Photography Shoppe Austin
106 East Sixth Street, Suite 900
Austin, TX 78701  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture...
Packages: Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.1/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.3/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I was absolutely horrified with my wedding photos. I had friends who took better pictures with iPhones. They were not edited. There were shadows and glares all over all of the photos. There were so many shots they missed. When I confronted the photography shoppe they told me that they thought the photos were fine and the shadows and glares, etc were things they had no control over and could not avoid having them in the pictures. HELLO!! THAT IS WHAT PHOTO SHOP/EDITING is for and what I am paying you for. Words cannot explain how disappointed I am with my wedding photos. Pictures are teh one thing from you wedding that last forever. Please do not make a mistake when choosing a photographer. They are cheaper than most wedding photographers out there but, you get the low quality you are paying the lower price for. However, they are very professional and gave me many free prints because I was so unsatisfied. Nothing can make up for priceless photos lost. I DO NOT recommend using this company for wedding photography.
If you are looking for a videographer, they are FANTASTIC! I loved my video! He got so many special moments and put it together in sucha a great way. I would choose this videographer again if I could. I totally recommend them for videography but DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR PHOTOGRAPHY.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chris Howard at the Photography Shoppe was my photographer for my engagement pictures, bridals, and wedding. He was great! The Photography Shoppe is a great value also. They have great packages that you can customize and keep their prices low since they have many photographers working for one company. I liked that I could change my mind about my photographer if I feel that we did not mesh well, but I did not need to do that with Chris. Chris did a great job with following my vision and also following my very detailed and long shot list for the wedding! He made me feel comfortable in all my sessions and I had a fun time.
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Photography
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Stefanie 1 Reviews
If you relish your sanity during/after wedding planning, DO NOT use the Photgraphy Shoppe, particularly Chris Howard. My husband and I got married June of this year and picked Chris as our photographer. We chose him last fall based on the good deal and his promises that "he would be our photographer for all photo shoots" because we were concerned about it being a bigger business and didn't want to be pushed off on photographers that we had never even seen their work or talked to before. He lied.

For our engagement session, we got a random photographer instead of Chris. My husband and I had both already taken off work and I had driven the 2 hours to Austin before we were told that we would have someone different...and that's only because I called to confirm our photo shoot! Luckily, the pictures turned out fine but we didn't think that photographer would be good at directing the wedding so we met with Chris to discuss our expectations again so that he wouldn't stray from them. He promised to be on board with us again so we booked my bridal session with him. The day of the session, I called to confirm and they say that I'm booked with a different photographer. After freaking out a little bit, I get a call saying it must have been a mistake and Chris will be there. The session went fine and Chris was very nice, but everything went downhill after that.

Our contract says we will receive all pictures within 30 days of the session. It's been over 3 months since I have taken my bridal pictures...and we still DO NOT have them back. They have sent us four disks so far...the first had their logo watermark across every picture, the second had few in color and the rest idouble black and whites, the third had pictures with the watermark across them, and the fourth had the watermark across all of the pictures AGAIN! After every wrong disk, we have talked to the business, told them what's wrong, and asked them to replace it. Every time we receive a new disk, it's wrong. So 90 days after our session, we still don't have the pictures promised to us.

Two weeks before the wedding was the deadline to send in the pictures that we would like for the prints (6 total) included in our wedding package. I sent the pictures that we would like to Chris and asked him when I should plan on my bridal party being there...5 days before the wedding we still hadn't heard a word from him. 4 days before, my husband called to speak with him about wedding day schedule but he wasn't there and the receptionist told my husband that Chris wasn't even scheduled for our wedding. They told my wedding coordinator the same thing. What bride wants to hear that her photographer isn't coming 4 days before the wedding? 3 days before the wedding, my husband finally got to talk to Chris after threatening to go up to their business. Chris said they had a scheduling mistake and he would be at our wedding so we got the timeline and called it good.

The day of the wedding, Chris shows up and I ask him if he has the prints that we had paid for in our package...the prints that I had sent him two weeks prior...the prints that I had spent over $100 buying frames for the wedding. He simply said "No. I spoke to Joe (my husband) and he said y'all didn't need them for the wedding" First, who doesn't want prints for the wedding? That's the whole point of getting pictures! Second, my husband said that all he told Chris was that he didn't know and that he would have to talk to me...he never tried to contact me at all. Third, why would you not contact the bride about this? Especially when the bride is the one who has been contacting you about the prints in the first place? Not smart. So I had a ton of frames and nothing to put in them. I think he might have gotten shaken up about me being upset because he showed a very subtle rudeness to me and my bridal party for the remainder of my wedding day. My husband and I wanted a "door" picture before the wedding where we couldn't see each other. After walking around for literally a minute, Chris said there just wasn't a good place to take that picture at my whole wedding venue. Really?! I paid you almost $2,000...this is your job. After looking for a minute, my matron of honor (sister) found the perfect spot for it. It was NOT her job to do it, but she had to because Chris wasn't going to go out of his way to do anything for us.

We got the wedding pictures back and although they turned out pretty, we are missing several important pictures. There are no pictures of my sign in table, my wedding favors, some of my home-made centerpieces, etc. A lot of hard work and no pictures of any of it. I've e-mailed Chris several times about my bridal pictures in the past 3 weeks with zero responses. He's been disrespectful and unresponsive so my parents (who paid him) are now taking care of things and will hire a lawyer if needed. He takes great pictures, but if you want to be respected and remain sane, I DO NOT recommend Chris Howard!!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They did a fabulous job at the wedding and reception! The photographers were nice and did a great job! They are very helpful through the process and email you reminders on payments and deadlines. They also email you asking to fill out some questionares to help them better prepare for your wedding so they can come prepared. The photographers are very experienced and know where to shoot the pictures, and the perfect settings! They are very reasonable for all you get as well. I would definitely recommend them to a bride looking for an awesome photographer!!
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Travis and his assistant we friendly and very talented. We love that we will have amazing pictures for the rest of our lives.
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Photography
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Pictures came out nice but took a while to get back to me.
Wedding: 10/29/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a great experience with the Photography Shoppe both on my engagement pictures and on my wedding. I recommend to anyone looking for a great deal. Travis took the time to talk to us and figure out what we really wanted for our special day and the pics came out amazing...
Wedding: 09/25/2011
Services Used: Photography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved the Photography Shoppe! The guys who work there are all super nice and laid back - a great energy to have on the wedding day. We did an engagement shoot on South Congress and loved the results. They were flexible with substituting a guest book instead of doing the bridal session included in our package which was also nice.
They also have a website to make payments, fill out surveys and keep track of all your wedding day details. The packages they offer (especially including 2 parent albums) are great and priced very well. Overall I think it was a great value!
Wedding: 07/08/2011
Services Used: Photography
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
I think the wedding package was a good price, however, I was not impressed with the pictures themselves. More than half of the pictures are of my decorations and pictures of people when they aren't even looking and just doing odd things before the wedding ceremony..nothing I would ever take a picture of. There are more than 10 pictures of my husband and his party with bartenders and waiters from the venue in the background. They weren't very creative with the pictures and we had to tell them most of the time what to take a picture of after the ceremony. There were hardly any couple pictures of my husband and I and several of the pics people weren't even ready and yet they ended up on the final negatives. Another thing is about the wedding album..I am not a professional photographer, nor do I know how to put pictures together in an album or know which should be black and white or color..and yet they want me to put it together. Pay the extra $300 or so and get someone else for your wedding. And just because you book a smaller package doesn't mean you should get the cheapest amount of work from the photographer..reading that from their response back.
Photography Shoppe Austin responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I think that feedback is always a good thing, negative or positive. With that being said, I would like to give our side of the story.

I'm very disappointed to hear Alena was not completely satisfied with her photos. We work very hard to make every client happy. Below you may find a link to Alena's photos and judge for yourself.

http://pics.partypicsusa.com/Q/Proofs.aspx?GroupID=22556

As far as specific issues... We do photograph what some may call "odd" but we call them detail, atmosphere and photojournalistic shots. Many clients really appreciate shots of center pieces, gifts, sign in books, candid guests, and other "atmosphere setting" shots. Brides really appreciate these fine details, and we want them to remember them through their photos.

It is our policy for post-ceremony formal photos to get a list from the client. Every family situation is different, and we do the best we can to accommodate that. We provide a sample list to every client at booking, and assistance throughout the planning process.

I'm sad to hear Alena is upset about the album assembly. She did book one of our smaller packages, and it does not come with design work. Our package 4 does come with design work and I would be happy to upgrade her package.
Wedding: 05/27/2011
Services Used: Photography
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  2.0
Not the easiest people to get in touch with. They were pretty good before the wedding, but not so great at getting back to me after. So get all of your questions in first! They were definitely the best value I found, and although they don't seem to edit their photos ( a photographer friend of mine noticed), most of my pictures turned out great!
They worked well for me as my budget went more towards my videographer than photographer. You need to be sure to be on top of getting all of what your package includes though, they won't make sure you get it all hence the quality of service being so low. They were very nice to work with though.
Photography Shoppe Austin responded with the following comments:
Hi Lauren,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us. We respect your opinion, and our aim is to make all of our customers happy customers. Just to clarify, we do indeed edit all of our photos and send them through a quality control team. If your photos need any extra touching up, please feel free to give us a call. We provide this service to our customers at no charge. We are in the office everyday from 10am to 530pm for customer service needs.

-The Photography Shoppe Staff
Wedding: 05/15/2011
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Awesome work! Beautiful photography!
We were first introduced to this company at a bridal show. Instantly we fell in love with their photo books! They were gorgeously designed and you could even get mini parent items. The photographer Chris Howard personally did all of our shoots and his work is amazing! After searching around for photographers and videographers, The Photography Shoppe gave us the biggest bang for our buck! Not only were their prices awesome but so was their work. They did our engagement shoot, bridal shoot, rehearsal dinner and wedding. We got married two weeks ago and we already have the online proofs and the CD of the pictures are in the mail! It's amazing how timely the turn around is with this company. You will be very happy if you choose to go with them :)
Wedding: 02/27/2011
Services Used: Photography, Videography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Photography Shoppe services are a complete steal. We paid half of what we were planning to pay and got 6 hours of pictures (straight through from "getting ready" to getting in the car to leave the wedding). I was a little distracted but all my guests said the photographers we had (Jonathan Garza and Michael Lunceford) were awesome. They were even dancing with us by the end of the night!

My fiance and I originally met with Christopher Howard, who we thought was our photographer up until about 5 days before the actually wedding, when Jonathan contacted me. This really threw me for a loop since I had been trying to work with Chris for over a year at this point. However, I think it had just been a bit of a miscommunication and I really lucked out with Jonathan. He responded to all my emails immediately (unlike Chris who was hard to reach) and did a GREAT job. He got there right on time and knocked out a bunch of our group shots before the ceremony started, so we could get to the reception faster (which I had asked for).

Over all I would recommend the Photography Shoppe but just make sure you know who your actually photographer is from the beginning. Definitely an awesome deal! And they customize your package however you want to make sure you are satisfied.
Wedding: 02/26/2011
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was always able to get in touch with my photographer when I needed to. I had tons of questions while I was planning the wedding, and I was always able to get an answer to my question right away, whether it was by phone or e-mail.
I was late to my bridal picture session (because of my makeup lady), and when I got there I was very upset. My photographer was very nice about everything, and offered to stay late for me to get in all of the shots we could at no additional charge.
Wedding: 03/06/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
after much research we chose The Photography Shoppe for our engagement, bridal and wedding pictures. They did an absolute fantastic job on all of our pictures!!!! I have had so many people compliment our pictures and it means so much to know that our friends and family loved our pictures as much as we do. Overall my experience with the photography shoppe was definitely a good one! I couldn't be anymore pleased with how all of my pictures turned out! Thanks again!!!
Wedding: 12/27/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with the Photography Shoppe was one of the best ideas we had. They were extremely patient and very kind. They took so many great photos, stuff that I know we would have never thought of and so glad that they did!! They captured moments that I will remember forever, and I would recommend them to everyone. Extremely affordable and WELL WORTH IT!!
Wedding: 12/05/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They have extremely reasonable prices for the thrifty bride and groom. There are a ton of different photo packages offered including everything from albums to video. The photographers are a blast to work with and they made me feel so comfortable. My pictures came out beautiful. I will be recommending them to all of my friends.

Happy Bride!
Wedding: 10/17/2009
Services Used: Photography
 337-581-3242
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0