Skip to main content
Weddings

Sarah Postma Photography Reviews

Sarah Postma Photography

Sarah Postma Photography

Bellingham, WA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

13
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • KATHRYN
    Kathryn O. Sent on 09/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best!

    We would recommend Sarah to anyone and everyone. We had no idea what to expect from a photographer when we hired her and she took charge and made us feel at ease; which was critical during such a stressful time! She has a sweet demeanor and is such a professional. She truly knows how to capture an image and made us look like we were straight out of a magazine!
    It took roughly 5-6 weeks to get our photos, but we were given a "preview/highlights" album to download in the meantime. Her service was the best purchase of the wedding (And Pure Bliss Deserts made some banging cupcakes... )!
  • Maria
    Maria Sent on 11/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing photos and so much more!

    Sarah is the person you want by your side to capture those once-in-a-lifetime moments! She is incredibly talented, thoughtful, and organized. Sarah has an amazing skill of capturing moments in a way that makes us feel like we are in that room again experiencing these special memories. Her photos are more than just a visual memory, not only do we get to see ourselves alongside our family and friends, somehow she captures the emotions of the moment. We have hundreds of favorite photos!

    We had an incredible experience during our engagement and throughout the big day. At our first meeting with Sarah, we went over details and talked about what we were looking for in a photographer. She does an excellent job communicating throughout the whole wedding planning process. But most importantly to us, it felt like we were catching up with a good friend to share the happy news about our engagement. It can be overwhelming with all the planning and details for the big day, but throughout the year, Sarah's thoughtful messages, cards, and fun engagement session made it feel like a year of celebrating this special and exciting time.

    On the wedding day, it was a joy to have her around. She did a great job taking the lead to corral our large boisterous families for a group picture and keep us and our wedding party on track for wedding party pictures. She also does well blending in and discreetly catching us enjoying the day with our family and friends. Her experience and fun personality made it easy for us to feel comfortable and enjoy the day while a professional could collect the memories for us. We highly recommend Sarah for her skills as a photographer, but also as the kind of person we were happy to have near us for every moment on the greatest day of our lives!
  • M
    Maayan Sent on 06/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Where do I begin? Sarah is an outrageously brilliant photographer and I don't think I can write this review without crying. We fell in love with Sarah's style while looking at photographers' websites online. She uses natural light so masterfully and captures movement and life in her photos. We knew that photography was one of the few things on which we would not compromise...we wanted the best to help us remember our day.

    We did a mini engagement shoot with her to get to know each other, and it took just a few minutes to realize that we felt totally at-ease. When we told her that we liked a little more direction, she gave it! She made us laugh and smile and feel completely in the moment. It was misting and we were wandering in SoDo (per her amazing suggestion) and we had so much fun and grabbed a beer after. When we got our engagement photos back I was speechless. I couldn't believe that someone we had just met was capable of capturing our essence so easily. It made me even more excited for our wedding day.

    Wedding day - Sarah Postma is the friend you didn't know you needed at your wedding. She's calm, organized, sweet, great at dealing with crowds, and unbelievably patient. We worked with Sarah for several months before the wedding to plan everything and get our lists of photos together. She had an amazing spreadsheet to help us, questions that made us really think about what we wanted, and a real expertise that made us feel confident in any advice she gave. She honestly went above and beyond, answering questions even outside of the photography realm.

    As the first photos of our wedding come trickling in, the excitement of our wedding day is reignited. Sarah is a master photographer and a glorious person. I wish I could give her a million stars.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • R
    Rebecca Sent on 06/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Check her website for other wedding photos. Call and interview her with your special needs and requests. She is really excellent at pulling together all your requirements.
  • User2633349 Sent on 06/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was professional, flexible and fun. She felt like a friend at the end of the process and of course, the pictures were gorgeous.
  • K
    Krista Sent on 06/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have raved about many of my vendors, but truly, none of them can compare to the quality and attention to detail that Sarah has. My wedding just took place a few days ago, but from working with Sarah in the very beginning throughout our engagement photos and the wedding itself, I knew that she was the perfect fit for my wedding style. Sarah's work is one-of-a-kind and she produces images that evoke storytelling, realism, but still showcase great beauty. Not only did she capture the urban, unique details in my engagement photos in Washington Square Park in NYC, but she managed to highlight the most beautiful and scenic background for my wedding in Red Bank, New Jersey.

    Sarah took the time to get to know me and my fiance in a way that most wedding vendors do not. We enjoyed dinner and many phone calls laughing and talking about our geeky moments - things that were personal and important to us became important to Sarah as well. She orchestrated our family portraits in an efficient manner but also made everyone feel comfortable and like valued members of the event and wedding day. I cannot stress enough how professional she was, and I know that her attention to detail will shine through in the photos.

    I haven't even seen all of the photos from our big day yet, but I can tell you that investing in Sarah's photography, even if you are not a Chicago-based couple, will be well worth your time and money. I have been blown away by her work and wish that I had more opportunities to work with her!
  • User843359 Sent on 06/27/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah is, in a word, amazing. I spent a lot of time researching and interviewing photographers, because my photos are so important to me, and I knew I had found the right one once I met Sarah. She was incredibly sweet, detail-oriented, professional and passionate about what she does (she even brought us chocolate and a copy of Martha Stewart Weddings for us!).

    I love how her work captures those special, candid moments, and that she is also great at taking those formal portraits you have to have, but in a non-cheesy way. I work at a magazine and am constantly looking at photographers' work, and Sarah has that editorial, gorgeous quality to her work that I look for.

    I live in New York and even though Sarah is based in Chicago, she was totally accessible via phone and email. She flew in just for us for our engagement session and spent three hours taking tons of photos in all of the locations we wanted, then hopped on a plane to return home. Unlike other photographers who charge by the hour, when you hire Sarah, you get her for the entire day of your wedding, which is such a boon. She also doesn't charge a travel fee for her New York clients (it's built right into the package, which is totally affordable to begin with). We were totally blown away by how accommodating she is and how much she truly cares about her subjects. She really gives every job her all.

    Sarah's calming, easygoing personality not only makes her someone that you and your wedding party will want around on your wedding day, it also guarantees that she'll get along with your other vendors. I've heard horror stories about photographers and videographers jockeying for power at other weddings, and this was certainly not the case with Sarah.

    I would wholeheartedly recommend Sarah as a wedding photographer—hiring her is a decision you won't regret and you'd really be foolish not to.
  • K
    Kelly Sent on 06/22/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I LOVED Sarah! She was so fun to work with, full of energy and always positive! She def. made us feel comfortable in front of the camera. She was very responsive to emails and phone calls. We even met her a few times to make sure we were prepared for the big day and the engagement shots. We are still waiting for our wedding photos because our wedding was just a 3-4weeks ago, but we were so happy with our engagement photos. She has great talent, using natural lighting to enhance the photos. Sarah has a good eye for perfect shots! She also directs you, without being overbearing or in your face. Overall, we are soooo happy we went with Sarah for our photography.
  • K
    Katlyn Sent on 12/06/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although i knew Sarah was fantastic from the beginning, when i saw my wedding photos today i was in awe. I didn't cry on my wedding day - but looking back through these pictures brought tears to my eyes because she captured *moments* and movement and expression that i didn't get to see or didn't get to appreciate in the midst of everything else going on. She made an effort before my wedding to stay in communication so she could learn who and what was important to me and when the day came that's what she paid special attention to. She knew my family and friends by name and was quick and direct and got things done.

    She's extremely professional and friendly and everybody that interacted with her at my wedding thought she was amazing.

    Long story short... if you pick her as your wedding photographer you will not be disapointed.
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 09/16/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was one of the best parts of our day! What an amazing photographer and such a pleasure to work with! Leading up to our wedding she made a huge effort to get to know us and learn what was special about our big day. It was always so easy to get in touch with her and any questions we had were immediately answered. The day of the wedding was so much fun and she captured all the right moments! Our photos are amazing and we're so thankful we choose Sarah Postma!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 08/01/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sarah was AMAZING to work with!!! Throughout the year prior to the wedding she was really interested in getting to know us as a couple. She was always there to answer any questions. Sarah really seems to enjoy what she does, which is reflected in the wonderful pictures she takes. Her style fit us perfect. She even stayed an extra 3 hours extra to make sure she captured all the fun moments of our wedding. She did engagement pictures for us and I even got to participate in a free bridal shoot. I would recommend Sarah Sarah to any bride. I just can't say enough great stuff about her:)
  • C
    Christine Sent on 03/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had met with 3 or 4 other photographers prior to meeting with Sarah Postma. They ranged from sub-par to just merely ok, and we didn’t really trust them enough to leave our big day in their hands. (One photographer was really aggressive and wouldn't let us leave, and kept pushing us to sign with him on the spot, lowering his price each time we refused!)

    After we met with Sarah, we knew she would do a great job and we felt comfortable leaving our memories of our wedding day to her. We’ve never second-guessed our decision for a minute since then. From the moment we met with Sarah, there was no doubt in our minds that she was the photographer for us. Her prices were more than reasonable, and she was open to tailoring the packages to suit our needs. Her work showed her talent and creativity while still staying elegant and classic – classy but not stuffy or boring! Another plus was how easy her website was to navigate, and it showed off her talent beautifully. Thanks for everything Sarah!
  • E
    Erica Sent on 02/22/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    After a quite daunting search, we met Sarah Postma and not only ended our search, but truly found the most amazing photographer. Breathtaking photos aside, her extremely personable nature and ability to draw in even the camera shy (a.k.a me) are traits that are few and far between to say the least. During our engagement session (which I think is brilliant and every couple should experience) we traipsed around NYC in over 90 degree weather while Sarah captured the sweetest moments and created a lasting memory. Our wedding was in October of 08' and still to this day we cannot say enough about Sarah and our wedding photos that we always look forward to sharing with others. She made our day complete and for that we feel privileged. We always and will always highly recommend Sarah to anyone and everyone we know.

    Sincerely,
    Erica and Mike