Favorite Cakes
1725 Hearthglow Lane
Charlottesville
Charlottesville, VA 22901  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (18)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy, provided us the perfect wedding cake for our Indian and traditional wedding. She designed a perfect Indian themed cake with great designs on the cake. The flavors of the cake were amazing! Everyone after the wedding raved about the cake and said how well it looked both in the visual and taste of the cake. We highly recommend using Favorite Cakes for your wedding or any special event you may have. Kathy is also a very great women to work with! Thank you Kathy!
Wedding: 09/15/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We choose to do cupcakes from this vendor and could not have been happier. They were so DELICIOUS! In fact, I look forward to my 1st anniversary where I can eat my cake again! The cakes were so moist and so good. Kathy was great to work with and very organized.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren 5 Reviews
Kathy was by far one of our favorite vendors to work with! She was super flexible, easy to work with and such a sincere person. Her love for what she does shows in her amazing cakes. I had several guests say that it was the best wedding cake they had ever had!!!! Thank you, Kathy!
Wedding: 04/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy provided the most delicious wedding cake I had ever tasted for our daughter's wedding. She was extremely helpful and flexible. We chose the sour cream pound cake with almond filling and buttercream icing for one of the cakes and then the chocolate with chocolate ganache icing for the other- Both were delicious!The bride's cake was beautiful and exactly how we had wanted it to look. It was perfect. She even provided tiny birthday cakes for the grandmother and mother of the groom! She is a delight to work with and so kind and helpful.
Wedding: 12/08/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am so happy that we chose to work with Kathy for our wedding cake. Not that the decision was hard-once we tasted her cake, the decision was easy! We tasted the cakes of several vendors and hers hands down tasted the best. Her fruit filling is so tasty and actually is fruit-I know this sounds strange but some of the other vendors fruit filling tasted like jelly (gross!) We did not live local to the area and she was always flexible and accomodating in meeting with us. An added bonus is she brings you many flavors to taste, in the form of large cupcakes, free of charge. This was very nice as there are many vendors which charge for you to taste cake, so this was appreciated. They are big, so she gives you a box to take the leftovers home. The cake tasted GREAT and even better our cake was beautiful. I recommend her 100%-she was a genuinely nice person and it is very evident that she loves what she does. I look forward to the year anniversary so I can eat more of her delicious cake! Thanks Kathy!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy is simply a doll!! She was so fun to work with, so sweet, and her cakes.... SO fresh and SO AMAZING! Even though she was already booked for my wedding weekend, she squeezed us in and I cannot thank her enough. We had the best wedding cake I've ever tasted!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy was awesome to work with! She did both our wedding cake and a surprise groom's cake for my groom on our rehearsal dinner night. She came up with the idea to put a Microsoft Outlook reminder on his laptop that she made for on top of the cake to say "Get Married"! And her cake tastes amazing too! I would definitely recommend her for your wedding cake!
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alice 5 Reviews
The number one compliment we received after our wedding was just how wonderful the cake was. We had done several cake tastings before choosing Favorite Cakes, but it was no contest. Kathy absolutely hands down had the best tasting cake, the best choices of fillings and cakes, and most affordable. Her creativity was immensely helpful during our discussions about the design of the cake, and she made us exactly what we were looking for. We would absolutely recommend Favorite Cakes to anyone and everyone for any occassion!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Every flavor of cakes that Kathy makes are absolutely delicious. My husband and I had a very difficult time choosing the flavors we wanted. I had a slice of each on our wedding day, and we received so many compliments from our guests. It's tough seeing the cake in the freezer, knowing that we have months before we get to pull it out. If we lived in Charlottesville, I would pay her to do cakes for just about every special occasion I could think of. But not only is she an excellent baker, she is also a lovely person. She is extremely friendly, very professional and helpful with suggestions. She decorated our cake perfectly-took the time to understand what we liked and didn't like and gave us exactly what we wanted. She is the type of person you want involved in your wedding.
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy was a pleasure to work with. We met with Kathy for two tastings where she provided several cupcakes and a book of previous cakes to review. During the first tasting we tried a cupcake that she previously did not make for cakes. During our second meeting, I mentioned how delicious it was and she offered to experiment to determine if she could come up with something that would work for a cake (and it did!). We ended up with two flavors – lemon cake with blackberry filling and chocolate cake with chocolate ganache swirled with cream cheese – both with vanilla buttercream frosting. Overall, we have absolutely no regrets with our choice.
Pros: 1) offered great suggestions (e.g., use of a colored tablecloth, where to put cake in venue), 2) extremely responsive to our own ideas, 3) the cake was beautiful AND delicious – the guests absolutely raved about it (my only disappointment is that I didn’t think to snag a piece of chocolate :) ), 4) she provided cupcakes for the event staff and a separate top layer ready to freeze, 5) pricing was fair in comparison to others in the area.
Cons: None.
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The only person you need to contact regarding your wedding cake is Kathy Watkins at Favorite Cakes! From the first time we met with Kathy we knew she was the person to do our cake. At our first meeting, she brought along several huge cupcakes for us to try. EACH ONE was DELICIOUS!!! We were hooked so we booked her IMMEDIATELY. We told Kathy what the theme was for our wedding and she was as excited as we were!

On the day of our wedding, people mobbed the cake table to look at the cake and to take pictures of it. She came up with a design for our cake that was dead on what we were hoping for and her work was very impressive. It was the most beautiful wedding cake that I had ever seen and our guest were impressed as well. As beautiful as it was, it smelled heavenly. You could smell the cake from outside the reception hall. Some people who had smelled the cake actually peaked into our wedding reception so they could get a look at the cake. They even took pictures of it!

The cake was gorgeous, but more importantly - it was delicious!!! We ordered a cake larger than what we needed because we were hoping to have some left over. We ordered a cake for 140 people and we had 100 people attending. There was NO cake left at the end of the night. People got two and three slices. Luckily, my awesome catering manager put three slices aside for my husband and me before serving the rest of the cake to our guests.

Kathy also did my husband's grooms cake. It was a Jersey themed cake and had a lot of details that reflected his hobbies and childhood. It was a red velvet cake and just a delicious as the wedding cake. Luckily, my husband got to try a piece of it before our guests inhaled it as well. We are now counting down the days until our one year anniversary, so that we can eat the top tier of our cake. It was so good that I don't care if it has freezer burn - we intend to eat it all.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy at Favorite Cakes is so great to work with and her cakes are absolutely delicious! She is reliable and so easy to work with.
Wedding: 12/03/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Favorite Cakes made our cake-topper, a 1st anniversary cake for the freezer, a birthday cake, and cupcakes for all of our guests. Our order was fairly last-minute - and they accommodated us without a problem! They made some very tasty, rather lovely cake items - and they had a lot of creative flavors that were absolutely delicious! They were a joy to work with and quite reasonably priced. We were very pleased with Favorite Cakes and have no doubt you would be too!
Wedding: 10/29/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy is the best! Hands down! The wedding cake and groom's cake were perfect and the most delicious cakes we've ever tasted. I appreciated her attention to detail and her devotion to my "project". The other cake vendor I interviewed is quite popular around town, but as a result she told me she can do up to 4-5 weddings at a time! I'm sure she's had plenty of practice, but I didn't want to risk anything falling through the cracks. With Kathy at Favorite Cakes, I knew I would be a priority...and did I mention it was delicious!
Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy Watkins does not only make the MOST delicious cake, but she was so incredibly wonderful to work with. Her cake is so amazing, we had to order cup cakes as we could not decide on a flavor! We ordered 10 different cake/filling flavor combos! She was flexible with our meeting times and always brought us cake to take with us as she knew we had traveled from out-of-town to meet with her. Kathy is a no-worry vendor...she gives fantastic guidance but allows you to make your own decisions and she follows through with requests with 100% effort and a genuine concern for your wedding day. She is incredibly responsive and goes the extra mile. For example, she helped display 200 mini pastries from another vendor on our cake table. It was a stunning display. She is an incredible person to work with who truly loves devoting her efforts to making your wedding day memorable. We recommend her 100% enthusiasm!
Wedding: 08/14/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy was great to work with an I will be using her for my future events. She made 4 different cupcakes for my wedding. We did cream cheese pound cake with choc. drizzle and choc shavings on top, poppyseed almond with almond custard in the middle with vanilla butter cream and shaved almonds on top, Choc. cake with choc. ganache icing with choc. filling, and spice cake with cream cheese icing and brown sugar on top. They were amazing and looked so good set up. I requested her to set the up on different levels with mirrors underneath! Not only amazing presentation but extremely tasty! I searched all over Charlottesville and this was the best I found. I recommend her above anyone else. She is willing to fulfill special requests as well!
Wedding: 06/11/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 434-974-9229
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0