Stephen Gosling Photography
Washington DC & Northern Virginia Wedding Photographer
815 N. Patrick Street
Alexandria, VA 22314  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (15)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen was absolutely fantastic! He was lovely and professional in the lead up to the wedding and on the day he was flexible and unobtrusive but also really helpful! The photobooth was a huge hit with the guests and the images I have seen so far have been fantastic! He's also an all-around nice guy who I highly recommend to any DC brides!
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen took the most beautiful pictures on our wedding day. I knew when we met up with him almost a year before our wedding that he would be the right fit--he was laid back, funny, and made me feel at ease. One of my favorite parts of his work as our photographer is that I almost never knew he was there (although we loved when he was!). I got to be present at my own wedding, without having a photographer constantly harassing me and forcing posed shots. Stephen knows how to get the right shot at all times--and he does it effortlessly. Our pictures are amazing and when I look at them I can picture that day so vividly! Thank you, Stephen, for capturing the beauty of our day : ) Also--thank you for your humor and sarcasm, and also for letting our parents know that our "first-look" was just for us--it was the best part of our day!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I love Stephen. We first met Stephen when he shot our engagement photos earlier this year—he was super flexible and incredibly knowledgeable about the wedding industry—and we are so happy with our engagement photos (even though we took them outside on a very cold February morning!). On our wedding day, Stephen was super calm and totally went with the flow (I was bouncing off the walls with nervous energy). I felt like we had to rush and he kept telling me to slow down and breathe (thank you!). He never got in the way but was always right there capturing every moment. Stephen also set up a photo booth at our wedding—super fun!! All of our guests LOVED it. Our only regret is that my husband and I didn't get a chance to hop in the booth with just the two of us. We could not be happier with Stephen—and we haven't even seen the wedding photos, yet! Thank you, Stephen!
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Leslie 2 Reviews
Stephen is simply phenomenal. Period. From our first meeting at Northside Social, to our wedding day, he was the consummate professional. He's kind, easy going, and takes spectacular photos. Not only did our guests absolutely love him, but it felt like having another member of our family at the wedding. For this admittedly crowd-averse bride--who gets nervous at large parties--he was also a shining beacon of Zen-like calm and consistency on the day of the ceremony. He never rushed us, and we had ample time to relax during our stroll through Old Town, Alexandria. The photos turned out so beautifully, and we couldn't be more pleased with the whole experience. Book him now, before his calendar is full!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough about how perfect Stephen was as our destination wedding photographer. Stephen and his lovely wife joined us in Puerto Rico for our destination wedding and let me just say--WOW! Great personalities, to say nothing of Stephen's professionalism and talent for photography! Stephen came to my room as I was getting my makeup and hair finished and as I asked him a series of rapid fire questions, he calmly and slowly replied to each question--literally bringing the calm into the whole suite! His ease helped erase my nerves entirely and reminded me that all I had to do that day was be a beautiful bride. It was hot as blazes outside and even through the air conditioning to humidity changes from indoors to our outdoor ceremony, he knew his equipment well enough to be able to time everything perfectly--even for our newlywed photo session the next day. We also chose Stephen for our engagement photos. Needless to say, I can only hope that he'll be ready to start shooting baby sessions someday so that we have a reason to work with him again soon. If you're considering Stephen, stop searching and call him already. You won't be disappointed.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Stephen was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend him to other couples looking for gourgeous photography on their wedding day! From the very first meeting, Stephen was easy to work with and had great ideas and suggestions on how best to capture us and our wedding - even when we wanted to include our dog in our wedding photos. We could not be more pleased with how our photos turned out and no doubt one reason they look so great was because of how at ease Stephen put us during the process - even though it was cold and rainy. Any bride and groom would be lucky to have photography from Stephen for their wedding.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen was a great addition to our wedding day, as was his assistant. We used him for two days since we split the ceremony and reception. He was very professional, easy going, and flexible-going with the flow. The day of the ceremony he kept the group focused for group shots and the day of the reception he got great candid shots of pretty much EVERYONE, but he was never noticeable or in the way. He was exactly what we wanted the day(s) of the event and after as well. The product was of high quality and exactly what we wanted. We could NOT be happier. Thanks so much!
Wedding: 05/20/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen is absolutely amazing!! I could not have asked for more from him, and I would absolutely recommend him to any bride looking for a laid back, very professional photographer who takes fantastic photos!! Stephen was organized and focused- he went to check out the venue a few weeks before the wedding and found some really beautiful places to take pictures. He knew exactly which group photos we wanted, and he got through those in a very timely manner after the ceremony so that we could enjoy our reception. I didn't even notice him during the ceremony but the photos I've seen so far are incredible. I cannot wait to see all of the pictures!! Stephen is fantastic, and I can't say enough wonderful things about him and his talent (and his ability to deal with brides and the craziness of weddings)! Thank you Stephen for giving us such beautiful photos to remember our wedding day! -Kimberly and Matt
Wedding: 05/07/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen was absolutely amazing! He did an engagement session with us in the freezing cold in January and put up with the elements, long walks around Old Town and our very energetic dog during the shoot. We hired him for the wedding and he was our favorite vendor: he went to our venue the weekend before the wedding to scope out the area and find great places for portraits. On the wedding day he was on time and got some great pictures of the venue while he was waiting for us to show up (since we were late). He was flexible during the ceremony and put up with our massive and sometimes demanding and rowdy families. After the wedding he sent our our DVD of images earlier than expected, sent images to our other vendors to use on their blogs and has remained in touch and attentive to our special orders and needs long after his duties were completed. I would highly recommend him to anyone who wants a professional wedding photographer who takes beautiful formal portraits, great candid shots, and always catches a bit of whimsy.
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Photography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I would totally give Stephen ALL 5 stars but sometimes that looks like a fake review...Brides, let me tell you that Stephen was the answer to capturing my dream wedding. There was not one big moment missed and there were even some great moments that he captured and was so glad he did. He was SO easy to work with and kept calm on the big day even with some last minute schedule changes we made. He also was very helpful and knowledgeable regarding sites to shoot at and the logistics. I have already recommended him to my engaged friends and he really is what I was looking for. Our wedding shots were picked up by a few wedding blogs and the WashingtonPost because the shots from our wedding were so incredible.
Wedding: 07/03/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were very happy with Stephen's photography at our wedding. He is a low-key photographer, who will not be in guest's faces or interruptive of the day's events. From the time we signed the contract with him, Stephen was immediately responsive to all of our questions and requests. He showed up early on the day of, and sent our photos to us within a very reasonable time after the wedding. We heard of Stephen's name from our best friends, who were also happy with his work at their wedding. Stephen provides a good mix of artistic shots with the standard requisite posed photographs. It was also nice having a photographer who is adept with technology, as he was able to send some choice shots to our friends on Facebook right after the wedding, as well as to make some minor digital edits to some of the photographs.
Wedding: 06/19/2010
Services Used: Photography
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
It was great to work with Stephen; the church coordinator seemed to like him as he was very unobtrusive and my family also commented multiple times after the wedding how they really liked our photographer and how he was so professional and not in the way at all. He is very nice and my husband has started saying we need to go back to him and get photos taken every year!
Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen was the perfect fit for us, and for our wedding. Casual but with a high level of professionalism, Stephen captured all the important elements of our wedding day without the intrusive approach of most wedding photographers I've witnessed. His best traits are his friendly and relaxed demeanor, quick decision-making, flexibility, patience, and above all his photography skills. His indoor photos, especially of the dance floor, are very impressive. It takes a skillful photographer to shoot that nicely indoors with all kinds of lighting going on. He was also very responsive, and within the promised 6 weeks after the wedding we received our photos online and a lovely CD "gift" that was very personalized and sent to our home. We planned our wedding in just under 4 months and were looking mainly for a reliable photographer. Stephen was more than we expected -- reliable, extremely talented, and kind. We'd recommend him to anyone.
Wedding: 04/03/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stephen was very friendly when I first spoke with him and made me feel comfortable from the start. He asked questions to get a feel for our (couple) personalities so he could choose a location that fit our personalities (and the weather). There was a slight snow the day of our original appointment and he was very accommodating and understanding that it was unsafe to drive (where I think most photographers might have charged for the inconvenience of appt since he was in the city and most people should have been able to make it by metro). He responded to calls and emails very promptly & was always very professional, yet fun and relaxed. Stephen was very confident about his talents without being "snooty". For the shoot he was very friendly, asking us questions about our relationship while also making the most of our short time out in the cold for the photo shoot. He even laid down in the middle of the street to get "the shot". For being as awesome as he was and for how great the shots turned out his prices are great! Most photographers charge an arm and a leg because they are so well known, but Stephen offers competitive prices and a great product. He sent us our photos on a cd in the cutest packaging with a fast turn around time for us to send out our engagement photos! I HIGHLY recommend Stephen! He is an artist and we fully trusted him to work his magic - I had no worries at all! (The services were for engagement photos)
Wedding: 11/14/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I hate giving all 5 stars because it tends to look fake, but I swear that is how I honestly feel about Stephen and his work. I'd been left in the dust by some unethical vendors, and Stephen came to my rescue. Not only was his desire to help me great, but the service and photographs he provided me with were amazing. He was easy to get in touch with when I had questions, and he was beyond flexible. Very little went according to plan on the morning of my wedding, and while I was fuming quite a bit, Stephen took it all in stride and still managed to get all of the pictures I had requested! I loved working with him, and I highly recommend him to anybody I know who is engaged. :)
Wedding: 09/26/2009
Services Used: Photography
 740-398-9662
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0