meredith hanafi photography
Modern wedding photography for your unique wedding! DC, VA, MD, PA, NY and beyond...
1344 Shepherd St NW
Washington, DC 20011  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (22)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot possibly do justice to how fantastic Meredith is with one short posting. Out of all our vendors, while all were good, she was by far the best, and the most fun to work with. My fiance was very reluctant to even have a photographer, and was dreading the hours we would spend taking portraits. But her absolute professionalism and lovely personality completely won him over, and he now also admits that she was by far and away our best vendor. We had a blast during the portrait session - Meredith's kind and easy going nature made everything simple, and the squeaky toy she had on hand to capture the attention of our pup resulted in some beautiful pics of the three of us. And when she needed to melt into the background, during the reception and ceremony, she did so … again, the pics were absolutely beautiful, we were tearing up during the slideshow she sent us, and she got them to us in record time after the wedding. Her overall style is candid, natural, emotional moments between the two of you, but that being said, she really does it all! We are looking forward to the birth of our first child (in the years to come) as an excuse to invite her back into our lives. Thank you Meredith, for everything!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith is absolutely the BEST! From our very first email exchange, we knew that we had found the perfect person to capture our wedding day. Meredith takes the time to get to know you long before your wedding day. Since we live in North Carolina and would only be going to Washington, DC a couple of days before our wedding, our first "meeting" was via Skype. After that first Skype meeting, we felt like we had made a new friend.
On the day of our wedding, Meredith met us two hours before the ceremony to take some "getting ready" shots. Once we got to the location where our ceremony was held, she took many more shots in various locations. There was so much variety, and so many candid shots that when my brother in California took a look at the slideshow of the 100+ photos, he said, "Wow! It was like I was actually there!" And that is exactly what we were looking for since our families could not travel to be there. Thanks to Meredith, our family and friends can all feel like they were right there with us on our wedding day.
Wedding: 04/16/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith's work is impeccable! She is so down to earth and genuine and easy to work with. She makes an attempt to get to know you and what your expectations are first thing. So friendly and in tune with her work. Most of the time we forgot she was even there! When we got our pictures we were speechless, so beautiful. She captured our day in a way that we can always just look at our pictures and re-live the whole experience all over again! She is actually above a 5 star rating. Highly recommend!
Wedding: 04/16/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved working with Meredith. From our very first meeting/consultation to the wedding day itself, she was one of the easy going and most enthusiastic of our vendors. She is very responsive over email, scheduling our engagement shoot was a breeze and any questions that you might have about your gallery, ordering prints, etc are answered right away. On the day of, Meredith and her assistant shooter were seemingly in five places at once. This was great because they were able to document so many moments of the day that otherwise rushed by for us. The pictures from the wedding came out beautifully, and it’s been fun to share them with family and friends and get the same feedback. We definitely recommend working with Meredith, her prices are great for the DC area and her work speaks for itself.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ray 1 Reviews
Planned everything for our wedding in Washington DC, officiant, flights, hotel, but didn't plan on needing a photographer... until our family and friends insisted... so with about six weeks out, started searching for one that would be able to do so, and one that we would be comfortable with... compounding the search was that we live in Florida and were flying in to DC on day of wedding! We were very fortunate to find Meredith Hanafi Photography. I had scheduled calls with 3 other photographers and within minutes of our conversation, knew she was the one! Having never done this before... I wanted her to tell me what to expect, etc. I could not have been happier with our choice and her work. Truly professional - and while there were some formal portrait or posed shots... most of the time I didn't even know where she was and now looking back on the photos and slideshow.. am amazed at how she did it, and I didn't even notice. Loved working with her and having her as a part of our wedding... Highly recommend her for your special day too.
Wedding: 10/09/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith was incredible. We were looking for beautiful, natural wedding photos to capture the memories from our day. Not the posed, 'place your hands here, with your ring just so' but real, amazing moments between ourselves and our friends and family. We first met with Meredith after accidentally standing her up, and then finally rescheduling- she sat down with us and had good conversation over a couple of drinks. We were sold! She has an easygoing presence that makes her extremely easy to work with, and makes everyone in the photos comfortable, which is perfect for beautiful candid shots. Her vision is great, and the resulting images we have from both our wedding and our engagement photos are something that we will treasure forever. Our family and friends were so impressed with her professionalism at the wedding, and her coverage. I don't know how many people said, "Your photographer seemed like she was in three places at once"
The quality of Meredith's images is wonderful. They are beautiful, clear, and full of feeling. A lot of amateurs try to do similar work with good intentions, but they often fall short, and their images do not stand the test of time. Hire a professional photographer - you won't regret it.
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Eris 3 Reviews
Planning a wedding is a lot of fun, and a little hectic at the same time. Trying to find the best venue, team of videographers, photographers, musicians etc, reading reviews, seeking your friends’ input and so on, it becomes your second job! Well, your search for a photographer is over – Meredith Hanafi is it!

Greg and I had the privilege of working with Meredith, as our photographer for both our engagement last fall and wedding this past summer at the Inn at Perry Cabin in St. Michaels, Maryland. Her artistic work, level of professionalism, flexibility, creativity, and amazing personality made both events so much fun and easy for all of us. Her pictures were STUNNING! She’s organized, incredibly reliable, talented and fun photographer, that I didn’t have to worry about anything, she had it all under control! That’s the best thing one can ask for!

Vogue, Washingtonian, The Knot, and others, I hope you’re reading this too and will have the opportunity to see/experience Meredith’s work and vote her as your favorite! We certainly did!

Eris and Greg, June 15, 2013
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Miriam 4 Reviews
We got married in Brooklyn, NY and hired Meredith - who happily traveled up to NYC for our engagement shoot and wedding day. We had about 120 guests, and Meredith shot the whole wedding by herself. The amount of energy that she possesses is remarkable. We *love* our photos. On the day of the wedding, she was available, had a cheerful disposition, and eager to find natural moments - including during the formal photo session. When Meredith first arrived to our wedding venue, she did some exploring to find ideal spaces to take photos - landing us under a stairwell, in the window seat of a local wine shop, and by an antique car outside of the venue. We could not be happier with the results. Meredith was responsive and professional throughout the entire process, including Skyping with us because we live in Brooklyn. We had some specific requests during both the engagement shoot and wedding, and Meredith was respectful of what we did and did not want in terms of photos. We highly recommend Meredith and plan to use her services in the future!
Wedding: 04/14/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 1 Reviews
Meredith photographed our December wedding and we couldn't be happier!! We can't say enough to sing her praises -- she's so great to work with and made us look amazing!! When we shared our photos with family and friends, several people told us they wanted to get married all over again so they could have photos like ours!! Our entire experience working with her was low-stress and fun. For example, Meredith helped us with our "day of" schedule and timing (not just the photos but helped us think about the timing of the entire day), we did a walk through of our reception space and church about 2 weeks before to check the lighting and plan spots for photos, and she was responsive throughout (which is very helpful when you're stressing out as the day is approaching!!). She is professional, fun, and creative, she takes beautiful photos that tell a story, and our guests loved her. She captured so many special moments so beautiully. Meredith also did our engagement photos, which were great, and we look forward to having her photograph our family as it grows :-) If you're debating about a photgrapher, look no further.
Wedding: 12/15/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristin 6 Reviews
Meredith Hanafi was extremely professional, friendly, flexible, and the pictures she took were absolutely stunning. We, my husband and I, used her for our engagement photos and our wedding. During our engagement shoot, she went where we wanted to take pictures and even recommended another place so we all got in our cars and drove to two separate locations. She is extremely thorough in getting the great pictures that we wanted. I could go and on about how great she is and how amazing the pictures are, but in a testament to how much we enjoyed working with her and how much we love our pictures, I recommended her to my family and my sister is using her for family portraits. If anyone wants someone who knows exactly how to capture those unforgettable moments, then Meredith Hanafi is for you.
Wedding: 10/28/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith was absolutely PHENOMENAL. She was wonderful during the planning process and even better on the day of...and I didn't even meet her until our wedding day! Everything was planned from a distance so most of our communication was via email and some phone calls. Meredith was always responsive and patient with me. We just got our wedding slideshow which gave us a sneak peek of the pictures and it was just awesome! I am so anxious to see all of the pictures. :) From the pictures on the slideshow, i am confident that Meredith captured the night perfectly so we can remember that special day in the years to come.

Meredith was so wonderful and talented my sister booked her immediately after my wedding for her wedding in August 2013.
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Photography
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Love love love! Meredith was incredible this past September, helping us capture all the fun moments of our wedding. It was great to work with her. She really listens to what's important to you about the day and then helps to make certain shots and angles possible. She is happy to experiment and all of the pictures that we have from the day are fantastic. Day-of she brought in a second photographer to ensure quality of pictures and was so enthusiastic and helpful in keeping us on track and on task. We laughed the whole day and the whole night away. Definitely recommend for weddings and in general. Thanks so much Meredith!
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 1 Reviews
Meredith is the consummate professional photographer. She spent the entire day capturing our wedding day's preparations, family moments, ceremony, and reception--all with enthusiasm, good humor, and persistence. She was unobtrusive, but she somehow managed to capture all the day's special moments with artistic flair. The pictures she took were amazing! Needless to say, we were very happy with her work and would not hesitate to recommend her to photograph your special day.
Wedding: 08/11/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith was an absolute pleasure to work with! Out of all of our wedding vendors, she was by far our favorite and worth every penny. Our first meeting with her, she walked us through exactly what we should expect from a photographer and answered questions no other photographer brought up. She took the time to get to know us and our vision and personalities, instead of putting us in some box about what a "typical" bride or groom is like or what is trendy on the wedding blogs. She listened to our values and goals, and helped us understand how to prioritize so we could get our ideal end result. On our site-walk through, she told us exactly where we'd get good pictures and how and when it would be critical to take pictures. She listened to our needs and concerns and put them into practice, but also convinced us to change things around a bit to make sure that we got the best pictures. We knew she would be great with our families, some of whom could have been fussy or stressed around picture-taking, and she was! Everyone loved her and the way she was unassuming, laid-back, fun, and gentle but firm in getting what she needed and we wanted. On the day of the wedding, she made the entire day wonderful and was great to spend time with. I'm not a huge fan of taking a lot of pictures, and leading up to the wedding day, I kept saying that I was worried I'd get antsy taking pictures while my friends and family were mingling. But Meredith made everything fun, relaxing, and made me feel not at all self-conscious. She actually gave us a lot of excuses to get away from the wedding craziness to spend quality time together - just with a photographer capturing the great moments. The pictures she took were phenomenal - and got everything we asked for! We are so glad we went with Meredith and will have her photos to enjoy forever. We go out of our way to recommend her to friends, and we'd absolutely hire Meredith again for other important occasions/family photos.
Wedding: 04/08/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith is the best! Meredith was our photographer for our September 2011 wedding and we absolutely love our photos! She was able to capture the essence of our day on film - every time we look at our pictures, it brings us right back to that wonderful day! Because she has a more candid style, she captures some of the best moments of the day. That being said, even though she has a more candid style generally, we absolutely loved our portraits as well - she can do it all! Best of all, I didn't feel like I spent my whole wedding day posing for pictures. I can't say enough good things about Meredith! I would highly recommend her to any bride!
Wedding: 09/04/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We happened upon Meredith by chance when we planned our last minute wedding, but were incredibly surprised by our luck in finding such a wonderful photographer. We were a little concerned about having a photographer tagging along at our intimate wedding at the Jefferson Memorial in DC, but her presence was such a pleasure - she really made our day even more special. The photos are truly amazing and we will treasure them forever. We got lucky that day, but we have a photographer for life and we would not trade her for the world.
Wedding: 07/30/2011
Services Used: Photography
 202-509-2685
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0