Weddings

Alexander's Country Inn at Mount Rainier Reviews

Alexander's Country Inn at Mount Rainier

Alexander's Country Inn at Mount Rainier

Ashford, WA
Rating 4.5 out of 5, 16 Reviews
View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.5 out of 5

Awards

  • 16
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • D
    Damara Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I feel sorry for the last couple who experienced issues with the owner when booking this venue for their wedding, but my husband and I decided to get married here and it was a great decision. The service was great - from the friendly front desk associates to the housekeepers - we always felt taken care of. We stayed in the Upper Tower Suite which is a super cool room. You do have to climb a steep set of stairs to get to the bed upstairs but it is worth it. The property is an old, Victorian boarding house so obviously this is not like staying at the Westin, but if you love old charm, you will love this place. The owner, Kavitha, was on top of everything. We knew all of the costs ahead of time and didn't have any surprise expenses at check out. Our rental included all 16 of the rooms inside of the lodge (not including the yurt, the budget basement or the rental houses) for the night, use of the parlor (which we decorated as well) and continental breakfast in the AM. It was extremely reasonably priced for what we got. You will not find that anywhere else for the price. We had a total of 30 people spend the night and there was room for a few more. Kavitha has a preferred catering vendor who was amazing. We did have to pay a reasonable fee to rent the restaurant space for dinner on the wedding night. After dinner we moved to the parlor to avoid any extra fees. We also brought him in a night early to do a dinner for those of us who checked in the day before and they worked out the rental fee for the extra use of the restaurant among themselves and we just paid the caterer directly. We paid just over $4,000 between the lodge and the caterer for: dinner for 12 on Friday night, breakfast on Saturday (provided by the lodge), lunch for 25 on Saturday, dinner for 32 on Saturday and the 16 hotel rooms plus full use of the "parlor" from check in until check out the next day and breakfast on Sunday AM. That is pretty unheard of and was worth every penny.
  • H
    Heather Married on 04/15/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing experience at Alexander's. The staff was so kind and took great care of us (Penny was awesome!). The room was adorable. Love being surrounded by the wildlife and trees. Perfect place for our elopement!
  • K
    Katie Married on 01/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married at Alexander's Country Inn on January 25, 2014, and it was absolutely amazing! We had a unique situation--my husband is from another country and we were going through an immigration process--which made it difficult to plan things as far in advance as is usually required to pull off a terrific wedding. But the owners of Alexander's were so organized, helpful, and flexible that we were able to plan something better than we could have dreamed of in just 2.5 months.

    We lucked out with the weather, and were able to have the ceremony outside by their pond. We had a delicious dinner to follow in their restaurant, and then danced and celebrated in the Inn's parlor. The Inn is so beautiful as is, we didn't have to worry about any decorations. And, our guests are still talking about the food.

    It was a wonderful winter wedding weekend. We rented out the the whole Inn (which is really reasonably priced!) for both Friday and Saturday nights. We got to have a delicious morning breakfast with all our guests, and then they headed up to Paradise on Mount Rainier to get in some snowshoeing before the wedding started. It felt just as we were hoping. It was a retreat--relaxed, beautiful, peaceful, and filled with love. I loved walking around the Inn during the weekend and seeing my friends and family enjoying their time--walking around the grounds, chatting over wine in parlor, enjoying a soak in the outdoor hot tub. It turned out to be exactly what we were hoping for and needed.

    We would 100% recommend Alexander's Country Inn!
  • D
    Dan A. Married on 08/23/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alexander's Country Inn was a fabulous place for our wedding. We are both men and chose to come here from out of state to get married as our home state does not yet have SSM. The setting was beautiful, and the Forest House provided a great place for our family members to stay. The Inn's rooms were beautiful and used by members of our group as well.
    The food was excellent, the wedding site was beautiful with the waterfall in the background, and everything was very clean and comfortable. The staff was wonderful and we had a lot of fun joking around with them. Bernadette did a great job planning the wedding. Everything was just perfect!
  • M
    Megan Married on 12/29/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding took place on December 29, 2012 at Alexander's Country Inn. The only word I can use to describe it is perfect. It was perfect, from working with Bernadette beforehand as she made the experience as stress-free as planning a wedding can be, to the weekend stay for our family where every room was beautiful and unique, to the absolutely delicious meals and the wonderful staff, to the ceremony itself in the beautiful parlor and the gorgeous pictures in the snow outside. It was perfect. I cannot recommend Alexander's enough - we look forward to going back to celebrate our anniversary every year. It truly is the most beautiful place, ran by the most wonderful people, you could ever wish for.
  • K
    Kristina Married on 03/02/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There's a reason Alexander's Country Inn is listed as one of the most romantic places to elope. Our experience there far exceeded our expectations. Of course, all the elements fell into place perfectly. It snowed the day before our wedding, making the scenery gorgeous. We got the best room with the most comfortable bed. Not to mention the best food, including carrot cake that is better than any I've ever tasted. And they shipped my wedding dress back to me! We can't wait to get back up there for wildflower season!
  • M
    Mary Married on 10/01/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were married at Alexander's Country Inn on October 1, 2011 and had approximately 50 guests in attendance. Our entire experience at Alexander's was amazing and from the moment we booked the wedding, we were greeted with warmth, enthusiasm and an assurance that our event would be specatular! Bernadette, Jerry and their entire staff went out of their way to ensure every detail of our wedding event was personalized and executed to perfection. We were able to relax and thoroughly enjoy our time with family and friends, knowing that all would be as we expected. In fact, our wedding far exceeded our expectations due to Bernadette's highly organized attention to detail, and the entire's staff willingness to work with us to create a truly unique, special event.

    We rented the Inn for the evening prior to our wedding, and Alexander's staff went out of their way to welcome each of our guests--young and old, and to make their stay memorable. Special requests were met with amazing flexibility and timliness. In the evening, wine was served in the parlor and in the morning, fresh coffee awaited each guest. Our breakfast was fabulous, and again, allowed for warm, intimate time with family and friends prior to the wedding ceremony.Their quiche is amazing!

    The atmosphere at the Inn is warm and inviting, and without exception, all of our guests commented on the wonderful time they had at our wedding. The food was excellent-- from the rehearsal dinner, breakfast, reception food, to our amazing wedding cake. The service was without reproach.

    The Inn is impecably maintained, and our ceremony was held in the upstairs parlor which is filled with charm and character. This allowed our ceremony to be a warm, intimate celebration for all in attendance and we've received many comments about what a true 'find' Alexander's is. We expect many of our wedding guests will become future overnight guests at Alexanders.

    The outdoor scenery at the Inn, including waterwheel, trout pond, trees and quaint blue benches served as the perfect backdrop for amazing photographs.

    We cannot recommend Alexander's highly enough to all prospective wedding parties, and overnight guests. This Inn is a true gem, and our wedding experience was one we will always cherish. We look forward to many more wonderful experiences at Alexanders.! Mary and Bob
  • N
    Nickie Married on 03/05/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our small wedding here in March and loved it! There isn't anything that I would have changed. The setting is beautiful and the staff were fantastic. They were very accommodating and flexible. The cake was delish and dinner was great too. Our guests all had a wonderful time and all of us are trying to plan a return visit to the Inn. The facility is beautiful. There was a ton of snow on the ground so our wedding was held inside in the parlor which was lovely. I highly recommend Alexanders. I do recommend calling instead of relying on email if the email response is slow. This is not meant to be a complaint of timeliness. Bernadette was out with an injury so it was easiest to call the desk to ask questions.
  • J
    Jill Married on 04/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I had the most amazing wedding and reception experience at this venue! We were looking for a venue for a destination wedding that would have a warm, Victorian decor in a beautiful location where our family and friends would enjoy an extended event with us. From our first visit to the gorgeous Inn where we met with Jerry and Bernadette, our experience went perfectly.

    Jerry and Bernadette were warm and inviting and explained very detail and throughout the three months leading up to our wedding, Bernadette's attention to detail and solid organization let me make minor decisions and leave the rest to her. It made it a much less stressful experience because everything was handled beautifully by Bernadette, the cake, the flowers, the reception and the food at both the reception and the breakfast on the morning after the wedding was not only extremely delicious but wonderfully organized by Jerry.

    My girls and I stayed the Friday before our Saturday wedding and had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and special girls night at the Inn, it also gave us a full day at the Inn prior to our evening event and enabled us to interact with Jerry and Bernadette who were so kind and gracious throughout everything.

    All of our guests in attendance still compliment us on the wonderful location and the beautiful experience they had sharing our special extended event with us at Alexander's. I would highly recommend it for anyone lookiing for an intimate, extended affair in a beautiful location.

    Jerry and Bernadette made it extemely special throughout the Friday before with the girls, the day of the event as they staged everything, the evening of the wedding and the breakfast the following day, they felt like they were part of the family as they attended to every detail! Having our wedding at Alexander's was incredibly wonderful and stress free and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a memorable and beautiful experience.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 03/02/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Overall it was a really great experience! I don't think we could've found better for the price and location. They were very flexible and accommodating. We were able to book our wedding fairly last minute and it wasn't a problem. We were also able to add people last minute without a problem. We were luckily able to have our ceremony outside, which I would recommend if you are planning a wedding here. It is so beautiful. It was unforgettable and everyone who attended said it couldn't have been better.
  • User920941 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bernadette was a great help. She recommended a great photographer and was extremely helpful.
  • P
    Peggy Married on 08/28/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a small wedding (28 people) at Alexander's at Mount Rainier in August 2010. The setting was delightful, the service by staff at Alexander's was great and we cannot think of one thing that could have been done differently to make it a better weekend for us and our families.

    Bernadette took care of us from the moment we met her and highly recommend the venue to anyone who is looking for an intimate wedding ceremony and reception.
  • User1791345 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    My partner and I among several friends and family recently stayed at Alexander's for our wedding. We got married in Mt Rainier National Park which was very convenient. The Inn was very nice. We also rented both guest houses and they as well were very nice. Trying to plan a wedding from thousands of miles away was very difficult and stressful and Shannon was always very pleasant and helpful every time I called! Once there Shannon continued to make sure our day was perfect! The food at the restaurant was also very good!
  • A
    Alyce Married on 03/20/2010
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We held our reception at Alexanders and are glad we did. The setting was beautiful and our guests enjoyed themselves. The meal was well received. Several guests commented favorably on the elegant historic landmark.
  • R
    Robert Married on 12/30/2011
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    The wedding planner I paid for didnt do anything except order the cake and pour the champagne. For the price we paid we would expect to have had better coustomer service. Other than that, it was beautiful. We got married in front of the fireplace. A couple of deers passed through the yard by the window of that room. It even started snowing that night. The view of everything snow covered from the top tower room. I wish we could of had better customer service. I would love to revisit n for our honeymoon.

    Alexander's Country Inn at Mount Rainier's reply:

    Robert,
    I was not aware--until I read your comments on Wedding Wire-- that you were unhappy with the wedding services Alexander's provided on your wedding day, some three years ago.
    Your wedding was during the Christmas holidays and the wedding package included overnight lodging in one of our suites; set with fresh flowers and Champagne. A full breakfast --the following morning--was also included. The wedding package also included three hours exclusive use of Alexander's parlor--for your wedding ceremony and Champagne toast. Your Wine & Roses wedding package included up to six guests. However, according to our records, we did not charge you for the additional six guests (total: 12). The wedding package also included complimentary dinner for the wedding couple; Alexander's Restaurant deducted the bride/groom's two entrees from your reception total. Your wedding package included a small heart-shaped wedding cake.
    Alexander's provided you with a list of ministers/photographers --from which you selected your minister.
    I am sorry to hear--especially after almost three years--we did not meet your expectations.
    I hope you and K. are well and enjoying married life.
    Bernadette
    Owner, Alexander's Country Inn
  • D
    Dusty Married on 07/15/2017
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    All in all, what we received was an unethical business deal, where the business owner offered things that were not available, pulled a bait and switch, price gouged us, and tried to avoid paying her listing company the fee they rightfully earned. We ended up finding another venue for our wedding.

    We found her rental as $1500 per day. With taxes it amounted to just over $1900. We quickly started to see how she had misrepresented the property, which is advertised as sleeping 61 with a hot tub and a restaurant attached. We found out she isn't allowed, under code enforcement, to let people in the hot tub. You have to additionally rent two other buildings to get to 61 beds. Also, the restaurant isn't open. She says she may not have the restaurant open for business in July for our wedding, even though she advertises it.

    We agree to add the the two outhouses to our bill, and she agrees to draw up the new contract. Be a new couple getting married and imagine getting this letter after you have already paid for your venue:

    "Hello,

    Thanks for visiting us last week.

    I am sorry to inform you that we have at least 2 bookings for the weekend of July 15th at this point and want to check with you if there is any other day that will work for you. In terms of renting the lodge,

    For week days in summer the rental would be $3000 per day which includes stay for 63 guests and weekends would be $3500 per day. There would be an event fee of $300 per day.

    Please let me know if this would work. The fee to block a date at the lodge is $500. If you are able to choose any other week day we may be still able to make this work.

    Summer dates go really fast. Sorry about the inconvenience caused.

    Regards,
    Kavitha"

    Is this how you want to start your wedding? From $1900-$4200. We now have to have our wedding in our back yard. Thanks Alexanders Lodge. Kavitha has owned it for a year. Any positive, older, reviews are out of date.


    Alexander's Country Inn at Mount Rainier's reply:

    The reviewer wanted to have a wedding without paying for the wedding event. We need to hire additional staff, and incur other expenses to support a wedding event. This person made a 'Request for Reservation' on VRBO for a lodging package. It was only a request and it was not meant for weddings. They never did business with us.

    You want to have a wedding? You pay for a wedding. It is simple as that.

    We don't give discounts for harassment, bullying and threatening. We wish the review platforms are a bit more supporting to save small business owners from online bullies.