Windcatcher Photography Reviews

53 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

53 Reviews for Windcatcher Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

53

19 User photos

Order by:
  • Natasha

    Natasha L. · Getting married on 04/17/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To catch us, was his real test.

    We decided to pick Windcatcher as our engagement photographer due to response time and flexibility. He was able to let us know when was the best lighting. We were not expecting his enthusiasm level while taking our pictures. He also was very clear in directions and what angle was working at the moment. He let us be as natural as possible even with props.

    Sent on 10/29/2019
  • Uni

    Uni · Married on 01/17/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing photographer!

    Chao was an absolute pleasure to work with both before and during our wedding. After checking out a variety of other photographers, we found him on Weddingwire and couldn’t be happier with how things turned out. During our preliminary correspondence, he was very patient and truly listened to our vision for the event. He was extremely professional, efficient, and flexible, executing our desired shot list and accommodating guests even when our initial timeline was altered. In addition to his professionalism and hard work, Chao is an amazing photographer who was able to perfectly capture even the most difficult shots we requested, including night pictures in the cold of winter. Throughout the evening, he did a great job of circulating around the room, taking beautiful shots in addition to the ones we had requested, while always being available whenever someone needed a photo to be taken. Also, Chao did an outstanding job of giving us direction to ensure we would look our best, while at the same time keeping the mood relaxed. Within a day of our wedding, he reached out to us and sent some sample pictures with the rest to follow shortly. This added a nice personal touch to his service, as it allowed my wife and I to get a glimpse of his skill and remind ourselves of all the fun and joy of the night before. We cannot recommend him highly enough and are so happy he was there to help us capture moments from our wedding which we will look back to forever. Thanks so much, Chao!

    Sent on 02/07/2020
  • Victoria

    Victoria · Married on 10/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best Vendor I Hired for My Wedding

    If you're looking for a great photographer for your wedding, Chao is the one for you!

    Pre-event, he took the time to answer my questions and concerns. His responses were timely which was a big deal to me.

    At the wedding, he was fantastic. When I arrived at the venue he cracked the whip and made sure everyone was clear so I could get into the church without being seen by our guests. He got our portraits done in a timely manner and took the time to find the perfect spots for my husband and I to take our formal photos. The previews he sent me are absolutely stunning.

    Thank you, Chao!

    Sent on 10/23/2019
  • N

    Natalie S. · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Better than I ever hoped for

    Chao was everything we could have dreamed of in a wedding photographer and more. From our very first phone call, he had ideas of what to do with our first look, and he was clear that he would focus on documentary-style photos, so we wouldn't have to deal with any awkward posing. The day of the wedding, he rolled with all the punches, including a late start to our first look and wedding guests showing up in the middle of our wedding party shots. He gave my husband and I just the right amount of guidance when it came to our portraits to make sure they looked the best they could be, but still let us be us throughout the day. And our first set of photos came out better than I ever would have dreamed.

    Sent on 10/24/2019
  • C

    Claire A. · Married on 09/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    friendly, responsive, skilled, efficient and talented

    Chao is a skilled, efficient and talented photographer. He is also a great communicator and really listens to clients so that he knows what they need from their wedding photographer. He is friendly, open and responsive. He puts couples at ease to get the best from their photography session.

    Sent on 12/09/2019
  • Ashley

    Ashley S. · Married on 06/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book Chao - He is terrific!

    If you're looking for a great photographer at an affordable price - book Chao! He was terrific to work with and was always ready to jump on a call or meet with us in person to discuss our needs. During our wedding, he made the guests feel comfortable, and he was very organized and timely with the portrait list. He sent us a sneak peek a couple of days after the wedding day, and they were beautiful. Just give him a call, and you'll discover how sweet he is and how you'll make your day extra special. Thanks, Chao!

    Sent on 07/09/2019
  • C

    C Mc · Married on 05/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chao is the best!

    Chao was great! We wanted documentary-style photography for our wedding, and he captured so many wonderful candids of our special day. Chao was a pleasure to work with: very supportive and flexible. We're so lucky to have had him as our photographer!

    Sent on 10/20/2019
  • Haley

    Haley K. · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chao was great, easy to work with, great work!

    Chao did an awesome job at our wedding. The ceremony was outside, and he was able to get some great lighting. He was also able to capture a lot of funny candids, as well as some nice posed pictures of just us. He was super easy to connect with, highly recommend him!

    Sent on 07/10/2019
  • Kate

    Kate W. · Married on 03/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thanks Chao!

    We couldn’t be happier that we hired Chao for our New York elopement photography. He was quick to respond to emails and offer suggestions both before the ceremony and on the big day, as he helped us navigate the process at City’s Clerk’s Office (and acted as our witness). He was a pleasure to spend time with and helped put me and my husband at ease even though we are both pretty awkward in front of the camera. We love the photographs he sent us soon after the wedding. Some beautiful posed shots with a stunning NYC background and intimate candids that trigger happy memories. They are exactly what we hoped for. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 04/10/2019
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    thank you Chao!

    We have so many wonderful things to say about Chao! We had a great experience working with him when he photographed our wedding earlier this month. While we did not meet him in person until the day of the wedding, we kept in contact in the weeks leading up to the wedding and he always responded quickly to any questions/requests we had. He is very organized and coordinated all the details of the first look so we did not have to worry about anything the day of the wedding. He even went to our venue early to scope out a good spot to take photos, as he had never been there before. It is evident that Chao is very experienced and takes pride in his work. He also has a great eye for detail and he gives clear directions during photos, which made us feel very comfortable and at ease. So far, we have received several preview photos and they are all beautiful – we can’t wait to see the rest! His prices are extremely affordable and offers flexible packages. We recommend Chao to anyone looking for a reliable, talented, and experienced photographer for their wedding. Thank you so much Chao!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish there were more stars to give Chao. Honestly I can't stress how perfect the day was with him documenting everything. So punctual and professional and his pictures are absolutely gorgeous!!! He made us all so comfortable so nothing looked too staged. Obsessed. Thank you so much I will recommend chao to anyone and everyone!

    Sent on 09/10/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Chao for the engagement photo session and our wedding day and we couldn't have been more pleased with the experience and the images he captured. He made the process of coordinating details very easy, and he was meticulous and attentive to exactly the type of look and mood that we wanted in our photos. For the wedding he took a lovely mix of portraits and candid photos at our request and created a stunning portfolio of images from the day. The quality of light and colors in the images is clear and radiant. He is adept at taking portraits that look natural, whether there are two people or a big group of people in the photo, such as an entire family or bridal party. He is a discreet presence and we can see our guests felt completely at ease (if they even realized they were being photographed). We greatly admire Chao's work and highly recommend him!

    Our wedding took place in June 2018 in Highland Park, NJ, in an industrial loft style space with a little bit of a vintage vibe.

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • F

    Fernanda · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chao was so great to work with! We are absolutely LOVE our wedding pictures. He was so easy to work with, gave great direction, was flexible, professional and very responsive prior to the wedding. Seriously, I recommend him to ALL brides in the tri state area, you won't regret it!

    Sent on 04/30/2018
  • K

    Kaming · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are head over heels with our photos! Thank you Chao for a phenomenal job of photographing our wedding and ensuring everything went smoothly. Chao was professional, quick to reply, and understood right away what we wanted without having to give him too many instructions. As I was planning my own wedding from overseas, Chao provided suggestions about the details, the timeline and photo locations which we were so grateful for. He also met up with us to do a site check prior which I really appreciate and shows that he really cares about his clients and getting the best shots. And at the end of a grueling 11 hour shift, he was still smiling.

    A few days after the wedding, he sent over some sample shots (which we weren't expecting) and we are BLOWN AWAY at how beautiful they are. You can tell right away that he takes pride in his work and is so talented in capturing shots in the right moment that highlighted our personalities. I am so happy to have found Chao for our wedding and I would highly recommend him for any job!

    Sent on 04/13/2018
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chao did such amazing job photographing our wedding this past July! From the moment we had our introductory phone call to the day of the wedding Chao went above and beyond what we ever even expected. The photos are beautiful and captured both the formal and more silly parts of the wedding (and my husband and I both LOVE the dance floor photos). He even helped the groomsmen with their boutonnieres! I would recommend Chao to anyone looking for a professional, relaxed, and hardworking photographer who is amazing at their craft!

    Sent on 11/05/2017
  • K

    Kristine · Married on 07/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chao is awesome! I booked him for a anniversary party my husband and I had in Jamesport, NY. He was wonderful to work with from start to finish. He went above and beyond my expectations. The photos he took were amazing!! But not only were his compositions artistic and interesting, he captured moments with family and I that were candid and unscripted. Capturing emotion that was only there for a second but he didn't miss it. He was professional, punctual, even arriving early to the church, and sending us a few finished shots only days after the party when I was desperate to see some. He got every important moment without me even realizing he was snapping a shot. He was always present if you wanted to ask him to take a photo but not intrusive. He could see when you were engaged in conversation and would wait patiently until he could direct the photo. I can't say enough about what I great choice he was and if you are thinking of hiring him you will be nothing but happy that you did!

    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • E

    Elena · Married on 05/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Me and my husband got married at the NYC City Hall, and Chao was with us for the ceremony and some extra shot. It was a really pleasant experience, he is friendly but also discreet, he was giving us advice for the pictures but also capturing the natural moments. We received AMAZING photos of that day, with some previews just a couple of days after the ceremony. I really suggest to hire Chao for your wedding!

    Sent on 08/30/2017
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chao was absolutely the perfect photographer for us! We had our first meeting and knew he understood our style and what we really wanted. After looking at his portfolio we saw that he did amazing candid photos where you can really see the movement and feel the life in the party. We only wanted a handful of portraits (that were also beautiful) and macro/getting ready shots. The candid shots made me feel like I was right back at the reception! He was early to the hotel to take photos of my husband and I getting ready and was an absolute professional and kept with the schedule I had in mind. We had him for 10 hours and his pricing was amazing and in our budget. He did a wonderful job!

    Sent on 04/27/2017
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 03/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The pictures that we received from Windcatcher came out ABSOLUTELY beautiful! It was wonderful working with Chao on our special day! Chao took all of our requests into account and in addition, added his artistic eye in to many others to create our dream wedding album. We ended up with all of the poses that we requested and many others that were beautiful and unexpected! Chao was at our church on time and utilized the time in the most effective and enjoyable way. Chao is a truly talented artist and his work reflects this!! I recommend Chao to any bride and groom who want an affordable, yet amazing photographer for their most important day!

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even know where to start! Chao took photos for our wedding on October 28, 2016 and was absolutely incredible. He was professional, on time, and made sure to get all of the photos we requested. His photos were amazing, and he was right in the middle of the action without being intrusive. The first look photos he sent us are INCREDIBLE and I am so excited to see the rest. Leading up to the wedding, any email I sent him was answered almost immediately, and he could not have been easier to work with. I am so grateful we found him, and hope to work with him again in the future. If you are looking for a professional, talented, and responsive photographer, Chao is the best!

    Sent on 12/01/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don't even begin to know where to start, or how I could put to paper how much I want to sing Chao's praises! From our very first phone call to the last photo he took on our wedding day, Chao was personable, professional, engaged, interested in our vision, fun to be around, and a true pleasure to work with. Leading up to the wedding, he took the time to meticulously walk through our day-of schedule with us and help us get an idea of how we needed to plan on the big day. On our wedding day, he followed the schedule exactly (a big deal for me!), and was a great sport going all over - from the hotel to the photo spot to the venue - getting the best pictures! The sneak peak shots he sent us were OUT OF THIS WORLD and I can't wait to see the rest! My only regret is not taking engagement photos with him, since I know those would have been amazing too! If you're looking for a laid back, professional, fun to be around, creative photographer, I would absolutely recommend Chao as your guy!

    Sent on 11/30/2016
  • H

    Holly · Married on 09/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BOOK HIM!!! Chao is a dream come true. His photos are breathtaking, he is a true professional, and he is the nicest guy you will ever work with. You will not go wrong booking him; he is amazingly talented and will work hard to create the photos of your dreams!!!

    Sent on 10/14/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We met with Chau about a year before our wedding and knew instantly that he was the perfect photographer for our wedding. He has a photo-journalist approach to photography, which is what we were looking for for our wedding. Leading up to the wedding, Chau was very responsive. He scouted the location prior to the wedding, which made the day-of wedding photos at the venue stress-free and easy. On the wedding day, he arrived on time and was very professional. He had a great attitude and helped us feel comfortable and calm in front of the camera. He was very efficient with family portraits and made sure that we were able to enjoy some of the cocktail reception. The prints we have seen so far have been stunning. I would highly recommend Windcatcher Photography.

    Sent on 10/16/2016
  • Y

    Yin · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are so happy that we had Chao as our photographer. He was wonderful. We had our engagement photo session last month and the photos came out great. I can't wait to see my wedding pictures. He was very patient the whole time. Our guest list expanded from 40 people to 108 and he handled the change very well. He was always around taking pictures and always taking his time to make sure the picture and background was good. Even when things were hectic, he was very patient and nice to the guests. He had a lot of wonderful suggestions on how to make the pictures better as well. Very fair with his pricing and very affordable.

    Sent on 09/10/2016
  • D

    Dunstan · Married on 04/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I were undecided on whether we should have a photographer as we were receiving some crazy quotes. Having done some research my wife found Windcatcher Photography's portfolio online and was immediately taken with his work. Having then checked reviews, we decided to contact him. Not only was he extremely great value, he was extremely accommodating. He was a pleasure to deal with. So, we booked him for our special day.

    Which was a GREAT decision.

    His photography and manner is of the highest order. He is not a dominating personality, who barks out orders. He works with the couple to provide the shot required and always put our needs first. Chao is a wonderfully polite and charming man. As an aside, he said something to me about my wife and I that I will never forget. What was it? That stays between Chao and I, but suffice to say it was one of the most perceptive and nicest things anyone has said about us. I bring this up because he has a really keen eye and notices things that other may not, which meant some amazing and unexpected photos of real quality. One example: My father wasn't able to attend our wedding, as he is no longer with us. We honoured him with a boutonniere placed on a chair to the side of the ceremony. It wasn't obvious at all, but Chao had the foresight to recognise that this was for someone special and produced a beautiful and classy photo without prompting. I had forgotten to get a picture, and was delighted to see this in the images he sent over.

    Two weeks after the event, we received the full colour corrected set of images. Wow. Just Wow. He had captured the spirit and humour of our ceremony & the joy and energy of our reception perfectly. Every single photo was one to cherish.

    I would not hesitate to recommend Chao, in fact, I insist you give him a call for your wedding or event! You really will not be disappointed...

    Sent on 05/05/2016