Federal City Caterers Reviews

20 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Federal City Caterers

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

20
Order by:
  • B

    Bart Schuster · Married on 11/04/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing and More Amazing


    If there was a Ten Star review, Jeffrey and his team would get it. If you're planning a wedding and you don't use Federal City you're missing out. The food was beyond amazing, the tasting was a blast and their customer service is top notch! It's hard to put it all into words but on my special day they made everything perfect! Thank you once again Jeffrey and if ever I can find a way to cater something, you are the first and last call I'll make.

    Sent on 11/09/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food and wonderful staff and service!

    We hired Federal City Catering for our wedding at The Loft at 600F in Washington, DC. We had a buffet style dinner, hors d'oeuvres, deserts, and an open bar. There were plenty of options available for our menu, and Cheryl was easy to work with and flexible when we changed our selections. They also helped setup and cleanup the night of the wedding. Everybody raved about how wonderful all of the food was. There were more staff than we were even expecting, and they helped serve our guests drinks and appetizers despite it being a buffet style dinner. Every single piece of food was amazing. There was more than enough food available for everyone to get as much as they wanted. We also used them for bartending, and they were able to serve a couple of signature drinks we came up with a few nights before the wedding. Cheryl was able to make some last minute changes the day before the wedding that put our minds at ease. Great team, excellent food, wonderful service. Would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 10/28/2018

    Federal City Caterers's reply:

    Thanks so much for the lovely comments and wonderful review! You both were such a pleasure to work with. I loved that the entire family had a part in the celebration and details making it a very meaningful and memorable evening!
  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One-of-a-Kind Wedding Food

    We had the pleasure of having our wedding catered by Jeff and his team on June 23, 2018. Our venue (Rock Creek Mansion in Bethesda) was only able to accommodate a buffet and boy did Federal City blow us and our guests away. It's been nearly 6 months since our wedding and guests are STILL telling my husband and I about how amazing our wedding food was for them! The tasting was out of the world. The chefs are so talented and provided such an assortment that made it difficult to choose our favorites. The cake and variety of desserts was well received by guests. We also rented our linens, chairs, and glassware from Federal City. Jeff was great about picking out linens and glassware that complimented my wedding's colors. My wedding coordinator and the venue coordinator also complimented how gracious Jeff and his staff were at our wedding. I would HIGHLY recommend Federal City Caterers for your wedding! Thank you guys!

    Sent on 12/10/2018
  • M

    Marc · Married on 11/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Federal City catered our wedding recently and we were very happy with the service. The food and service were really superb, probably on the caliber of a high-end sit down restaurant. We price-checked a number of other caterers and Federal City's prices were quite reasonable.

    Federal City also readily accommodated a few of our guests who had food allergies. We worked with Cheryl, who is very knowledgeable and very responsive. Federal City was also more flexible than most when it comes to giving us a tasting. Thank you to the Federal City for helping to make our wedding special.

    Sent on 12/02/2017

    Federal City Caterers's reply:

    Thank you for the lovely review! Marc, you and Cristina were such a pleasure to work with in every aspect of the planning process...great taste, organization and temperament. I wish you both the best!
  • R

    Rose · Married on 10/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cheryl and staff made planning easy. Cheryl provided all the worry and my husband and I selected what we desired. Cheryl was flexible with what we wanted too. Our day remained special and the catering staff was a big part of that!
    The food was delicious too!
    Pricing was reasonable and the options for food and supplies were vast.
    This caterer runs a great, reliable business.

    Sent on 11/27/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Federal City was on the approved Vendor list at my venue and that was part of the reason I got introduced to them. However, I would recommend them to anyone - anywhere! They were fantastic! We had a Sunday morning Brunch wedding and it was perfect. The food was amazing - a great spread of savory and sweet for all tastes. The deserts were divine and everyone had plenty to eat. The service was also really incredible and it made the day that much more enjoyable. The set up was very fast and while we had a small wedding (only 50 people) we had a very tight set up time (only 8:00am - 9:30am). Everything was ready and perfect thanks to their organization and professionalism. The waiters and host staff were also fantastic during the wedding. They were very accommodating and thoughtful, making every detail perfect. At the end of the wedding they also put together a tray of food for my husband and I to eat, as with most couples we didn't eat a ton at the wedding and were starving afterwards. It was a great perk to know we had some leftovers to enjoy on our mini-moon. I highly recommend Federal City!

    Sent on 09/25/2015
  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience working with Cheryl and Federal City. Due to an unexpected venue change, we had to switch caterers just a few months before our wedding. Cheryl always responded to us quickly, worked within our budget and created a menu that fit within the theme we had already settled on. She also had great suggestions that really added to the menu, like mini pumpkin pies. Several of our guests told us it was the best wedding food they had ever had. The service at the wedding was also great - very professional. We'd highlight recommend Federal City!

    Sent on 11/18/2014
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 08/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Federal City is spectacular! We worked with Cheryl, who listened carefully to what we envisioned, helped us refine our ideas, and went above and beyond to make our event exactly what we had hoped. She was very responsive and never attempted to upsell us or hide any fees whatsoever. She had a confident professional attitude that put us at ease as the day approached.

    We served a buffet-style dinner that was absolutely delicious and very, very reasonably priced for the service. We're still receiving lots of compliments on Federal City's creativity and presentation, and we felt good about serving our guests quality food that we loved to eat ourselves. Can't recommend this vendor highly enough!

    Sent on 09/15/2014
  • L

    Linda · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Did a fabulous job. The food was pretty and delicious. Highly recommend a tasting. Two chocolate lovers discovered that Italian Cream Cake was indescribably delicious. Cheryl was great to work with. Staff was very nice. Excellent.

    Sent on 06/30/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was so impressed with Federal City. The food was excellent, the service friendly, experienced and professional and the whole experience was just what made my wedding even better. My husband is a executive chef and he made a point of complimenting the FC chef personally. They worked great with the site and other contractors and I barely had to worry about a thing! Cheryl is amazing and I would not hesitate to work with this company again, for any type of event.

    Sent on 04/28/2014
  • User4036278 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Federal City Caterers did a SUPERB job at my daughter’s wedding and day-after brunch. The food was delicious, the staff extremely professional, responsive, flexible, and friendly. All details were addressed with the utmost care. They had catered my older daughter’s wedding 8 years ago, and I was delighted that they were able to help with my second daughter’s wedding. They hit another home run!

    Sent on 04/14/2014
  • User3596563 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    **FOOD is excellent! So many of our guests came up to us during the wedding and kept saying the appetizers, dinner are wonderful.

    The food is beautifully presented AND tastes amazing!

    Sent on 10/11/2013
  • User3601972 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing food! Guests said it was the best wedding food they had ever eaten!

    Sent on 10/14/2013
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Deborah from Federal City Catering. We used the reception site’s preferred list to narrow down our list to three caterers. Federal City was the only vendor who would give us a tasting before we signed a contract. The other vendors just assumed that if they were in our top three, then their reputation was good enough to sign a contract without a tasting.


    At the tasting, we were given lots of options based on a previously discussed menu. The menu we choose was a combination of East Coast cuisine for the passed Hors d'oeuvre and New Orleans dishes for the dinner buffet, so that both of our backgrounds were reflected. I am still receiving compliments from guests that say it was the best food that they have ever had at a wedding and are asking if they can get the recipes.


    They also provided all of the linens, glass wear, china, and tables. It was included in the price so there were no surprises in the bill. I had so much fun picking everything out, there were so many options but with Deborah’s help it all looked wonderful.


    We were also able to supply our own liquor, so we could have a full open bar at a lower cost. But the best part was the mulled wine that they prepared for our guests. It was such a memorable way to kick off our fall wedding.

    Sent on 12/08/2011
  • R

    Rory · Married on 10/27/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A couple minor issues came up that mostly related to the servicing of the groom and bride. We were led to expect that our drinks would be refreshed, we would get some food before our guests arrived and little things like that. But we're only mentioning that to remind future clients to go over those details with them again. Otherwise, the food, decor, layout, assistance, knowledge and experience were all 5 stars +. Our guests couldn't have been more complimentary and the food was delicious. Try the Risotto Bar - it was a big hit. Seriously though, these folks were great to deal with and we will definitely be hiring them again for future work-related events, etc.

    Sent on 04/23/2008
  • P

    Pam · Married on 07/29/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about this vendor was fantastic! They worked with us on our budget, to ensure we were able to get everything we wanted. We had their baker provide us with our cupcakes, which people are still talking about almost 2 years later! they also provided many DOC functions for us, at no extra charge -- putting out guest book, water bottles, etc. Wait staff is very professional, and unobstrusive. Food is FANTASTIC! I highly recommend working with Jen Rentch at Federal City.

    Sent on 02/16/2007
  • R

    Reaghan · Married on 04/24/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Federal City Catering did an amazing job for both our rehearsal dinner and wedding! We worked with Susan Smirnow, who was fabulous from start to finish. She was extremely flexible with our budget and schedule. The food was excellent -- all of our guests were raving about how fresh and unique the dishes were. Susan was very knowledgeable and helped us choose the perfect decor for the venue! Compared to other caterers we received proposals from, Federal City provided the most for the money! We were very pleased with the Federal City!!

    Sent on 05/12/2010
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/12/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Cheryl from Federal City for our wedding reception, and were very pleased. Many of our guests said it was the best-tasting and most beautiful food they had ever seen at an event! The food was fresh, beautiful, and looked and tasted as good at our reception as it did during the tasting. Cheryl was responsive and flexible, and the food turned out wonderfully – very good value for money. I would highly recommend Federal City to other brides!

    Sent on 11/20/2015
  • S

    Nadia · Married on 08/08/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceptional service, delicious food, easy to work with - I would definitely recommend Federal City to anyone looking for an elegant and enjoyable wedding!

    Sent on 09/08/2009
  • K

    Kate · Married on 08/01/2009

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We were extremely happy with the food, decor, and service at the wedding. The servers really went out of their way to take care of us. They also helped us in setting up our decorations. Elizabeth was very flexible in some areas and actually insisted we do something we didn't want to do which ended up being the right choice, so now we are grateful. I agree with the other review about going over details with them. There were quite a few details we had discussed that I brought up again right before the wedding and Elizabeth didn't seem to remember that we had already planned on them. And at the wedding there were a few things left out which we had discussed. I don't think that should be necessary to review things already agreed upon so I found that a little frustrating. But overall, we liked how they worked with our budget. They actually provided more dishes for less cost than the other companies we got proposals from. Everything met with a high standard and we were pleased.

    Sent on 08/18/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review