Weddings

Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains Reviews

Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains

Scottsdale, AZ
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 15 Reviews
View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 15
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • H
    Heather R. Married on 03/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A true hidden gem!

    The Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains was the perfect location for our wedding and welcome party. Nicole made the planning process seamless and was so helpful! The food was delicious and the staff provided great service! All of our family and friends had such a great time!
  • User1037682 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I used the Marriott as my wedding venue for the ceremony, reception and also my overnight stay as well as many guests too. The hotel has beautiful and large suites for all rooms, the ballroom is beautiful and the most important part is the staff - my event manager was the best and all of the staff that worked my event were so nice and friendly. All of my guests had great reviews too - they all stated how well they were taken care of and how beautiful everything looked. The best part was the food - we used a wedding package that included butler passed appetizers, salad, the main course and the wedding cake (through an outside vendor). The food was so delicious - no one had anything bad to say about it. If you are looking for a place that has an intimate feeling with fantastic food and amazing guest service, this is the place for you! You won't be disappointed!
  • J
    Juie Married on 03/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I felt that we received good value for the ceremony, cocktail and food. Jeff and Elena were very easy and accommodating to work with. The bar staff and food staff were excellent!!!

    The negative was receiving back the items we provided for the wedding. After some persistence the floral arrangements, seating stands with name cards on them and mirrors for the table centerpieces appeared at the front desk.
    The biggest disappointment was that the extra case of monogrammed glasses with the bride and grooms name and wedding date on them seems to have vanished, that I feel is very unfortunate, after all they were personalized.
  • E
    Erica Married on 02/19/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountain provided an outstanding experience for my new Husband and I as well as each and every guest. We had 152 people at the reception which went on without a hitch. The food (we did stations) was incredible. I definitely recommend the menu we chose (prime rib station, caesar salad bar, bruschetta bar, and pasta). The staff is friendly, quick and on top of everything. The newly remodeled banquet space is gorgeous and can easily be decorated on a budget. We didn’t need chair covers or any extras like that. The space itself is so pretty empty that preparing it for the big day wasn't difficult at all. Elena Bobu and Jeff Rosen (the Marriott wedding team) are top-notch and made our wedding day even more memorable that we could ever imagine.
  • E
    Elinor Married on 12/03/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was more than pleased with the service and value provided by the Marriott at McDowell Mountain for my wedding. From the first phone call taken by the Sales Dept, I was treated royally, even though my wedding was small - only 36 guests. Every person I had contact with, the sales people, the event co-ordinator, the chef, the banquet manager on the day of the wedding, the bartender - all these people were a pleasure to deal with, very cordial and professional. I would say responsiveness was a stand out quality which was offered by this Marriott. I always received the information I needed, either the same day, or at the latest the next day. I never had to wonder if or when I would get a call back or e-mail. The Marriott was always prompt. Regarding value: although the dinner was not cheap, I would say it was fairly priced and the quality of the food was outstanding. I received many commendations from my guests that the food was not only tasty, but interesting (especially the vegetables, which are usually just an after thought. But this chef prepared them in interesting ways! They were delicious). Honestly, I have no complaints about my wedding at the Marriott. Just about everything which the Marriott was responsible for on my wedding day turned out well. Also the hotel is beautiful with a gorgeous location for outdoor weddings. I am so happy I chose the Marriott at McDowell Mountain for my wedding.
  • K
    Koleen Married on 05/07/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Team at the Marriott made the event very successful, they are fun and easy to work with and the food is awesome! Seriously, that's what numerous guests said too :)
  • D
    Donna Married on 04/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Marriott at McDowell Mountains in Scottsdale offered a beautiful facility for our daughters wedding. Many extras were included. The wedding cake, getting ready rooms, wedding night accommodations for the bridal couple, hotel rooms at discounted rates, infused water for ceremony, beautiful hurricane glass candle center pieces for tables. Ms. Elena Bobu, sales representative made everyone feel tremendous and addresses all our requests and needs. The food, service and atmosphere was absolutely beautiful. You MUST visit this venue..you will be delighted. We were 100% plus satisfied and so happy we chose this venue.
  • B
    Tom Married on 04/02/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Excellent work by all. We could not be happier. Thank you.
  • A
    Amie Married on 04/02/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was so happy with how my wedding at the Marriott McDowell Mountain resort turned out. The staff was very attentive and was always willing to fulfill my needs and last minute changes. The food and beverage service staff was amazing and made sure all of the guest were pleased. The food was WONDERFUL!!! I received so many calls from wedding guest complimenting me on how beautiful every aspect of the wedding & reception was, everyone was so impressed. All of the immidiate family stayed at the hotel and as well they complimented how nice the rooms were. After the reception it was a lovely touch for my husband and I to come to the room and find a chilled bottle of champange and a cheese & fruit platter (it's true you never get the time to eat at your own wedding) I can't thank the staff enough for making my special day so beautiful Thank you!!!!
  • C
    Shereen Married on 11/20/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountain was the perfect, cozy spot for my big day! The staff there did an incredible job! It was one of the most stress free days of my life. The thought and took care of everything. The food was great and everything was set up perfectly. I chose to have my rehearsal dinner there and breakfast the following day...all the events were perfectly executed!
  • P
    Paula Married on 10/29/2011
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding after party was held at the Marriott McDowell Mtn hotel. They provided us witha beautiful room and we had late night food served. Our guests stayed here in a room block arranged by the hotel with special pricing. All guests truly enjoyed the hotel. It's a beautiful location and the staff is execellent. We also held a pool bridal shower with drinks and food. It was a lovely day and the staff took care of all the ladies inI style!
  • M
    Mary Married on 02/19/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Book the venue for Sunday night and receive more bang for the buck. Book early. Visit venue often to get a true perspective of the facilities. For instance, I noticed the elevator after numerours visits and was happy to know it was there for elderly guests who would have found the outdoor steps risky after sunset. Check the bill for charges not previously agreed upon. Document and get copies of all contracts. Date your notes and keep all monutary records until the day after the wedding. Trust the professionals at Marriott--planners, chefs, set-up staff--who do weddings all the time. For me this was a once-in-a-lifetime event. Come the Big Day, relax and stay in the moment. Turn over the work and worry to those who are being paid. They are pros.
  • User1571055 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We loved having our wedding here!! The ceremony was beautiful, the cocktail hour was smooth, dinner was great and the reception was a blast! Two negatives: there is a pretty awful smell by the north lawn where we had our ceremony, which they acted like was a new thing however our vendors all said otherwise. Luckily they cleared it up pretty well after my dad told them some good fixes...and they did "forget" to close the bar at dinner. Sadly this probably increased our bar tab, but our guests were happy :) Two positives: the food was fabulous and flavorful. (We had the southwest option with chipotle steak, ancho chicken & au gratin potatoes) And Brett was fabulous to work with, especially in the very last few weeks when time seemed to be moving so fast! Overall, we loved the whole thing.
  • L
    Leslee Married on 05/14/2011
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    it was very nice. only thing that could use some work was a little better communication between the to wedding managers. other wise they did a great job. i will let my friends know :)
  • W
    William Married on 05/18/2012
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Overall experience was great. Event planning could have gone a little bit better if the sales person had been less pushy and more accomodating. Event planner was very reassuring and gave us a feeling of confidence and professionalism. The event itself went well and was well received by the guests. Overall value which included complimentary rooms for bride and groom's immediate family, free anniversay stay next year and very competitive price for the event. The setting overlooking the TPC golf course was beautiful and the weather for May in Scottsdale actually was acceptable. I would recommend this facility for your wedding with highest regards