Skip to main content
Weddings

Rev. James / Wedding Officiant Reviews

Rev. James / Wedding Officiant

Rev. James / Wedding Officiant

Aiea, HI
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 184 Reviews
View more information

184 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 184
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

82 User photos

  • C
    Christopher S. Married on 11/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    James Chun

    James helped us to experience an elopement that we wanted. We’re very thankful to him and appreciate everything he did
  • Tyler
    Tyler W. Married on 10/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Heartfelt, Hidden Gem

    Rev. James is absolutely the best Wedding Officient to make your special day magical and memorable. His well spoken and warm words make an unforgettable impression. Do not hesitate to reach out to him even if not in Hawaii. He is well worth hiring and we cannot give a higher recommendation. He makes everything so personable to you. If you want someone who is dependable, responsive, and focused on you, Rev. James is your guy. You and your guests will resonate with his personal touch and heartfelt delivery.
  • Brenda
    Brenda C. Married on 09/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rev Chun is amazing!

    Rev. James Chun was easy to work with and incredibly accommodating throughout our wedding process. He was understanding about all of our date changes (3 in total!), and overall radiated a kind, warm, and gentle spirit. I've never been to a wedding before, and was nervous about all the specifics, but he reassured us over the phone and guided us through the process with patience and understanding. On the day of the wedding, he brought that same warm energy to the ceremony! We highly recommend Rev. James Chun!
  • E
    Edrick G. Married on 07/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hawaii Wedding Studio

    Having a spur of the moment decision to elope while on our joint birthday celebration in Hawaii
    and keeping it a surprise from my family makes it extra nerve wrecking to find a wedding officiant. Here comes Rev James Chun to the rescue! My fiancé originally planned on surprising me by inviting my mother and brother to our planned joint birthday vacation in Hawaii. Due to logistical issues, that plan fell through and their secret was out. So then I asked my fiancé since my family was already coming with us if she was willing to elope while we were there. She said, “Sure, why not?” So we kept that as a surprise from them until the ceremony day. Finding Rev James Chun’s website was super easy. His video explaining the process made it really simple to follow, every step of the way. This includes tips on getting your marriage license from the Department of Health. The day of our wedding turned out to be the most memorable, it was at the end of the day during golden hour on my birthday. We chose Magic Island Beach as our event location. There were multiple other weddings happening around us taking all the choice spots, so we found a gorgeous location with Diamond Head mountain as the backdrop. Rev James had very eloquent words for our ceremony and even suggested a flower shop we could go to for our traditional wedding leis. We opted to also hire his recommended photographer who took excellent images of our day. Not a dry eye between all of us during our vow exchange, so this made for a more special intimate ceremony. We highly recommend Hawaii Wedding Studio if you are in need of a wedding officiant and plan on getting married in paradise. Even if you’re Mainlanders looking for a more intimate elopement, Rev James can accommodate your every need. This sure beats getting hitched in a courthouse, or a Las Vegas Drive Thru…
  • Coral
    Coral G. Married on 07/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing a+++

    Rev James Chun is just simply the best officiant we could've asked for! I messaged him about 1 month before my last minute elopement. It was like 3am California time and he replied right away! I was impressed by that right off the bat. I love that he offers a package that includes his officiant services, photography and hair/makeup. That made it so easy for me and two less things to worry about. His photographer (Samie Cacayurin) and Makeup Artist (Heather Heen) were excellent as well. The whole process from start to finish was seamless. I was nervous about planning an Oahu elopement from California, especially since I had never been to Hawaii before but James was so informative, thorough, friendly, quick to answer all my questions. Another thing we loved about him is that he was "no frills"..he was straight to the point. When I was browsing the web for officiants, everyone kind of seemed fake, overly enthusiastic and my husband and I are reserved, not "people" people. James was calm, friendly, and when we told him we wanted privacy, he recommended a perfect beach and he knew just the spot to have the ceremony. There was barely anyone there, I think one other bride at a different spot, and a couple joggers along the trail. Even though we're not usually cryers, his words and ceremony made us cry throughout. It was exactly what I was hoping for. Thank you again, Rev James! Highly recommended!!
  • Lauren
    Lauren B. Married on 06/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing! So happy we chose Rev. James!

    Rev. James brought the perfect energy to our ceremony at Kualoa Ranch. He radiates a genuineness that makes you like him immediately. He has a very kind, calm, and gentle nature to him and that made the ceremony really special. He had a warm smile the entire time, and he delivered a really nice message during our ceremony. He is very busy (we can see why!) but very reliable, and prompt. We are really glad we went with him as our officiant, I don't think there could have been anyone better suited to guide us through the biggest moment of the entire wedding day!! My husband and I had nothing but good things to say about him!
  • M
    Marina B. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exponential

    Rev. James has been so easy to work with these last 2 years and out location was so beautiful. My tutu wanted to renew her vows on the Aina and he made her wedding dreams come true!

    Rev. James / Wedding Officiant's reply:

    I was a pleasure to meet your family and celebrate their love. Hope you all enjoyed your time here in Hawaii.
  • L
    Lynne Married on 02/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mahalo Rev James!

    We were blessed to have Rev James officiate our wedding!

    We had an intimate ceremony on the grounds at the Hilton last week. Although we met Rev James for the first time that day, he immediately made us feel at ease. When Rev James arrived, we were still setting up a tripod to video our ceremony. Without any hesitation, he offered to take some wedding photos of us and even ended up video taping our ceremony for us with his cell! We are so appreciative to Rev James for his help!

    Our wedding ceremony was perfect! It was simple, but each moment was soo memorable. The message Rev James shared during the ceremony touched our hearts and made our vows even more meaningful. Thank you Rev James for making our wedding so special!

    Rev. James / Wedding Officiant's reply:

    Aloha Lynne.

    I was a pleasure to meet you both. How fortunate for you to have your intimate moment together on the grounds of the hotel. I'm honored I was able to help.
  • Mallory
    Mallory H. Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simple, quick, lovely

    Rev James made it easy to celebrate us! The location, photographer, and intimacy were perfect. Wonderful person to have lucked upon to help us begin our next chapter together 💙.
  • S
    Steven S. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    James chun⭐︯⭐︯⭐︯⭐︯⭐︯

    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
    We are so happy we chose James to officiate our wedding. He was professional and terrific to work with. He was flexible and made some recommendations that made our special day unforgettable. 5/5!!!!
  • T
    Tiffany M. Married on 01/28/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    James is a MUST for a Hawai’i wedding

    James was kind and wonderful. He made our dream of a destination elopement come true and covered every detail. He walked us through everything we needed to do legally, being we were not from this state. We could not have been more pleased! He made our day special and memorable.
  • S
    Shevis I. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent job from start to finish!

    We first saw James Chun give a quick lesson on Ceremony etiquette at a wedding event, and after hearing him speak, we knew we wanted to meet with him. He was very quick to respond and easy to set up meetings with. He was personable and professional, offering both religious and non-religious ceremony options. We enjoyed working with him so much, we invited him and his beautiful wife to our rehearsal dinner and even decided to invite them to stay for the reception! We highly recommend James for your officiant services!!
  • Simon
    Simon Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    the warmest and most professional wedding minister you can ask for!

    We had the most AMAZING experience with Rev. James as our wedding officiant. He went out of his way to create a relaxed and warm environment for our ceremony. He was extremely gracious and flexible with some last minute requests (i.e. leaving some space for the bride to rap her wedding vows; translating for the groom’s mother). The entire process of obtaining our marriage certificate went seamlessly as well! We are so grateful to Rev. James and the role he played in our wedding and would wholeheartedly recommend him to any soon-to-be married couples!
  • Z
    Zandra Z. Married on 07/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding at Wahiawa Botanical Garden

    There are no words that can express how patient, kind, and understanding Rev. James Chun is. I had my ceremony at Wahiawa Botanical Garden. Like most (or some) brides, I had a situation which ended up having me to be late from the start time. Then, I had to wait for my parents who were late as well. He was very kind about it and asked if there was anything that I wanted regarding about who will walk down with me. Of course I wanted my parents next to me and it was very important that my grandma (the last of seven siblings alive and we recently buried her sister) to walk a short walk down (for picture purposes, to be recognized, and be a part of). VERY understanding! He recommended a nice area where my guests can watch and take pictures with a beautiful background. Also, he responds very quickly to emails and in a professional manner. Although this ceremony was small and intimate, my husband and I will be having a big one to have our families from the mainland to come and watch us recite our vows. You have the option to recite your own vows or to follow him. We decided not to for our intimate one. We will surely use his services again for our big one and recommend him to anyone who can’t decide who they would want to wed them. Thank you Reverend Chun!
  • Jacob
    Jacob M. Married on 04/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing and Very Patient

    Rev. James made our wedding amazing. We were running a little late with getting everything set up, and Rev. James gave us the time to make sure everything was in order. Rev. James also came very prepared and helped us make our day run smoothly. We have alot of respect for him and believe he is the best choice when it comes to wedding officiants in Hawaii. Very happy, thanks again Rev. James for making our day amazing.
    - Amanda and Jake
  • Penelope
    Penelope H. Married on 03/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Happy Rev. Chun was our officiant!!

    Rev. Chun performed our ceremony just over a week ago & it was beautiful. His words are sincere & beautiful. He was so professional & so prompt addressing my emails. Really happy we put the research in & found him. I wouldn’t want anyone else to have performed our ceremony. He exceeded our expectations.
  • G
    Greg Married on 01/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stress free

    Reverend James was very Thorough and put together and wonderful stress free service along with a photographer on very short notice . It’s was spiritual and intamemt.
    Thank you Reverend James for making our day special .
  • Josh
    Josh D. Married on 11/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!

    James was on time, professional and more than working with our timeline. He took care of all the paperwork to finalize our marriage and made our day even more memorable.
  • J
    Josh F. Married on 11/12/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The BEST officiate in Oahu

    As someone who has been in the wedding industry for 15 years, there's no one I know who has more integrity and talent than James Chun. We chose James to officiate our wedding because of how great he is as a professional but also because he is a great person and family man. My wife did not know James prior to the wedding, but after searching through minister's, she had the same conclusion as I, that James was the best choice. Mahalo again James!
  • D
    Diane Married on 09/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our ceremony with James on 4 September was beautiful! James suggested Magic Island - a lovely location with Diamond Head in the background.
  • G
    Ginny Married on 08/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Reverend Chun was highly recommended by our wedding coordinator and we couldn't be happier with our overall experience. From the beginning, communication was very easy and Rev. Chun was very fast getting back to us with our questions. I come from a Korean background and it was important to me to incorporate a couple of little cultural references in our ceremony. Rev. Chun was more than accommodating with our needs and was open to helping customize our experience. From the rehearsal to the real deal ceremony, everything was expertly executed and we appreciated Rev. Chun's professionalism and being so punctual. You won't be disappointed :)
  • C
    Curtis Married on 07/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    James was amazing. He was very accommodating, super professional and affordable. Rev James Chun helped me plan the wedding ceremony and even took many beautiful pictures for us with his phone. I HIGHLY recommend booking rev James Chun for your ceremony.
  • J
    Jerry Married on 05/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rev. James Chun has made our wedding very intimate and special. He has accommodated all of wedding needs. Very professional, quality of service was awesome and response to questions are quick. Definitely would recommend if you are planning to get married.
  • B
    Betsy Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't thank James enough for making our ceremony so special. He was so easy to work with and made us feel so comfortable. Hope to see you again one day.. ALOHA!

    Rev. James / Wedding Officiant's reply:

    Wow! I love the photos! Thanks so much for sharing those and having me as a part of it! You guys were great!
  • C
    Carmen Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I really loved the services you provided. You were very personable and easy to contact. It really felt like a family member was performing the services. Thank you so much for making our wedding day perfect.

    Carmen and Marco Lopez