Assaggiare Mendocino Reviews

15 | Fort Bragg, CA
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Assaggiare Mendocino

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

15
Order by:
  • D

    Denise · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia Conway at Assaggiare in Fort Bragg is an amazing chef and businesswoman.

    She catered my 150 guest wedding over Labor Day weekend 2016. Our guests LOVED their food and are still raving about the delicious the locally caught King salmon... it was a huge hit... and it paired well with the Yukon gold mashed potatoes, roasted vegetables, and fresh spinach salad.

    Working with her leading up to the event was a great experience. She responded quickly to my emails, was good at communicating, and went above and beyond to remind me to arrange trashcans, ice and buckets, etc that I wouldn't have thought of on my own.

    During the event itself, which was hectic due to our timeline getting delayed, she rolled with the punches and maintained excellent service and food. Her staff is like a family and they were very gracious.

    All in all, I think Julia is an extremely good chef, very professional businesswoman, and I highly recommend her for any catering event. She really knows what she is doing! Five stars all the way.

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • B

    Beth · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in April of 2016 and selected Assaggiare Catering as our caterer, wait staff, and so much more. We LOVE great food and wanted a menu that reflected our personal tastes and the flavors of Northern California. As you may know, north of the Bay Area, there aren’t many choices in caterers, and early on in our search, it was clear that Julia was the only choice for our desired style of food. Thankfully, she was also THE BEST choice. Julia was friendly, thorough, and attentive. She understood our vision and taste preferences immediately and made great suggestions for our menu. Draft after draft, she kept coming up with fun interpretations of local flavors for our menu. She was open to letting us source more affordable proteins through our personal connections at local fisheries and purveyors, even though she beat their prices in the end, with the same high quality product. She also made delicious vegan options and special kids meals (complete with boxes with kids’ names on them to make them feel special).

    We asked Julia to take on a lot more than food, and she took it all on without a hitch. She orchestrated all the service staff for our wedding- from table settings, to servers, to bar tenders, to the clean-up crew. She helped review the day of plan and made suggestions about little tweaks. The site preparation and table setting was perfect! The service was professional & fun! The bartenders were really attentive- always making special trips to wherever the bride and groom were mingling to be sure we had a drink in our hand. But most of all, the food was really fantastic. Honestly, the food was so flavorful, succulent, and perfectly warm (even with table service for over 120 people). My family is still raving about our amazing wedding meal. It was a meal that I will always fondly remember. I highly recommend Julia and all the Assaggiare staff who helped make our wedding day and meal so amazing and memorable.

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • User5266295 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia and her team catered our wedding in Mendocino. The food and service was, simply, impeccable. I highly recommend Julia, she is a true professional. When we were looking for caterers, we sent out ideas of the type of meal (Italian, family style, traditional) that we wanted. At our tasting, Julia not only cooked samples of exactly what we had requested, she also cooked dishes with a little twist on what we had thought we wanted. The dishes she created were incredible and we immediately knew that we wanted Julia to cook for us.

    She was very clear and simple to work with before the event, quick to respond to emails. And her servers were totally on top of it, the timing was spot on. One of the best moments of the wedding for me was when I looked around and saw all of our friends and family eating and laughing and enjoying her delicious food. Many of our guests raved to us later about the food at our wedding! If you are thinking about hiring Julia, just do it. You will be so happy that you did.

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • I

    Ian · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided to choose Assaggiare Mendocino for our wedding based on our perceived quality of their menu and their responsiveness to emails and phone calls. Other companies were slightly less expensive, but their communication and menu options were poor. We were more than satisfied with the professionalism of their staff and the quality of their food. In fact, I did not expect the food to be that good, but it exceeded my expectations. During our wedding, we had problems with the weather and Assaggiare Mendocino was flexible in moving the catering inside and helping with the moving of furniture. In the end the difference in cost between Assaggiare Mendocino and other local companies was negligible given the quality of service. We would definitely use them again if we are ever in need of catering again.

    Sent on 01/20/2016
  • S

    Sonoe · Married on 11/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We very much enjoyed working with Assagiare catering. Julia was very pleasant to work with and very flexible and creative helping us put our wedding menu together. We were extremely pleased with how delicious the food was and we still hear from wedding guests how impressed they were by the quality as well as the variety of choices.

    Sent on 12/19/2013
  • J

    Julia · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding Assaggiare Mendocino was a stroke of luck! We were extremely pleased with the service, and the food is delicious. Even our most picky guests were impressed. Julia is very professional. She was always punctual, returned our calls quickly, and was open to all our needs. She was extremely flexible, except when it was about ensuring the quality of her food, and even allowed us to change the time of dinner a few days before the wedding. She even went above and beyond in dealing with our venue, which made her job much harder than it should have been. She catered both a formal wedding meal for us and a more casual second day barbecue. She made great recommendations for a dessert caterer, and helped us arrange the tables and other things that we needed to rent. If you are having a wedding in Mendocino, you will regret not choosing Assaggiare Mendocino.

    Sent on 11/23/2013
  • User3982542 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure working with Julia and her team at Assaggiare Mendocino for our 2013 wedding. Her knowledge of and appreciation for high quality, local, seasonal ingredients and her expertise with different cooking methods were very appreciated (by us) and well-received (by all of our guests). She helped us execute two distinct vegetarian dinners that managed to impress even our most stalwart skeptics. Julia brings a level of professionalism and organization - as well as flexibility and innovation of style - that will ensure the success of every project she embarks upon. I would trust Julia with any catering event!

    Sent on 03/20/2014
  • User4470078 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia Conway of Assaggiare Mendocino catered our wedding at Point Arena Lighthouse, Pt. Arena, CA in September 2014. The menu was packed with choices and the food was delicious. Julia's signature "edible tablescape" of cheeses and fruit was good -looking and good- tasting and the guests enjoyed this at the reception. Dinner options included chicken, salmon and beef with side dishes to satisfy our vegetarian guests.

    The service staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. The bar service during the reception was appreciated by our guests and the dinner tables were beautifully set. All service at our wedding reception and dinner, held outside in a tent on the beautiful coast, was timely and cleanup was not a hassle.

    We are not from CA so hiring a caterer long-distance was a concern but Julia helped make the process more manageable with good communication and an affordable menu. Our catering experience greatly met our expectations and you can do yourself a favor by contacting Julia and considering Assiaggiare Mendicino for your catering needs.

    Sent on 10/13/2014
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/10/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Finding Assaggiare Mendocino was a giant stroke of luck for us. My husband is vegan, we don't live nearby, all kinds of factors that could have made catering our wedding quite difficult, but instead it was a breeze. Julia was helpful beyond imagination. We were having a hard time finding a vegan cake baker, and she reached out to one of her contacts, who happens to be retired and got her to help us out. She is so familiar with all the venues in and around Mendocino. She is incredibly responsive to any suggestions we had. And the food, my god, the food! My guests were beyond thrilled. And there was so much of it!

    I would definitely suggest getting the olive and bread bar, no matter what else you get. It was such a great starter.

    I really can't recommend Assaggiare Mendocino strongly enough. If you're having catering in Mendocino, this should be your first stop.

    Sent on 11/21/2013
  • D

    Dianne · Married on 03/17/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia at Assaggiare Mendocino catered my daughters small wedding in March 2018 and it was fabulous. From the minute I called Julia to discuss catering she always responded almost immediately. We live on the East Coast and did all the planning for a Mendocino wedding via phone and emails. This included more than just the food. I was hesitant but it could not have gone smoother. The food was expertly prepared and delicious. The guests raved about the appetizers and Tablescape. The serving staff was extremely professional and the bar tender, all arranger by Julia, was a blast! If you are planning a wedding in Northern California do yourself a favor and contract with Assaggiare Mendocino.

    Sent on 04/18/2018
  • J

    Jannelle · Married on 07/20/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia is very professional; yet hands on. Our guests especially loved the risotto station.

    Sent on 02/10/2015
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 06/15/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Julia was a great caterer. She was able to work around our budget and give us a meal filled with fresh local ingredients. Her staff, the day of, made sure my husband and I were taken care of throughout the night.

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 11/09/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great! Very impressed!

    The food is amazing! The chef is very kind and professional!

    Sent on 07/03/2019
  • C

    Chloe · Married on 06/15/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone raved about the food. The quality of the ingredients was top notch, the presentation was beautiful and the whole team was very professional. Julia had a lot of tips that also helped us plan our rentals and general needs of the day better.

    Sent on 11/26/2013
  • A

    Adrian · Married on 06/07/2014

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Julia's vision of our requests and her creativity were amazing. She took our rough ideas and executed them exceptionally well- the food was fantastic tasting, and beautifully presented. And, beyond adequate in quantity of food. We had nothing but great experiences with her in the lead up to the event.

    Julia's staff was adequate in size and quite professional- the service went on with no major hiccups or delays.

    We heard later from some guests that there were some relatively unpleasant interactions with Julia during the service- essentially very rigid in how she wanted things to go. An example- a guest was denied trying to take a second portion for her husband who was waiting at their table.

    That said- she did execute a delicious and beautiful meal for 175 - no small feat. Overall, We were happy with our experience with Julia and recommended her to another friend who got married in the area.

    Sent on 12/21/2014