Caroline Street Cafe & Catering Reviews

144 | Fredericksburg, VA
See photos, pricing and details

144 Reviews for Caroline Street Cafe & Catering

Recommended by 97%

144
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

1 User photo

Caroline Street Cafe & Catering 1
Sort by:
  • D

    Debra · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane and his team are incredible! They offered a full tasting for items we created. Yes, they allowed us to create a menu, we did not have to pick and chose from a set list of options. If you are looking for great tasting food for your guests, a great team to work with and a menu that you love, Caroline Street Catering is who you should call.

  • Maggie

    Maggie · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Chef Shane and his team was absolutely one of the best decisions we made when planning our wedding! Catering is one of if not the biggest expense when planning a wedding, and it was important to us to work with someone that we could trust with our event. The food was spectacular, and we had several guests tell us it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding! We wanted a southern style menu and Shane absoultely delivered...I still dream about his fried chicken. We had a wedding of about 130 and decided to do family style salads and bread at the table, and then dinner served buffet style. They had the buffet moving very officiantly and made sure everyone was fed quickly. We also rented the table settings from Shane and they looked exactly like we had hoped.

    Shane was a pleasure to work with throughout the planning process. He was always very responsive to my emails with questions and flexible with any changes. His staff was extremely friendly and proffesional the night of our wedding. We also really enjoyed our menu tasting experience! You're allowed to bring four people, so myself, my fiance at the time, and my parents were all able to taste a multitude of dishes. We left stuffed with boxes of leftovers knowing our catering decision was made.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane from Caroline Street Catering was awesome! We went here for a food tasting and he went above and beyond in letting us sample whatever we were interested in on the menu and gave us boxes of leftovers to take home! I also loved that he provided BBQ buffet as an option because that is exactly what my (then fiance now husband) had in mind for our wedding. At the end of our day there were boxes in leftovers with bride and groom in sharpie written on them. We enjoyed the leftovers the next day and early into the next week while we were still recovering from all the excitement and had not gone to the store yet. Would definitely recommend Shane and his crew.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Shane and the entire Caroline Street Catering was absolutely amazing! They were always so incredibly helpful and supportive throughout the whole process and really worked with us to create a menu that was perfect for us/our special day. We have heard SO MANY responses from guests saying that the food was incredible - and we couldn't agree more!!! Every single dish we had was so delicious and perfectly prepared on our day (we had 4 or so cocktail hour hour devours and a full buffet for dinner). We really, really appreciated just how easy Caroline Street was to work with and how Chef Shane truly listened to everything we voiced regarding our menu and really went the extra mile to personalize it just for us. I wish I could eat their food every single day!!! I could not recommend them more - they are an absolute must as a caterer for your wedding!

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Shane and his crew are absolutely phenomenal - I'm not even sure if I can put into words how great he is, in fact I would use him for every event I ever have catered. I do management consulting for a living and know outstanding (above 5.0) customer service when I see it!!! We used Caroline Street for rehearsal dinner and our wedding reception. Shane is the most caring person and wants to help ensure the day runs smoothly - from all small to big details (color schemes, decor for venue, etc.), he makes concrete recommendations based on your style and preferences. Shane came up to see us at the wedding and we bombarded him with hugs. As a bride, the planning and coordination of small details can be very overwhelming - fear not, Shane helps you think through literally everything (more than once also!!!). During the wedding the staff was so amazingly sweet and accommodating - really made us feel beyond special on our big day. I would recommend Caroline Street Catering to anyone out there who wants to have amazing food, impeccable quality service, and wants someone to treat you like family while working with you!!!!

    WE heart you Shane and crew!!!! See you for whatever our next big event is!!

    Kathy and Jack

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 05/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane and his crew were wonderful. The food was delicious and exactly what we wanted. It was food everyone could enjoy. The servers were attentive and made sure everyone was taken care of. We did our toast (with bourbon because that's how we roll) and Shane's crew made sure the right people had apple juice instead of Jefferson Reserved.

    But it was Shane's personal touch that makes Caroline Street so perfect. My husband and I had just finished the photo session and were sitting outside, enjoying the brief respite before our big entrance. The planner asked if we'd like a snack. I said, "yes! We should get to enjoy the apps too!". Two minutes later, Shane himself comes out with a platter of his fabulous appetizers. We go, "YES!". Amazing.

    It's that personal touch that sets Shane and Caroline Street Cafe & Catering above the rest.

  • Tiffany

    Tiffany · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW, I cannot say enough amazing things about Chef Shane and his team at Caroline Street Catering! We asked a lot of them and we received everything we wanted and more. We asked Chef Shane to create a menu of Korean food based on recipes and tasting tweaks while also incorporating some of his creative additions and a small portion of outside food. The food exceeded our expectations and our guests would not stop raving about the meal! We were told by multiple people that our wedding food was the best they have had at a wedding. On top of that, the service on the day of was exceptional. My husband and I kept hearing that we would not eat much on our wedding day so we should try to fit some snacks in. Let me tell you, this was not the case. A couple servers kept checking on us specifically to make sure we were fed and got to taste everything. We were brought cocktail hour hors d'oeuvres while we were taking photos and served a huge dish during dinner. Guests commented on the how lovely the servers and bartenders were and we were so pleased to hear that the excellent service was not just for us. Chef Shane was so easy to work with and we could trust that he would deliver every step of the way. We are so happy with our decision to hire Caroline Street Catering and I have full confidence they would make any other couple happy as can be on their wedding day!!!

  • K

    Krista · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CHEF SHANE IS DA BOMB!!!!!!! Lol. That being said, the man knows how to cook up a storm. He was very flexible and accommodating in every sense of the word. He made simple foods in the most delicious manner. All of the guests were complimenting the food. We had bang bang shrimp, crab cakes, and bruschetta for appetizers. He provided the bartenders and waiters for the event. He was very organized in communicating with my venue on last minute details. I really have no complaints about him. He even waived our cake cutting and tasting fees. There was a TON of food at the tasting. Compared to other caterers, he was very affordable. He's super flexible in what he can make for the event. I noticed he even bought herbs from local growers. Great presentation, too. I strongly recommend him for any event!! Rock on Chef Shane!

  • C

    Catherine · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caroline Street is perfect for any Wedding and Rehearsal Dinner! We chose Caroline Street for both events and were blown away with the taste of the food and professionalism of their team! The food is delicious and Chef Shane was amazing to work with every step of the way!

  • T

    Terrie · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bottom line up front: Hands down the best customer service! From our first tasting, we knew that Caroline Street Catering was the right caterer for our wedding on April 8, 2017. The food was amazing of course but just as great was the fact that Chef Shane is so personable and so honest and genuine in his desire to exceed your expectations for your event. We had a very long guest list and really wanted to do a seated dinner at the Silk Mill (which does not have a kitchen). He and his wonderful staff executed the dinner perfectly and in record time. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the food (bang bang shrimp!) and the overall service from the food preparation, to the servers, to the bartenders. Chef Shane really listened to us and never tried to nudge us in a different direction. He gave us helpful recommendations and we trusted his professional experience and are so glad that we did. That's why he is in the business; he knows what he is doing! Chef Shane was also an excellent communicator, I must have sent him a dozen requests for different quotes and he addressed every single one so quickly. To all brides and grooms (and anyone having an event) out there, check out Caroline Street Catering. They provide delicious food and exceptional service at the most fair and reasonable price and they are just a pleasure to work with. The whole wedding planning process is just remarkably easier when you have such personable and genuine people on your side like Chef Shane.

  • Chrissy

    Chrissy · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Shane was an absolute DELIGHT!!! He is so kind and so great to work with. We met him for the first time at our tasting. We had the joy of eating first and trying all the samples he prepared for us. Once we were done we got to meet Chef Shane and he is just so nice and easy to talk too. He wants your day to be just as great as you do, so he pays full attention and makes sure that you get what you want. He was very responsive with emails and phone calls. His staff was wonderful! We had them caterer our rehearsal dinner and our wedding and both nights everyone was hard working, kind, and very responsive. I would highly recommend chef Shane and his crew. Everyone at our wedding complimented the food and staff for both nights and it was just a great feeling to know we picked the right caterer! Choose Caroline Catering and I promise you will NOT be disappointed!!! :)

  • J

    Jess · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caroline Street and Chef Shane are great! We hired them for our wedding, and had stationed and passed hors d'oeuvres, buffet-style dinner, and open bar with limited alcohol options (we provided the alcohol, they served it). Prior to us choosing Caroline Street or doing a tasting, we were provided with complimentary tickets to a Valentine's meal and wine pairing group dinner, which was fantastic and worth about $60 a ticket (so they initially got points there). All of their food was fantastic, we were able to modify what we wanted, and had a wide selection of apps and dinner options to choose from that fit in our budget, as well as plate and glassware choices. They also had a good amount of items included and didn't charge for every single thing like another caterer we looked at. Their staff was always quick to respond to emails and calls also and answered any questions we had. Definitely recommend Caroline Street.

  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 09/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Shane and everyone at Caroline street are absolutely fantastic!!!! He was able to accommodate all of the food allergies that the guests had. They were so lovely to work with and the food was so delicious! We had stationary and passed appetizers and a buffet with family style salads at each table! They also made sure to bring some appetizers out to the bridal party as we were doing our photos! Such a lovely group and so talented! Definitely book them for your next event!!

  • User5234523 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane and his team are so easy to work with. I originally found and reached out to Caroline Street as he was on my venue's preferred vendor sheet.
    I have dealt with quite a few caterers professionally in DC planning galas and graduation events. However, none are as responsive, flexible, and accommodating as Shane. Not only that, but you feel as if you are working with a small family business, yet he delivers the best food. Another added bonus was our tasting for 4 people was free before we even committed to him, which is almost unheard of these days.
    Our wedding guests raved about the food and service provided.
    If we ever have the need for catering again, I will absolutely be using Caroline Street.

  • User6747765 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married yesterday and Caroline Street Catering made our wedding effortless. Chef Shane and Anthony were exceptional from the moment we contacted then. Our tasting was quickly scheduled when we contacted them and I can tell you that the food was as good at the wedding as it was at the tasting. We had numerous people tell us it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. I am still in love with the BBQ pork cake and bang bang shrimp appetizers and the tomato bacon jam chicken, but all the food was raved about.

    But more than that, Anthony and Chef Shane went out of their way not only to work with our budget but to make sure they were doing whatever they could to make our lives easier. Anthony even called me a few days prior to the wedding to ask if there was anything else they could do. We had a full open bar and dessert bar and both were exceptional. No hidden fees or issues and their staff helped clean up the entire event.

    They deliver on all of their promises. Seriously can not thank them enough. Do not hesitate to call them.

    Sent on 05/23/2016

    Caroline Street Cafe & Catering's reply:

    Want to thank you for the beautiful review. So glad you were so happy with the menu and the service. Caroline Street Catering
  • T

    Anthony · Married on 03/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef Shane and the team are amazing! We threw him a total curveball. We are really big fans of Korean culture and food, and we have a pretty extensive history with the food. So we were looking to have Korean food for our wedding day. Well… it was a bit more difficult than either of us anticipated. This is where Chef Shane stepped in. We found Shane through our wedding planner and asked him if there was any way for him to do Korean food. And he immediately jumped on it! He was overjoyed at the idea of doing something different than the standard Chicken, Beef and Veggie fair. Since, I had the pallet for Korean, and he had the cooking expertise, we collaborated, had tastings, tweaks, and developed a Korean fusion feast that was the rave of the night. We even had the approval from our native Korean friends, who raved about the food. In conclusion, Caroline Street Catering’s food and dinner service was the star of our wedding.

    Sent on 08/02/2016

    Caroline Street Cafe & Catering's reply:

    Caroline Street Catering is glad that you were so happy with the menu. Congratulations again.
  • K

    Karen · Married on 02/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a vendor in the Fredericksburg area making wedding cakes.Caroline Street catering is the best! Not only is their food exquisite, but they are friendly and a wonderfully easy fellow vendor to work with. We have worked alongside each other on many different weddings! I have spoken with Chef Shane on numerous occasions and even as a vendor, he takes the time to address wedding related issues with me without rushing me and genuinely hearing everything I want to say. I would without hesitation highly recommend Caroline Street catering to anyone wanting a wedding without any cares when it comes to their food and their wait staff!

    Sent on 02/06/2016

    Caroline Street Cafe & Catering's reply:

    Thank you very much Karen
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane and his staff were absolutely wonderful to work with! The food was delicious and all of our guests enjoyed it. He was also flexible in allowing us to bring food for some of our guests with food allergies (which he also offered to prepare for us so we wouldn't have to worry). He is a dream and I highly recommend him.

  • T

    Tracey · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane and his entire staff were absolutely amazing to work with. Guests are still raving about the food and how incredibly friendly and professional everyone was. We could not have had a better experience and would highly recommend to everyone!

  • A

    Amy · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane was amazing from the very beginning. We had visions of having a wild game dinner for our farm wedding and him and his staff brought it to life. The dishes he created were outstanding and we've heard nothing but compliments about the food ever since. Even our vegetarian guests were blown away! Being from Canada, we asked him to do a late night "Poutine" station and even though he'd never made that before, he pulled through with some of the best poutine we've ever had. Our guests gobbled it up and raved about it for days. He was also able to incorporate wild venison from my husband's hunts into our wedding meal, which made it extra special (and locally grown!).

    Aside from the amazing food, the staff were efficient, professional, and thoughtful. We thought we had missed most of the appetizers as we were off taking pictures during cocktail hour, but Shane had one of his staff bring us a silver platter of all of the appetizers just for us. They also packed us leftovers in the fridge so we could enjoy our wedding meal the next day. Such a sweet touch!

    I would advise against going with any other caterer. Caroline Street Catering is truly the best.

    Sincerely, Amy and Eric Venclik

  • K

    Kristine · Married on 10/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Caroline Street. Shane did two tastings for us, and each time sat down and talked through everything with us. He was totally flexible about what we wanted, and even surprised us by providing cookie jars for our cookie bar. We did a plated dinner, and our guests were thrilled to have 4 meal options to choose from. We also got tons of compliments on the passed appetizers. Everything was super easy and we were really happy with the service and food.

  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Caroline street catering was my saving grace!!! They were absolutely fantastic and the food was amazing! My husband and I were on a very tight budget and Shane made it happen. He was very understanding and extremely flexible in meeting our budget and still providing fantastic food and service. Our guest loved the food and the s'mores we had as a late snack.

    The level of service day of was even more amazing!!! Shane and his crew took care of 99% of the set of the tables and the reception hall which was the most time consuming part of the decorations! And everything looked just the way we imagined it if not better!!! He really listened to what he were looking to do and made it happen. His staff also made sure my husband and I had drinks in our hands at all times and made us out plates for dinner so we didn't stand in the Buffet line.

    This level of service is rarely found now a days and Caroline street catering sets the bar for all caterers!!! Absolutely amazing! I could not have been more thrilled and so thankful tp have them as our caterer!

  • J

    jennifer · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shane and his crew were absolutely incredible! I had tried a couple different caterers at bridal shows and such, but when Wayne and I went for a tasting with Shane, he went above and beyond to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. The mashed potato bar, crab cakes and shrimp werethe biggest hit , but everything was so incredible and he made sure everything stayed hot. He even made sure Wayne and I had a box when we got back to the hotel since we barely got to eat more than a bite of everything that day. I HIGHLY recommend them, you will not be disappointed! !

  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am terrible at making decisions and went back and forth on nearly every wedding vendor we chose.... except for our caterer! Caroline Street Catering was the easiest decision I made of the entire wedding planning process. We did tastings with several different companies but Chef Shane's food was by far the best - it blew everyone else out of the water! He was also the quickest at responding to emails, and super flexible and accommodating when it came to working within our budget. Definitely recommend the bang bang shrimp and the brownie ice cream bar!

  • K

    Katelyn · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently used Caroline Street Catering to cater our wedding reception as well as our rehearsal dinner the night before. Both evenings were catered exceptionally well with great food, excellent service, and fantastic communication and organization leading up to the events.
    We first encountered Caroline St. Catering at a bridal shower in Fredericksburg. Anthony went out of his way to tell me about the business and what types of menus they could put together. Bear in mind that this was a busy event and I didn't receive the same attention to detail or sincere desire for my business from any other vendor. We sampled the food they had on site and it was quite good! My wife was unable to attend this bridal show therefore later she scheduled a tasting with Shane. He went above and beyond to make sure she was able to try exactly what she wanted. After the tasting, we knew we had to have them cater our wedding festivities.
    Planning for both the rehearsal dinner and the reception was easy and flexible thanks to Chef Shane. We went with a slightly more involved menu for the rehearsal dinner given the smaller number of guests invited. However we were impressed with the ease at which CSC executed both situations. The rehearsal dinner was smaller and more intimate while the reception was outside with 200+ guests. The staff at both events was attentive and pleasant while avoiding being overbearing to the bride and groom.
    The food itself was delicious and very well excepted. Overall we had a wonderful experience with CSC from beginning to end and would highly recommend them to anyone in need of either a caterer or a venue or even both.