A Grand Affaire Catering
A Grand Affaire at a Great Value!
    30 Reviews
1801 East Marion Street
Seattle, WA 98122  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (30)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend A Grand Affaire Catering!

My husband and I chose to hire Monica for our wedding reception. We attended a couple of her tastings and loved the food! Her pricing was very reasonable and unmatched by any of the other catering companies we looked at. I didn't have a large budget but Monica came up with lots of ideas to help me stay within my budget while still offering great tasting menu options.

From the beginning I was impressed with Monica's level of professionalism as well as her warm and fun personality. I really felt like I was working with a friend. I really appreciated that I was working directly with Monica, the owner, the entire time. We met Monica at the Seattle Wedding Show and she spent a lot of time there talking with us and answering questions. She always had plenty of time to talk to me and discuss not only the food but she even helped me figure out many other aspects of my wedding. In fact the week of my wedding I was in her office and she asked what I had left to do. When I told her I hadn't booked the limo yet she picked up her phone and called a couple limo companies and we booked it.

The day of our wedding there was an issue with our beverages that I wasn't aware of but Monica went the extra mile and a half to handle it and ensure that all our drinks were there and I didn't even realize that there had been any issues.

Speaking of her professionalism, I found out after we hired her that she is also the Seattle Chapter President of NACE (National Association of Catering and Events) which didn't surprise me at all. While Monica is an expert in her field she is also quite modest and I only discovered that she holds this position through a third party.

We had such a great experience with A Grand Affaire Catering that we will definitely hire them again to cater other events in the future.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend A Grand Affaire Catering!

My husband and I chose to hire Monica for our wedding reception. We attended a couple of her tastings and loved the food! Her pricing was very reasonable and unmatched by any of the other catering companies we looked at. I didn't have a large budget but Monica came up with lots of ideas to help me stay within my budget while still offering great tasting menu options.

From the beginning I was impressed with Monica's level of professionalism as well as her warm and fun personality. I really felt like I was working with a friend. I really appreciated that I was working directly with Monica, the owner, the entire time. We met Monica at the Seattle Wedding Show and she spent a lot of time there talking with us and answering questions. She always had plenty of time to talk to me and discuss not only the food but she even helped me figure out many other aspects of my wedding. In fact the week of my wedding I was in her office and she asked what I had left to do. When I told her I hadn't booked the limo yet she picked up her phone and called a couple limo companies and we booked it.

The day of our wedding there was an issue with our beverages that I wasn't aware of but Monica went the extra mile and a half to handle it and ensure that all our drinks were there and I didn't even realize that there had been any issues.

Speaking of her professionalism, I found out after we hired her that she is also the Seattle Chapter President of NACE (National Association of Catering and Events) which didn't surprise me at all. While Monica is an expert in her field she is also quite modest and I only discovered that she holds this position through a third party.

We had such a great experience with A Grand Affaire Catering that we will definitely hire them again to cater other events in the future.

Christy and Eric
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stacy 1 Reviews
We hired A Grand Affaire Catering for my daughter's wedding. The food was completely delicious and thoroughly exquisite. My taste buds were having a spectacular time with all the foods. I couldn’t have chosen a better catering company. Working with Monica was a great pleasure and she worked very hard to get everything the way we needed them to be. In addition, her staff were all wonderful to work with and very professional.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emily 1 Reviews
My husband and I hosted a party at our home to celebrate our destination wedding with all our friends and family who were unable to attend. From the first phone call to Monica to the delivery of the food to our home everything was perfect. We decided to order party platters and Monica helped me pick out a great menu and figure out exactly how many I would need. The platters were delivered right to our home exactly on time and the presentation was beautiful. We were provided with all the utensils we needed and great instructions on what needed to be kept cold until we put it out. Our guests absolutely loved the food and couldn't stop talking about it. I have nothing but great things to say about this company, they made our party a huge success!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

lynn 1 Reviews
Monica was extremely helpful in planning the catering. We had both hot and cold express items delivered. The delivery was on time and Humberto, who delivered for us, was very efficient. The quality of the food was phenomenal--everyone raved about the salads and the potatoes and roasted vegetables. The serving trays were elegant enough to be placed on the buffet table and all utensils were provided. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend A Grande Affair. Very professional and easy to work with. Superb quality!
Wedding: 12/22/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was very pleased with the food and service; everything tasted excellent and the servers were very nice. Monica listened to what we were aiming for a wedding style and even made some recommendations for ideas that we had not thought of. I had family in from LA who have been to some big LA weddings and events and commented how great our food tasted. It was important to me for my wedding that the food be something that my guests would remember and A Grand Affaire definitely accomplished that!
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A Grand Affaire catered our wedding (125 guests, passed hors d'oeurvres during cocktail hour followed by two-course plated dinner). I received SO many compliments on the delicious food and impeccable service. Everything I tasted was wonderful, and all of the servers were so friendly and thoughtful. (Example: we'd had six cakes, all different flavors, and at one point I returned to the bridal table after dancing and found a slice of each type of cake waiting for me and the groom - the servers had known we would miss getting any if they didn't save them for us. So sweet!)

I'd happily recommend A Grand Affaire to anyone who asked.
Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can not say enough to express how pleased we were with the overall service we received. A Grand Affaire went above and beyond our expectations. Their flexibility and willingness to work within our budget relieved so much stress from our wedding. The staff and captain were true professionals. I have no problem at all recommending A Grand Affaire to anyone who wants a worry free catering experience.
Darren and Sharon Cundiff
A Grand Affaire Catering responded with the following comments:
Thank you Darren & Sharon. You two were a dream to work with too and we really appreciate you and wish you the best happiness!
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used A Grand Affaire Catering for drop off appetizers for my wedding. Although I was unable to taste any of their food before it was all gone, all I heard from our guests were positive remarks! Monica was great to work. She gave great suggestions of food choices and was so patient with me as I changed my mind like 50 times!
Wedding: 09/03/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had A Grand Affaire Catering do the food for our wedding this past summer. The entire experience working with this company was wonderful. Monica and the rest of the staff are very knowledgeable and are great people to work with. We received so many compliments from our guests about the food, many of them saying it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. I would highly recommend AGA!

Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unbelieveable good and service! We would recommend A Grande Affaire Catering to anyone!!!
Wedding: 07/24/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are so glad we chose A Grand Affaire to cater our wedding! Not only did Monica and her staff confidently and clearly answer all of our questions, but they listened to our feedback. Perhaps most importantly - the food was INCREDIBLE. We're still hearing compliments from friends and family about the Mexican-themed menu (their carne deshebrado is out-of-this-world). We were also blown away by the service staff during our reception. They were friendly, helpful, and professional (and funny!). We would highly recommend A Grand Affaire to other couples looking for a wedding caterer.
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beauty is very important to me. I am truly visual-- Monica Newby and her team at A Grand Affaire Catering do things beautifully, elegantly, and with class. This catering company can do anything. Name it. They're truly flexible and provide for their clients across the spectrum--anything from their delicious self-service catering trays to lavish show-stopping events that will make people talk.

I think the best part, though, is that in working with A Grand Affaire, you will get true, experienced professionals who care deeply about the success of your event, and have the ability to bring about that success through delicious food, attentive service and world-class presentation. Real people, who work really hard to please you, because you, your future business, and your referrals are ultimately the very best compliment.
Wedding: 01/16/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fabulous!
Wedding: 09/23/2006
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

T. 9 Reviews
I was so glad I found this vendor after my planner flaked out on us. Monica was a huge help getting us what we needed so close to the day of. She answered all my questions and put up with me taking things on and off the menu all the flippin time. I got a lot of compliments about the food day of and I was very grateful that her staff helped with the décor. They even turned on the lanterns on our head table when no one asked them to. She was also very understanding of our need to have strict bar rules, that was my absolute must. So if anyone wants a caterer that can handle an event where liquor needs to be controlled, these are your people.
Wedding: 03/20/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Grand Affaire catered our wedding reception for August 2013. We felt like they were the best value in comparison to the other caterers we had met with and the food was delicious!
Monica is a definite professional, but we felt like we had to stand our ground at some points as far as planning, she's been in the industry for a long time and knows what flows really well.. but some things we just wanted, because it was our wedding day, end of story. This only happened a couple of times and wasn't a big enough problem to ruin our experience, but worth mentioning.
We met with her a few times, she was flexible with our work schedule on each occasion and was willing to come to us or meet us at a middle point. None of my questions were left unanswered, it wasn't diffuclt at any point to reach her via phone or email. Which is a big deal when trying to plan your wedding.
Planning the menu was so easy, and fun! They have so many options to choose from. They allow you to buy our own alcohol to have bartended, but they don't allow beer kegs. I don't find this to be a big issue, a lot of wedding venues nowadays don't allow them either.
I did want to point out one disappointment we came across, it's not enough to bring down Grand Affaire's rating, but we were promised a "to go" box with food leftovers.. after all, the bride and groom don't get a chance to hardly eat. And we never ended up with one... The problem was we hadn't realized it until 3am the night of our wedding. I would put someone in your bridal party in charge of making sure that winds up in your getaway car...
Overall, we would still recommend them as a caterer to any event!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
 206-957-0037
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0