Desert Light Weddings
Perfect planning for you and your budget!
PO Box 14074
Tempe, AZ 85284  | map
Services: Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
Weddings: Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly /...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (19)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shannon 1 Reviews
Robbie was amazing. She was responsive and helpful every step of the way. I had to try and plan my wedding from Ohio to Phoenix and she didn't mind emailing me to ask questions as to how I prefered things and was alway quick to respond to my questions as well. She was more than willing to go beyond her duties as wedding planner. She stepped in as cake taster for me and always offered to be available for the things that I could not be there in person for. When it came to deciding how to decorate, she really understood what I had envisioned in my mind and always make helpful suggestions without pushing anything that I wasn't sold on. My wedding day was amazing and would never have turned out as lovely as it was if it wasn't for Robbie. There is no way all of that would have gotten done with me as far away as I was. I really appreciate all of the work her and her daughter put in to making our day very special and am grateful for all they did!
Wedding: 01/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can not say enough about Robbie!! She was an excellent coordinator, and she kept me level headed throughout the year long process of planning the wedding. Robbie was on top of everything, and was even the one who found our perfect wedding site!! I do not know what I would have done without her. Very responsive, very customer service oriented, extremely easy to get along with, and very professional at what she does. I would recommend her to anyone in need of any type of event planning. She is a wonder woman!! Thank you so much Robbie for all you have done for me and my family!! My wedding day was perfect, and I have you to thank for that!!! :o)
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 4 Reviews
We planned our wedding from Afghanistan and were so happy with Robbie's assistance. We were looking for someone who was relaxed but professional, not too pricey and believed in our "low stress" wedding mantra- Robbie fit the bill perfectly.

Robbie was hired for day of coordination but her coordination started long before the day of and she remained proactive throughout. She went above and beyond what she was hired for by meeting with us at our venue, setting us up with an amazing seamstress who worked miracles with my dress and my husband's uniform 3 days before the wedding, followed up all the little things that we completely forgot about and was very patient when we had internet issues and couldn't reply immediately. By the time we got to Arizona, I was the most relaxed bride ever, mostly because Robbie had taken on all the craziness and still remained calm and collected. We highly recommend Robbie to anyone who wants a coordinator to work with you to achieve YOUR wedding. If Robbie was so helpful for us in Afghanistan, imagine how great she'll be for you!!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough wonderful things about Robbie and Dawn's service. I mainly dealt with Robbie McCoy during the planning phases of the wedding, however Dawn was able to step in, with Robbie, the day of and assist with anything that we needed. I reached out to Robbie at least 6 months before our wedding. I was having a really hard time finding a planner that wasn't trying to rob us. I had never thought that I would use a wedding planner. I did not need anyone to find my vendors, and I really didn't have a budget for a planner (but I am so glad I did).

Robbie must have been sent by someone special. Her rates were well below the competition, but the services she was eager to provide were well above the competition. Although I selected her for the day of planning, she started far beyond that, really diving into everything about a month out. Not many planners give you that kind of service for that kind of package.

Robbie was dedicated to making our day as perfect as can be, and you know what? IT WAS! If anything went wrong, I didn't know about it, and that was her mission from the start. She coordinated with all of my vendors and venue. She created a timeline for us to follow, yet was extremely flexible with any changes we had.

Robbie was also extremely flexible with our meeting, she even came to different meetings I had with the venue, and offered to come to ANYTHING we needed her to. She even offered that should I be stressed and just need to talk or want to meet for coffee, anything, she would be happy to.

I can truly say that this job is not a job to Robbie, this is a passion. You can see it when you talk to her and when she is speaking to your vendors or directing your wedding party, she loves what she is doing. My wedding was 3+ weeks ago and she and I are still chatting and sharing photos.

Before our wedding day I would have recommended Robbie and Desert Light Weddings very highly for the services provided, flexibility and price, not to mention a world of other things. But after the wedding, all of that joy in working with her has grown exponentially. If you have decided to use a wedding planner, or think maybe it would be helpful, I will tell you to do it, and do so with Robbie. I promise you won't regret it!
Wedding: 05/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 10 Reviews
I used Robbie's services for the day of the wedding but she provided so much more. I was new to the area and so she recommended many of the other vendors we used. The whole day came out perfectly and I felt like a princess as both my groom and I were waited on hand and foot the whole day. She coordinated with the other vendors and it went so smoothly that even my mother is saying that it was the most perfectly run wedding she had ever been to. Thank you for a wonderful day Robbie and Dawn.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would not hesitate for a second to recommend Desert Light Weddings to future brides. Robbie is knowledgeable, professional, responsive, and extremely easy to communicate with. She already had another wedding booked for May 5th, so I knew when I hired her that she would not be able to attend our wedding, but she was a FANTASTIC help with nearly every aspect of the planning, including centerpiece ideas, vendor recommendations (the videographer she recommended was FANTASTIC), creating checklists and timelines to ensure that our "do-it-ourselves" wedding went smoothly. She also provided wonderful perspective and very helpful pep talks on those stressful days where I felt like pulling my hair out. She kept me sane while I planned an entire wedding in four months. :) She is incredibly thoughtful and thorough, leaving no detail unattended to. We had a wonderful family friend step in during the day of the wedding and help coordinate the event- he also commented that Robbie's excellent planning and communication made his job easy and fun.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely Love Desert Light Weddings! From the first time I met Robbie she made me feel comfortable and there was no question too stupid that she would not answer. I am very particular and Robbie understood that and would respond to my e-mails promptly, do conference calls, meetings in person, and whatever else that I needed. I had very limited time and was not one of those brides that enjoyed weeding plannning so having Robbie and her team were wonderful and helped to ease my mind. The day of my wedding ran well and we were very happy with everything.
Wedding: 03/24/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I got the pleasure working with Robbie planning out our entire wedding from the very beginning. At first we weren’t really looking for a wedding planner, I wanted to do everything myself. But I had no idea where to begin or even all the details I needed for the wedding. No one in my family ever had a formal wedding, so I was on my own.
Somehow though I came across Robbie’s ad and we met up. From the very first impression we definitely loved Robbie’s personality and overall vibe that she gave off. I’m so glad that we choose her to help us out. With so many changes and detours the last year leading up to the big day, we really needed her and Dawn’s help. They both really helped make our wedding day run smoothly, including helping with crying babies and barking dogs! Even though our families helped out a lot, Robbie and Dawn help relieved a lot of the pressure off of myself as wells as my husband. It was a peace of mind that I got from them two helping out. We really appreciate all their help!
Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Robbie and Dawn,
We wanted to tell you how much fun we had at our wedding and want to thank you for all of your help. You made our vision come to life. Also if there were any problems, you must have taken care of them because we did not hear of anything. This day was very special to me as we had looked forward to this day for the 8 years we were together up to this point. I know for me as the bride and loosing my mother, my main supporter 2 months prior to our special day that it would be hard but when I felt that we could not go on with our wedding you were there to support me and help us make our special day happen. We can not thank you enough. One funny memory I want to share that was so
thoughtful was with Dawn, at one point I needed to use the restroom and
Dawn even offered to hold my dress.. haha. We feel like even though we picked out all of our venders before we got involved with your service, on the day of the wedding we felt as if you all were one big team that made our day come to life. Our friends and family say to us now how wonderful everything was and how much they appreciated knowing you were there to help so they could enjoy our celebration and not have to run our show for us. We just wanted to thank you so much for all of you help! We enjoyed sharing our day with you both!
Thank you,
Mr. and Mrs. Valdez
Wedding: 12/03/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have had the pleasure to work with Robbie and Dawn. At first, I thought I was "super Bride" and did not intend on getting a wedding coordinator. About 3.5 to 4 months before the wedding, I was chatting with a girlfriend who recently got married and she convinced me to get one. I had talked to several vendors and decided on Robbie. I felt like we had similar personalities...always wanting everything perfect. When I booked Robbie as a wedding coordinator at about 3 months before the wedding, she started to help me right off the bat even though day-of coordinators don't step in until about 1-2 months before the wedding. She referred me to great vendors and contacts, answered questions about random stuff, and kept focused and on track with finishing up the last bit of planning I had to do.

She contacted all my vendors and made sure everyone was on the same page. She created timelines and distributed it out to all the vendors. I saw my photograpgher, dj and caterer pull it out at some points during the night and refer to it. It was awesome planning on her part. Everything discussed as far as layout of the venue and how everything was supposed to look came true. It was EXACTLY as how i pictured it. Her daughter Dawn stayed with me when the ceremony started and my jitters were at an all time high. The church coordinator was frantically looking for our candles for the ceremony. They had been misplaced. Dawn took quick action and went down the street to a local grocery store and picked up some candles for us. Dawn and Robbie took care of all the little catastrophes which will come up on your wedding day, even with very careful planning. At the reception, they would both come by and check on me, always making sure if I needed anything as well as anyone else in our bridal party.

I received many compliments about our wedding reception. They said everything came out beautifully. Everyone commented that I did not look stressed that day, I have told every single person that has said that, that it was all because of Robbie and Dawn. I am recommending them to all my friends who are getting married and looking for a coordinator!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was so lucky to have found Robbie to help me plan my wedding. With all of the steps to planning a nice wedding, it is impossible to do it alone!! Robbie was with me from the day I hired her on and went above and beyond my expectations. Her constant attention allowed me to relax throughout the process and be assured that the day would be perfect. And it was perfect! Her daughter Dawn was just as fabulous! She helped with decor and added her own detail, which definitely didn't go unnoticed. Everyone told us how beautiful and how smoothly everything ran. It truly was the most incredible wedding! Thanks so much to the both of you. Drew and I appreciate all of the countless hours and dedication to our special day.
I highly recommend Robbie and Dawn!
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Robbie and Dawn were amazing. I had to talk my mom into getting a planner so that she and I could spend the big day together instead of her running around getting things done. Dawn and Robbie were able to do that which kept me calm. They gave advice when it came to making the schedule and pointed out things that I hadn't thought of. My aunt decorates cakes and arranges flowers for a profession so we needed someone to be there to help her with anything she needed. They were able to carry, deliver, clean, hang and decorate anything we needed. Everything ran like clock work the entire evening. I am from South Africa and wanted to incorporate a few traditions which they made happen and didn't think twice about how to make it happen. They flew into South Carolina from Arizona and were immediately ready to work. They made us feel very comfortable like we were working with friends but at the same time they were very professional. They helped make my dream wedding a reality from start to finish.
Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Review from the Mother of the Bride:

Working with Robbie and Dawn was a wonderful experience, it allowed me the opportunity to enjoy the entire day of the wedding with my daughter and all the bridesmaids. Dawn and Robbie were attentive to all the logistical needs ensuring the events of the day went without any issues. The florist was very impressed with the ability of these two ladies to take direction and complete tasks with minimal supervision. Not task was too big or too small for them to do. Their attention to details with a focus on the brides needs and desires was terrific. As a team they work well together and helped make the wedding day a breathtaking occasion. I highly recommend them to help you with your special day.

Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Robbie and Dawn were both great. She helped me plan my wedding from overseas, which my husband was deployed and I was out of country. Being military she gave us a good deal and was professional. All the information that was asked for was mostly provided. when the big day arrived, she was running around taking care all of the little kinks. If something went wrong, then i don't know about it :o) The original price for the wedding was a little more then doubled however. We were trying to stay as inexpensive as possible. Im thankful that my family pitched in as much as they did. finding deals, may not be the strong point, but the wedding was beautiful. Thank you Robbie!
Desert Light Weddings responded with the following comments:
I am happy that Alex and Kyle are pleased with our services, however I do need to address the budgetary concerns. With any wedding there are fixed and variable costs. I wish I could have waved my wand and lowered some of the prices, but the costs that put them over budget were fixed costs that were based on choices they made on their own. All costs associated with their venue and reception were known to them ahead of time so there were no surprises. in any case it was a beautiful wedding, and they were a great couple!
Wedding: 04/30/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutly Wonderful!
Wedding: 11/06/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Robbie is absolutely the BEST. No detail is overlooked. She was professional, responsive, creative and made my fiance and I feel like we were her only clients with her one on one manner. Everyone loved Robbie and really enjoyed everything about the wedding day. I had no stress at all because she handled everything. I'm recommending everyone even thinking about getting married to her.
Wedding: 10/17/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 480-235-0325
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0