douglaslevy photography
new england wedding photographer - douglaslevy photography
Ayer, MA 01432  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture...
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (68)   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christina 1 Reviews
Doug definitely deserves a 5/5 rating. He was so timely with emails, and an awesome person to talk with. Totally down to earth and very professional. I would recommend him to anyone! On our wedding day, he (and his assistants) were all so efficient and considerate, we are able to enjoy all of cocktail hour all the while getting in every picture we wanted. He knew what pictures we wanted (having talked multiple times prior to the wedding) that I didn't even have to worry about it that night. Also important to note: The fact that we got our finished pictures while we were still on our honeymoon absolutely floored us. We had our proofs within days, our USB drive with pictures within 2 weeks, and our finished photo album within 3 weeks! (Not to mention it's "busy season!") The quality of every picture was spectacular and I'm so happy we went with Doug as our photographer.
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Doug is extremely professional and fun to work with photographer. We stole him from friends of ours that got married the previous year and liked how he was able to capture special moments throughout the ceremony and reception. Doug is very prompt in answering any questions you may have throughout the wedding planning process. He works with you individually to create the style of photos you prefer. We thoroughly enjoyed working with Doug and his wife on the day of our wedding and could not be happier with the photos of our special day.
Wedding: 07/20/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Doug is a gifted artist. We performed an exhaustive search of photographers. His photographs were stunning - they evoked real emotions and really captured the physical beauty of his subjects and the magnitude of the moments. We solicited blind test opinions from our friends and family and from professional photographers. Everyone overwhelmingly preferred the work of Douglas Levy Photography. We also met in-person with many photographers and Doug was our clear pick after that round as well.

Doug came down to New York City for our engagement shoot and we had an awesome time shooting all around Manhattan. Doug's personality made it easy to feel and act naturally in front of the camera. He was funny, quick, considerate, and personable and really made the shoot feel like hanging out with a friend in the park. The photos were ready later that week and absolutely blew us away. He really captured our chemistry and we looked amazing!

The wedding day was a marathon. Doug and his team pulled it off masterfully. He prepared us with clear and timely communication leading up to the event. We had large bridal party, a space capsule, a dinosaur with a bow tie, and all sorts of twists throughout the day. Doug adjusted without missing a beat. Getting ready, the first look, the bridal party and parents, the ceremony, formal photos, cocktail hour, the reception, toasts, dances, etc. There was a lot of posing and smiling but Doug and the team managed to make it all fun for everyone while keeping things moving along.

The photos were ready just a few days later!! The developed work was gorgeous and of outstanding quality and artistry. Elegant processional shots to heartfelt candid moments, they absolutely nailed it and immortalized so many fantastic moments! These breathtaking photographs will be our family's cherished possessions. We could not be happier that we chose Douglas Levy Photography and I sincerely give Doug and his team my highest recommendation.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Doug was extremely easy to work with. He really got to know us and tailored his shooting to encompass the parts of the wedding we had put the most effort into. He was laid-back and went with the flow as we adjusting things on the fly. We got some amazing photos from the day (almost too many!) and we couldn't be more pleased.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren and... 1 Reviews
Choosing the right photographer was probably more important to me than choosing my wedding dress. I am that girl who always has her camera with her…the one who forces all of her friends to get together for pictures and who comes home from a night out with 100+ pictures regardless of whether we were at a pub, party, wedding, etc. My (now) husband and I were so lucky that we found Doug and his team in time to hire him for our wedding day. Doug and his team not only met but exceeded our expectations on multiple levels. We were not the best/most organized wedding planners to say the least and Doug was patient, helpful and communicative throughout the entire process. After meeting Doug for the first time, my husband and I were so impressed with his work and professionalism. We also really connected with his personality and felt like he cared to get to know us/understand us and what we were looking for in a photographer, while also giving us honest feedback. We had so much confidence in Doug from the get go that we contacted him throughout the wedding planning process to get referrals for our other vendors, such as our videographer, DJ, photo booth, etc. Doug's team is beyond creative, professional, talented, unique..the list goes on and on. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR BEING THERE FOR US DOUG!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have had a better time with Doug - not only did he capture some absolutely magical moments, he was just a blast to work with. We liked him from our first conversation and the whole experience from start to finish was wonderful. As we said to friends and family, find a reason to have him follow you around with a camera - you will be so very glad you did.

Some wedding photographers are very overly-serious about their 'work' and seem to think less about the people and the event - one we talked to assured us that our photos would look like they belonged in Vanity Fair. We didn't want that. We wanted beautiful pictures of people having fun as a record of our happy day. Doug did that and so much more - he is a storyteller with his camera - he captured the mood and the people and the personalities and the special small moments that is what makes a picture come to life.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Doug not only shoots amazing photos, but he has absolutely no ego and is super chill about taking suggestions for different shots. He was so easy to get along with and put us at ease with his quiet confidence. We loved our mix of candid and posed shots and it is amazing how many pictures he got shooting alone. I look at our pictures from both the engagement shoot and the wedding and I see "us." Doug doesn't force any awkward poses or unnatural shots, and the result is that he gets people in true moments of happiness, love and contentment. We were so happy with Doug and would recommend him to anyone. We just feel lucky that we were able to get on his calendar and book him :)
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melanie 1 Reviews
Doug Levy is an incredibly talented photographer and story teller. He was quietly capturing true and deeply emotional moments during our wedding without us ever noticing that we were being photographed. He was able to blend in so that I never felt that I had to pose for the camera. At the end, I received photographs where my husband and I actually look like ourselves. Somehow, he was able to take photo's of me without my ugly cry face, which I wore the entire time!

Doug didn't exclusively take lovely candid photos either. He also took some of those traditional staged family portraits, which are typically quite boring and go into a frame at the bottom of a drawer. I wish I could post the photo here, but Doug captured one of the greatest family portraits I've ever seen. In the course of just a moment, my 2yr old nephew burst into laughter, and the rest of us started genuinely laughing along side. Doug snapped the photo at just that time, and amazingly our entire family looks gleeful and bursting with happiness, as we actually felt on that day. I never thought I could love a "traditional" photo so much!

Beyond his beautiful photography, Doug was incredibly fair and transparent in his pricing and terms. He went far above and beyond my expectations when accommodating some of my particular requests. Photography is an extremely important part of planning a wedding because the day goes by so fast that these photos replace your own memories. I could not have been happier with my choice of photographer, and thanks to Doug Levy, I have a collection of beautiful memories to reflect on for the rest of my life.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
One of the most difficult decisions of the entire wedding planning process was picking a photographer. It felt like we looked at every photographer in New England’s portfolio and every time we came back to Doug’s. His ability to capture the natural, candid moments really shined through. In our initial meeting with him it was immediately clear that he was the right photographer for us. His passion for photography was abundantly evident. You could tell by the way he described how a particular photo we really liked came to fruition that this was a guy who really had an eye for the dramatic, that there was nothing he wouldn’t do to get the ultimate shot. In addition, Doug’s turnaround time when answering questions was always immediate. We were blessed with a beautiful 65 Degree November day. Our main concern with it being so late into fall was the lack of foliage and having that bare, dead look in the background of our photos. What really stood out is Doug’s ability to adapt to the environment. His natural talent shined through when picking the spots to maximize color and contrast, setting us up with that one tree still holding on to the colors of Fall making it look like we were in the midst of the beautiful peak foliage of New England. There are more than a few photos taken where I didn’t even know he was there taking them and wondered how he was able to get right into the middle of everything and remain completely invisible. Every candid photo he took has a laugh or a smile, looking back through the photos almost transports you back to each moment as if you’re living it in the present. We would highly recommend Doug to anyone in search of a wedding photographer. His wife Jess who mans the lights and his #2 for the day Ben were just as great to work with as Doug. He really put together an all-star team for our wedding. We couldn’t be happier with how our photos came out. Everyone has also had the same reaction to our photos, that our photographer did an amazing job!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We cannot say enough good things about Doug. We are incredibly happy with the services he provided! Things we loved about working with Doug:
- He responds to emails and questions incredibly quickly
- His turn-around time for our engagement pictures was less than a week and for our wedding was about 2.5 weeks
- Along with the assistant photographer, Doug worked incredibly hard at our wedding and captured moments in his photos that we will treasure forever
- Most importantly - his pictures are incredible!! They are beautiful and very high quality. Classic and modern at the same time. He captured everything we asked for during the day along with things we didn't even think of. Doug has a depth of expertise and was able to guide us based on his own experience when we were trying to plan our day

We have recommended Doug to everyone we know - he is worth every penny!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Doug captured our day perfectly. Besides his incredible work, what made us hire Doug was his story. I loved the fact that he came from a sports background and wound up in the world of wedding photography. His intro video was inspiring, and I immediately trusted him to do the job.

The last thing a bride needs is added stress, and Doug was the easiest person to work with. I asked a million questions, and I always received a quick response. By quick response, I mean within an hour, or and times within minutes!

When we returned from our honeymoon, I had an email saying the photos were ready. The final product was amazing and clean, just how I imagined them. Now we have wonderful images to remember every part of the day with everyone we shared it with.

Amazing job well done. Thank you, Doug!
Wedding: 09/15/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I'm not sure when Doug sleeps, he is so quick to respond to emails (I don't think it was ever more than 20 minutes) and the turn-around time for our engagement photos and wedding photos was amazing. On top of that Doug is a truly talented photographer and is really easy-going.
I recommend Doug to any couple looking for a wedding photographer.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I knew when i started wedding planning that the photographer was one of the most important pieces to our wedding. When i started browsing through different photographers, I quickly learned that my extravagant taste came with a price... Until i stumbled upon Doug. Not only was he responsive and easy to work with right from the start, his price point was completely realistic. Above all, he captured our entire wedding better than I could have ever imagined. He caught moments I didn't even know happened! Did I mention that we received the pictures 4 (!) days after our wedding?! I feel like that is basically unheard of.

We couldn't be happier with Doug and would wholeheartedly recommend him to any bride who is stressed about this part of planning. I truly hope I get to work with him again in the future.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kelly 1 Reviews
I could not have been happier with Doug as my photographer. He always responded to any email or phone call immediately. I had my engagement pictures back within a week and my wedding pictures back before I was even home from our honeymoon! Not only are his pictures beautiful but he's very personable and easy to work with.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emily 2 Reviews
Doug, his assistant photographer and his wife Jess who helped Doug throughout our wedding were amazing! Our photos were ready so quickly which was an additional bonus and so fun to look at while we were on our honeymoon. Doug has a good sense of humor and is un-phased by any changes or hiccups. The other great thing I would say about Doug is that he floats around almost unnoticed. I can't even imagine how he got some of the shots he did! I hope many friends will use him in the future and I would recommend him and his team to anyone.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely LOVED working with Doug! From the moment we first met with Doug we knew he was going to be our wedding photographer. His work is beautiful and he really makes you feel at ease. It's a big day and there's a lot going on and not having to worry that the most fabulous pictures were being taken was awesome! Our engagement session is still one of my most favorite days leading up to the wedding, we just felt so comfortable. Like we were hanging out with one of our friends (who just happened to have a camera and take incredible shots of us!). So when it came down to the wedding we were both so comfortable. Doug even set up a monitor and gave our guests a preview of shots taken earlier in the day - which the guests LOVED and we received many compliments on.

As someone who's in the wedding industry, I've seen and worked with a lot of photographers and Doug was my absolute first choice and I would certainly recommend him to anyone who's looking for truly stunning photography.
Wedding: 08/16/2013
Services Used: Photography
 781-820-1344
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0