Kaemmerling Photography Reviews

27 | Santa Cruz, CA
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Kaemmerling Photography

Recommended by 96%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Photos!!!

    John photographed our wedding April 2018 and I could not have asked for a more skilled photographer. Not only was he willing to work with our timeline and get everything done (we did the engagement shoot one week before our wedding) he captured amazing pictures and had the engagement canvas ready in only a few days. He made me feel comfortable throughout the whole process and really captured my good angles. Even when my husband and I were about to take a selfie, he told us to turn to capture better light. We went to the beach a few days after the wedding to capture some pictures and not worry about the dress getting dirty. So many epic shots to choose from. We are very happy and you definitely get what you pay for!

    Sent on 12/03/2018
  • R

    Roxanne · Married on 04/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really loved working with John. His was flexible when our engagement photos got rained out almost twice. His pictures and touch ups were amazing. He is a little slow to respond to emails but ultimately delivered. We are excited to see our wedding Album. I would recommend with any photographer to have a meeting about specific shots you want to get inorder to ensure all your "groups" are covered. John is fun and amazing to work with. We received a discount because our wedding was on a Thursday

    Sent on 12/22/2016
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 05/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his team are inspired artists who are beyond gracious and professional. They are clearly passionate about their work and know how to bring out the best in all who they work with. I felt like a princess and a super model on my wedding day because John attended to my groom and I with his undivided attention and good humor that made all our photograph sessions a breeze. He can catch the magic and the emotion with his artist's eye and provide the highest quality photos that truly capture the heart of the moment. From posed, to candid, to action shots, he can do it all in a way that tells the story and keeps the moments so they can be forever timeless. John Kaemmerling's work is truly inspired.

    Sent on 06/08/2013
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 05/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Wendy and her assistant shot our entire wedding from getting ready to leaving in our get away car. I can't begin to explain how amazing she was. First a few weeks before the event I emailed her prob about 20-25 photo ideas I found online that I really liked. Come day of wedding on top of all the other brilliant poses she would say "remember the pose you sent me like this" which honestly I didn't remember most I had way to many details on my mind but I was so thankful I emailed my ideas because she remembered them all. We have a toddler who is pretty stranger shy so you werent gettjng a posed smile from her but Wendy was great with capturing her beauty and sweet candid smiles. She was so professional and just a pleasure to work with really paid attention to every detail and captured every single moment from different angles since the assistant was shooting also. Within a week I got to view all the imagines all about 2000 of them. Was not lying when I say every moment was captured. Nothing blurry and incredible quality. All our friends who have looked through them all said they truly felt like they were reliving the day and night. Which is great for the bride because you are so busy with details and the day flies by. It is amazing to have all the photos to look back and remember our wonderful wedding. I would recommend kammerling photography to anyone looking for the best at very reasonable prices (considering the photo portion of the wedding is quite pricey) I shopped around and they were very comparable to all others in the area. Can't say enough we were absolutely thrilled. And cannot wait to recieve our huge printed album.

    Sent on 06/12/2013
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 12/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Michonne were great!! They did not rush us around to take pictures. They went with our flow and everyone had great things to say about them. . The photos are amazing and I would recommend them to anyone! My husband hired John to capture his propsoal to me. thise pictures are priceless and I cheriesh wveryone one of them. he truly captured our emotions and the moment. John may not know it, but he has become "our photographer" for life. We will continue to have him shoot life's most important milestones....and everything that happens in between. Check out his stuff! You'd be crazy to go with anyone else!

    Sent on 02/07/2013
  • A

    Allyson · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am the Wedding Coordinator for Shadowbrook Restaurant and see John quite a bit! He is a great vendor to work with and truly cares about the couple and their family when he is working. He makes sure to capture ALL of your special moments as well as the ones you didn't think were! I highly recommend him for his professionalism as well as his talent for photography! He takes normal and transforms it into the most creative photo imaginable!

    Sent on 12/27/2012
  • H

    Heather · Married on 11/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful photographer!!! Makes you feel very comfortable! Great work!!

    Sent on 02/19/2013
  • C

    Chris · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The photos that John took were completely amazing. They included the traditional wedding shots and so much more. The portraits that he took of the flower girls are hanging in my home as well as my daughters. He included some interesting artsy shots.

    I think there were over 1200 photos in all. The only problem was going through all of them and selecting which ones we wanted - there were just too many great shots!

    He and his assistant were completely professional and very easy to work with.

    I HIGHLY recommend him!!!

    Sent on 02/07/2013
  • Z

    Zac & Ellie · Married on 09/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I could never say enough about John and Michonne Kaemmerling. They did our engagement shoot and wedding photos and both blew away our expectations. We found out about Kaemmerling Photography while touring our venue Clos LaChance Winery in San Martin, CA. We had been searching for a photographer forever but couldn't find one that we really felt was perfect to capture our special day, until we met with John. From meeting him in person at his studio, through our entire experience with Kaemmerling Photography, John and Michonne have continued to blow us away with their professionalism, knowledge, skill and creativeness that all led to us getting what we think is the most important part of our wedding, our amazing album and pictures. Could never thank them enough, we will be sure to use them for any photography needs in the future and confidently recommend them to friends and family!

    Sent on 02/12/2013
  • M

    Janine · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John took the MOST amazing Engagement photos for my son Zachary and his beautiful bride to be Elizabeth. Some of the photos were modern and some were vintage, a real mix of great shots. The kids look like models! We've never seen them look SO GOOD! Awesome job!!

    John really captured the moment for the kids. I love the shots he got of them wrestling, hugging and kissing. All loving moments were you really get to feel their love and see the connection.

    John has a talent for really making his subject look good too, and that takes caring about the person first. My son loves John.

    Going with Kaemmerling Photography has been the BEST wedding decision that we have made. No gimics, or overages, John has done everything he said he would and MORE!! We can't wait for the wedding!!

    Sent on 08/30/2011
  • T

    Tere · Married on 03/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kaemmerling Photography did an outstanding job on my daughter's wedding. The pictures and video were gorgeous. His staff was very courteous and helpful and did things without even being asked. As far as I'm concerned there is no one else to have do a wedding!

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • David

    David · Married on 11/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have used Kaemmerling Photography for all of our family photos for the last year. We found Kaemmerling photography online while researching for a wedding in the Santa Cruz area. We immediately knew he was the photographer we wanted after looking at his online portfolio. John offered so much more the standard poses that you see from most wedding photographers. We liked how his photos told a story. So far John has done our maternity shoot, the baby’s one and six month shoots, our engagement and wedding shoot. We will use him at least one more time for the baby’s one year shoot. Each time we have worked with John we have ended up with so many fantastic photos that we’ve ended up buying the set instead of just a few shots. The canvas print he made for us is a conversation piece whenever we have guests. Don’t be afraid to come to John with your own ideas, he was always very open to what we wanted and had great suggestions on making the quality of the shots better than we had anticipated.

    Sent on 02/12/2011
  • User2994352 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first came across Kaemmerling Photography when I was in a friend's wedding. After looking at the photos from that event, I was immediately sure that I would like to have John photograph my wedding. My wife and I could not have been happier with our decision. John captured all the moments we wanted to remember and did so in such a way that makes it truly possible to relive the event every time we look at the images. His presence at our wedding was excellent as well. Following our wedding, we had John take some portraits of us with our young son. Yet again, we were amazed with the quality of the photos and were thrilled with our experience. We very enthusiastically recommend Kaemmerling Photography and are so glad we trusted our memories with John and his team.

    Sent on 01/18/2013
  • G

    Genevieve · Married on 09/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Kaemmerling Photography. They captured the day just as I had hoped! I have received so many amazing complements on our wedding day photos. Photography was one of my highest priorities in regards to wedding day agenda/price/etc. and they absolutely nailed it!

    Sent on 02/09/2011
  • A

    Alice · Married on 10/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kaemmerling Photography are simply the best. Gorgeous photos. Great rapport with bride and groom. John has a way of capturing the personality and essence of the people he photographs. I could not give a higher recommendation. John and his team are true artists and professionals.

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 10/07/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his team were invisible and flawless in their presence and the photographs and video exceeded our highest hopes. We review the video each year on our anniversary and are reminded of what an outstanding and creative job they did. In fact, I hired them to make a video of another special event they were so good! Specifically, they were on time, reassuring, non-invasive but able to get all the desired shots, pleasant with guests, and prompt with the delivery of the photos. On the video, they were sensitive to our taste and style in music and content and then created a beautiful time capsule of our precious day. I recommend them 100%.

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • I

    Ivy · Married on 09/03/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They provide exceptional service along with stunning photos. Not only are they professional but they leave your side as your friends. I still enjoy their company (even though our paths rarely cross) and they are my #1 choice for family portraits and my number one recommendation for weddings, engagements, maternity photos and more. When your wedding is over you will only be left with your memories and your photos - with Kaemmerling Photography you will not be disappointed!!

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • A

    Ariele · Married on 10/22/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Michonne are absolutely delightful and insanely talented.

    They captured every special moment of our day with such an eye toward all things beautiful, sincere, candid, and sweet. They have incredible instincts as they didn't know that I had recorded a song for my father for our dance, but got the PERFECT photo of him in that 2 second moment of surprise. There were many wonderful pictures of our joyful family and friends, and we had fun taking serious and sweet photos as husband and wife.

    They were very discreet and went about capturing special moments completely unnoticed. I could not have been more pleased to have them photograph our wedding.

    Sent on 02/28/2013
  • D

    Dane · Married on 08/20/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife Megan and I were so happy with the level of creativity, professionalism and overall experience of John Kaemmerling, of Kaemmerling Photography. His ability to make us look good in our photos, is definately one of his strong suites. In addition, John made us feel comfortable in our skin, and brought out the best in us, as well as our bridal party. John made the day fun, and the quality of his work is by far some of the best we've ever seen. Thank you JOHN!

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • D

    Dr. Aaron · Married on 03/03/2003

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kaemmerling photography is the gold standard in wedding photography. They were professional, reliable, responsive, and took some of the best pictures I've ever seen. There were a lot of things to worry about come wedding day and (thank God) our pictures were not one of them. The results were awesome and they helped capture memories that we will always cherish. Thanks John and Michone!

    Sent on 01/17/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/18/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love love love Kaemmerling Photography. John made us feel so comfortable and took the nerves out by making us laugh constantly. He showed us a few shots as he was taking them and they were absolutely amazing (before touch ups and everything!). That made us feel even more comfortable. His crew was also very professional as well as warm and friendly. Couldn't have asked for a better experience!

    Sent on 07/27/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/05/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I met John and his wife Michonne when they shot our good friend's engagement photos three years ago. We were impressed with their professionalism, creativity (the shoot took place at a winery in Healdsburg) and most importantly, the result! Even before my husband and I were engaged, we knew that we wanted John to shoot all of our memorable events. We used Kaemmerling Photography for our engagement photo shoot (in Capitola), engagement party (in Half Moon Bay), our wedding (in Carmel) and scenic prints of of our favorite places. Are they the cheapest photographers in the Bay Area? No. But trust me, you want your day to be captured by photographers that have over 15+ years of experience and truly understand how to make you look your best. John is tremendously talented and possesses a range that spans from commercial to high fashion. His wife, sometimes shoots with him and understands body movement (she used to model) and captures really unique moments. Aside from their talent, they are wonderful people who make all of their clients feel special.

    In summary, Kaemmerling Photography is a business that is reliable, professional, flexible to meet your needs and a producer of amazing photographs. My husband and I plan on using them for all of our future needs and have no doubt we will be thrilled with the results!

    Sent on 01/29/2013
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 04/07/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and his colleague (I'm afraid I can't recall his name for the moment) were great, they were professional and felt like a part of the wedding! His colleague performed some stunts to get some good shots of the ceremony. The spot we picked was not the easiest to shoot from but they did great! I got over 2000 pictures back from them and I love having them all! Even if it is pricy it is worth it! The wedding felt so unreal and looking back it all feels like a blur, the pictures help me remember this great day. Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 03/12/2013
  • H

    Hayley · Married on 07/07/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    John and Michonne are true artists. The photographs they produced for us were absolutely stunning. What you see in their portfolio is a true representation of their work. Yes, it really is that good! They were easy to work with, professional and reliable. Plus they were quick to accommodate our wishes (even the crazy ones, like photographing me tromping around the muddy woods and through a stream, in my wedding dress!). Yet, they also looked through their lenses and found some amazing shots that I never would have even seen (for example, the magical series of us waist deep in a field of grass, that was literally glowing in the evening light). When we got our album back there was one page that we were a little disappointed with (there was a page break right down the middle of a face). It wasn't terrible, but not great either. John took the book back and fixed it without hesitation; I didn't even need to ask!
    From what I remember they were one of the higher priced photographers in town (back in 2007). But please be assured that you are truly getting what you pay for. It's worth every penny! We knew that of all the vendor provided services at our wedding, it was what the photographer produced that would linger the longest. We knew we'd have those beautiful photos to cherish for a lifetime, and I'm so glad that we chose Kaemmerling Photography to take them.

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • F

    Fred · Married on 10/29/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    John did a magnificent job of providing memories from our beach wedding. He was early, brought assistants and had a plan. They took great shots during the small ceremony without interfering. John's creativity is amazing, suggesting formal, posed, candid and fun shots before, during and after the ceremony. His outgoing personality and joy fit right in with our day.
    John's hi tech studio aids in selecting the photos wanted and the album we selected is a treasure. Everything from planning to the wedding to the finished product was done with excellence and in a timely manner. John is one of the best photographers in Northern California. If you can get on his schedule, do it.

    Sent on 01/16/2013