Pine Hills Lodge
    11 Reviews
2960 La Posada Way
Julian, CA 92036  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (11)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 1 Reviews
I was never that little girl who dreamed about having the perfect wedding her whole life, but that's exactly what I got at the Pine Hills Lodge in Julian, CA: perfection. Hanna, the lodge owner, was extraordinarily helpful from start to finish, making certain I had everything I needed for the big day. The venue was beautiful and our guests raved about the food. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Pine Hills Lodge to anyone who wants to have a serene, secluded mountain wedding.
Wedding: 07/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Pamela 1 Reviews
Pine Hills Lodge was a beautiful location for my daughter's wedding! The entire family was able to stay on site and have the place to ourselves! The food was fabulous, the service was professional and the set up was just as we requested. Hanna was very attentive, helpful and patient with us as we tried to solidify the plans. I would recommed Pine Hills Lodge to anyone who would like a venue in the quite hills of Julian!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dawn 1 Reviews
I would recommend Pine Hills Lodge as a wedding venue for that beautiful country wedding. It was the perfect spot for all our friends and family to gather for the weekend for my daughters wedding. Our guests were taken back by the beauty of the property and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the mountains.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had a lovely outdoor wedding at the Pine Hills Lodge. Hanna was very easy to work with and the Lodge is beautiful historic setting for reception. Food and service during reception was excellent!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erika 1 Reviews
My husband and I had our wedding at Pine Hills Lodge on January 26th 2013.
From the time we booked the venue until our wedding day, the planning process went smoothly.
Hanna was a huge help. She was flexible with us, accommodating and understanding.
We loved everything about our wedding!! Even with the rain. All day long!! Lol
It was perfect :)
My only complaint/comment would be that I wish they had an on site day of coordinator. Even if it was just for the ceremony and directing guests to the cocktail hour. It was just a tad chaotic and myself/guests/family were kind of scrambling around and trying to direct people.
Other than that, everything went off without a hitch!
Tables were set, food was excellent, wait staff was wonderful. We were very pleased!
I'd definitely recommend this venue to friends. I already have to a couple of brides :)

Oh......if you can, make sure the pine hills lodge salad is on your menu. Mixed greens, dried cranberries, candied pecans (or some type of nut) and blue cheese crumbles/dressing. Delicious!! I made sure to get seconds, as did many of our guests :)
Wedding: 01/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my dream wedding at Pine Hills Lodge on May 19, 2012! Hanna (owner) is amazing! She’s so friendly and easy to work with. She was very accommodating with my all requests, allowing me to do some things that had never been done before at the lodge (i.e. different ceremony site and reception table layout). We made an entire weekend getaway out of our wedding: got up there around 9 am the day before and were able to set everything up, had the rehearsal at the ceremony site then headed to Wynola Pizza Bistro for dinner, got married the next day (SO stress free because everything was set- up the day before!), and the day after had brunch with family and friends. We had the whole place to ourselves (immediate family and wedding party filled up the entire lodge) and seriously had such a blast!

If you’re looking for a charming and rustic wedding venue that feels intimate, but can accommodate 150 people, Pine Hills Lodge is a great option. I was a little concerned about getting 150 people seated inside for the reception, but with creative thinking and table design, we totally made it work! My only other concern was not being able to do a food tasting – but do not let that worry you, the food was delicious! I kid you not I still have people talking about the citrus chicken and garlic mashed potatoes. I couldn’t be happier that I chose to get married at Pine Hills Lodge and cannot wait to return for a weekend getaway!

Thanks Hanna and Terry!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From Day 1 of planning, Hanna was always very friendly, prompt, and flexible. We made so many changes as we got closer to the wedding, and she was incredibly patient and awesome about it. During the rehearsal dinner and reception, she took care of some things that my groom and I had neglected, and she did this so swiftly and graciously. Pine Hills Lodge was the most romantic, wonderful place for us to have our reception, and we will always cherish the memories. The bartender Greg was a huge hit with many of the guests, and the catering staff was superb. There were games for the children in the pub, and everyone had a blast. I can't thank the staff enough.
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a beautiful wedding and reception at Pine Hills Lodge last December! I really wanted a warm, cozy winter wedding and I got it at Pine Hills. I know a lot of people have outdoor ceremonies there, but we opted for all indoors (December in Julian is cold!) and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The fireplace is a gorgeous backdrop for the ceremony and the dinning room had a rustic elegance that we loved. Hanna, the owner, was even willing to let us bring in Christmas trees and lights and set up the dining room exactly how we wanted it! The food was delicious- I still have friends commenting on the Julian Salad- and the service staff was very professional and warm with our guests. We only visited in person twice and were able to make all of our arrangements from out of town through Hanna, the owner. I have to really compliment Hanna on her flexibility and variety of services. It was so convenient to have a venue that included food and bar services and helped us find vendors for the cake, the DJ, the rehearsal dinner, and additional lodging needs in town for our guests.
We were able to arrive and start setting up the day before the wedding on our own schedule. We had the rehearsal dinner catered in the pub by Wynola Pizza (great lasagna and baked ziti) with the bartender available to serve us all night. I stayed upstairs with my girlfriends in the lodge rooms the night before the wedding and my family and friends stayed in the surrounding cabins. My husband and I came back Sunday morning to join family and friends at the Sunday brunch before everyone headed home. We heard nothing but compliments on our wedding and venue choice- we have been told by several guests that it was the prettiest wedding they have ever attended. Our whole wedding weekend was wonderful because of Pine Hills Lodge- I keep telling my husband that I want to go back and do it all over again!
Wedding: 12/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at the Pine Hills Lodge on October 1, 2011 and I can't say enough great things about this venue! Hanna, the owner, went above and beyond! She allowed us to come to the lodge the day before the wedding to decorate the area just the way we wanted. She even provided us a beverage bin and ice free of charge so we could provide our guests with ice cold bottled water. We even had a skit for our main entrance and she made sure a couple of very important props were available on command. She was so awesome and helpful and just one of the sweetest people. Plus, we were able to find our DJ (Sound Prodigy) and cake baker (Candied Apple Pastry Company) through her. Then from our DJ we found our photographers (More Than Words Photography)and all of them worked REALLY well together. Everything went without a hitch.

The lawn may look small but it was able to hold a little over 100 of our guests just fine! I haven't gotten my official photographers' photos yet but from what I've seen of other guests' photos, the altar looked absolutely beautiful with the manzanita trees and the shining green leaves in the background.

The food was delicious! The entrees we provided for our guests were the tri-citrus salmon and top sirloin with red wine cream sauce. I loved the top sirloin but if I could go back in time, I would have ordered double of the tri-citrus salmon instead. It was absolutely divine. Its so easy to overcook salmon and they had cooked it just well enough where it had that nice flaky texture outside but was still really juicy! We also ordered the Julian Salad and we got so much praise from our guests for this salad! One of my guests even said it was one of the best salads she had ever had.

It was the best days of our lives and I'm SO glad we had our wedding here.

Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Camzin 1 Reviews
The location was beautiful and very accommodating to our needs. The owners made me feel comfortable with every interaction and set everything up for our wedding to be everything we wanted it to be.
Wedding: 08/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Pine Hills Lodge is a fantastic venue for San Diego brides who are looking for something besides a beach wedding (or Spanish architecture... Not that it isn't beautiful!).
The lodge is absolutely beautiful. It's set in the mountains and forest just outside of Julian, which is beautiful in its own right. The lodge itself is very flexible for planning, with an outdoor lawn, a multi-story deck, a beautiful dining room and a lobby with a huge fireplace. There's also a pub onsite with a patio!
Hanna, the venue coordinator, is patient and kind, and absolutely the type of person a stressed bride needs! She'll help you out with suggestions anytime, via phone or email.
One potential red flag is that the Lodge does not do menu tastings. This caused my groom and I a bit of stress, but when the day came our fears were laid completely to rest. The food was absolutely amazing. We received countless compliments from our guests.
Things to keep in mind: the "honeymoon" suite (the North Star Cabin) is not included in the price of the venue. You may also want to consider purchasing your own wine and paying the corkage fee (the selection is not great and the wines are marked up). If you've chosen a meat entree, don't count on getting a special meal for your one or two vegetarians. Also, plan ahead if you're feeding your vendors. The Lodge will feed them, but you'll pay full price for their meals.
All said, Pine Hills was worth every penny we paid. We enjoyed the venue every minute we were there (all weekend!), the service during the reception was excellent, and all of our guests loved the venue.
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 760-765-1100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0