Steel Penny Cakes
It is our mission to create delicious and truly well-crafted cakes.
    31 Reviews
245 Carnation Court
Mount Pleasant, PA 15666  | map
Desserts: Cupcakes
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (31)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you have come across this wedding wire vendor page.... stop immediately... pick up the phone... and call Steel Penny Cakes.

Don't go through the same cake maker that everyone else goes to, or the one that you met through the bridal show or your caterer. Really stop to check out Steel Penny Cakes.

Elysia creates beautiful cakes that are delicious inside. I gave her artistic freedom for my cake and I'm glad I did. She created me a cake based off of my wedding dress and it was unlike any cake I have seen recently. Absolutely beautiful and detail oriented. Not only does she have an amazing vision and touch for cakes, but she has been published in and I believe won awards through many cake decorating and cake appreciation magazines and societies. Along with that she is a genuinely nice person.

With that, your guests will love the cake. I chose two flavors for my cake, white with raspberry filling, or chocolate with cookies n cream filling. I have been told that people were chasing down the catering staff to get more cake and try the other flavors because it was so delicious.

Do not pass up the opportunity to hire this hidden gem to make your cakes. You will have a one of a kind and delicious cake. You will not regret hiring Steel Penny Cakes.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I founds Steel Penny Cakes online due to the fact that not many bakers from near us could deliver to our wedding location. At first we were hesitant to book a baker that we knew nothing about, but after meeting Elysia we were blown away. Her designs are absolutely beautiful and her attention to detail is far above anybody else I have ever met. From the second you meet her you can see that she actually cares about your wedding, and making the cake design fit perfectly with the overall feel you are going for. My wife and I sent her our wedding colors, and some photos of what the overall look of our wedding was going to be, but gave her 100% freedom of design and it turned out perfectly. She sent us a sketch a few months prior to the wedding for us to review what she envisioned for the cake, and gave us a chance to approve that (which we did). She then showed up at our wedding well before the ceremony time to set the cake up and it was gorgeous. Every flower on it was 100% edible, but looked like they were real flowers. The detail work put into each one was amazing. Also the cake was some of the best cake I have ever had. If you are looking for a great baker who views you as more than "just a client" I 100% recommend Steel Penny Cakes...and as a personal note I would 100% give Elysia freedom to get creative and design the cake instead of you telling her what to do. When you give her the freedom to get creative and show off her skills it really pays off.
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During the entirety of my relationship with Elysia, she exuded nothing but professionalism and knowledge in her field. When we met for our initial tasting, she gave us helpful suggestions about traditional choices and also some ideas for more personalized flavors and icings. We knew right away that her cakes were unlike anything we could find anywhere else. I am personally not a fan of fondant - UNTIL I tried Elysia's. It is amazing and melts in your mouth. She should really patent it. Her design ideas are unique and amazing. She was able to create a cake based off of our requests that was exactly what we envisioned. Her intuition as a baker and artist is evident.

Our cake was absolutely gorgeous. We received so many compliments on it. Not only did it look beautiful, but it was delicious. I'm not sure if the piece saved in the freezer will make it to our one year anniversary.....

Elysia was easy to communicate with and responded quickly via phone or e-mail. If you're considering her as a vendor, I highly recommend you call her and schedule a tasting. You will not be disappointed. My husband and I recommend her without reservation. Thank you Steel Penny!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Elysia at Steel Penny Cakes made our wedding cake last month! It turned out beautifully and tasted delicious. We went with yellow and chocolate cake with raspberry buttercream icing. We heard all compliments about the cake. Elysia is a talented artist and constructed a gorgeous cake! It was everything I asked for and more. She was very flexible for meetings and very easy to talk with. The price of the cake was also very reasonable. I can't wait for our next big event to have Elysia make our cake!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was absolutely gorgeous! Couldn't have looked or tasted better.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jaymie 1 Reviews
Being from the Washington DC area I am very picky about my cupcakes! I am surrounded by "DC Cupcakes" and many other well known/famous cupcake shops. I knew picking my wedding cake and cupcakes was going to take a lot of research and careful planning! I was sold the moment I did the cake tasting with Elysia. What I didn't get to see until my wedding day was how the cupcakes and cake were going to look exactly. We talked about what I liked and wanted but had no idea how incredible they would be when I saw them on my wedding day! I could not have been happier!! The presentation was absolutely beautiful and all my guests commented on how wonderfully they tasted. I would highly recommend Steel Penny Cakes to any bride looking for their wedding cake or cupcakes. You will not be dssapointed!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
My cake was unbelievably beautiful and delicious! I got so many compliments on how gorgeous the cake was- it seriously could be on the cover of a wedding cake magazine!

Do not hesitate to get your cake from Steel Penny Cakes- you will LOVE it!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not have asked for a more beautiful or better tasting cake! I received many compliments on how great the cake was!!! My bridesmaids also got my shower cake from there as well! We had white cake with raspberry filling for the shower and for the wedding we had both red velvet and Almond cake with strawberry filling :) Easy to deal with and the prices are phenomenal!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brianna 2 Reviews
I was so happy and pleased with Steel Penny Cakes!! Elysia is a true artist. Her designs are so wonderful and creative. I loved her ruffle cake, so she altered her design to include what I wanted, and it turned out so perfect. She was easy to work with and flexible, even though I'm 3 hours away. I would recommend her to anyone looking for the perfect cake!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 5 Reviews
Our cake was absolutely delicious and exactly what we wanted. From our first meeting, we both could tell that they were passionate and it showed in the final product.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 1 Reviews
Excellent customer service, and wonderful product!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My Husband and I got married May 18th 2013 at the West Overton Barn. We ordered a 2 tier cake and 200 cupcakes. I sent Alyssa a picture of the cake I wanted. When I saw the cake at our reception I was thrilled! This cake surpassed what I had expected!! So pleased!! The cupcakes were out of this world! We got a mixed bunch, raspberry lemon, peanut butter chocolate, red velvet cake, carrot cake, chocolate and vanilla. All of our guests raved over the cupcakes! We are still hearing about how amazing they were! Not only were they so good, they looked really pretty! Not to mention the cost…she is beyond fair! I would absolutely recommend using her!
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 1 Reviews
Steel Penny Cakes is the best bakery that I have ever used. The proprietor Elysia was very friendly and provided great recommendations on helping us decide on our wedding cake. She provided us with samplings of her cake products so we could try and that helped make our decisions. Steel Penny Cakes delivered our wedding cake to the establishment without a hitch. After our wedding Elysia also followed up with us to see how we liked the cake and how our guests liked it. Everyone loved it! We had enough cake for all the guests and some for later! Steel Penny Cakes is very friendly, knowledgeable of their products and I would recommend them to others and use them again for other needs.
Wedding: 04/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Bethany 1 Reviews
Steel Penny Cakes is fantastic. Elysia, one of the owners and baker, was very professional and easy to work with. Most importantly, her cake is AMAZING. I've honestly never tasted better cake. We chose a white cake with raspberry filling and buttercream icing for our wedding. It was so fresh and delicious, and guests commented on it all night. It also was craftily decorated and looked absolutely gorgeous. I highly recommend Steel Penny Cakes!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Elysia was a big joy to work with. She was very accommodating on meeting us especially with our groom being in a different state and both of us moving. The end product was absolutely phenomenal. She created a new design with us that she's never tried before, and it worked out absolutely beautifully! The taste was also phenomenal. We had an almond cake with strawberry buttercream filling, and the outside layer was almond buttercream as well. Elysia uses natural almond flavor and crushes up realy strawberries in her buttercream and it is amazing. I highly would recommend this vendor for your wedding or other function!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our cake was beautiful. It turned out exactly as we pictured it. would recommend to anyone.
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 724-516-7080
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0