Karen Ell Reviews

13 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

13 Reviews for Karen Ell

Recommended by 100%

13

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
13 Karen Ell Reviews
Sort by:
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We organised everything remotely with Karen as we no longer live in Canada. She was superb and very responsive to emails. On the day, Karen was early and the ceremony for us (a mature couple) was perfect. Many of our guest remarked on how lovely it was. A million thank yous, Karen. Highly recommend!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 02/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    At LEAST on par with the $500+ officiants at the fancier smoke-and-mirrors companies - genuinely surprised. She is amazing at her job, customized the ceremony amazingly to my husband and I, and was soooo easy to deal with. Everyone at the wedding loved her and was impressed by her and a few guests made sure to go out of their way to tell us how good a choice she was. I can't recommend her enough. LGBTQ+ and non-monogamous-friendly.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was absolutely wonderful. She was informative and flexible. She even added in a surprise, personal touch for our ceremony that everyone appreciated. I would highly, highly recommend working with Karen.

  • User6920974 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was a huge factor in making our ceremony as beautiful as it was. She is warm, professional and added a personal touch by including an Irish poem during the ceremony. She laughed along with us and discreetly guided us when we were unsure of where we were going/ what we were supposed to do! We both felt completely comfortable and in fact, my husband stayed close by her before the wedding as he described her as a calming influence. Thank you so much Karen. Please book this commissioner. You will not be disappointed!

  • B

    Beth · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was amazing. She was able to make both my partner and I feel completely comfortable with her calm and knowing demeanor. She listened to exactly the type of ceremony that we wanted as well as made helpful suggestions for details that we hadn't yet thought of. Even though she has been officiating for many years, she was still clearly moved by our ceremony and has obviously chosen a great profession for herself.

    She was also very quick to reply whenever I had a question - either by e-mail or by phone.

    I highly highly recommend Karen and suggest that you book her services early!

  • User3922180 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen has to be the sweetest and most kind wedding officiant and I was so very lucky to have her on my wedding day. She took the time to include parts of our ceremony that reflected my Husband and I as a couple. She was able to cater to our needs of a combined 2 part ceremony, and her grace in making you feel comfortable during the ceremony without anyone knowing was the greatest part to her service. She is professional, understanding and is able to captivate the room with her service and let everyone focus on you two as the couple about to be wed.

    Although this is a small token of our appreciation, we hope all couples looking into having a memorable and flawless ceremony look into booking Karen Ell.

  • S

    Stacey · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how happy we are that we found Karen through a recommendation from our venue. Karen is truly the most personable, lovely, genuine and organized officiant. She was amazing to engage with from the first email to sending all our final paperwork after the wedding. So many of our guests commented on her wonderful ceremony. Thank you Karen!

  • T

    Tanya · Married on 04/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so so thrilled that Karen was recommended to us, as she was the best officiant I've ever seen at a wedding. Of course we reviewed the ceremony together ahead of time, but she also had some personal touches on the day, that meant so much to us (one of our groomsmen teared up!).

    The ceremony was absolutely beautiful and moving, and Karen played a huge role in that. Thank you Karen!

  • User2706469 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen made our ceremony personal, funny and wonderfully meaningful for us. Although we only had one in-person meeting plus the rehearsal, Karen had personal touches that made our family and guests feel like she knew us for years. She is super thoughtful and incredibly thorough! I would recommend Karen for anyone getting married. She's absolutely wonderful.

  • J

    Jaime · Married on 04/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When it comes to a BC Marriage Commissioner you are always paying the same price; trust me, they are not all the same. First of all, Karen will respond to you ASAP (if that is not important to you, you are crazy,) she genuinely cares about the small details (how you met, what you're like, the type of relationship you have,) and she shows up on time and looking like a professional.
    I've communicated with several BCMC's and they were never as prompt, professional, or as in-depth as Karen. She MADE our ceremony, and we barely put a finger on it. She knew exactly the kind of passage that would apply to us, and she went through our rehearsal with us in depth and with patience. I highly recommend Karen to those considering hiring a BCMC, but book soon....she books quickly.

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 12/29/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about Karen Ell, she was professional,graceful, sweet and caring, and really made our ceremony the best that it could be. She met us for rehearsal and walked through everything and on the day of she made are all our guests were comfortable and made us extremely comfortable before walking down the aisle. She really cares about the people she marries even though she only knows them for a short while. I cannot say enough great things about karen. If you have the chance to use her, then do it! she will make your day wonderful!

  • Y

    Yasaman · Married on 08/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Karen was amazing. She was very meticulous about her work. She was loud and clear, so everyone could hear her easily. We decided to combine Persian and civil ceremony together. Karen was very cooperative,and did a fantastic job. Highly recommended . Thank you Karen.

  • T

    Carrie · Married on 07/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We did not know Karen, but she came highly recommended by a friend. I contacted her by e-mail, and she responded quickly, but had to decline as she had a personal conflict. When I asked if she could recommend one of her peers, she asked me to give her a couple of days and then let me know she had juggled her personal commitments to accommodate us. I was thrilled.
    She is a lovely woman- sincere, kind, and genuine. She is incredibly acommodating and had some lovely ceremonies for us to choose from. She had a survey for us to fillout so she could get to know us, and added several delightful personal touched to the ceremony as well. She provided a copy of the ceremony after the service as a keepsake, and refused any gratuity.
    Karen was just the perfect officiant.