A Gala Event Catering & Events Reviews

35 | San Antonio, TX
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for A Gala Event Catering & Events

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

35

21 User photos

Order by:
  • Roberta

    Roberta S. · Married on 03/13/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best decision ever!

    Jose was a dream to work with from the start. We met him at the San Fernando open house and immediately loved his personality as well as the comprehensive services and classy styles of A Gala Event. He helped make our wedding everything we wanted it to be, making us laugh plenty of times on the way. And when we made mistakes in the planning, he’d come save the day no problem. He was super flexible and always responded quickly to our needs. It’s clear Jose makes a personal investment in ensuring that each of his events is a success. We’d definitely book through him again! Highly highly recommend the yummy cordon bleu, meat empanadas, and the cucumber sandwiches!

    Sent on 04/07/2021
  • B

    Bianca T. · Married on 04/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    World Class Service

    My wife and I got married on 11/16/2019 and we could not have been happier with every detail
    put together by Jose and his team. They truly went above and beyond our every expectation and helped put our perfect day into reality. A Gala is the preferred caterer at the venue we chose and once we saw that they were a one stop shop for every one of our wedding needs it relieved so much stress from us as a couple. A Gala was able to provide the catering, decorating, centerpieces, event coordinating, and bar tenders at our wedding. The food was amazing, everyone’s meal was served hot and it was a delicious spread that included a salad, choice of entrée, chocolate fountain for our guests to enjoy, and a surprise midnight snack of delicious street tacos. The pipe and drape with uplighting that were set up around our venue in
    combination with the breathtaking centerpieces truly wowed our guests. Jose was always
    available to provide his helpful suggestions when it was time to finalize small details and his
    input is really what took our wedding from good to amazing. With Jose as our day-of coordinator he went above and beyond taking care of details we weren’t even aware we would need help with – he thought of everything! Jose’s experience, love for his job, and his own flare really took our wedding to the next level. Jose designed a sweethearts table for us that made us as the newlyweds the center of attention for the entire banquet hall. Jose event went as far as secretly coordinating with my mother to decorate our hotel room the night of the wedding. We were shocked to arrive to our hotel room after a night filled with memories to a beautiful display set up throughout our entire suite. We could not believe how beautifully the room was decorated and it really put a special end to the best day ever. The best decision we made for our wedding was contracting A Gala to handle the bulk of our wedding needs, we only needed to contract a hall, a photographer and our church apart from them. All our experiences with Jose and A Gala were world class and we cannot recommend them enough!

    Sent on 12/09/2019
  • I

    Isis · Married on 12/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best experience

    All the guests love the food!!! The attention and dedication Jose brings to the table is beyond a 5 star rating. We are glad we got recommended to him. I wish i could put 10⭐s. The service and professionalism was great!!.

    Sent on 12/15/2019
  • Benjamin

    Benjamin C. · Married on 11/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Never fails to deliver and exceed expectations

    This is the 3rd time my wife has worked with Jose and A Gala Event and he has always over delivered so we knew we could trust him to make our wedding both beautiful and memorable.
    Jose advised us throughout the entire process. He recommended things that would elevate the environment of our venue and the elegance of our wedding from specialty linens and double chargers to Gold utensils we had all the options available. Jose and his team were very professional and willing to do everything possible to make our day beautiful.

    Sent on 11/26/2019
  • B

    Beatrice G. · Married on 11/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flawless!!!

    Jose and I met 11 years ago. Since then I have used his services for many of my family and church events. Every time I hire his service he always deliver. He personally makes sure you are taken care of and puts attention to all and small detail. Jose makes sure to stay connected with you and his staff is professional and provides outstanding services. Because of that I will continue working with him.

    Sent on 11/29/2019
  • Stacy

    Stacy O. · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mrs. Stacy L. O'Dowd

    Jose is an amazing wedding planner and caterer!!!!! His staff was pretty awesome too!!!! My wedding in October was incredible because of him being organized and on point and everything going as planned.

    Sent on 11/25/2019
  • Charlotte

    Charlotte · Married on 09/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mm-mm Good!

    On time. Food was very tasty. Received lots of compliments from guest.

    Sent on 10/06/2019
  • A

    Alexa M. · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing caterer!

    Jose embodies what a business owner should look like. His passion is making the event go beautifully, and man does he deliver!! Not only was he extremely easy to work with, he was extremely generous! One of our favorite parts about him is his upfront honesty!
    We hired A Gala Event Catering to serve food, alcohol, and set up our wedding, and we couldn't have asked for anything more! Everything was delicious!! It's 3 months after our wedding, and people are still raving about how delicious the street tacos (served as a late snack) were!! His entire staff (both bartenders and waiters) were extremely professional and helped make our wedding beautiful! 10/10 would recommend!!

    Sent on 12/18/2019
  • J

    James H. · Married on 02/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The owner is extremely easy to work with.

    Jose was extremely helpful with choosing a menu for our wedding. I will definitely use his services in the future!

    Sent on 02/27/2019
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa · Married on 02/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious!

    A Gala Catering serves delicious food! And their service was exceptional. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 02/12/2019
  • O

    Oralia G. · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Extraordinary !

    A Gala Event and Catering is an extraordinary company. Jose Ibarra offers dedication and professionalism that over exceeds all expectations. His team works devotedly making sure everything is in place. Exquisite and tasteful food! Excellent / personalized customer service. In addition to that, Jose is efficient, professional and knowledgeable. Thank you Jose - A Gala Event and Catering - for making our dream come true!!
    +A Gala Event and Catering es una compania extraordinaria. Jose Ibarra ofrece dedicacion y profesionalismo en excede toda expectative. Su equipo trabaja dedicadamente en cada detalle de el evento serciorandose que todo este en su lugar. Exquisita y deliciosa comida!! Excelente servicio personalilzado al cliente. Hay que agregar que teniendo a Jose como Organizador de el Evento, nos permitio disfrutar de nuestro dia tan especial. Jose es eficiente, profesional y con mucha experiencia,. Gracias Jose Ibarra y A Gala Event and Catering por hacer de nuestro sueno una realidad!!

    Sent on 02/19/2019
  • Catalina

    Catalina G. · Married on 01/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delightful to work whit them

    It was a pleasure to have Jose and his team behind us, the food was delicious and beautyfully presented, his team also helped us with the bars and lounges . We started with la merienda, a smores bar and Tostitos with corn, coffee and hot chocolate it was a Hit

    Sent on 04/02/2019
  • P

    Priscilla · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank Jose and his staff enough for going above and beyond for our wedding celebration. Jose was the BEST coordinator ever he made our whole event go so smoothly from the church ceremony to the end of the night! We received so many compliments from our guest that night about how delicious the food was and how excellent the service from staff , and how beautiful and elegant the decor was. We ended the evening by offering midnight snacks “ street tacos and beans” major hit for our guest !! Totally recommend! Forever grateful to Jose and the rest of A gala staff for making our event a memorable one!!

    Sent on 08/20/2018
  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If a 10 star rating was available for all the ratings they will difantly be receiving it. We had a sit-down dinner for my daughter's wedding that was held on June 2, 2018. The food was exactly as our "Taste Sample " appointment. The staff was very professional and attentive to everything happening at the venue. As our guest made their way inside the venue after the ceremony, the catering staff already had tea and water set up on all the tables (it was a hot day) The catering staff went beyond their duties to make sure everything was PERFECT. I highly recommend "A Gala Event Catering & Event" for all your catering needs and more. ❤

    Sent on 06/17/2018
  • R

    Richelle · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough of great things about Jose!! My whole experience of planning my wedding with A Gala Event Catering & Events was incredible. I would recommend him to any bride & groom, or any special event. The food we chose was the Cordon Bleu with Poblano Sauce and my guest were blown of the selection. Not only did he serve the food at our wedding, we used his linen, fine china and he also helped me with centerpieces to my bride bouquet. I say look no further people Jose is Amazing!!!!!!! Thank Jose for helping us make our wedding unbelievably beautiful.

    Sent on 08/04/2018
  • J

    Jeanette · Married on 04/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Gala catering was amazing! Jose is so nice and his food is amazingly good! Best prices in town! Very reasonable prices! Everyone loved the food and the chocolate fountain! Highly recommend a gala!

    Sent on 06/03/2018
  • K

    Kathy · event on: 01/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr. Jose Ibarra and his staff were welcoming to our entire family! Mr. Ibarra did an amazingly wonderful job answering all of our questions and addressing all of our needs regarding my daughter's quinceanera. We appreciate his patience and honesty when addressing our questions and needs. My husband and I were so thankful that Mr. Jose took care of every detail the day of the event, so that we could enjoy the day with our family. He made our daughter's special day absolutely beautiful and memorable!

    Sent on 06/03/2018
  • M

    Maggie · Married on 11/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jose did an extraordinary job catering my daughter's Quinceanera. We picked the chicken parmesan plate to serve our guests. The vegetables were fresh, the chicken was seasoned to perfection(and moist), and the presentation of the plate was great! I would definitely use A Gala Event Catering for my next event.

    Sent on 11/28/2017
  • J

    Josie · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best! You cannot go wrong.

    Jose and his team are the best! I have had the pleasure of working with Jose for the past several years. Whenever I have an event, Jose is the caterer I refer everyone to. His food is the best and his pricing is right one. If you want something this top quality, call Jose. He will take great care of you.

    Sent on 04/04/2019
  • R

    Rita · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired AGEC to be our cater, decorations, fresh flowers, and event
    coordinating and I'm so honored to say that we made the best decision
    ever! Jose (the owner) was our event planner and he was on top of every
    single little detail making sure everything came out better than we
    expected. He was very professional in our consultations and the day of
    the event his staff was very friendly and fast in our sit- down dinner.
    I will highly recommend his company for your future event. Thank you
    JOSE for being such a great event planner and professional. I will be
    hiring you for all of my events.

    Sent on 08/24/2017
  • M

    Marina · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jose and his staff made the catering process so easy! We met with Jose several times to ensure everything was correct, to include a great food tasting where Jose was full of suggestions so that we had everything we wanted. The day of the wedding, the staff was timely and professional. Pricing was extremely reasonable too!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • E

    Edika · Married on 05/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jose is very professional. The linens were absolutely beautiful. Twelve weeks after my wedding, I'm still getting comments about how beautiful the place looked. I didn't use Jose/A Gala Event for the food, but I wish I would have. The caterer I used also provided linens, but I went with Jose at A Gala Event for the linens because I had more choices to pick from and the options were prettier. It would have been so much easier to deal with just one person for both the food and the linens; If I had to do it all over again I would use Jose for both. Totally recommend A Gala Event! Thank you for making my reception a dream come true! You made an average looking building look absolutely stunning!

    Sent on 08/24/2016
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 12/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have never had food so deliciously cooked! José and his staff are absolutely fabulous. I myself had the codon blue while my husband had the chicken alfredo. The guests at our wedding wanted second and third plates and I'm pretty sure they all but licked their plates clean. The team of servers were fast and polite . When it came time for the wedding cake to be cut, I'm fairly certain all our guests had a slice in under 5 minutes! If I have to cater an event again I will be calling A Gala Event. For the quality AND quantity of food you get with you meal the prices are so worth it. Thank you José and please send your staff our praise as well!????

    Also the linens made our night a magical one. Thank you for that as well.

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • L

    Lisseth · Married on 10/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved Jose, His kind staff and yummy food. He provides a great service at an excellent value. I highly reccomend him and his spiffy team.

    Sent on 01/28/2016
  • User4596761 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Gala Event did a great job catering our wedding dinner. The food was so delicious! The table set up looked so nice. The service was absolutely amazing. My guest enjoyed the sit down dinner and how quickly they served the food. I liked that A Gala Event also served the champagne, the cake, and the mints that I had asked. Thank you A Gala Event!

    Sent on 12/21/2014