Weddings

Seams Couture Reviews

Seams Couture View more information

26 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 26
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
Sort by:
  • E
    Emily Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper did such a fantastic job altering my wedding gown -- it fit like a glove! She was always prompt when responding to questions, and very flexible making appointments. I would HIGHLY recommend!!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 10/13/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper Della-Piana, owner of SEAMS, is beyond talented.

    I ordered my wedding gown through Ann Taylor Wedding - while the dress was exactly what I wanted, it didn't fit perfectly. I brought the dress to Harper in July of 2012. She did the whole fitting in about 20 minutes, knowing exactly what needed to be taken in, altered, and added.

    The dress was promised for the last week in September (without any additional fittings in between!) and boy did she deliver. I was nervous that the dress may not be perfect because we had only met once prior, but it certainly wasn't necessary...

    The dress was exactly how it should have been. It was fitted in the right areas and the bustle that she created was GORGEOUS! I couldn't believe the attention to detail. If I was this impressed with how the dress fit, I can only imagine how her other clients feel when their dress is made specifically for them, created by Harper.

    I highly, and strongly, recommend SEAMS to any and all brides!!!
  • A
    Angela Married on 09/15/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I knew from the get-go that I wanted a wedding dress that was outside the box. I heard about Seams from a friend who had had her dress made by Harper. I didn't even bother looking any place else before making my first appointment. It was the best decision. Harper is amazing. We sat down at that first appointment and came up with my dream dress. I picked the fabrics that I wanted and had a say in every step of the process. The result was fantastic and everyone commented that my dress looked great. It fit like a glove and was actually comfortable to have on for 6+ hours. Harper also went above and beyond making a matching tie and pocket square for my husband and making a beautiful color sketch as a keepsake. I could not have gotten this dress at any store and it was a great value for the quality of materials and workmanship.
  • Gina
    Gina Married on 04/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We haired Harper for Day of Services. I had my dress altered in NYC but we got married in Boston so I needed my dress steamed as ell as bridesmaid dresses. Harper showed up with an arsenal or steaming and alteration goodies and thank goodness she did. In the hour+ she was there she not only steamed my wedding gown, 4 bridesmaid dresses, both outfits for my mom and my husbands mom but did last minute alterations as well. My bustle had some issues and Harper was able to fix them so my dress looked perfect! She also was able to add a shoulder strap to my sisters dress that was having some issues staying up. She was an absolute life saver!! It was so easy to stay clam knowing that Harper was there to fix everything and anything dress wise that needed it. I absolutely recommend her she was amazing!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/06/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My dress was a family heirloom which needed both care and updating. SEAMS was the best decision I could make to help create a dress that is still being talked about! My dress was made my Great Aunt in the 80's and was professionally beaded in Philly. It was two pieces because it was so heavy. I needed Harper to update the top piece and create a skirt that matched so I could change for the reception into something I could dance in. She was amazing to work with. She listened to what I was looking for while providing expert guidance! Her care of my dress is what I am most grateful for as her knowledge helped me change a family heirloom just enough so it could still be cherished in the future. I would recommend her to anyone looking for an expert!
  • J
    Lauren Married on 05/21/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper remade my mother in laws dress into a gown that fit me perfectly. She helped me figure out everything I wanted and walked me through the whole process. I got an insane amount if compliments on the dress and my mother in law loved it too. The dress was staples and because of harpers craftsmanship I didn't have to pull it up once! She is truly an artist. And super nice and fun to work with!

    Seams Couture's reply:

    Yikes I hope you mean strapless, staples hurt!
    So glad your MIL loved it too and the surprise :)
  • S
    Sharon Married on 11/26/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper at Seams was an absolute pleasure to work with. She's very talented and had wonderful ideas. I had a picture of what I wanted but she helped tailor the design to fit me perfectly. I highly recommend her- my dress was exactly what I wanted and I got so many compliments on it.
  • K
    Karen Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Absolutely loved my dress from Seams! Harper is fantastic, & this was one of the best decisions I made. How often do you have a custom made couture dress made just for you? It was gorgeous, and the process was amazing. To have a dress no one else in the world has is pretty cool. And the cost was really a great value, considering it's a one of a kind, made and designed just for you. Harper makes you feel like a million bucks throughout the process. Do it.
  • sassy
    Sara Married on 09/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Let me just say that I LOVE HARPER! I bought my dress at the notorious Filene's Basement Running of the Brides (which I recommend you ladies check out....and go in the afternoon after lunch....there's plenty of dresses and less meyhem...that's what I did) and brought it to Harper after another shop told me they didn't accept outside gowns. I found Harper's website and read the info. and knew she was for me right away. She is very responsive and easy to work with and our personalities worked well together. My dress was a bit of a challenge due to the ruching/folds and the way it went off to one side not straight down the back but she was able to work with it. It was a sample too so the button loops up the back were white and she dyed them to match the fabric of the dress. She also sewed a lining into my antique handbag as well. Harper is great and I highly recommend her!

    Seams Couture's reply:

    Thank You Sassy! Love your sense of Style, champagne gown and white peacock feathers, can't wait to see the pictures :)
  • D
    Deirdre Married on 08/07/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot, CANNOT say enough positive things about Harper. First, I would recommend a custom dress to any bride; it's made to fit you, the way you're built, and the way you want to look and move. Second, I would recommend Harper without hesitation; her work is unique and impeccable, and she does it with a sensitivity and enthusiasm that I really appreciated. Third, I would especially recommend her to brides who are doing something a little untraditional, whether that be shortening a hemline a little or playing in a rock band at the reception. My tastes as a bride were somewhere in between; I wanted something a little vintage-inspired and had specific details in mind, but also something I could dance - and, I admit, feel a little like a princess in - and Harper sat down and talked with me for half an hour about me, my ideas for the dress, and the wedding plans so far, and held up a sketch that blew my ideas out of the water. The dress itself was beyond my wildest dreams. It wasn't just the dress, though;every time I went to see Harper I felt not only comfortable and excited, but beautiful and confident and exactly the way a bride should. She made the experience of being a bride as joyful as I think it should be, and I had a wonderful time on my wedding day showered in compliments about my dress!

    Seams Couture's reply:

    We can't wait to see the pictures! What a great theme you put together :)
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 08/07/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved the dress, so so so much. thanks Harper for making me beautiful.

    Seams Couture's reply:

    It was easy :)
  • G
    Gretchen Married on 06/26/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper at SEAMS was able to recreate a WWII inspired dress from screenshots I sent her from a film. The fittings were easy-going and she was attentive to what I wanted. The process was stress-free and enjoyable and the final product was beautiful. My dress was perfect for our fairy tale wedding in Monaco--molded to me and unlike anything out there. Compare prices with the big bridal houses or posh boutiques and there's just no comparison! Why get something off the rack when you can have a dress custom made? I'd definitely recommend Harper's services for not just bridal wear, but any fancy event you feel the need to wow.

    Seams Couture's reply:

    We loved having you AND love your dress too!
  • H
    Hillary Married on 06/12/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper did exquisite work on my wedding gown. After purchasing it at a Priscilla sample sale, it needed quite a bit of work for the gown to properly fit. During our initial meeting with Harper, she immediately knew exactly how to achieve the look and fit I wanted. Additionally, she put in boning and padding so there was no need to purchase custom undergarments. The gown fit perfectly and looked flawless - the compliments I received on its fit were abundant and it's all thanks to Harper. She also made a lovely bolero for my mother to wear on my wedding day. Thank you, Harper!
  • M
    Heather Married on 06/05/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Seams is incredible! I cannot recommend a better place for alterations (and I have been to many establishments). Thank you Seams!

    Seams Couture's reply:

    How much fun was THAT to completely dissect a Vera Wang gown! A rare treat for us and such a fun Green Wedding :)
  • V
    Victoria Married on 07/28/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    harper did a great job she took my vision and turned it into a a beautiful dress

    Seams Couture's reply:

    One of our all time favorite Custom Order gowns!
  • I
    Mindy Married on 06/20/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper of SEAMS is absolutely fabulous. She knew I was on a tight budget, and worked with me on pricing. She also helped me to find my own style in my otherwise traditional wedding dress. I would suggest SEAMS to anyone and everyone looking for a good seamstress who's been around the block more than once.

    Seams Couture's reply:

    Being realistic about your budget and working creatively within limits is what it's all about. The pink Converse All-stars to match the pink veil were a genius touch!
  • M
    P Married on 06/06/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper was/is fantastic. Easy-going, responsive and professional. You can't ask for more. She was helpful without inserting her opinion and was able to create a dress out of hemp and organic thread for my wedding. Highly recommended.

    Seams Couture's reply:

    Seams <3's the Planet! Hemp is great stuff and just needs to be seen to be understood and loved.
  • C
    Christine Married on 08/30/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had a custom wedding dress designed and made by Harper Della-Pina of Seams. For what I received from Seams, I would have easily paid 3x that much in a bridal salon. My dress was beautiful, fit me perfectly, and because it was custom made, no one will ever have my wedding dress!

    Seams Couture's reply:

    Hi Christine! I don't remember if I thanked you for this fabulous review or not, but THANK YOU!!! And for referring Stephanie Leccese, who's gown is turning out to be quite fashion forward. And re-reviewing your pictures is on my very long to do list....
    it will happen eventually ;)
    Harper
  • M
    Mary Married on 07/13/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was searching for a wedding gown to be made quickly. I had a picture of what I wanted but had to have it modified as I was expecting. Harper was amazing. She listened to what I wanted and then modified the gown. It was perfect. The beading and details were fantastic. It was everything that I wanted and Harper made sure that it was just right. Even down to the Friday before the wedding redoing the waistline.

    I can not say enough positive things.

    Seams Couture's reply:

    Thank You Mary! It was a pleasure working with another Film Pro again!
  • K
    Katie Married on 06/29/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper was amazing from the moment I met her. Her store is full of beautiful designs to inspire your own- ask her if you can take a look at what she's working on! I wish I'd known about her before I'd bought my dress, so she could have designed one for me. However, the alterations she made to my dress exceeded my expectations. She listened to me and made me and my dress exactly what I'd asked for and more!
  • M
    Margot Married on 07/28/2007
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    She did a fabulous job on my wedding dress. It came out exactly like I wanted it to be!
  • G
    Geraldine Married on 08/25/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Harper designed and made my wedding suit. It's hard to get a woman's suit to look just right, and I had a few quirks to add to it, but she just took it all in stride and produced an amazing result. It was perfect.
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Married on 10/09/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    WOW!!! Harper was the best! I cant tell people enough how much I loved my experience at Seams! Harper took my ideas and made them so much better than i could have ever envisioned. My wedding was a huge success and everyone keeps telling how amazing my dress was. Thank you!!!!!!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 03/09/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Harper worked to make sure my dress looked the way I wanted it to look. My request was not a normal one, I'm sure, but she took my thoughts and turned it into reality!
  • L
    Laura Married on 06/25/2011
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Harper at SEAMS helped me perfect my vision for a wedding dress. Fittings were always a pleasant experience. The end result was beautiful and I didn't want to take my dress off. :)