides guests with the perfect first impression.

Our event manager, Allison, was absolutely wonderful. She was always available through email and phone for any question, big or small. Her attentiveness throughout the planning process and the day of was superb. She kept my on schedule, which was appreciated.

The reception space was perfect for our guest count (130). If you need to keep your guest count down, this is the place for you! And the food was absolutely amazing. We received many compliments on the quality.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We had the most beautiful wedding and service at the Hotel Monaco Alexandria! Allison (our catering manager) was so efficient and replied to emails very quick. She is unbelievably organized! She made the planning process easier, especially at points when we were confused and stressed she was always one step ahead of us. On the day of, Annee was with us and was there from the beginning of the day helping with details and organization. Little things of course come up that a bride and groom may not think of and between Allison and Annee they took care of all that stuff so we didn't have to worry.The hotel itself is gorgeous and the food was AMAZING! They put together Indian menu options for us too since we wanted to combine both our cultures. We have no ties to Alexandria but chose this location based on the hotel and the amazing service we knew we, and our guests, would receive. Can't thank everyone there enough for being so helpful and making our wedding day so perfect!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Outstanding service from the initial contact through the final dance. The professionalism and attention to detail was phenomenal. Allison Manning, the catering manager was amazing, she is an expert and I am convinced there is nothing she can't do! Hotel Monaco even offered amazing options for food allergies and tailored the food options to meet our needs. Overall a fantastic experience and a wonderful venue.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Britton 7 Reviews
Allison and her team made our day fantastic, they remained very flexible up until the very last minute and were an absolute pleasure to work with - I would absolutely recommend them to anyone!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Leigh 3 Reviews
We received so many compliments from our guests on how much they enjoyed our wedding at Hotel Monaco. The courtyard made for a beautiful ceremony, and our out of town guests loved the guest rooms and being able to explore Old Town Alexandria. The entrees (filet mignon, rockfish, and chicken roulade) were crowd pleasers as were the chicken and waffles at cocktail hour! Also, Allison Manning (the hotel's wedding planner) was great to work with and is quick to respond to emails. Thank you Hotel Monaco for helping us plan such a wondering wedding we will remember for a lifetime!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My fiancée and I got engaged over Christmas and we decided to get married the following August. I got in touch with the Hotel Monaco knowing it only based on reputation. Because of a crazy work schedule I was not able to take off from work to meet with Allison Manning (Hotel Monaco's Wedding Guru) but my parents and fiancée were able to take the time. They had a wonderful first meeting and we decided to book it. I visited the Hotel for the first time about a month later for the Hotel Monaco's Wedding Open House. The Open House gave a good flavor for what the Hotel had to offer, and I was thrilled that we were having our wedding there. I also met the woman that I eventually picked to be our florist that day.

From day one, my correspondence with Allison and other staff at the Hotel was professional, helpful, and always answered in a timely manner. They were always available to answer my questions and kept my planning on track.

On our wedding weekend, from the minute my now husband and I checked in we were made to feel like royalty. The day of our wedding, everything was absolutely perfect and exactly as I pictured it would be based on all of our discussions with Allison. The catering manager keeping everything running smoothly, the food was amazing, and the bar staff made excellent drinks and served them up quickly!

I lost count of how many wedding guests told me how beautiful the hotel was, what a great venue it was for a wedding, and most importantly how wonderful the staff at the hotel was. Every single person we interacted with was so lovely and so willing to help us in whatever we needed. I am thrilled with how everything turned out! Hotel Monaco didn't just meet my expectations they far exceeded them. Thank you!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Everything about our wedding at the Hotel Monaco was perfect. The staff is incredible, especially Allison, and make our experience wonderful. I would highly recommend them
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I was to try and describe what my dream wedding would look like, it would be very easy. All I would have to do was show you a photo from my recent wedding at Hotel Monaco Alexandria! This venue is perfect for a couple that wants a combination of unique and traditional elements for their wedding, which is exactly what we were looking for. The hotel has such a fun and funky vibe, and the courtyard where we had the ceremony and the cocktail hour (the weather held out!) was just perfect. I can’t speak more highly of the staff who helped us to make our wedding day perfect and customized to our personalities. Allison Manning was accommodating, thorough, kind, and most of all, CALM. She really has a way to make you feel like you are being heard, and is essential in making your wedding come to life. One of the only things my husband asked to have at the wedding was hot wings and a certain beer – and Allison made it happen! We also decided not to get a traditional wedding cake, but rather ordered 15 different cheesecakes from the Cheesecake Factory and displayed them on various cake stands. Hotel Monaco made such a lovely display and went above and beyond delivering the different types of cake to our guests – it was a real hit! The wait staff and bartenders were also extremely friendly and accommodating, and they made sure my husband and I got enough to eat and drink in order to keep us going throughout the night. My mom and I considered many venues, but once we stepped foot in Hotel Monaco Alexandria, we knew this was the place. We’re confident that after a wedding that no one will forget, we absolutely made the right choice! Thank you Hotel Monaco Alexandria!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 1 Reviews
I honestly wish I could rate the Hotel Monaco even higher! The staff, and I mean every single person I had contact with over the course of a year, was so accommodating, personable and kind. I cant say enough good things about that aspect! Allison Manning and Annee Gillette are absolutely wonderful planners/day of coordinators. You can tell they really enjoy their work.

The food was also amazing! We got so many compliments about everything served. Even our somewhat snobby D.C. foodie friends were so impressed with it :) And the Chef was more than accommodating at our tasting- going above and beyond to offer a second salad for us.

The venue itself is also so beautiful! We were told a lot how unique it is for a hotel.

I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved having our wedding at the Hotel Monaco! Allison and her team were very responsive, happy to accommodate our requests, and so nice and helpful on the wedding day! The food was excellent, all of the guests loved the fun appetizers like burger sliders and mini grilled cheese! We loved having our wedding in such a central location in Old Town Alexandria. Many of our guests were from out of town, so they enjoyed staying at the unique hotel and exploring the quaint and charming neighborhood. The hotel has such great decor, and having our wedding here was so different from your typical hotel wedding. We were also happy that we could rent out the courtyard, so we were able to be outside as well as inside for the whole night.
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you so much to Allison Manning and Annee Gillett and all of the fabulous staff at Hotel Monaco, Alexandria for helping us create the wedding of our dreams! From the flexible planning process to the day-of events, everything seemed almost effortless and far surpassed our expectations. The staff were responsive, respectful and truly made us feel so special! Our appetizers, entrees and fabulous wine selections catered by Jackson 20 were delicious-our guests expressed how much they enjoyed the food; even said that it was the best wedding food they have had! You all helped us create memories that we will cherish for a lifetime! Thank you!

~Geoff & Lindsay
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Allison Manning and her staff were extremely professional and courteous throughout the entire process. They provided an accurate quote in the beginning so there were no unexpected charges at the end. Our tasting was phenomenal and the actual meals lived up to our expectations-- our guests all commented on how good it was. Our wedding day was perfect!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 1 Reviews
They met all of our expectations during the planning stages. The spaces are inexpensive to rent, but the catering and minimum food amount is expensive. During the day-of, the wait staff and catering manager were incredibly nice, accommodating and helpful.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we started planning our wedding, my husband & I decided that we wanted to have a huge party rather than the traditional wedding. The courtyard at Hotel Monaco was just the place we wanted. Throughout the whole planning process, Allison was extremely helpful and responsive to all of our questions. Throughout the night the staff was very attentive to our needs and one staff member in particular, Javier, went above and beyond for us. He made sure that we had everything we needed and that we always had a full drink. Our only complaints are that we wish we would have been told Allison would not have been there for our party so we could have talked to Annee more and that there was more communication between the front desk staff and the event staff. We were having a breakfast for our guests the next morning and whenever my mother-in-law asked to speak to Allison they told her to check back in a bit because she wasn't in yet. All in all it was a great place and a great time for us & our guests.
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Allison and Annee were an absolute pleasure to work with. Our friends and family have continued to comment on how wonderful the food was! Many commented that it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. I have marked the professionalism down because I had several family members remark that the front desk staff was rude, and many of our welcome/greeting bags for hotel guests were not given out or had items missing!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We chose Hotel Monaco for our reception site and we could not have been happier. Allison Manning was exceptionally helpful. She guided us, organized us and made our planning experience with Hotel Monaco so positive with her warm and calm disposition. Always quick to respond, we never felt any additional stress. Allison had her own family wedding to attend the day of our wedding and we were genuinely sad she was not there. Everything still went off without a hitch though and the rest of the staff at the Monaco continued to make us feel like rock stars. We weren't the only ones that felt we got the royal treatment. Our guests consistently shared that the service and treatment they received was outstanding and the food from Jackson 20 was delicious. Although, we don't plan on getting married again, we would love the chance to repeat the day all over again at Hotel Monaco. :) It was that awesome.
Wedding: 05/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-519-6850
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0