Generation Events Reviews

26 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Generation Events

Recommended by 99%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason was absolutely amazing and kept our wedding dancing party going all night! My husband and I literally did not leave the dance floor and had the time of our lives. It was an absolutely exuberant, energetic and full of joy party and so much fun for our guests – it was everything we wanted. He read the crowd over the course of the evening and played the perfect music to keep everyone up and dancing. Jason was a pleasure to work with leading up to the wedding as well. One last thing – we wanted fun, loud music without the earsplitting feeling you sometimes get, and the speakers Jason brought were perfect for this and also looked really nice in the space.

    Sent on 10/27/2017
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 08/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason is the best!!! When my husband and I disagreed on whether to get a band or DJ for our wedding, we got some advice from our friends to go with Jason at Generation Events. And boy were they right! We booked Jason immediately after their recommendation, along with three live instruments that can be added to package (acoustic guitar, sax, congos). Jason and his team had the energy of the crowd at 100 for the entire wedding, the dance floor was packed the entire time. It was the best dance party ever and nobody wanted the night to end! 10 days after our wedding, we still have guests texting us saying that was the best dj ever! Thanks Jason for making our night so memorable and fun!

    Sent on 08/21/2017
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 08/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about Generation Events and specifically Jason Fioto. Jason was our DJ but was also fantastic when helping to plan and picking out exactly what we wanted (we added live musicians and ceremony musicians). As a DJ he was great at picking up on the vibe of the room and continuing to play the perfect songs. Every guest commented on how amazing he was. He was a fantastic DJ, businessman and a wonderful person to work with!

    Sent on 08/27/2017
  • C

    Carly · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason was first recommended to us by our friends who had seen him perform, and we booked him solely based on this incredible feedback. A DJ/band hybrid was a new concept to us, as we had never been to a wedding with a DJ before. We met with Jason before our wedding and he listened carefully to all of our music requests. He was extremely professional, personable, and totally understood our vibe. We left that meeting confident that he was going to rock our wedding… and he did that and SO MUCH more.

    We were the first wedding at the 1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge and Jason made sure to go check out his equipment and sound in the space prior to our wedding day. He coordinated with the AV team and we felt comfortable letting him handle every musical detail and make decisions on our behalf. He took care of both the ceremony and the reception music.

    The. Music. Was. Incredible. He kept our guests on the dance floor the ENTIRE night. One amazing song after the next, he had every single guest breaking it down like there was no tomorrow. The band members we used were a violinist, a saxophonist, and a bongo player. They floated around the dance floor and interacted with every single guest, making the entire experience personal and unforgettable.

    Our wedding was almost a month ago and our guests are still reaching out to us regularly and bringing up how epic the music situation was at our wedding. We are regularly receiving multiple requests for Jason’s information and we are ecstatic to share his talent and unbelievable energy with the world.

    We cannot express enough gratitude to Jason and his team. You were fundamental to the flow of our wedding day, and you delivered a performance above and beyond our expectations. Anyone who is contemplating a DJ/Band hybrid should go ahead and book with Generation events ASAP. You will not be sorry and your wedding will truly stand out.

    Sent on 08/14/2017
  • B

    brittany · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had Generation Events (Jason) for the music at my wedding and could not be happier. Jason was super easy to work with, even before I had my venue finalized he was incredibly helpful with giving feedback on my top venue choices and connecting me with people to help move the process along. The music was absolutely perfect, he completely understood the vibe we wanted and our guests were dancing the entire night! It's so amazing to work with vendors you are confident in and makes it one less thing you have to worry about. Loved everything about him!

    Sent on 08/04/2017
  • J

    Jess · Married on 07/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, Jason BROUGHT the party to our wedding. My husband and I are obsessed with music and very particular too. We are children of the 90s who didn't want to go the typical wedding music route -- Jason totally got us. He was patient, creative, and so knowledgable. He read our minds and then some. He came all the way to Vermont for us, and gave us a night to remember forever. He knew exactly how to read the vibe of the wedding and tailor the music to the mood of the moment. Generation Events is still something our friends and guests talk to us about. Jason left a lasting impression on everyone, and we feel so lucky to have had him work his magic for us.

    Sent on 08/09/2017
  • J

    Jen · Married on 04/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I literally can't recommend Jason enough. From the moment we first spoke to the actual wedding itself, he was a pleasure. In addition to being an amazing dj (and seriously, he's amazing), he's also just a great person to have working on your wedding. He had creative and helpful ideas for other non-music issues at the venue and made my mom regret ever fighting me on band vs dj. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 05/10/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason absolutely MADE our wedding. The music he played was perfect and had every single guest at our wedding on the dance floor. He read the room and played music that everyone loved and couldn't resist being on the dance floor. Jason is super professional and super talented, but also just the nicest person and a great addition to the group of family and friends we had at the wedding! I could not recommend him and Generation Events enough!

    Sent on 05/07/2017
  • A

    Annabel · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason and 3 of the band members (saxophone, bongos, electric violin) performed at our wedding, and they were absolutely incredible. Jason is so great at reading a crowd and playing songs that keep people on the dance floor. He would have been more than enough on his own, but the band took the performance to a whole new level. It was such a unique element, and I can't tell you how many guests complimented the music. Jason was also so fun to work with and very flexible. I couldn't recommend them more!!

    Sent on 04/07/2017
  • A

    alix · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason was incredible and made me feel at ease and that my event was in the best possible hands. I never stressed about music and he completely understood our likes / dislikes. When it came to the wedding, he read the crowd better than I could have imagined and absolutely MADE the party. Recommend him to anyone!

    Sent on 04/07/2017
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason Fioto was our DJ, and he was fantastic. Easy to work with in the planning stages before the wedding, and fantastic the day of the wedding. During the wedding everyone was up on the dance floor having a great time, and after the wedding I received many several positive comments about the music.

    Hire Jason, you won't regret it.

    Sent on 11/30/2016
  • User5285019 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason Fioto of Generation Events DJ'd our wedding a few weeks ago. Jason literally made the party! He played the best music, including contemporary popular music, popular oldies that everyone loves, some 90s and some 80s hits. He is the best DJ I have ever heard, and our wedding was the best dance party! Everyone was on the dance floor for the whole reception, even our 90-year old grandparents. We barely gave him suggestions of songs, and he knew exactly what we would like and what would make our group happy! We had the best night of our lives and we are really grateful.

    Jason is also extremely professional, flexible and personable. He was so easy to work with, which is very important given the amount of time and planning that goes into a wedding. He is very responsive over email, and even organized a call with our wedding planner to finalize the itinerary of the reception and make sure that both were on the same page. I can't recommend him enough, and only wish that our reception went on longer because no one wanted to stop dancing!

    Sent on 08/17/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Generation Events provided the DJ for our wedding on Aug 8, 2015, and did a fantastic job!! Our guests commented on how awesome the music was at our wedding - the dance floor was always full, with the majority of wedding guests up dancing the entire reception! Shawn played all the songs on our playlist, and the songs he mixed in with our playlist fit in perfectly. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 10/13/2015
  • User4734265 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars! Amazing! As good as it gets!!!

    We had DJ GNRS for our wedding party, and it was absolutely the rocking-est party I've ever been to, much less hosted. The DJ was such an important part of it all. We had a lot of requests that we communicated before hand over email, and a lot of songs I was super allergic to (I didn't want obvious stuff - no "YMCA", no "Celebrate Good Times", no "We Are Family" - just too overplayed!), and they really listened to our requests and added some really great dance tunes and it was just a fabulous experience.

    We started out with an hour of music that would appeal to all generations, lots of 50's and 60's stuff, and I'll never forget watching my mom dance to Aretha Franklin "Sweet Baby" -- it's one of those songs you just can't sit still through: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHVJU4Spe7c Watching her dance and let loose to this song is one of my happiest memories of the whole night!

    Bonus: DJ GNRS is very nice and VERY good-looking and a bunch of my wedding guests inquired if he was single. Just sayin'!

    Sent on 01/25/2015
  • User4765505 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am in the industry and so i know quality. This guy gets it. You need to hire him for your wedding. He knows his business inside and out and will take you by the hand and lead you to a party that you will never forget and want to constantly relive over and over. Jason, goes above and beyond for each of his clients. I have to thank him as a huge reason my wedding ROCKED. Thank you, thank you for the knowledge and expertise you have in your calm and kind nature.

    Sent on 02/06/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Jason Fito DJ'ed my wedding in 10/14. He literally played the best music ever. I loved every single song that he played! He truly made the night. He has this uncanny ability to feel the crowd and knows just the right songs to play to keep everyone on the dance floor all night long. He is truly the most talented DJ I have ever heard. And he is such a great guy too. He is very responsive which is good when you are in the stressful process of planning a wedding. My husband and I have received so many compliment from our friends and family about Jason's music--so many people have even told us our wedding was the best one they have ever been to!! And we credit a lot of that to Jason. Love him!!

    Sent on 01/02/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married just a few weeks ago in NYC and had the pleasure of working with Jason of Generation Events to plan the music for our reception. From the beginning, Jason was an absolute pleasure to work with. DJ Nars was our actual DJ on the night of the event and couldn't have been any better. He had everyone, from children to grandparents out on the dance floor for nearly 3 hours straight and was able to adapt to our last minute "I think we do want a first dance" moment with ease. Would highly recommend Jason and DJ Nars again to anyone. They played all of the music we requested and truly made it a memorable night. The best!!!

    Sent on 06/09/2014
  • J

    Jill · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best wedding decisions we made was hiring generation events. Jason helped us coordinate the music so that it was a real party for our guests, dj, electric violinist , bongos, congas .... Jason is organized, nice, on top of his stuff!

    All of our guests had a blast! DJ Shaun was our actual DJ and he rocked the house!

    He introduced the speeches, followed the timeline and played every single song we wanted. Our guests danced nonstop and are still raving about how great he was!!!

    Sent on 01/16/2014
  • C

    Candice · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason Fioto was so down to earth, easy going, and easy to work with! He DJ'd our wedding and we had a blast! He definitely knows how to throw a party. A little pricey to have him as the actual DJ, but it was worth every penny. He introduced my wedding party, followed the timeline and honored music requests the both we and our guests had. Our guests commented nonstop about how great he was!!!

    Sent on 08/13/2013
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason Fioto was the DJ at our wedding and he was fantastic. The crowd was up dancing the entire night! Well except during speeches and while eating of course, but he had such a perfect selection of music that got the guests right back up to the dance floor. He brought a drummer who circulated through the crowd and played bongos which the wedding guests absolutely loved! The music he played during the ceremony was perfect - exactly what I had asked for. I got so many compliments on the music at the wedding and have had some requests for his contact information from guests for their friends' weddings!

    Sent on 04/14/2013
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely fantastic DJ and a pleasure to work with! Can't rate him highly enough! Our friends and family can't stop talking about how good the music was at our wedding and people were up dancing all night. Would highly recommend.

    Sent on 07/09/2012
  • K

    Kat · Married on 07/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely LOVE Jason Fioto of Generation Events! As soon as we met Jason, I knew he was going to be our DJ :) He is super cool and knows exactly what you're looking for when it comes to music! We gave him a list of songs that we liked and he totally delivered on the day of our wedding...He played such a good variety of songs that it was so hard not to dance. There were many times I would be talking to someone and all of a sudden I would leave mid-conversation because Jason was playing such awesome music! He kept the party alive until the very end...
    Everyone has been raving about our wedding and how great the "DJ" was...Jason is the BEST!

    Sent on 07/20/2010
  • M

    Masahiro · Married on 11/17/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married in mid November 2012 and had the pleasure of working with Jason Fioto of Generation Events. He was recommended to us by Danielle at Kool Events who helped plan our event. Jason is extremely cool and was very accommodating as to what we were looking for, for our wedding day. We met twice before the wedding and were able to hammer out the details with ease. By the way, highly recommend getting the live percussionist as well, that added so much flavor to the party. I love house music and 80s, my wife likes hip hop, and of course we had to make everyone else happy, he blended everything perfectly. After the Hora, he went into the first dance set and I was thinking "these folks are not gonna sit down and eat"! Needless to say, the song selection, mixing and announcements were perfect. Everyone kept raving about the music. My Mom even danced until 1 AM! Thanks Jason for an amazing party. 4 thumbs up!!!!

    Sent on 11/22/2012
  • melanie

    melanie · Married on 10/15/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason Fioto at Generation Events was my top choice of DJ, as he had been so highly recommended to me by several people I trusted within the wedding industry. I was so happy when we were able to book him. Both my husband and I are both huge music people, so the DJ/music was extremely important to us, if not the most important element next to good food. From our first meeting, we could tell that Jason was awesome and just "got" it.

    For our wedding, it was important tome that our guests were on the dance floor having a blast. Jason delivered....he kept the dance floor bumping all night, and the short moment there was a lull- he got everyone back out. My friends/guests were raving about the dancefloor afterwards.

    Beyond that Jason looks and acts the part of a cool wedding DJ, far from the typical cheesy wedding DJ you may encounter. He also served as the MC for the evening, and he did great with that as well.

    Jason met with us a couple times to make sure everything flowed smoothly with our cues, and to get our "must" and "must plays" locked in. Jason was all-around so cool and great to work with and really kept the dance floor packed all night! Jason Fioto has my enthusiastic two thumbs up!

    Sent on 11/06/2011
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/27/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason from Generation Events provided the entertainment for my wedding at Tribeca Rooftop on September 27th. He was the DJ for the reception, provided background music for the cocktail hour as well as a harpist for the ceremony. We were incredibly happy with his services! The harpist was able to play our requested songs for the ceremony, which were very important to us. My husband is also very particular about song selection for the reception and Jason was very responsive to our requests and understood the style/vibe we were going for. He created such a fun atmosphere on the dance floor, which had everyone dancing throughout the night! He had a lot of ideas about the flow of the night but was flexible in working with the operations manager at our venue to make sure everything went according to their needs and our vision as well. I would highly recommend him as a wedding DJ for a fun party!

    Sent on 10/15/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review