I Would Rather Be Baking Co. Reviews

10 | Ventura, CA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for I Would Rather Be Baking Co.

Recommended by 82% of couples

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.1
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

10
Order by:
  • R

    Renee · Married on 03/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my goodness....I'm still salivating over my cake and will be re-ordering a sheet cake in my wedding flavors just to quench my appetite! It was deliciously amazing!!

    We opted for a two tier wedding cake with Red Velvet/Whipped Ice for one tier and Dulce de Leche/Cream Cheese for the second. Being a HUGE cake aficionado, I had high hopes for my wedding cake and I wasn't even remotely disappointed. The cake was SO moist and flavorful, so one piece simply wasn't an option. The style was just as I had requested and my cake topper/embellished lace was applied perfectly.

    Theresa and Mark outdid themselves on my wedding cake - guests raved about it and I'm still salivating. Thank you for a cake that truly seemed to be made with love!

    Sent on 03/31/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa from I Would Rather be Baking is fabulous, and so are her desserts! She worked with me over the phone to customize a dessert spread based on our wants and our budget, and it turned out perfectly. From our smaller custom wedding cake (so good!) to three kinds mini pies and two kinds of brownies, everything was delicious and our guests were thrilled. I'd recommend Theresa and her desserts to anyone : )

    Sent on 10/31/2013
  • Lee

    Leandro · Married on 12/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great people to work with. Our cake not only looked perfect it tasted even better.
    We love them...

    Sent on 02/25/2013
  • J

    jeannie · Married on 11/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In planning a 70th anniversary party for my parents, I had to make the arrangements for a cake long distance ( I'm in NJ and the party was in CA) Theresa was extremely helpful in helping me select the frosting that a more "mature" crowd would appreciate. I wasn't able to do any taste testing so I was completely dependent on previous reviews and we were certainly not disappointed. The cake was stunning and absolutly scrumptious! The design of the cake was exactly as I had asked for over the telephone. Theresa was extremely easy to work with and the results were perfect.

    Sent on 11/16/2012
  • User2730324 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa was great to work with. The cake tasting was wonderful and we got to try so many different fillings and cake flavors in combination. The cake and filling we chose were absolutely delicious. The cake arrived on time and exactly as we had described it. We had absolutely no issues with them. I would highly recommend them.

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • G

    Ginger · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa and her husband are so wonderful to work with. We went to a couple different cake tastings, and knew we had not found the one. Even when arranging a time to meet, Theresa was very flexible and met us after work hours. The tasting was professional and fun. The decision was easy to make! We had a lovely 5-tiered cake, that was about 3 feet high! It was beautiful, elegant, and delicious. I made some changes about 2 weeks out from my wedding, making it a cake 3 tiered to a 5 tiered cake, not an easy feat. But Theresa pulled it off without a bat of the eye and never complained, just willing to help! Thank you so much as I couldn't have asked for a better cake.

    Sent on 07/11/2012
  • Cassie

    Cassie · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Theresa and Mark Delgado of I Would Rather Be Baking are a dream team to work with! I stumbled upon their website in a search for margarita cupcakes to go with our Cinco de Mayo wedding (where we were serving margaritas and Tex-Mex cuisine). I was pleasantly surprised to find that they also offer a chipotle chocolate flavor, which was PERFECT for our theme! I had already contacted three bakers prior to sending Theresa an email, and she was quick to get back to me without being pushy or trying to get me to quickly sign a contract. She answered all of my questions and even had some of her own to ask me, and all in all, we have probably exchanged a dozen emails and even more phone calls because throughout the process, I changed my mind a few times. Every time I had a question or request (ie. changing ratio of the flavors we selected, switching to mini cupcakes instead of regular size, redesigning the cake, etc.) Theresa was patient and sweet as can be about customizing our wedding desserts to be exactly what WE wanted. My fiance and I came in for a tasting and tried several cake flavors and mixed and matched with frosting flavors. Ultimately, we decided on a two-tier cake small enough to cut into for photos and save for our anniversary, and about 340 mini cupcakes in two different flavors (fresh lime margarita and chipotle chocolate with chocolate ganache). The cake was strawberry champagne flavor with strawberry chunk filling and was soooo delicious! It was decorated beautifully and customized to match our wedding reception decor, right down to the ribbon that is in an impossibly-hard-to-match green! The cupcakes were a huge hit at our wedding. Our tasting and every communication in between placing our order and eating the final product have been wonderful! We even ordered some samples so that our family could try the flavors out, and Mark met me with two boxes of professionally wrapped and chilled cupcakes. Presentation was phenomenal, and pricing, service, and flavor have been the BEST! I highly recommend calling Theresa and Mark at I Would Rather Be Baking Co.

    Sent on 05/17/2012
  • K

    kerry · Married on 02/11/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I Would Rather Be Baking just did our wedding cake on February 11, 2012. My fiance and I tasted her cake at the Westlake Village Hyatt Bridal Expo last year, and she stood out compared to all the rest! They are inventive, professional, and experienced. The fondant was a perfect texture, the filling was light and creamy with a bit of fluff, and the cake was moist and soft. The cake was BEAUTIFUL! My fiance and I highly recommend I Would Rather Be Baking. My husband and I went to eight cake consultations, and none of them even came close their cake tasting. And on top of that, there are a variety of flavors to choose from! Thank you, Theresa, for helping to make our Wedding Day truly special. We are blessed to have found you!

    Sent on 02/27/2012
  • User3206355 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I used IWRBB to bake my dream wedding cake, and I was sadly disappointed. I should've taken a clue from their poor responsiveness, but because of their vast selection I stuck with them. After I sent my initial email with IWRBB, took two days to get a response in order to set up a cake tasting a week later. After the tasting, I ended up having to amend my own contracts because they were "too busy" to do it in time. Next, there was security protocol for my wedding, as it was on a Naval Base. They refused to follow the security protocol and ended up waiting outside for some time before my limo driver offered to drive the cake on base because he, and all my other vendors, did follow the security protocol. By the time the cake cutting came, the cake was a mushy mess and completely inedible. However, as an over-thinking, detail-oriented bride, I had ordered a sheet cake as an overflow cake for my guests in case the main cake couldn't feed everyone, or in case my guests wanted another piece. This cake was kept in the fridge the entire time, so although the main wedding cake was on the table and completely inedible at this point, I did not worry because I have the second cake as a back-up. Unfortunately, IWRBB, took their liberties and made a completely different cake for my second cake. It had different frosting and filling and was not delicious at all! Most people turned down this disgusting cake, and sadly, I was without a wedding cake on the most special day of my life. Furthermore, IWRBB blamed me for their mistakes, insulted me, and then hung up the phone on me when I called to express my displeasure and try to get a partial refund. If they had made what I ordered, I would've been happy with small pieces of a delicious un-decorated sheet cake that I chose, but instead I was left with absolutely no cake at all. Don't use IWRBB if you want professionalism, follow-through, or a guarantee of goods/services purchased.

    Sent on 05/07/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/10/2012

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I had originally hired this bakery six months prior to my wedding. I had sorted out all of the details for my wedding cake and after that, I heard absolutely nothing from them until 2 weeks before the date of my wedding. At that point, I had e-mailed the owner to inquire as to whether or not there was anything else that she needed in order to arrange for my cake to be at the location. I was then asked what I wanted the cake to look like, how big I wanted it to be etcetera. These were all details that we had worked out 4 months before. Clearly she had taken no notes as when I called her, she said that she had nothing in her notes. I had e-mail chains that we had e-mailed back and forth to go over the details. At that point, she could not be trusted to arrive at the right place, at the right time, with the right cake. I ended up having to find a new bakery the week of my wedding. All in all this bakery caused me mountains of unnecessary stress the week before my wedding, she took my money, could not be bothered to keep track of what I paid it to her for, I was never offered any kind of refund or compensation. I understand that most bakeries have a penalty for last minute firing, however, it was clear that she had put absolutely no time into my wedding or my cake and therefore had not earned my money in any sense. I would absolutely NOT recommend this bakery to ANYONE. She is flakey and appears to only care for the extordinarily elaborate and therefore expensive cakes. If you want less elaborate cake, there are much better businesses to give your money to.

    Sent on 01/24/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review