Desert Botanical Garden
In the Garden, nothing blooms as beautifully as love
1201 N. Galvin Parkway
Phoenix, AZ 85008  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (39)   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kahneena 3 Reviews
I knew that my wedding would be at the DBG when I visited during a December Luminaria event. It was so beautiful and there was such a sense of magic and romance. I know that sounds cheesy, but after living here for 4 years, it's the most beautiful place in Phoenix as far as I'm concerned. We worked with Amber, who actually does a lot more coordinating and goes far above and beyond for you. She helped make the wedding go perfect and smooth. We rented Dorrance Hall and it was so beautiful and perfect for our event. I've heard from so many of our guests that it was the best wedding they'd ever been to. When you have an event at the Garden, you are required to use their preferred vendors. At first I thought that might be limiting, but I came to appreciate it almost immediately, when you plan your own wedding you have an almost endless amount of choices and the Garden has done all your hard work for you by giving you the best options for vendors possible. We used Copper Square Kitchen to cater and I can't say enough about how wonderful the experience was. Amber from the Garden and Darcy from Copper Square are really the reason we had such a beautiful and perfect wedding. It was truly the best day of my life, in my favorite place in Phoenix. We also became members of the Garden, it's just one of those places that never gets old and our experience was so perfect that I knew we would want to be there as much as we can. Thank you Amber!!!!!!
Wedding: 10/11/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brandy 2 Reviews
We eloped at DBG and it was fantastic! The grounds are beautiful and the staff was very accommodating!
Wedding: 06/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The Garden is a beautiful place to get married! We had both ceremony and reception there. Our pictures were gorgeous with beautiful backdrops. The signange directing our guests could have been more prominent, and the "dressing room" facilities aren't exactly posh, but otherwise it was a great experience!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't begin to say enough nice things about this venue. My husband and I got married at the Dorrance Center in the Botanical Garden and it was absolutely beautiful. We were on a tight budget and found the Garden was extremely affordable. There were 3 different spaces included in the price. We had an outdoor patio for the ceremony, a slightly smaller patio for the cocktail hour, and a banquet hall for the reception.

The staff at the Garden were amazing. Thank you Amber Hahn for being so flexible and responsive to my thousands of questions! I really appreciated the way that she helped us with our rehearsal and was there for the start of our wedding to make sure everything went off without a hitch.

I would definitely recommend this venue to all of my friends. My husband and I received tons of complements on how beautiful it was. They even allowed our guests to arrive anytime during the day for free to enjoy the garden, which at the time had the Chihuly exhibit.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Beautiful spot! A little tuff for rooms to wait before the ceremony.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't really know where to start! First off, the garden is STUNNING and UNIQUE. Our guests couldn't stop saying great things about how beautiful our venue was(Ullman Terrace). Everyone we talked to said it was the most beautiful venue they had seen. Our two contacts were Amber H. and Marianne D. They were both VERY quick to respond to all of our inquiries and professional in their interaction with us and our vendors. Between the business of planning a destination wedding, we sent Marianne our beverage list a little later than what we wanted to. She was SUCH a trooper though and ordered all the drinks we wanted and had everything the next day!
Since this is a public venue, we knew to expect random people walking around the outside of our venue. It really wasn't too big of an issue. The only thing I wished, was they put a "private party" sign in a better location or had the means to COMPLETELY block off our venue with some type of barracade. We had a couple random people who didn't see or pay attention to the "private party" sign that walked into our wedding. Once they saw they didn't belong, however, they turned around and walked away. This is also where our wedding coordinator came in handy. She helped to guide people out of our venue.
I would highly recommend hiring a wedding coordinator for this venue. Amber was very straight forward with me and recommended this as well. Although a coordinator is in the package, she said it wasn't a guarantee that we would have her full attention. She was right. I am so glad she recommended this from the very beginning. We really valued that honesty!!!
All in all, this venue is SO PERFECT!!!!!!! Everything was such a dream! Thank you DBG!!!
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amber and the staff at the Desert Botanical Garden did an amazing job for our wedding! This was the first vendor we booked, as my wife wanted beautiful wedding pictures and they did not disappoint. From touring the grounds to our walkthrough and rehearsal, Amber was wonderful in assisting us to envision what we wanted and she worked tirelessly to make it happen. Having the staff as day-of coordinators was fantastic. We were running a little late, but there was no apparent frustration from any of the staff. They even made sure to act as lookouts so there was not an accidental Bride or Groom spotting before the ceremony. There were several events going on the same day as ours, but the only way I knew was the smattering of limos in the (very spacious) parking lot. One thing that may cause hesitation for those considering the garden is the Chihuly exhibit (which runs from November through mid-May) as the glass pieces may detract from the desert landscape. This cannot be further from the truth! In many cases, his items enhance the natural beauty of the scenery. It is also neat to have wedding photos with items created by a world-renowned artist in them!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
My husband and I had both our ceremony and reception at Ullman Terrace at the Desert Botanical Garden. It was a gorgeous venue and the day could not have been more perfect. Our guests were enchanted by the garden, especially after the sunset when the twinkly lights on the trees came on. Amber and her staff were professional from start to finish and all my questions were promptly answered. Amber was very organized and helpful on both the day of the wedding and at our rehearsal. The fee for Ullman Terrace is on the more expensive side, but well worth the money in my opinion.
A couple things to consider:
Because of their liquor license, outside alcohol is not allowed, which definitely adds to the cost of the reception. Also, they have a list of about 8-10 caterers to pick from, so you won't have a ton of flexibility when it comes to catering. That might be a good thing though as our caterer was very familiar with the venue and it was nice to have the choices narrowed down to caterers we knew would do a good job. Overall, I highly recommend this venue.
Wedding: 04/06/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are looking to have a beautiful outdoors wedding, have your wedding at Desert Botanical Garden. We had both the ceremony and reception in the Steele Herb Garden on April 5. I could not imagine a more perfect day for us. Amber and the rest of the DBG staff were professional, quick to respond, and extremely helpful. Amber even helped save the day when my florist arrived over an hour and a half early and we hadn't gotten there yet. She coordinated everything flawlessly the day of the wedding, which allowed me to relax and have fun.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
I had the most amazing wedding at the Dorrance Center inside of the botanical garden. It was absolutely perfect for my 100 guests. Amber and Mariane were amazing to work with. Ambers effective and fast communication skills were flawless. I really wouldn't change a thing.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful ceremony location. We were married under the Binns Wildflower Pavilion. It was beautiful on its own which is why I chose this venue in the beginning. The surroundings are beautiful on their own so no need to bring too many additional ceremony decor. The staff was wonderful to work with and the coordinator on site was quick to respond to my emails and was there for assistance during today of the wedding. Our guests loved the garden and couldn't stop commenting on how beautiful it was.
Wedding: 08/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The first time my husband and I walked through the Desert Botanical Garden, we knew it was the perfect place to have our wedding. Our ceremony and reception were held at Ullman Terrace, and it was gorgeous. It was even more beautiful on the day of our wedding than we had imagined. The way the butte was lit up after the sun went down absolutely took our breath away. Most of our guests were our friends and family from out of state, and the Desert Botanical Garden was the perfect place to introduce them to the beauty of Arizona. It was enchanting and romantic, and all of our guests agreed.

Amber was fantastic to work with and was incredibly helpful. Everything about the Desert Botanical Garden was just what we hoped for!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Beautiful place for a ceremony.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I knew right away that the Desert Botanical Garden would be our wedding venue. We couldn't have made a better decision! We decided early on that the Ullman Terrace would make a stunning backdrop. Our garden contact was Amber Hahn, she was always quick to respond to questions via email or phone during the planning process. Amber and her staff went above and beyond the day of the wedding to make sure everything was perfect for our big day. Our guests absolutely fell in love with the venue and we have heard nothing but positive comments. The garden by far exceeded both of our expectations and would recommend this venue to anyone!!
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I chose to have our destination wedding at the Desert Botanical Garden based on our positive experiences there in the past, and we couldn't have made a better choice! Our wedding and reception were both held in the Steele Herb garden, which was the perfect size for our 30+ guests. Our contact at the garden, Amber Hahn, was always helpful and prompt in her responses to my questions -- she really made it easy for me as I planned my wedding from the other side of the country! They were able to provide us with portable heaters, which our guests enjoyed, and luminarias, which made the garden look magical. We purchased our drinks from the garden as well, and were able to choose from an extensive list. I highly recommend the prickly pear margaritas -- they were a hit with our guests! We were even allowed to customize our beer selections, and our bartender was friendly and professional. The garden was open to our guests the entire day of our evening wedding, giving our guests the chance to enjoy the whole garden. Amber is wonderful at what she does, and her experience and calm demeanor really put my mind at ease throughout the rehearsal and wedding day -- you're in great hands with her! The Desert Botanical Garden was the perfect place for our wedding, and I couldn't recommend it more highly!
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Krista 5 Reviews
We had our ceremony in the amphitheater at the Desert Botanical Garden. I had already discounted the amphitheater from pictures on the website, so it's a good thing we happened to walk by it by chance while at the gardens to look at other wedding options. It's such a unique, gorgeous space! In addition, Amber made everything so easy - both leading up to the wedding and the day of. We could not have been happier with our decision to have our ceremony here!!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 480-941-1225
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0