The Savory Spoon Catering Company
Innovative Cuisine & Legendary Service
285 Montevue Lane
Frederick, MD 21702  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (33)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heather 1 Reviews
The food was very good; the service professional & helpful. We had leftovers to take home that still tasted amazing. Her ability to determine amount of food necessary was very precise. We will be using her services again for our daughters wedding in the summer.
Wedding: 12/28/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shelly 1 Reviews
The food was FABULOUS!!!! Everything was sooooo delicious. The presentation of the food was wonderful. I would highly recommend them!!! I have gotten so many compliments on the food from our guest. They really deserve a ten star rating! !!!
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I hired The Savory Spoon to cater my 60th birthday party and all I can say is WOW! Not only was the food delicous, the service was outstanding. They provided a wide menu for all tastes and ages. Meat lovers and vegetarians. My guest raved! The helpers were friendly, organized and clean-up was immaculate. I hope to use them again for my 65th!
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Savory Spoon catered my rehearsal dinner and I could not have been happier with them. The food was great! Delicious and very well presented and the staff was amazing!!! They really helped me out throughout the night.

I worked with Lindsey from Sales to set everything up, and she was wonderful too work with! She even arragned to have the chef cook samples for me to pick up, since I was having a hard time finding time to get to their location for a tasting. So accommodating!!
I would definitely recommend Savory Spoon!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Amazing experience!!!!
Very pleasant to work with. Quick to respond to questions or concerns!
Fun staff, great food, excellent service!
Would use them again and again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Savory Spoon was a pleasure to work with from the first time we contacted them to the end of our wedding reception. We did a good bit of shopping around for a caterer, and Cheri from the Savory Spoon was hands down most responsive, most understanding, and had the best value. Our wedding was in Virginia, but we ended up going with a MD caterer because we liked her so much! In our caterer search, we had multiple caterers tell us what we could or couldn't have at OUR reception, and others would ask our budget, just to present their pricing which far exceeded it. Still another would take weeks to respond to emails. Cheri always responded promptly to emails, usually within a few hours. Lindsay was equally great to work with and was very patient in responding to all of my random questions, especially when we were trying to decide how many appetizer plates, dessert plates, forks, spoons, knifes, etc to order!

The price point was very reasonable, and Cheri was very good at working with us on menu options and even helped to save us money where possible. On the day of, everything went off without a hitch--we didn't have to do anything, and guests said the food was delicious! (She gave us a chance to eat, but we were not very hungry). They even agreed to take our unopened bottles back to the liquor store in Fredrick for us---above and beyond the call of duty!! Overall, excellent experience. Definitely recommend!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The food was amazing, unfortunately I was so busy chit chatting I didn't get to try all the food. All I've heard are GREAT things. I did try the crab dip and it was DELICIOUS. Cheri and Lindsay were so nice and helpful. Lindsay responded to my emails promptly and Cheri was nice too and surprised me at my wedding. Trying to see what event I can hold next to eat some more of their yummy food!
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Savory Spoon catered the rehearsal dinner for our son's wedding and we couldn't have asked for a better company and people to work with! We held it at the Delaplaine Visual Arts Center with a theme of melding the heritages of our two families. They helped make that possible and were very easy to work with! We did everything by long distance as we live in Virginia. Lindsey was a delight to plan with, Cheri and her staff not only served us spectacular food, and provided bartending, but also made sure that we were relaxed and enjoying the evening as much as our friends and family. Our son and daughter-in-law are still talking about how wonderful the whole evening was and Savory Spoon helped us make that possible for our children. Thank you!
Wedding: 04/26/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My POC with Savory Spoon, Lindsey, was great. She had a lot of helpful advice, she replied in a timely manner, answered my inane questions, and delivered a delicious menu on a tight budget. My interaction with Savory Spoon before the event was great. Cheri was the lead person at the event. She was incredibly helpful and made the evening a lot less stressful. She had a great calm/can-do personality that was exactly what any bride needs. She could tell when I was being pulled in 1000 different directions and stepped in to take care of some tasks. She helped with rearranging the buffet tables to better suit their needs, she put the cakes on the stands (I had friends and family make my favorite types of cakes and I made the stands), she even helped with the cake topper. Did I mention that they cleared plates, noticed when people needed beverages, and they helped break down. They went well above and beyond what they were contracted to do. I realize this is all about the service they provided, but I was floored at the excellent job they did. I was also incredibly pleased with the quality of food. The presentation was great and the taste was excellent. I would highly recommend the crab dip. It was some of the best I have ever had. The pita chips were also stellar. These were not Costco chips in a big bowl, they tasted homemade. You could tell everything was from scratch and it all tasted delicious. If you are looking for a very responsive caterer that provides a delicious no stress product, look no further. From start to finish, Savory Spoon surpassed my expectations.
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm not even sure where to begin with my praises for The Savory Spoon. Cheri (the owner) and Lindsey were so helpful and accomodating from the start. I had a small budget for my wedding, but they are willing to work with whatever budget you have, without sacrificing quality. They worked closely with me every step of the way, from the planning, to the tasting, to the big day, to make sure that every minute detail was perfect. Our menu of roasted pork loin with fruit chutney, chicken parmesan, eggplant parmesan (which they made especially for our vegetarian guests), aspargus with feshly shaved parmesan, and a specially created dish just for us-- mac and cheese gnocchi with smoked pancetta-- was absolutely to die for. We recieved rave reviews from our guests on how good the food was. Aside from the fact that The Savory Spoon can dish up some amazing food, what really sets this catering company apart from others is their customer service. Cheri, Lindsey, and the rest of the crew make it feel like such a personal experience. Cheri is so friendly and accomdating to her brides, even lending me an array of her rustic decorations to borrow to spruce up our venue, and coming early to help me set up some of them! At the reception, Cheri and her team went above and beyond the sevices that I have seen any other caterer perform at any other event. I would highly recommend The Savory Spoon to future brides or anyone else looking for a caterer for their event. I feel that I have made a friend in Cheri, and know that she will be the first call I make when I need a caterer next!
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
The Savory Spoon catering team is awesome!!! The 4.5 for professionalism is actually a positive...Cheryl is so warm and friendly that you forget you are a client! She will be completely invested in realizing the vision you have for your wedding while staying within your budget.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathryn 9 Reviews
Cheri and her team did a wonderful job at our wedding! Cheri is extremely generous and is excited about creating and serving delicious food! I contacted her regarding our menu - we wanted a vegetarian wedding menu - and she loved it. Her chef even made two of our recipes (we love to cook and it was a nice way to share that with our guests). Many people asked me for the recipes when it was all over so I know Cheri did a great job re-creating them. Cheri comes with lots of little extras, which is great. She brought in cupcake towers and burlap and candles to decorate the serving tables which was really a nice touch. She and her team made sure to be in and out of the event at the required times (very important at our venue) and everything was left clean and tidy. She was even happy to discuss the menu with one of my guests who had a lot of dietary restrictions (no wheat, dairy, or soy - and we actually had a lot of things for her to eat!). I would definitely recommend Cheri to anyone looking for high quality food and service at a reasonable price.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
OH. MY. GOSH. The food... the food! I cannot say enough how good the food is. My husband and I had some very specific ideas in mind about the menu for our wedding. Not only was Cheri willing to make what we wanted, but she was sure to have it available at the tasting for us.

Cheri stayed in regular contact with me, so that I was kept informed of any price changes or issues popping up. She was always friendly and professional. On the day of, she made suggestions about adjusting the schedule to fit the flow of the reception, and even helped me try to control an unruly and unprofessional DJ.

I cannot recommend Savory Spoon enough. All of our guests raved about the food!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a great experience with Savory Spoon and highly recommend them to other brides. I was planning my wedding from 5,000 miles away and Cheri was extremely helpful with coordinating all the details and going above and beyond her job. Although Savory Spoon does not directly provide rentals, Cheri recommended a rental company to me and went so far as to visit them herself to chose my rentals. Even having never met Cheri before the day of the wedding, my communications with her and her clear professionalism made me confident that I could trust her to do a good job the day of the wedding. Our food service went off with no hitches and everything was delicious. Her staff was professional and nice as well-- my now-husband and I were constantly (in a good way) being asked whether we needed anything-- her waiters got us drinks so that we didn't have to wait at the bar and provided us with appetizers that we missed during the cocktail hour. I have absolutely no complaints about my experience with the Savory Spoon, think they were a great value for the money, and would recommend them to a friend.
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cheri and the staff at the Savory Spoon did a superb job on my wedding day. The food was DELICIOUS and the staff was professional and attentive! I would highly recommend the Savory Spoon if you want your guests to enjoy the food on your wedding day!!
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cheri makes everyone family with her delicious, local, fresh food. Our tasting felt like a holiday dinner, with an endless number of plates being passed around, everyone laughing and enjoying. I knew then that I had found exactly who I could trust to give us a great meal on my wedding day. Cheri went beyond her role as a caterer and was always looking after me and my family's interests. A couple weeks before the big day, she had me over to her kitchen to pick from her unique collection of serving dishes, helping make my meal unique and beautiful. We received complements all night (and for weeks afterwards) about how great our food was-- and all we did was make the decision to have Savory Spoon make it all happen.
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Catering
 215-518-1918
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0