Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
116 S. Alfred Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 75
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (16)   Photos   FAQ    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 10 Reviews
We used the Morrison House as our rehearsal dinner venue and the food and location were both perfect. Our wedding was at the Hotel Monaco in Alexandria so the Morrison House was extremely convenient for our wedding party and families to walk to. The food was perfect and the setting is beautiful in the private room where our dinner was held. The service during dinner was professional and the whole staff was wonderful.

During planning for the rehearsal however we ran into some issues. The event coordinator seemed a bit unresponsive and was not extremely helpful during planning. We were then switched to a smaller room without being told of the change and were told we could not fit the entire rehearsal dinner party in the smaller room. Once we proved that we had signed the contract and paid for the larger room our contract was rewarded but the inconvenience of the mixup was stressful during an already stressful time.

Overall the experience was a positive one but at time is was frustrating to work with them.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Morrison House with their catering package from The Grille was the best choice I could have made. I had a small wedding (22pp) and if you want a intimate but high class wedding, this is the right choice. The hotel has a lot of character inside and outside, so there isn't a lot of decorating to do. All of the guest were impressed how seamless the flow of events were. I had my ceremony and dinner reception with their bundled bliss package, which also includes some flowers, officiant, bar, and music (we chose a cellist). Sarah, the catering manager, was sweet and very professional. I gave her a set up list for the day, and everything was executed as planned without question. I wish I could remember their names, but all of the staff and butlers were the best. The guys transitioned the rooms so quickly, no one even noticed who or how it got done. I think some one from the front desk also helped my poor groom with his bow tie! The hotel itself has a warm and caring feeling, and everyone the Morrison House gave that feeling as well.

My only complaint is that their billing department is pretty much unavailable when you have questions and are not responsive. As you are planning your wedding and money is flying out the door, it just adds another layer of unnecessary stress. Payments went off without a hitch otherwise.

I would definitely use Morrison House again. I've already planned a 1 month anniversary dinner!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am SOOOOOOOO happy, I found The Morrison House. It was just perfect for our wedding needs. We wanted to have a very intimate wedding, and wanted to find a location that was not too big and would not make the wedding feel empty.

We choose the elopement package, our total guest list was less than 30. Choosing The Morrison House made it very easy to plan a wedding. The package was inclusive of most of the things you need for your wedding, anything that was not included they will help you obtain.

We planned a winter holiday wedding and The Morrison House was decorated beautifully.

The food and beverages are great. It was very difficult for us to narrow down the selections after our tasting. All of our guest were pleased with the menu selections.

The accommodations are very comfortable and the staff is very friendly and professional. Even though we had our wedding during a VERY busy wedding season for the Morrison House (the last week of the year) the staff was very accommodating and very personal to our needs. The week of our wedding there was a wedding every day of the week yet every staff member called us by name and made sure we wanted for nothing.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel with a very warm feel this is the place for you.

We choose the elopment package that included (florist, wedding offical, musican, and catering). It made the wedding planning very easy. All of the vendor coordination is done through the Morrison House. All of the vendors were very timely in contacting us and were available for follown up. We had both our ceremony and reception at the Morrison House.
Wedding: 12/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katherine 3 Reviews
Wonderful boutique hotel! Gracious staff and accommodating to the nth degree! Can't say enough as to how they want to make your day special! Will make this our anniversary place for sure!
Wedding: 12/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Mrs Max 5 Reviews
For an intimate wedding, Morrison House is the way to go! Because my wedding was less than 20 people we had to go a la carte and that was pretty annoying having to contact every vendor myself instead of having it done through a package. The Event Manager is hard to get ahold of and seems like she's never in the office when you need her. But she was still friendly and everything went VERY smoothly so I thank her for that. The food was very good. The value for ceremony and reception was very affordable. Staff was so kind and went out of their way for you. I'm glad I had it there. We stayed there as well on our wedding night and really enjoyed our stay. Very romantic and elegant!
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a small wedding (15 people total) and the Morrison House was the perfect location. The parlor is wonderfully intimate, the private dining rooms are stellar and the service we received from Sarah was first rate. Sarah worked to make our event memorable, from the set up, to the food selections, room reservations to working with our vendors. The service from all the staff we came into contact with was courteous, prompt and very professional. Our wedding went off beautifully and we would highly recommend the Morrison House Hotel for small weddings.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We chose to hold our ceremony, reception and dinner at the Morrison House because we loved the value and convenience of their Elope with your Friends package. Sarah, the Catering Manager, was wonderful and very responsive in answering my (many) questions. It was easy to add extra guests and book extra nights of accommodation as well, since all of our guests were flying in. If you are looking for a one stop shop - this is the place! Their vendor (officiant, flowers, musician) selection is top notch and all of the guests raved about the food! The parlor, library and Louis XIV room are so beautiful that we didn't even have to bring extra decorations. You can also take advantage of the courtyard for pictures. Overall we were so happy with our wedding at the Morrison House and would highly recommend them.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephanie 11 Reviews
we had our reception dinner in the louis XVI room. the food was delicious, the wait staff was great, and the coordinator was great! we also stayed here overnight- nice rooms and amazing customer service. Would definitely recommend Morrison House.
Wedding: 08/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The staff at the Morrison House made my wedding a truly memorable event and I can't say enough about the food, all night long my guests commented on how excellent it was- from the appetizers to the main course and decadent desserts. The Morrison House is the perfect venue if you are looking to host a small (we had 60 guests), elegant wedding reception and place a high value on good cuisine.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shantha 4 Reviews
We had both our ceremony and reception at the Morrison House and it was absolutely perfect. We held the ceremony outside on the staircase, which made for a very beautiful setting. We had a cocktail reception and a sit down dinner - the food was fantastic, and the service was impeccable. We had a small wedding, so it wasn't too hard to organize, but the staff made everything run so smoothly. On the day of, our catering coordinator, Sarah, just had us drop everything off with her (flower, favors, guestbook, etc) and she set everything up, organized with the other vendors, and made sure everything was ready. We just had to show up!

We had a few minor issues with some of the rooms our guests were staying in, but the hotel management worked to make sure everything was corrected and so in the end we have no complaints.
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 10 Reviews
The Morrison House did an amazing job for our wedding. We took advantage of their "elopement package" that included 10 rooms (1 bridal suite and 9 for guests), three course dinner, hor's d'ouevres, open bar, use of the downstairs for cocktails, and more. They found us our officiant, got us flowers, found us a classical guitarist and all as part of the package. More importantly they were flexible with us on the details - I wanted cupcakes, we needed to add more guests etc. Victoria, Sarah and Annee were all amazing with helping us out. Furthermore, as guests started arriving, the staff at the Morrison House did an amazing job of helping early arrivals. We had a couple come in on a red-eye and weren't supposed to check in until 3 pm - they got a room at 9 am! Everyone loved the venue, the food, the staff - all in all I am so glad and happy that we had our wedding at Morrison House and would recommend it for everyone.
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I have mixed feelings about this review! We used them for the reception. We were planning from Arizona, so everything was over email, some over the phone. I opted for email to keep everything in line. My catering contact was not as proficient as I had hoped. With that being said. The facility is beautiful. The food was great. And the GM, Tobias Arff, was splendid. Was overall very pleased with the experience!
Wedding: 01/11/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I chose the Morrison House for it's charm, location in Old Town Alexandria and the high quality service. The staff are eager to please and everything from the wedding ceremony, to the reception, to our suite was impeccable. It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The food was phenomenal, and my guests are still raving about how wonderful everything was. The wedding / catering coordinators are extremely helpful and willing to share creative ideas to make your wedding special. If I had to do it all over again, I would choose the Morrison House.
Wedding: 08/20/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We love Kimpton Hotels generally speaking and we were originally thinking the Monaco for our wedding because of it's beautiful courtyard, but we were also thinking a small wedding and this was just too big so they suggested their sister hotel, The Morrison House in Old Town Alexandria.

As soon as we walked in, we fell in love. It's beautifully decorated, the staff are so friendly and helpful. It's cozy and you feel like a VIP the entire time.
The food was amazing; everyone told us so. They made our special day a day we'll never forget. All of our guests enjoyed the venue and their stays at the hotel as well. They were so impressed by the gorgeous, luxe rooms and superb, attentive staff. We hope to go back for our anniversary!

Their event manager was so helpful throughout and gave us suggestions and really walked us through the whole process and helped everything go off without a hitch. I am so happy for the choice we made!
Wedding: 05/21/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

gail 20 Reviews
We had the rehearsal dinner at Morrison House and it was wonderful. The place is beautiful. You feel like you are walking into a lovely old mansion. From the minute you walk in they make you feel at home. There is a lovely living room where you can sit and visit before dinner and also a neat library. We had a private dining room and it was perfect. The service was superb, the atmosphere beautiful, the food fantastic, and all in all we could not have asked for more. Morrison House went to great lengths to make this a magical night and it was one for all guests.
Wedding: 07/24/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

rcd 5 Reviews
We stayed in the hotel during our wedding night. The room was not only beautiful but also very comfortable. Very expensive, but the bridal party paid for the the night as a wedding gift. Loved it.
Wedding: 07/15/2000
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
 703-838-8000
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0