31 Reviews for Tara Welch Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
31 Tara Welch Photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

I had the opportunity to be Tara's second shooter at a beautiful Maryland wedding. Tara is easy to work with, has a great sense of humor, and is a talented photographer. She knows exactly where to be and when, and is great at keeping the bride and groom at ease throughout their event. As a photographer myself, I can say that Tara is on-top of her game. She knows photography well and reacts at the appropriate moment to get the shot. Choosing Tara to be your photographer on your wedding day is definitely a great decision.

Profile Picture Tara, 7/9/16, 10 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I typically do not take time to write reviews. I couldn’t pass the opportunity up to thank Tara!!!
Tara Welch is such a gifted and talented photographer!!! She is personable and professional. She is able to quietly capture the most amazing moments! Our engagement photos were so amazing. I was wondering how are the wedding photographs going to compare? We felt our wedding day was magical and when we received the photographs; they confirmed it. Tara captured every magical moment!! They are truly spectacular and unique!!!!
We are forever thankful and grateful!!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User7005177, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

While I am a budget conscious bride, splurging on Tara for our photographs was a great decision. As an artist myself, I've a very visual person who loves looking at photographs, so I didn't want just wedding pictures, I wanted ART. Well, Tara brings you ART - her shots are unique, creative, colorful, and stylish and she is great at capturing emotions/goofiness/fun. I literally gasped in amazement when I first saw sneak peeks. She's also very professional, and promptly responds to emails and requests. I highly recommend her, as she's one of our favorite vendors.

We've only taken our engagement pics so far but they've been so beautiful. I can't wait for her to shoot our wedding in March!

Update: Tara is an AMAZING photographer and selecting her as was one of the reasons our wedding was so perfect! From the moment we emailed her and video chatted with her, we knew she was the person we wanted to capture the happiest day of our lives. Her personality and style of photography meshed very well with our personality: artsy, vibrant, and lively.

For both our engagement and wedding photos she showed up early and scouted the area. She had a vision in mind when it came to photographing us and explained it very clearly every step of the way. Doing business with her was simple because she is easy to get a hold of and quick to respond. For anyone looking for arguably the best photographer in Austin and San Antonio, look no further! Go with Tara and you will not be disappointed! We cannot WAIT for our wedding photos to come out. We couldn't be happier

Profile Picture Natalie, 3/12/16, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara is the real deal folks! Check out her website and see for yourself! Not only is she truly a skilled and experienced photographer, but her personality shines and she is a joy to be around and work with! We researched far and wide and when we came across Tara Welch photography and her wedding photos we just had this feeling she was the one for us. She was a perfect fit and exceeded every expectation in every way! Everyone at the wedding even commented on how great she was. But most importantly the photos speak for themselves and we were beyond the moon over ours. Perfect and magical memories and moments captured. Thanks Tara!

Profile Picture Michelle, 11/8/15, 9 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I don't even know where to start. Tara is such a talented photographer and an all-around wonderful, funny, easy-going person. My husband and I felt she had a particular style that really worked for us - very easygoing, artistic but not anything too weird and she does an incredible job of capturing a moment that happens without her doing a ton to stage it - she really just brings out the natural chemistry of life. She really captured us and the energy that exists between us in our relationship. All of her images are very real.

Tara did our engagement photos in Austin (in August, in 105 degree heat!) and was a total pro. Working with her was a dream. It was our first time being photographed together and she directed us really well, and let us be ourselves. The images turned out incredible, and she really gave us the looks we were after - including some cute shots in front of major Austin street art.

Of course, Tara also shot our wedding for us and it honestly felt just like having a friend there. Like I said, she really is a joy to have around - she got along super well with all our guests, she does a great job of managing/directing people with enough command that they listen, but not so much that she's a drill sargent. People just like her - they were telling me how cool our photographer is! She is.

We ended up with some really amazing shots of moments unfolding, particularly during the ceremony and the reception. The more staged shots (family photos, etc) turned out great, too, although those are really just for our parents. :) Towards the end of the night when we had an epic dance party during our reception, Tara was on the dance floor, sneaking in between groups of dancing drunk people, grooving a little bit, and snapping amazing photos of all the fun.

She's also really professional and responsive via email and text, and she had our photos done exactly on time for both our engagement and wedding. I really can't say enough good things about her.

Profile Picture Melissa, 5/9/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara captured our daughters wedding beautifully!

Profile Picture Melissa, 10/25/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.9

I cannot find enough positive words to describe my experience with photographer Tara Welch. I screened 8 other Austin area photographers, but I think I knew from the beginning that I wanted to work with her. Her work is vibrant, creative, and she is fantastic at crowd control and eliciting smiles and poses from all her subjects. I booked Tara well over a year in advance, as April is a high traffic wedding month for her, and be forewarned that her weekends are generally reserved for wedding photoshoots. She photographed both my engagement (had to be a weekday) and wedding and set up a wedding photobooth. For the wedding, a second photographer was called in (Caitlin McWeeney) and I was impressed by their smooth dynamic. Tara delivers all items (USB of edited photos + prints + cards) in a tidy package with a very personalized touch. She is also wonderfully tech savvy, so I can retrieve what I want online. Tara is jovial, knowledgeable, and incredibly talented. Book her now!

Profile Picture Karen, 4/26/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara was one of the absolute best parts of our whole wedding! We got married in April and despite having to revamp plans due to the weather, Tara went with the flow and captured amazing images. She caught everything, from the details to our teary moments to the crazy dancing! It was a blast. My now-husband still comments on how she made everyone feel so comfortable, while also telling us exactly what to do to get a great picture!

Also, the blog post and picture slideshow set to music she creates for you is priceless. I can't recommend her highly enough.

Profile Picture Erin, 4/6/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara was great from day one. My husband and I felt comfortable around her, she was professional and always responsive, and we love the quality of the photos! Everyone can't stop raving about them. I took a long time to pick my photographer because the photos are the one thing you get to keep forever, and Tara exceeded my expectations. I know I will treasure these photos for the rest of my life. Some of the shots she captured, I don't even know how she did it. She was great at keeping us on schedule and making sure we got all the family photos and portraits in, and she also caught some amazing candids. I also love the engagement photos she did. I highly recommend her. She is an awesome photographer AND a fun person to hang out with.

Profile Picture Arianna, 3/29/14, 12 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Of all of our vendors, we probably spent more time and researched a greater number of photographers than we did for any other type of vendor. After initial contacts and interviewing two of them, Tara was hands-down the clear choice for us based on her style and how well we meshed personality-wise even over Skype! If you're going to spend the better part of 8 hours with someone following you around at such a significant occasion, it's pretty important that you at least get along and Tara was someone we would want to have as a friend. (It's also important that you're comfortable with how close the photographer wants to get to your face on a regular basis. Thankfully, Tara was a good fit for us there, too as she was never "right up in there" as another photographer told us they would be. All the time.)

Tara's fantastic sense of humor and general style put us at ease right away in both our engagement session and on our wedding day. She came to Houston (where we met and live) for our engagement session and did such a wonderful job that we decided to use three of her photos in a Minted minibook for our invitations. Style-wise, we got exactly what we expected based on what we had seen on her website. We also wanted some posed family portraits after the ceremony and she made sure to get all of those as well. She was always easy to work with, made us laugh throughout both the engagement session and the wedding day, never got in the way or made us uncomfortable, was generally unobtrusive, and worked well with our videographer (who she had never met). She delivered the photos right on time per what she had promised in our contract and gave us all of the files on a memory stick so that we can print/distribute to family and friends as we wish.

Tara was wonderful to work with and we can't recommend her highly enough! If you enjoy the style of her photography, you will certainly enjoy working with her!

Profile Picture Ashley, 10/19/13, 10 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

The pictures I have seen from my daughter's September wedding are unique and beyond beautiful. I can't wait to see the rest of them.

Profile Picture Linda, 9/7/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

If there was a way to give Tara higher than a 5, I would. My wedding was last week so I have only seen 3 pictures so far, but they were enough to render some of our family and friends speechless. She is extremely professional but relaxed at the same time. Her best traits on what will probably be one of the most stressful days of your life is that she is accomodating/flexible, understanding of the drama, and knows what she is doing! I'm privileged that I was able to have such a great friend at my wedding and that she was also the person who was capturing those moments for our friends and family for the future. When we look back on these photos 25+ years from now, I won't regret my decision to use the wonderful and talented Tara Welch.

Profile Picture Nadiera, 6/29/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara was AMAZING to work with! I researched for a long time for a photographer that would fit our taste. We didn't want a portrait photographer that would just point and shoot, we were looking for someone who would capture the day and emotions!!!! The ceremony, the cocktail hour, the beauty of the reception, the laughs, the happy tears, the DANCING....all of it. I could tell she was just what we wanted. Tara was very professional and actually got married in between the time we met/first emailed and our wedding date....she even replied to an email I sent while she was on her honeymoon! I met her in person the day of the wedding and was a little nervous about that being we are not models and could be a little uncomfortable "smiling for the camera". However she jumped right in, meshed amazingly with our personalities and made the day comfortable and fun. I loved her and would recommend her to anyone!!!

Profile Picture cassady, 11/3/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Independent of being an absolute sweetheart, Tara is a consummate professional. We loved having her at our wedding and will be recommending her to all our friends who have subsequently become engaged in the weeks following our nuptials!

Profile Picture Kerry, 10/13/12, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We worked with the amazingly talented and amazing Tara Welch for our engagement shoot and wedding, and were so thrilled to have her document our event. She captured exactly the style and feel of photography we had envisioned for both of the shoots (more modern and poppy for our e-shoot, and more vintage/old Hollywood for our wedding), and created the most gorgeous photos imaginable that we will love forever!

Tara and her assistant beautifully handled our long wedding, even when a few major scheduling hold-up's on behalf of the transportation and other vendors threatened to throw the whole thing off. Tara was a joy to work with, making us feel totally comfortable and natural in front of the camera. She captured all our requested shots and left us with hundreds and hundreds of absolutely stunning, frame-worthy photos that are each little artistic masterpieces in their own right!

We highly recommend Tara for anyone who wants gorgeous, unforgettable photography documenting their special day!

Profile Picture Natasha, 6/17/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I was lucky enough to find Tara while she was still living in DC. Now she is based in Austin but she traveled for my wedding. From the minute I met Tara I just loved her personality, so friendly, so sweet, but clearly very knowledgeable. I struggled with how much I wanted to pay for photography and how much coverage I really wanted. I knew I didn't want engagement shots or any "getting ready" shots, and she was willing to work with me.

This review is more to speak to Tara's work at the wedding. She was totally calm and relaxed but knew what shots she wanted. She was great at directing everyone. She had worked at my venue before so she knew all the cool little spots to take pictures. One of my favorite parts of the wedding was when it was just my groom and me taking pictures with Tara. It was so relaxing and fun.

Her pictures on her website just speak for themselves which is how I ultimately decided to go with Tara. I highly recommend her if you're looking for an artistic and beautiful aesthetic, and also someone just wonderful to work with!

Profile Picture Mary, 6/15/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Aside from the man I married, Tara was easily the best decision we made in planning our wedding. I have seen my fair share of wedding photos, and they always look “nice,” but Tara is out of this world. She is so talented, so artistic, and so incredible – I realize I am biased, but I honestly think that our photos are some of the best wedding photos that I’ve ever seen. We received countless compliments, and family members who are usually impossible to please can’t stop gushing about how wonderful the photos are. From the bridal party, so the ceremony, to our lively reception, she captured every moment of our day in a perfect mix of portraits and editorial, and we feel so lucky to have found her. Her photos will be our favorite wedding keepsake for the rest of our lives.

Aside from her incredible talent (you can see a few of our photos here: http://tarawelchphotography.com/sarah-braden-carlyle-club-wedding-sneak-peek/), she has a great personality. She is laid back, fun, and personable, and as a bride full of nerves, having her nearby calmed me down and gave me the confidence that everything was going to turn out beautifully. She handled the stress of photographing my giant blended family (parents, stepparents, cousins, siblings, etc) without batting an eye, and did not miss a single shot we wanted to capture.

Another great benefit of working with Tara is that she gives you full rights to your photos – she literally sends you a thumb drive with the images, so you can make as many prints as you would like for years to come. For us, this was a huge added value.

I can’t say enough good things about Tara. Choosing her as your photographer will be the best decision you make in your wedding planning process.

Profile Picture Sarah, 6/2/12, 10 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We were truly blessed to have Tara Welch Photography shoot our wedding. Tara is creative, professional, and a breeze to work with. She captured moments big and small at our wedding and reception, and we will enjoy the results for the rest of our lives.

Profile Picture T.J., 11/5/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara is amazing! She photographed my engagement and wedding photos in Alexandria, Virginia. Tara is a true artist, her work speaks for itself. Beyond her amazing eye, she is so much fun to work with. Friendly, creative, and energetic, Tara makes the whole process exciting. I found her professional and extremely reasonably priced. You're lucky if you book her!

Profile Picture Jessica, 10/22/11, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara Welch is such an incredible photographer!!! When my husband and I were looking for photographers for our wedding we were really looking for someone who shared our sense of taste and style. We visited many photographers' websites and were blown away by Tara's aesthetic. She is just so talented and not at all generic. We absolutely loved our wedding pictures and our complimentary engagement session. Our family and friends were also so impressed with the quality and creativity Tara brought to our pictures. She's also incredibly sweet and puts everyone at ease during the whole process. Tara was our very favorite wedding vendor and we just cannot give her enough props. She is an artist and super nice and fun to be around to boot. Finally, she's very professional and gives you every confidence that your memories of the most important day of your life are in good hands.

Profile Picture Michelle , 8/20/11, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I am so glad we hired Tara as our photographer. She has a natural eye for beauty and managed to capture the moment with every shot.

She was a delight to have with me on my wedding day. I highly recommend her to any bride and groom.

With Tara, you know you have made the right choice.

Profile Picture Catherine, 7/27/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Hiring Tara Welch was the best decision we made in the entire wedding planning process. She was incredibly professional and has her business model down to a T, but at the same time held an incredible sense of imagination and whimsy that led to unbelievably beautiful photos. We felt completely at ease with her, as if we had known her for years!

The engagement session, which was included in our package, was a fantastic chance for us all to get to know one another, and helped us all feel much more comfortable on the day of. I highly suggest this to everyone!

Tara really took the time to learn who we are, and what our vision of the wedding was, which really reflects in the photos. She is a true gem! The photos speak for themselves.

Profile Picture Becky, 6/25/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Our photos turned out amazing! Tara did a great job at capturing our own personalities in every photo. She also knew exactly how to make us relax in front of the camera so we could have fun and be ourselves. I could not be happier with the pics or the service that we got!

Profile Picture Autumn, 6/18/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Tara is an incredibly talented photographer technically and has the creative touch that so few photographers possess. She is extremely professional and it was a pleasure to have her shoot our wedding

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Adam, 6/18/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I chose Tara to be our photographer for a post-wedding reception we had for 50 of our closest friends. It was a really important occasion for us and she went above and beyond the call of duty for us in EVERY was possible. She is so professional, kind, genuine, authentic and honest.

Her talent and her eye for photography are superb. We have gorgeous photos from our event that are artistic, emotional, beautiful... and that seriously capture moments that are the most significant to us. I've seen a lot of wedding photos and ours are really special. Friends are in awe of our photos, we are in awe of our photos and we can't wait to put them all over our home and give them to friends and family.

I don't believe you could find a better photographer. From the moment you meet Tara to the time you receive the finished product, she is amazing in her personality, work ethic, her craft and her professionalism. Thank you Tara!!!

Profile Picture Lena, 5/21/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography