Studio EMP
real, relaxed photographs - real, relaxed photographer
    58 Reviews
112 West Commonwealth Ave
Suite B
Fullerton, CA 92832  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (58)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Julie 2 Reviews
What can I say about Joel and Studio EMP other than that I am absolutely thrilled that we hired him to photograph our wedding. We were lucky enough to have Joel and his assistant, Lorely, that day and they were so amazing to work with and have around all day. They were friendly and funny and tolerant of my 5 year old! But besides that, my pictures are the most beautiful wedding pictures ever! It's three months later and I still can't stop staring at them. They captured every moment we wanted plus some that we didn't even know happened. They have an eye for the small details and the quiet moments that you hope are captured because you are too busy with everything else. I am so grateful we hired them, it was truly one of the best decisions we made!! You won't be disappointed!!!
Wedding: 02/07/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Studio EMP was recommended by, our wedding coordinator, Katie Webb. While we waited to meet Stef Ortiz at the EMP studio, a couple wedding albums caught our eye; they were of our friends.
Studio EMP is tucked away in an alleyway in an eclectic section of downtown Fullerton. The place itself is small and super cute! The décor is artistically well thought out. Pictures and portraits carefully depict the expertise of the studio’s artists and the pride they put into their craft. There was no doubt about the quality of product we would receive. Right on time, in walked Stef.
Like the studio, Stef had all the qualities we were looking for in a photographer. She was professional, straight-forward and was also nice and friendly. She asked all the right questions; many that led us to think about things we never thought about. For example, whom did we want in certain shots and how we did we want the set-up to look, in every variation? Stef was open about sharing her work, making her come across as honest and confident. After hiring Studio EMP, there was no end to the feedback we received from people who asked who our photographer would be and had heard of Studio EMP. Every comment included the words amazing.
Update Bonus: Stef was everything we imagined. Her talent for capturing special moments and attention to detail was impeccable. When she couldn’t get a particular shot to her satisfaction, she hustled us into a position or place to reenact the moment until she got what she wanted. Those captured moments turned out to be some of the best photos. As a huge bonus, Lorely was the second photographer. Her expertise, besides capturing wonderful moments, was her ability to get her subjects smiling or laughing. Finally, the price-tag was fair and reasonable. There is no doubt that this company and these photographers love their craft and get genuinely excited about capturing special moments.
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Joel is one of the most laid back, hilarious, and talented people you will ever meet. Because my husband and I are not professional models, we were naturally nervous about being in front of the camera and being the center of attention. Joel did an awesome job of chatting us up and putting us at ease with just easy conversation, some funny jokes, and a few simple prompts for our posing. Another added bonus to hiring Joel, was having Lorely (his assistant) be there with Joel on our wedding day. She was SOO great too. We instantly bonded over Jimmy Fallon and Justin Timberlake, so needless to say we had a blast!
Of course, pictures are one of the most important aspects of every bride and groom's planning process and we are here to tell you...PICK JOEL (and studio EMP)! You will not regret it.
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Joel is hands down the best photographer in the business! I am in the wedding industry and see a lot of wedding photos and when it came to choosing my photographer for my wedding I knew it had to be Joel. He makes sure to get all the important group shots, but really specializes in catching those candid moments. All his staff is amazing too. He literally was one of the best parts of my wedding!
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Joel and Lorely were amazing for our wedding!! True professionals, and a blast to work with! We felt like we could truly be ourselves, and they made the picture taking experience a breeze. Joel scouted out the best spots, and planned unique shots that truly suited our personality. We will forever cherish the photos they captured, and are so grateful for having worked with such wonderful people. Thank you Studio EMP!!!
Wedding: 07/25/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 2 Reviews
Joel was AMAZING. We used Studio EMP for both our engagement and wedding pictures and were nothing short of happy. He is so laid back and brings such a good vibe to the photos. I really could not have asked for more. Perfect!
Wedding: 07/03/2013
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely love, love, love Joel and his team at Studio EMP! Joel's photographs are absolutely Amazing, or "Rad," as Joel would say ;) And Joel is super cool and laid back...it was always so much fun working with him! He is also super creative with his shots! I am definitely planning on using Joel to capture all of my major life events from now on, and I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for an Awesome photographer! :)
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Joel and his team are the best. My fiancé is really shy and Joel was able to make him feel comfortable and really capture his personality. I love Joel's style, it has a very organic feel. His pictures capture the moment rather than stage a moment that is copied from hundreds of other weddings. I am so grateful we had the opportunity to work with Studio EMP!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I love Studio EMP so much! Joel has an amazing ability to make you feel like he is an old friend and not a stranger taking pictures of you (if you even notice he is there taking pictures in the first place). We were so comfortable and as a result have engagement and wedding photos that are simply beyond. Our family and friends have commented that many of them look straight out of a magazine. Lorely was our second shooter, who is a talent in her own right and was responsible for getting some terrific shots. The only problem with loving practically all of your pictures is it is really hard to narrow down to your favorites, but if this isn’t an ideal “problem” to have then I don’t know what is. They also get you your pictures back fast, which is really nice. I honestly cannot recommend enough; worth every penny. Joel’s talent is superhuman!!!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Joel and everyone at Studio EMP (Stephanie and Lorely) are without a doubt the class of the industry! The experience my husband and I had with them helped us have the fairytale wedding. They were able to capture every moment so perfectly, and the best part is that throughout the day I never really noticed they were there. Joel's personality is so awesome (SUPER funny) and he knows how to get the pictures you want without being in the way. As many brides will tell you, the day of the wedding goes by too fast, but it's the pre and post wedding business that you really get to know your photographer. On the day of our engagement photo session we had planned to meet at the beach. Unfortunately the weather that day was terrible it was typical June Gloom: Cold and windy. Joel arrived and quickly turned the situation around. He lead us to an area in laguna canyon where it was absolutely gorgeous and fit both our personalities and he took us to the beach anyhow for some shots. He is not a clock watcher, he went above and beyond the industry standards to turn a potential bummer into excitement. Joel surprised us with so many special things, I honestly could go on and on. I would recommend Joel and Studio EMP to everyone! The photos he gave us will be cherished for generations.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stefanie Camarena & Sarah Pulcino of EMP Studios in Fullerton CA. were fantastic! I chose EMP Studios because of an advertisement in a magazine I saw at a spa in Sherman Oaks CA. The photographer/owner of the pictures was booked on my wedding date so he offered his assistant Stefanie, & her assistant Sarah. I was initially hesitant because I hadn't seen their work. Nevertheless I booked Ms. Camarena & her assistant Ms. Pulcino.

My husband Rick & I were please beyond words. They showed up on time, they were professional, pleasant, kind & went with the energy of our celebration without manufacturing "posey wedding pictures", (which is not my cup of tea).
Our pictures are BEAUTIFUL & organic, capturing the beauty of the location as well as the personalities of us, the bride and groom and our celebrants. Now you must understand I'm a Virgo, a perfectionist and incredible picky. I like things the way I like things...period. These gals were fabulous!!! We really can't say enough about how great they were. They Rocked!
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved our experience with Studio EMP for our wedding and engagement shots, and more specifically working with Stefanie. During our engagement shoot (or what I like to think of as a "trial run" before your wedding) Stefanie immediately made us feel comfortable and relaxed. Not only is she so down to earth, but her encouraging comments and fun ideas made the whole afternoon so enjoyable. It speaks volumes when my fiance walked away saying "that was so much fun!" On our wedding day, we expected nothing short of an amazing experience working with her again. I can say without a doubt that our pictures are above any others that I've seen. We still have family and friends raving about our photos as we continue to share them and our album, even one year later.

We look forward to working with Stefanie again in the future for all of our upcoming life events!
Wedding: 05/27/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you've ever had the chance to preview Joel's work you would know how talented he is. I was never one of those girls that knew she would get married but I always told myself if I did I would hire Joel as my photographer. He was amazing to work with and his assistant Laurlie was great too. They showed a sideshow at the wedding and we were able to take a second and see a few pictures from the day. I cannot wait to see all the pictures they took. I cannot thank them enough for capturing a few moments from our wedding day to view forever.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were SO lucky to have Joel at our wedding. He was so wonderful to work with and everyone kept coming up to me to say how cool he was and how comfortable they were to work with him. I don’t think there is anything more important than being comfortable with the photographer so that everyone looks natural and like themselves in the photos. We did an engagement session with Joel first and we knew right away that Joel was easy and great to work with and that we felt comfortable with him to have our pictures taken. Joel is the kind of guy you wish you could hang out with even though your wedding is done!
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone at EMP Studios was a joy to work with! My husband and I aren't fans of taking pictures, but Joel and his assistant made us feel very comfortable and all of our pictures turned out amazing! They were also great with the children in the wedding party. The studio also does wonders with the photo album that is available to purchase through them. I recommend them not just for weddings, but for any event a photographer is needed.

THANK YOU !!!!
Wedding: 03/23/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Studio EMP is awesome! We have the most beautiful wedding pictures, thanks to Joel!! I highly recommend using Studio EMP, it was worth every penny and so much more. You won't regret it!
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Photography
 714-992-5400
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0