Wedding hair by Charlotte
    21 Reviews
157 MARKET ST
Charleston, SC 29401  | map
Services: Hair
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (21)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got loads of compliments on both my hair and makeup from all my wedding guests, which is because Meg made me look fabulous! Meg and Kelly got me, my four bridesmaids, my mom and the grooms mom all done -up in a few hours and we all looked perfect and were so happy. Charlotte was also very responsive at the beginning with the contract signing and booking. If I'm ever in Charleston again and need my hair cut, I will give Meg a call!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I fell very lucky to have found Charlotte for our big day. She did my hair and makeup for our fall wedding. She listened to what I wanted and delivered. Her skill with hair is so impressive. She has great vision and creates it with ease. I don't wear a lot of make-up normally and she understood what I was comfortable with and applied makeup that looked just like a prettier version of me, nothing too much for my specific style. I was very appreciative of her listening to what I personally wanted, providing helpful suggestions, and her ability to deliver!
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Charlotte did my hair for my wedding and it was so beautiful! She was so personable and I enjoyed working with her and getting to know her! She and her husband run a great salon and you can tell how much hard work they put into creating a successful business! She listened to exactly what I wanted my updo to look like and remembered how to do it a week later, no problems. Charlotte and her team came to my bridal suite in my hotel to do my hair the day of, as well as 9 of my bridesmaids. All my girlfriends loved them and were all very happy with their hair! Charlotte is so down to earth and cheerful, which is exactly what you need as you begin the start of your big day! Thank you Charlotte!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
I could write a novel about how wonderful Charlotte has been throughout this whole process, but I'll try my best to keep it short and sweet. I found Wedding Hair by Charlotte through weddingwire.com. I was planning an out-of-town wedding and was forced to find most of my vendors online. After reading what other reviewers had said about Charlotte and her work, I knew I had to book her for my wedding hair. I scheduled my trial-run at her salon for a few weeks before my wedding and was just blown away. I had shown Charlotte a tiny picture on my phone of what I wanted, and she did more with my hair than I ever thought possible! She made it look absolutely stunning, and completely got my vision and the look I was going for. On my wedding day, Charlotte and her assistant arrived on-time and were cheerful and ready to beautify me and my bridesmaids. She was soooo easy to talk to, and very down to earth too. I could go on and on about the amazing work she did on my hair and my bridesmaids’ hair, and the pictures will tell that story, but what really stands out in my mind is something Charlotte said to me while she was styling my hair. We were talking about an injury she received to her wrist a few days before my wedding. I had mentioned something like, wow, you could have cancelled on me but you didn't. She replied that her clients are among the most important things in the world to her and she would never let one of her brides down. In that moment, I just felt so special and so taken care of! I’m sure there lots of good stylists out there who do nice work, but few are absolutely phenomenal at what they do AND treat their clients like family. It was a true pleasure and an honor to have Charlotte as my wedding hair stylist. My advice to other brides would be to book Charlotte early – she’s not a secret anymore!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

KNG 5 Reviews
I have never felt as beautiful in my entire life as I did on my wedding day, and I owe it all to Charlotte. She did my hair and make-up, and it was spot on what I had envisioned, only better. She is truly talented, and was so personable and friendly on-site on the wedding day. She did my bridesmaids hair as well, and everyone could not stop raving about how happy they were with their up-do. 10 stars :)
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Elizabeth did my hair and she was wonderful! She was always listening to what I wanted and was up for any suggestions if I wanted to make a change! Not to mention she worked magic! My hair is very fine and straight and does not ever hold a curl at all...needless to say I had the most beautiful curls for my wedding just like I wanted, and they never fell!!

Meg did my makeup and it looked flawless! Both of these girls were on time and always professional but fun at the same time!! Charlotte really has a great team and I am so glad I chose them!
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had Natalie Erthum do my hair for both the rehearsal and the wedding day - and my wedding party. Not only did i absolutely love my hair (once down, once up) but I love Natalie! I'm from out of town but I'd hang out with her if she lived nearby. She is easy to work with, and just really nice and fun. I wanted someone low key for the wedding as much as the right style - she hit both requisites perfectly.
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Charlotte and Elizabeth....you girls are AWESOME!

Thank you so much for making me (my mom, and bridesmaids!) look amazing on my wedding day. I had so much fun spending time with ya'll in Hilton Head. Charlotte- you nailed my wedding hair...it was perfect! I showed her a few pictures and she combined them all into a "do" that was even better. I have VERY thick hair and my hair stayed up all night after dancing (even dancing on stage :). I felt so very beautiful but still very "me." If you decide to use Charlotte and team, you will not be disappointed. They are so talented and professional! Many thanks--Sarah Beth
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kelli came to the hotel to do my hair along with bridesmaids' hair and we were SO pleased. I had a bad hair trial the week before the wedding with another vendor and was so fortunate to find Wedding Hair by Charlotte... and they were super flexible on short notice. My trial with them was great and my hair turned out to be exactly what I wanted on my day. Kelli was able to keep to a similar style for the bridesmaids but with variety in each one. She was so much fun and made us so comfortable. I HIGHLY recommend Kelli and Wedding Hair by Charlotte to any bride. I chose them based on reviews and was so pleased to find that all of the great reviews proved true. Make your hair decision easy and choose these girls! It took so much stress off of me to have Kelli come to the hotel.. and the prices were so much less than I expected for onsite. Seriously... if you're downtown, it's the same or LESS than a comparable other salon. And no travel involved.. this left much more time for relaxing and drinking bubbly with the girls.
Wedding: 10/05/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Natalie did my trial run and wedding day hair -- both were done at Charlotte's Elysium Salon. Natalie was wonderful and very easy to work with. Two of my bridesmaid did their updos with her as well, and were equally pleased. My hair looked beautiful throughout the ceremony and reception, and it stayed put through hours and hours of dancing and sweating. I highly recommend Natalie to any bride!
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
Charlotte and her assistant were amazing!! They did the entire wedding party's hair and we all looked beautiful. I could not have found a better hair stylist for my wedding day!!!.
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 11 Reviews
Charlotte made me feel the most beautiful of my life on two separate occasions: my rehearsal dinner and my wedding. For the first event, she achieved amazing volume and curls with a half-up, half-down do that was perfect with my strapless dress. For the big day, she and her assistant came to our bridal suite and calmed our wedding jitters with her lively conversation and her impeccable work. I'd brought a tiny photo on my smartphone from a magazine, and Charlotte managed to achieve the look in the photo, but improved! She even managed to work in a tiny braid at my request. My hair was delightfully romantically messy in an updo that was totally unique.

On a personal note, Charlotte is an absolutely warm and genuine person and a spokesperson for all the wonderful things about Charleston! I don't live in Charleston, but if I did, I'd trust my hair to noone else.

She also did a wonderful job with my mom and sisters. My mom looked about 10 years younger and my sisters looked like Victoria's Secret models by the time Charlotte Belk and Margaret Gierhart (makeup artist) were done. I loved seeing the smiles on my sisters' and mom's faces when they looked in the mirrors, with feminine, traditional yet sexy smiling back at them!

It's no surprise why Charlotte is considered the best of the best in an already very competitive city. My photographer, Virgil Bunao, recommended her hands down as the top stylist, and she is really respected for her work across all our wedding partners.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Charlotte was amazing! She created the most amazing updo that perfectly fit my personality. Her salon is adorable and at great place for the girls to hang our while they are getting their services. I would highly recommend her to any bride, she is amazing and will make you feel so beautiful on your wedding day!
Wedding: 05/27/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Elizabeth 6 Reviews
Charlotte did an amazing job on my hair for both my rehearsal dinner and wedding. She executed my visions perfectly and made me feel gorgeous. She is so talented and by far the best in Charleston. Book early -- she books up quickly!!!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Charlotte was great! She came to the hotel before the wedding and did hair for me, the bridesmaids, moms, grandma, and flower girl. She had two assistants and stayed completely on time and everyone loved their hair. My hair is kind of short and very fine, and I swear she made it look like I had three times the hair I really do!
Wedding: 02/18/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm a little late to give a review since my wedding was 9 months ago but I was just looking through my wedding pictures and I can't thank Charlotte and her team enough for making my hair and makeup look flawless on such a special day. I'm still so happy with how my hair turned out, 9 months after my wedding, that should tell you how good she is at what she does. Charlotte is probably the most passionate hair stylist I've ever met...and I've worked in hair salons before! Having passion in what you do shows through in your work and it's clear that Charlotte has that.

I had my trial run hair appointment a week before the wedding and I was not exactly sure what I wanted so I brought a picture to Charlotte and told her what I liked from the picture and what I didn't. Charlotte was so easy to talk to and she listened to what I wanted and delivered exactly that. She totally calmed my nerves for the wedding day hair!

My bridesmaids and I went to her salon the day of the wedding and it was such a fun experience and just what I needed to calm my pre-wedding jitters. She truly made that experience so memorable for me and my bridesmaids (who were all from out of state). I was also worried how her team would handle my over the top bridesmaids with lots, and lots, of thick long hair and they handled it with ease and with time to spare! Everyone was so happy with their hair and it was exactly what each of them wanted. I would recommend Wedding Hair by Charlotte to anyone I know who is about to get married.

I also recommend getting your Makeup done by Jonny. He was fabulous! I'm terrible with makeup so I brought him a photo of how I wanted my makeup to look and he did such a great job. I was shocked at how good I looked. Wish he could do my makeup everyday =)

Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 843-324-0123
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0