Grand Chalet
1377 Route 23
Wayne, NJ 07470  | map
Services: Reception
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (12)   FAQ   Map    
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.3/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
One star is too good of a review for this place. As I read the above comments I see I'm not the only one who seems to think so. Eileen and her "staff" do keep your deposit and yes they're very heartless. My husband was deployed for over a year with the possibility of an extension in the process of making all wedding plans. we thought this was a good enough reason to ask for our deposit back. All other vendors, flowers, tuxedos, dresses, limos, djs, etc. made an exception and gave us our deposit back because they understood our situation and grand chalet wouldn't give us our deposit back not even part of it. Eileen said she could do us a "favor" and give us half the deposit only as a credit for a future event WITHIN a few months......ok how about no. That was an insult, at that point we decided we didn't want to have any event there ever. Instead of honoring a deployed soldier and military family, they practically laughed in our faces. They took forever to even get back to us we called so many times. We had no way of knowing when we would be able to have this wedding ceremony and they wouldn't work with us. Bottom line, worst business, worst people I have ever dealt with. They SUCK ASS. Period.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The grand chalet staff is wonderful, and very easy to work with. We felt like family. We got such a great price per person and so much for the money too!
Wedding: 09/16/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The Grand Challet was booked by our previous hall that had to cancel due to flooding. The Grand Challet was accommodating to our needs and they matched our price and meals from the Regency House hotel. They were very professional and booked our party with one week left to the wedding. I would recommend them to anyone.
Wedding: 09/16/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

anne 4 Reviews
The Grand Chalet was a great venue! Their prices are unbeatable for the service and food provided. The plates were just under $100 and people said they were full at the cocktail hour, they couldn't believe that more food was coming! There was another wedding on the same day as ours which was staggered so our guests didn't run into the other guests which is nice and not always an option at other venues. The outdoor space is limited for a ceremony, however, it rained terribly on our wedding day so that wasn't a factor. The waiting staff is great, they truley are. We had a minor crisis (we left the marriage license at the hotel) and the staff was right there for me. They made sure I had whatever I needed and even tried to calm me down. You really get more for your money here and the food is outstanding!! Every month they have an open house which is set up like an actual wedding so you have the opportunity to try the food. If you go, bring a friend and split up who's eating what because you'll be stuffed when you leave. I highly recommend the Grand Chalet.
Wedding: 04/16/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful place! Lowest price I found in NJ, and so much food!
Wedding: 10/23/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Very happy with Grand Chalet Grate service... grate location.. all my guest were very happy with the food and staff...
Wedding: 08/21/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Bride 6 Reviews
We had attended a friend's wedding at the Grand Chalet a few years ago and had a great experience, so we looked into them early in our wedding planing. It turned out that they were offering a good deal for 2010 (with the downturn in the economy) and were charging $59 a head (including open bar and cake on a Saturday night, before tax and tip).

We attended an open house (which they have all the time- come hungry because you will experience a full cocktail hour, buffet dinner, and dessert!!) and were SO impressed with the food- plentiful and yummy! The food the day of was amazing- cocktail hour was so good and had so much food that several people didn't realize it was just the cocktail hour! The food was one of the things quests complimented us on the most from the reception. It's not "foodie" or trendy food however- mostly classics very well done. Open bar was well stocked and flowed smoothly all night.

The events coordinator Rylan was a sweetheart, and very good at what she does. You can tell she has a ton of experience- she had great advice and promptly answered any questions we had. All of the staff we worked with was good, but the MaƮtre d' stood out- the day of he took care of EVERYTHING we needed. I was nervous about what to do, and when, etc but he lead us through all of it and was very kind.

The Grand Chalet didn't have many negative points to review, more so what I would call compromises for us. For example, the location in Wayne was super convenient for us, but its RIGHT on the highway Rt 23. Also, the decor is beautiful but a little generic wedding banquet. It looks great in the pictures but itsn't stunning the way Skylands Manor or the Brownstone is. Our priority was to have a bigger guest list (about 200, which fit very comfortably in the space), thus a more affordable reception rather then a stunningly beautiful location. I have no regrets about the choice we made, the evening was fantastic and I'm glad we could invite everyone we wanted to have there.

Overall- great value, wonderful experience, many compliments on the food. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Grand Chalet couldn't have been more perfect!! Everyone who worked with us was fantastic!! The food was incredible, the cake was a dream, and the cermony spot outside is soooo pretty. I definatly think that you get so much more for your money too. We had checked a few venues and never would have gotten the service we did for the money we paid anywhere else. If i could do it again i wouldnt change a thing!
Wedding: 05/15/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I worked with a girl named Rylan but when she was busy all the other employees were happy to help me out! I must have sent about 5 dozen e-mails back and forth but they were so helpful. And since our wedding was technically in the off season, we got a venetian table and open bar for $50 per guest plus tax. It is a really beautiful building inside; unfortunately it is on route 23 outside. Other than that it was essentially perfect. The food was AWESOME, and they baked me a delicious and adorable cake.
Wedding: 03/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
An absolutely beautiful venue. During the year of planning they were very responsive and helpful. The food was great and the grand ballroom created the most beautiful setting for the memories created in it. I'd highly recommend it to anyone.
Wedding: 08/01/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Grand Chalet is a beautiful place. I would attend and have many events there
Wedding: 08/15/2007
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This is a great venue for a reception. Everyone had a great time, and our guests were so surprised, how good the food tasted. Trying to book this vendor was pretty easy, and their service is great. They have a huge dance floor, and they have enough space for around 200+ people. I really recommend this vendor!
Wedding: 03/06/2006
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 973-633-5111
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0