Lane & Simple Reviews

31 | Houston, TX
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for Lane & Simple

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

31

31 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Martha H. · Getting married on 05/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was exactly what we wanted!

    Our son is a fly fisherman & he created the perfect fly fishing groom cake?

    Sent on 12/31/2020
  • Brandi

    Brandi · Married on 02/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Cake

    We did one cake for our wedding and it was absolutely amazing!! Anthony did a great job and everyone loved it. All we had left over was half of our bottom layer....amazing coke!!! He is such a great guy and had great communication throughout the entire planning process. I’ve even had him make a birthday cake for my daughter’s 18th birthday through all of this. Highly recommended!!!

    Sent on 02/07/2021
  • K

    Karen K. · Married on 12/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and Delicious!

    I first tasted Anthony’s cakes at a wedding that I attended in January of this year. Most wedding cakes are beautiful but don’t taste all that great. I can remember saying that this is the best cake I have ever tasted. The almond cream, lemon lavender and chocolate chip cakes were moist and delicious. As we were planning my daughter’s wedding, I reached out to Anthony to see if he delivered outside of the Houston area. We were so excited to find out that he did for such a reasonable price. We scheduled a tasting and they decided on the almond cream. My daughter also wanted a cake with cinnamon because her favorite cookie is snickerdoodle. Anthony created the perfect snickerdoodle cake. He delivered the cakes from Houston to Georgetown without hassle. Not only was the cake stunning but was delicious. Anthony is an amazing baker who is a joy to work with. He truly cares about the couple getting exactly what they want. He was especially good at following up with us during the entire process. And I love the fact that he gives a portion of his profits to local non-profits and missions. I highly recommend Anthony with Lane and Simple!

    Sent on 12/31/2020
  • K

    Katie W. · Married on 11/15/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    the BEST cake and BEST vendor!!

    If I could recommend one vendor to all of my friends and family, it's Lane and Simple. Anthony went above and beyond to make all of our cake dreams come true. Cake tasting in a pandemic was a breeze - he brought our favorite flavors to our door and walked us through his process. Once we tasted we were hooked - I truly have not had a better wedding cake! He alternated layers on our bridal cake so every other was either a delicious lemon lavender or truly bridal almond cream cake. His dark chocolate ganache topped with chocolate covered strawberries was a DREAM! We received so many compliments that day and all of my bridal party went back for seconds.

    Anthony is so easy to work with and delivered our cake from Houston to College Station without hassle. Our family now uses Lane and Simple for all birthdays, holidays, etc. 10/10!!! Lock down this vendor now - you are in for the biggest treat!

    Sent on 12/29/2020
  • L

    Laura B. · Married on 10/18/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Personalized boutique service

    Anthony Lane of Lane and Simple provides personalized service starting with meeting with client with an assortment of his cake flavors and icings. You can mix and match and even change from layer to layer. The tasting was a fun wedding memory.
    The day of the wedding the bride and groom’s cakes were delivered, set up well in advance of the ceremony.
    The cakes were moist and delicious!

    Sent on 12/29/2020
  • E

    Eboney J. · Married on 09/25/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lane & Simple

    2020 was definitely a difficult to year to be planning a wedding but choosing Lane & Simple was the easiest decision of all. After the first time meeting Anthony ( such a kind guy ) & tasting the delicious cakes we knew we’d be going with Lane & Simple & there was no need to look any further. Instead of the traditional one cake, we decided on 3 (mainly because it was impossible to choose one favorite flavor) and grooms cookies instead of a cake. It was perfect & exactly what we wanted. But above all it taste as good as it looks. We will definitely be going with Lane & Simple for future events.

    Sent on 12/31/2020
  • M

    Martha H. · Married on 09/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Creative and perfect!

    Our son is a fly fisherman and we wanted a groom's cake to fit him - the result was perfrct. And a hit at the wedding - plus, delicious!

    Sent on 01/02/2021
  • R

    Rachael P. · Married on 01/18/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply Amazing!

    Anthony, the owner and creator behind Lane and Simple made our wedding cake dreams come true!! Not only was the cake STUNNING, it was delicious! You are able to customize each tier to your liking and the number of flavors he has is incredible! Talk about hard to choose from. Everybody wanted to know, “who made the cake?! I’ve never had something like this before”. Truly a unique business that care about its couples!! We also had a cookie/ petite four spread instead of a grooms cake which everybody loved! If you want stunning, affordable, delicious deserts or wedding cakes, look no further. Lane and Simple is simply where it’s at!

    Sent on 07/09/2020
  • J

    Jade · Married on 01/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I contacted Anthony as I needed cookies for a New Years party, and they did a fantastic job. They delivered the cookies and laid them out for me when they got to the event, which was a great help. They are very friendly and accommodating. I am using them again for a Valentine's Day party because they did an excellent job. Definitely recommended!!

    Sent on 01/29/2018
  • Cheryl

    Cheryl T. · Married on 01/02/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved our Wedding Cake!

    The cake that Anthony made for my daughter's wedding was not only delicious, it was beautiful! We enjoyed working with Anthony -- he honored our requests in regard to flavor and decor no problem. He is easy to work with and uses high quality ingredients. I highly recommend Lane and Simple!

    Sent on 07/23/2020
  • Patrick

    Patrick L. · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How sweet it is!

    Simply put, Anthony provided us with the wedding showstopper that exceeded even our expectations! The cake was unbelievable (not to mention the otherworldly cookies), all our guests were completely blown away by each cake tier (vanilla/almond; lemon/lavender; banana/ chocolate chip; funfetti) with most seeking me out to specifically mention that they had no idea wedding cakes could be so delicious! The look of the cake was perfect; simple, understated, and beautiful. Anthony is also an amazing person, using the profits to donate to different non-profit organizations. An all around great person, and amazing baker! Everything about working with him; from our initial meeting, to seeing him setting up the cake the day of the wedding was an amazing experience.

    Sent on 12/27/2019
  • Patty

    Patty · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic cake tasting!

    Sampled three types of cakes/frosting. Great texture, light, well balanced cake to a not-too-sweet frosting. Lemon cake was incredible. Anthony was an attentive listener and we are so excited to work with him!

    Sent on 02/17/2019
  • Jeff

    Jeff · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Desserts so good, you'll wish you kept more for yourself!

    From the initial tasting, we knew that we had found one of the best dessert chefs in Houston. The only thing matching Anthony's delicious cakes was his creativity in combining interesting flavors that go well beyond the normal (and boring) wedding cake flavors. The cake itself is incredibly delicate and has wonderful base flavor. The frostings are exactly the right amount, and are intertwined with the right balance of sweet, salt, and taste. We decided to go with cupcakes for our guests to increase the variety (and reducing the fighting!) and asked Anthony to make a special cake for us. He made us a full-sized taster sample and, when we had some suggestions on it, he went way above-and-beyond to make one of the best cakes I've ever had (seriously, ask for the maple bacon!). We froze some for later, but will probably just ask him to make us another cake for our anniversary. We also had him make cookies for our guests to take home, and he knocked it out of the park. One guest told us that the rainbow sugar cookie was the best cookie they've ever had. Congrats to you, dear reader, for you have now found your dessert vendor!

    Sent on 10/21/2019
  • E

    Erin O. · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best cookies ever!

    We used Lane & Simple as an alternative to a groom’s cake by having chocolate chip cookies instead of a cake. They are truly the best cookies, and there were none left at the end of the wedding because everyone loved then so much! We also have sampled different cakes from him and they were just as delicious. Anthony is a joy to work with, and we look forward to working with Lane & Simple again. I would definitely recommend using Lane & Simple!

    Sent on 01/06/2020
  • M

    Maddie S. · Married on 09/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We use L&S for all our dessert needs because they are that good!

    I was a Lane & Simple fan long before I was engaged & had a wedding to plan. Their love for their customers is so apparent in everything they do and wow do their cookies & cakes taste good! We’ve used Lane & Simple for a large birthday party (about 50 people) and for our wedding, and let me tell ya, you can’t make it through an event with their desserts without a crowd of people asking “who made that??” And while the food is unbelievably yummy, it’s the love and care they put into each customer interaction that will keep you coming back to them long after your big day! I cannot recommend Lane & Simple (or the simple chip cookie 😋) highly enough.

    Sent on 12/30/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lane & Simple went above and beyond!

    We are so happy to have had Lane & Simple help us celebrate our wedding day! Everything from start to finish was so simple, enjoyable, and delicious! Anthony is so helpful and communicative and he made us the most perfect deserts for our wedding. We chose the vanilla almond cake and chocolate chip cake and also had chocolate chunk and funfetti cookies – everything was so delicious! All the deserts were so beautiful, but the flavor was above and beyond! We got so many compliments on the beauty and flavor of our wedding cake. Working with Lane & Simple was a dream – set up was seamless, the quality of cake was excellent, and the service was more than we could have asked! If you are looking for a baker, look no further! I’m already looking forward to our anniversary cake!

    Sent on 08/25/2019
  • N

    Natalie H. · Married on 03/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Delicious and Beautiful

    We ordered our wedding cake from Lane & Simple and it was absolutely delicious! (Vanilla flavor). Other guests also complimented how good it was. It was the style I like--simple and elegant. I am so glad with how it turned out! And the complimentary cake tier on our 1 year anniversary is a bonus :)

    Sent on 03/21/2019
  • B

    Barbara C. · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Grooms cake was delivered to Audubon Tea Room

    The chocolate Saints grooms cake was not only beautiful but delicious as well! So many friends are calling to ask about the delicious & moist grooms cake! They loved it!
    Great job Anthony!
    Thank you so much!!

    Sent on 03/13/2019
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany C. · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST Cake in the World!!!

    Lane and Simple is the absolute best! Anthony worked with us on exactly what we wanted - including making a brand new Pound Cake (never made before for a wedding) for my husband who just wanted a blueberry pound cake as his Groom's Cake! Our wedding cake was perfect! Simple, elegant and goooood!
    See - here's the thing about Anthony's cakes: they're beautiful, yes. But more than that, they ALWAYS taste amazing! On the Bridal Cake, we had strawberry and lemon lavendar layers with crumbles in between each with an almond icing...is your mouth watering yet?! And it was INCREDIBLE!! In fact, so incredible, we ran out of lemon lavendar before our coordinator could put some back for us to take home!
    You get it all when you book with Lane and Simple - beautiful cakes, incredible flavor, and over the top service that goes above and beyond to give you everything you want for your big day!!

    Sent on 02/22/2019

    Lane & Simple's reply:

    This was the absolute best review. You guys are the best and it was such an honor to be part of y'alls day in this way!
  • Jenna

    Jenna R. · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best tasting wedding cake

    Lane and Simple was a GREAT vendor and gave me the best wedding cake I could have imagined. Anthony, the owner, is a very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable baker and was a great help as I tried to decide what I want and leading up to the wedding as I had any questions or concerns. Anthony made me a 5 tier cake to feed 250, with 2 different flavors, both of which were INCREDIBLE. I had so many people at my wedding and following my wedding tell me how good the cake was. Anthony helped me from beginning to end, providing a variety of flavors for the tasting, all of which were great, and creating a cake identical to the one I requested. I would recommend all of my friends and family to use him!!

    Sent on 12/17/2018
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond Delicious Desserts!

    Lane & Simple was probably one of the best choices I made for my wedding. Not only was Anthony patient and flexible when I changed how I wanted the cake to look at the last minute, but the cake and cookies were by far the best we've had at any wedding. Guests are still talking about how great it all tasted! And I'm dreaming of another slice of that cake.

    For reference, we did a three tiered lemon cake with lavender buttercream. We also served chocolate chip cookies and Reese's cup cookies - my husband loves cookies and could not get enough of these. We even asked our wedding planner to package some up and put them in our getaway car so we could have a late night snack!

    Sent on 12/04/2018
  • B

    Bailey · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best!

    It was an absolute privilege to work with Anthony Lane for our wedding cake!!! Anthony is a true joy to work with and far exceeded our expectations with his final product! We came in with a very vague vision of what we liked or wanted and he so patiently showed us pictures and sketches until we had chalked up the perfect cake! Our order was not a simple one (5 layers with various textures and flavors) and he NAILED IT!!! Anthony works so hard and it is so apparent his motivation to please his customers. He is absolutely amazing choice for a wedding cake baker and we hope to use him for other baking needs in the future!!!

    Sent on 10/30/2018

    Lane & Simple's reply:

    it was an absolute honor! Thank you guys for choosing us for your day! Welcome to the family, forever. Can't wait to make the anniversary cake! :)
  • H

    Haley · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lane and simple is the easiest to work with! They are amazing and the cookies are amazing! Anthony made cookie favor bags for our wedding and they were gone in minutes!!! He is simply the best!

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • Savannah

    Savannah · Married on 03/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely AMAZING Experience!

    Working with Anthony was so great! He made the whole process so easy and simple, which is just what this VERY stressed bride needed! We did mini pecan pies, cookies and our bridal cake. He totally exceeded my exact vision of our cake and made my whole dream of our “sweet treat” bar come to life! My wedding would not have been complete without the milk and cookie station Anthony set up for us. I HIGHLY recommend him to work with.

    Sent on 10/17/2019
  • Shelby

    Shelby R. · Married on 01/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect.

    Anthony was a dream to work with. He made “the cake” by far the most joyful and easy aspect of our wedding planning! He started by listened so intently to my vision for the whole night and then helped guide me through designing the perfect cake and desserts. I felt so calm because I know he cared so deeply that who my husbnad and I were as a couple and the vision of our day were expressed in his work. He then created the most beautiful and delicious cake I had ever seen. You know your cake stands out when people keep coming up to you in the middle of the reception and saying, “Shelby, have you gotten to try to cake yet?! You have to go have a piece of the (insert their favorite layer here- which I heard them all!)”. That was the cherry on top of knowing we had made the perfect decision. The cake was the cherry on top of our night. It was memorable to all our guest.

    Not only was the cake the centerpiece of night, but Anthony also made cookies like I had never heard! It was so fun to have two different options for different guests preferences. I highly suggest letting Anthony guide you through all the different options he is capable of. His diversity in skill made him such an asset to our wedding.

    At the end of the day what I loved most about working with Anthony, was that his presence alone made my wedding a better day. His thoughtfulness, kindness, and professionalism touched everyone he worked with.

    You want as man like Anthony to be a part of your wedding. He will care deeply for you and make your vision as reality.

    Sent on 03/26/2019