Michele Coulon Dessertier
La Jolla, CA 92037
 
 
 
  Reviews (14)    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing! Beautiful! Delicious! Everything from service , quality, taste and decoration was the highest quality! The best cake I ever had, my husband and I like two different cakes and we asked if they can be combined, it was no problem! All our guests complimented us on the best tasting wedding cake they ever had!
Wedding: 07/23/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mmmm, What more to say than Michele Coulon Dessertier is SENSATIONAL and absolutely DELICIOUS! I am a wedding event planner in San Diego and have worked with lots of cake designers. When MY Wedding Day came to plan this past January, I had no hesitation, but to only have the best!

It's not just a cake, these cakes are made with love and the art she shares is filled with not only mouth-watering taste, but a slice of heaven with every bite!

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts Michele for your warm and gracious heart and sharing in our wedding day!

Love,
Tracy and Nathan
Wedding: 01/24/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Catherine... 3 Reviews
I have been working with Michele Coulon for over 10 years. She is consistently reliable, wonderful to work with and most importantly, her cakes and desserts are delicious! Thank you, Michele, for never disappointing!
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michelle personally took care of our tasting for our wedding cake, it was hard to choose since they were so many yummy flavors but we ended up getting a 3 tier cake - with 2 different flavors. We also ordered 150 macaroons for our wedding favors and a few dozens of mini desserts, to surround our wedding cake.

Michelle replied to all of our emails in a timely manner, price was very good considering the quality of the cake and the mini desserts - we had a high end cake, that tasted great. Absolutely all of our wedding guests loved the cake and even asked for more. We had a great experience overall!

We'll definitely go back to Michele Coulon to get other cakes!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I first had Michele's cake at a beautiful (and expensive) wedding in Del Mar. I was up dancing and missed my slice of cake, when I went to get it, that caterer explained they were all out cake. How do you run out of wedding cake? Answer: it's that good! Luckily my future husband saved me some and I was able to have some of this amazing elusive cake. It was fresh white cake with layers of fruit and buttercream and some secret ingredient that makes it taste better than any cake I've ever had. (It's called Gateau Aileen if you ever have the chance to try her cakes.) My husband and I tried six other bakeries and Michele's cakes blew all of them out of the water. Michele let us try ten different flavors at her bakery (and served the men beer which they loved). We ended up ordering one three-tiered cake and four small cakes from her to serve at our wedding. She was more than willing to work with us on our budget and keep the cake simple but beautiful. At the wedding the cake was everything I hoped it would be, and people kept coming up to me and telling me that they loved the "lemon" or the "chocolate", there wasn't a weak flavor in the bunch. Our seven-year-old nephew is still talking about the cake a month later! If you have the chance, I highly recommend having Michele make your wedding cake. Not only will your cake be beautiful, it will taste incredible!
Wedding: 05/24/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michele Coulon makes the most amazing cakes I have ever had! I have had different cakes and cupcakes from her shop over the last few years and I never had any doubt that she would be the one to do our wedding cake. Not only is the experience fun, and you get to try so many amazing flavors, but Michele is such a pleasure to be around! Our cake came out beautifully (and made it through the entire 6 hours before we cut it!). We will continue to work with Michele for years to come and I highly recommend you consider her too.
Wedding: 10/14/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0
It breaks my heart to have to write a negative review for Michele, but she really let us down with our wedding cake. It was not at all like the cake in the photo we had given her to imitate. The piping was sloppy, hurried, and uneven and the colors were not at all what we had agreed upon. I have no idea what went wrong. Michele is usually such a professional. We went out of our way to hire her, even getting permission from our venue to bring in an outside vendor. We were shocked that our cake did not meet our expectations. The one good thing I will say is that it tasted amazing. All of our guests complimented us on what a delicious cake we had. However, no one mentioned its appearance. Quite frankly, it looked amateurish. I'm sad to say that because of this incident, I cannot recommend Michele.
Wedding: 05/07/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Awesome wedding cake. It was unique, but stylish. The vine design added a touch of modern whimsy to our reception and allowed us to personalize it with our own color and type of flowers. The cost was reasonable. The cake was fabulously delicious. We got the butter cream and gauche chocolate. The butter cream has fresh berries which can be bad if not doen right. But, this was fantastically fresh and good.
Wedding: 03/20/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want to have the best cupcakes you have ever eaten, book Michele Coulon for your wedding. They were fabulous.
Wedding: 08/21/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
ELEGANT, DELICIOUS AND MATCHED OUR VISION PERFECTLY.
Wedding: 06/25/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our cake from Michele Coulon Dessertier was delicious! All of our guests raved about how it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted. Her flavors - especially her Banana Cake - are above and beyond other wedding cake vendors. Plus our cake looked just as fantastic as it tasted! Whenever we are in SD we will be going back to Michele's shop in La Jolla for a quick cup of tea and piece of cake!
Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They have some very interesting cakes and flavors, delicious too. They will make to order, and are very fast. Overall very pleased with this vendor.
Wedding: 01/30/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michele is every person's dream desertier. She was fabulous and very easy to work with. People cried when they ate her cake, and the other petite fours and dessert buffet were a hit! I still have some of the petite fours and they taste the same as they did that night! All were beautiful, creative and so wonderful, they melted in your mouth!
Wedding: 09/14/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want a fresh, organic wedding cake then this is the place to order it! Michelle Coulon is the best!!! Her cakes are made with the finest ingredients, never frozen and she limits herself to only a few wedding cakes on the weekends. This is to ensure that SHE is the one working on your cake and SHE is the one that delivers it to your venue. Michelle takes pride in her work and wants to make YOU happy with your wedding cake, that way she doesn't take on more customers then she can handle herself. Are her cakes expensive? Yes, but you pay for what you get:) I still get complements on my wedding cake, it was very memorable for my guest.
*Important Note* Call as soon as you know your wedding date, you can schedule a cake tasting later. Michelle gets booked at least 8-9 months in advance.
Wedding: 09/22/2007
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 858-456-5098
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0