39 Reviews for Crystal Lake Golf Course

5.0
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
+3
Photos
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Linens (4)
Clean Up (3)
Event Planning (3)
Set Up (3)
Bartender(s) (3)
Champagne Toast (3)
House Beer (3)
House Wine (3)
Liquor License (3)
Open Bar (3)
Premium Liquor (3)
House Liquor (3)
Specialty Beer (3)
Specialty Wine (3)
Parking (3)
Uncovered Outdoor (2)
Wheelchair Access (2)
Indoor (1)
Bridal Suite (1)
In-House Bar (1)
Cash Bar (1)
Barware (1)
Glassware (1)
39 Crystal Lake Golf Course Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

Wow what an experience!

I spent an extensive amount of time searching for the perfect up north venue and probably looked at 10 venues, and Crystal Lake Golf Course was by far the best for its price. We didn't spend nearly the amount most couples do, but all of our guests commented on what an elegant venue it was. The view is perfect especially at sunset, the tent is clean, the bathrooms new (and they're NOT portapotties like other venues). Another plus-- there's a Best Western a mile away and plenty of housing options 15 minutes away in Frankfort. I noticed many other "up north" venues didn't have close hotels, so that was a definite plus for this place.

Amanda (the venue's coordinator) is super on top of everything as well. She's organized, and she was good at communicating in a way you were comfortable with. We mostly texted, which I found nice as we communicated mostly while I was at work. She handles nearly all the vendor coordination for you, she orders your linens, sets everything up, and tears everything down. She also handles all bar coordination. On the day of Amanda made sure everything went without a hitch. Our ceremony started right on time, and after that we moved from activity to activity right on schedule. Truly loved working with her. She's really the reason why this venue is successful.

Other comments-- the bar choices are all fantastic and reasonably priced. We got the premium bar (didn't include that in overall price to just rent the venue/linens/tables/chairs/ceremony space) and everyone was blown away by the liquor choices. Also you get a choice of one craft beer with the premium bar, and we chose Two-Hearted. What a good choice! We got so many compliments!

Overall it felt like a very expensive wedding all for a bargain price. This venue doesn't need a whole lot of dress up with flowers and decorations to feel nice. It's beautiful on its own. Loved everything about our wedding day!

Profile Picture Colleen, 9/16/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Amanda at crystal lake golf club went above and beyond for us. Anywhere from my worries about the decor and my husbands worries about alcohol choices, she made this so very smooth sailing! The venue was perfect and we received many compliments of how beautiful and unique it was. I feel we truely picked the very best place for the best day of our lives!

Profile Picture Jordyn, 8/26/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Crystal Lake Golf Course and Amanda were seriously amazing to work with! The day went so smooth and everything was perfect! Not only did the wedding day go so perfectly, but every day planning leading up to the big day, Amanda was on top of everything and a huge help in the planning process! I wish I could go back and experience the day all over again! Thank you!

Profile Picture Lindsey, 8/12/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had the absolute best experience with Amanda and Crystal Lake Golf Club!! The site was gorgeous and everything was set up exactly how I imagined it. And the view of Crystal Lake at sunset was just astonishing. I continuously hear comments from friends and family about how perfectly the reception went. I can't say enough good things about how great Amanda (the wedding coordinator) was and how easy she made everything for me on the big day! She is extremely organized and very responsive which I found was not the case with some other wedding vendors I dealt with. She answered every question I had in detail and accommodated pretty much any request I had so I think nothing would be too outrageous to ask. Amanda was friendly, easy to work with, and will definitely relieve any stress about your wedding day! I would recommend Crystal Lake Golf Club to anyone who is looking for a beautiful site for a northern Michigan wedding!!

Photo for Crystal Lake Golf Course Review
Photo for Crystal Lake Golf Course Review
Photo for Crystal Lake Golf Course Review
Photo for Crystal Lake Golf Course Review
Photo for Crystal Lake Golf Course Review
Profile Picture Jessica, 8/12/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Parking, Wheelchair Access, Linens, Uncovered Outdoor, Bridal Suite, Clean Up, Event Planning, In-House Bar, Set Up
5.0

Crystal Lake Golf Club was hands down the best venue I could have chosen for my wedding. I had both the ceremony and reception at CLGC and Amanda made sure everything ran smooth from start to finish! People have not stopped talking about how beautiful the entire day was...I highly recommend!!!!

Profile Picture Kate, 8/5/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Absolutely LOVED working with Crystal Lake Golf Course for my wedding reception. Amanda is amazing and so nice to work with. It was hard for me since I live in Ohio and I was working with my mom in Indiana for a wedding in Michigan but with Amanda's help we pulled off the PERFECT wedding. It was better than I could ask for. All of our guests were raving throughout the night how beautiful everything was and the view of the lake. I would 100% recommend having your reception here! I can't put into enough words how amazed I was with Amanda and all others at Crystal Lake Golf Course.

Profile Picture Morgan, 7/8/17, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Barware, Glassware, Linens
5.0

We LOVED Crystal Lake Golf Club - it was an incredible venue and our reception was everything that we dreamed it would be. The view is amazing, likely the best kept secret in all of Northern Michigan. The tent was gorgeous, with beautiful lights and flowers. The facilities were clean and beautifully manicured. The service provided by Amanda was phenomenal, she is a true professional and exceptional planner. Their team managed all of our decorations for us and everything looked incredible. The bar value and service was also best in class! I would recommend this venue to anyone!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Katy, 9/3/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Services Used: Clean Up, Event Planning, Set Up, Indoor, Parking, Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine, Linens
5.0

We had an amazing experience with Crystal Lake Golf Club for our wedding venue this past August. Amanda our wedding coordinator handled all the details I planned on the day of. Great communication for this controlling bride. Although the weather didn't cooperate in beginning, Amanda and her team never skipped a beat. I didn't have to worry about a thing. They took care of all everything so I didn't have too. I was able to enjoy all aspects of my wedding day. If there was a problem, I wasn't ever aware of it. They worked with all my requests and verified with my other vendors. My guest said it was the party of the year! Thank you to the staff at Crystal Lake Golf Club! We took amazing photos around the course! And even had a few rounds of golf the day before and day after !!! You guys are the best! ?? Mr. & Mrs. Bosley

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Kristine, 8/20/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

It was absolutely Wonderful, absolutely gorgeous place to get married. ??

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Marissa, 5/28/16, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

This is a great place to have a wedding reception! All you have to do is show up! Everything is done for you! I highly recommend it to anyone that wants to do a summer wedding in Northtern Michigan!

Profile Picture Keeton, 8/7/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Jamie did a great job helping make our wedding day amazing. We live 4 hours away and she was great with recommendations for vendors and assuring us that everything would be perfect.

Profile Picture Amanda, 8/1/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Cannot say enough great things about this venue. From the stunning views of Platte Lake to the excellent staff Crystal Lake Golf Club was the perfect location for our daughters wedding. Liz and Jaime made sure everything went smoothly from start to finish always keeping in contact even though we were three hours away. The bartenders made sure that drinks were flowing in a timely manner which was no small feat as our guest list topped 220 people! After the reception was over the crew at Crystal cleaned everything up and set aside our items for easy pick up the next day. The security staff even called the next day to let us know items had been left behind and that they would send them to us. If you are looking for the perfect place to host a memorable event stop looking, this is " the" place!

Profile Picture Debbie, 6/27/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

The golf course was absolutely beautiful and the perfect spot for my wedding reception. Liz was so wonderful every step of the way and was so quick to return any calls or emails. The entire event went smoothly, thanks to her! I couldn't have asked for a more perfect day!

Profile Picture gina, 6/27/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

My new husband and I recently had our reception at this venue and I have absolutely no regrets! Everything went smooth despite the cold weather and everlasting rain! Liz, their planner, met we me several times and that does not include the handful of text based questions. We brought in 3 heaters to keep warm and there was plenty of room and just enough warmth. The bridal room was quaint and private. The bar staff was friendly and knowledgable. Liz addressed the small last minute problems as they came up. No regrets! I strongly recommend this venue:)

Profile Picture Jessica, 10/4/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We used the Crystal Lake Golf Club for my daughter's wedding reception. Liz and her staff did an outstanding job to ensure that everything was ready upon our arrival. Liz stayed in touch with us via email many times the months prior. She eased long distance concerns by meeting with the caterer and providing us with great suggestions for a florist as well as accommodations. Liz was on site throughout the evening over seeing everything. We couldn't be happier with this venue.

Profile Picture Kate, 9/20/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We recently had our wedding and wedding reception at Crystal lake golf course and couldn't have been happier. The venue itself is beautiful, surrounded by trees and overlooking Crystal lake. The tent is huge and they did an amazing job decorating it, when I saw it for the first time I was speechless at the transformation from the rehearsal to the day of. We worked with Liz and she was great, incredibly helpful and efficient. My questions were answered right away and she was very professional and made sure it all went off without a hitch. My friend is getting married there in a couple of weeks and I'm so excited that she chose that venue. Overall it was a wonderful experience at a wonderful place!

Profile Picture Alexandra, 9/13/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Liz, their wedding coordinator, along with all of the other staff members we encountered throughout the planning process were absolutely fabulous! Our entire wedding was better than we could've ever imagined. We had an absolute blast, and didn't want the evening to end! The quality of service is top notch. You will not be disappointed if you choose to have your wedding or any other event at the Crystal Lake Golf Course with Crystal Lake Weddings.

Profile Picture User4342097, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

A year and a half ago we found the Crystal Lake Golf Course. Instantly I knew this is where I wanted my reception to be. The view and grounds are gorgeous and my guests loved it. Fast forward a year and a half later and the day was here.

ALL the staff at the golf course were amazing, they truly went above and beyond for me and my guests. Liz is a rock star! She is truly every brides dream on such a stressful day. Something's did not go as perfectly with the caterer, but I didn't even find out until the next day. That's how good she is.

Only good things to say about CLGC!

Profile Picture Erica, 8/9/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

As father of the bride I couldn't be more pleased with coordinator Liz, the setting, the view and the entire experience. This was one of the most fun days of my life and we didn't have to worry about anything with the flawless execution of the wedding particulars. My daughter and our families couldn't be more pleased as we received compliment upon compliment on the beauty of the wedding.

Profile Picture David, 7/18/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Choosing a destination wedding presents so many challenges. Being over four hours away requires special trust between you, your bride/groom, and the wedding coordinator and staff. With all things considered, we could not have imagined a better experience that Liz and her staff provided. Our level of expectations were incredibly high, and She and her staff exceeded every expectation we had. Both of us went outside of our comfort zone and laid all our trust in Liz and she delivered. We wouldn't change a thing and have adopted a lifelong friend after our special day!

Profile Picture Rich, 6/21/14, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

I cannot explain enough how much I love this place. Liz did an amazing job putting my vision to real life. She was always on call when I needed her and went above and beyond for me. I never had any issues with them. I would recommend this venue to anyone!

Profile Picture Sarah, 9/14/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

We had a very positive experience with CLGC!! Since we had to plan from 'afar', we really appreciated Liz ' helpfulness and responsiveness to our various phone calls, e-mails, etc. The venue is absolutely beautiful and very clean. The rehearsal night ,as well as wedding/reception, went without a hitch. Everything was absolutely perfect!!!

Profile Picture Jan, 8/25/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

Crystal lake holds a special place in my heart, as my husband and I have spent our summers as a couple up there, visiting his family. I instantly fell in love with the area and wanted my family and friends to be able to enjoy the beauty of Crystal. From the moment we talked about getting married, we knew we wanted to get married by Crystal Lake and we are so happy we did so at Crystal Lake Golf Club. I could not imagine a better venue to get married at- the view is absolutely breath taking! Liz and Jamie went above and beyond with everything and were so supportive and accomodating. I felt like I had my own wedding planner in many ways. For the day of the wedding, Liz and Jamie took care of putting all the decorations up, arranging centerpieces, coordinating with vendors, and much more...I didn't need to worry about anything. When I walked into the tent before getting married I was speechless, it was picture perfect! We had an absolute blast at our wedding and were truly able to enjoy ourselves without worrying about anything. Everything went so smoothly and everyone had a great time.

Profile Picture User2726515, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0

For all you do it yourself brides you know how incredibly stressful it is planning your own wedding. You just want someone to help guide and reassure you everything will turn out beautifully. That is what Liz and her staff were to me. Liz was BEYOND helpful, polite, accommodating, reassuring, very quick to respond to my million emails/questions and more than anything was patient. I can't tell you how many times a question would pop into my head and Liz was always quick with a response and a kind word. Looking back I can't imagine not having someone like her there to help.
The venue is absolutely beautiful, we could not have asked for more. So many of our guests continue to comment how amazing the setting was and how the wedding was one of the best they had been to, all because of Crystal Lake Golf Course.
This truly is the place to get married. I would recommend this location a thousand times over again :). Thank you so much to Liz and her team for making our special day more amazing than I could have ever dreamed.

Crystal

Profile Picture Crystal, 8/18/12, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue