The Civic Club of Harrisburg Reviews

9 | Harrisburg, PA
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for The Civic Club of Harrisburg

Recommended by 90% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

9

12 User photos

Order by:
  • Alyssa

    Alyssa Sierra Morrison · Getting married on 04/09/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, historic natural wood and lovely courtyard space.

    Perfect for our family style event, we loved the view from the Overlook banquet room and the courtyard for our cocktail hour. Everyone was very pleasant to communicate with, there are special rules to follow due to the rich history with this building and all the original features that still exist. We absolutely loved every minute

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • Josue

    Josue Ortiz · Married on 10/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Romantic and Magical Venue

    Since the moment that we stepped into the Civic Club of Harrisburg, we fell in love with the historical aspect and the romantic feeling the venue has. Myrna gave us the tour and her warm welcome and service made us feel even more comfortable. All of our family and guests were fascinated with the house and we all had a blast at our wedding. THIS PLACE MADE US FEEL ABOVE WHAT WE IMAGINED! WE TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • User6569316 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding reception at the Civic Club of Harrisburg. The venue was absolutely perfect for the style of our wedding. We wanted something historic yet elegant and classy. We also didn't want to have to worry about decorating. the Civic Club was the perfect venue. It was nothing short of elegant and classy and took almost no decorating! We received numerous compliments from our wedding guests. They kept saying our wedding was the best wedding they have ever been to. They told us time and time again that it was the perfect "classic" wedding. If I could plan my wedding all over again, I would select the Civic Club of Harrisburg, again. Our contact from the Civic Club, Kevin, was wonderful! He followed up with us and made sure we knew he was available if we need anything. He was also very personable. Thank you, Kevin and the Civic Club, for allowing us to have such a beautiful and unforgettable wedding day!

    Sent on 04/07/2016
  • User6275381 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Venue was very nice, clean, and accessible the day of our reception. Sofia's did the catering and the food was amazing! Ballroom area was set up beautifully. Had 90 people in attendance and that was a great size for the space. Parking was fine with utilizing tokens from the ymca across the street plus on street parking close by. Also had a shuttle to hotel downtown.

    Sent on 01/26/2016
  • Annie

    Annie · Married on 08/19/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We truly LOVED our venue. It was even better in person than in pictures, and both indoors and outdoors were lovely. It was exactly what I was looking for. The ballroom made a gorgeous, elegant location for our reception, and the garden and rooms downstairs were perfect for our intimate ceremony and cocktail hour.

    Not having someone on site makes things a little more complicated, as I unfortunately learned when our caterer didn't show up when expected and I was stuck waiting outside the day of our wedding. Fortunately as soon as I let Dana (the coordinator from Overlook) know, she came as soon as she could get there and let us into the building. Just make sure you communicate in advance and everything will go smoothly.

    Sent on 09/20/2017
  • User3683417 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our reception was at the Civic Club of Harrisburg, a historic Tudor-style venue along the Susquehanna River (the only one left on the riverbank), following our ceremony at the nearby Capitol. The gardens were immaculate and in full bloom.

    Cocktail hour was held downstairs with guests milling about the rooms, wrap around patio, and garden. Our guestbook and string duo were in the initial foyer, our gift table was in the fireplace room to the right, and our bar and slideshow were in the largest room to the left. We had plenty of cocktail hour seating and tables.

    Dinner was held in the ballroom upstairs overlooking the river where we had a live band on stage, photobooth in the back corner, bar in the other corner, cake table by the entrance, and dance floor next to the stage. We used the wheelchair lift, for elderly guests who are unable to take the stairs. The downstairs powder room was recently renovated in modern style, while the upstairs restrooms were ok (but men kept accidentally going into the ladies' room - needs better signage). We used the upstairs coat check room for a convenient wardrobe change space. All in all, it was an elegant venue.

    When we rented the place, we were required to use the exclusive site caterer. However, as I understand, there are more options now for catering.

    As for parking, it is true that downtown is kind of a mess. State Street is still a good option, in spite of the recent and unfortunate parking meter changes. The adjoining Waterworks building is under private ownership and is attempting to charge an arm and a leg if you would like to rent any of their parking spaces. However, directly across the street is the YMCA where you can purchase tokens that allow guests to park in their fairly large parking lot (you must have a token to exit). The River Street garage on 2nd street is not overly-far, and is a fairly convenient option. The Civic Club is also walkable from most downtown hotels.

    Sent on 08/10/2014
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/16/2016

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue provided by the Civic Club of Harrisburg was even better than the photos on the website suggested. There's a touch of class and taste that is evident in every inch of this gorgeous estate. We had a fantastic reception with great food, music, friends, and family, and a beautiful view of the Susquehanna. If you're looking for a unique and elegant venue in the Harrisburg area to hold your wedding ceremony or reception, you won't want to miss checking out the Civic Club of Harrisburg.

    Sent on 04/30/2016
  • User3490040 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We had our cocktail style reception here and it was breath taking! The cocktail hour was in the garden area and overlooked the Susquehanna River. The reception and such took place in the ballroom and was fabulous (they could use a light dimmer though). It is a bit tricky to communicate with though, because really, Karen's Catering is their preferred caterer, so when you book with the club you really book with Karens. They were great, but we did get the response "thats the civic club's issue" to a couple of requests. The bathrooms are outdated and its a bunch of older women that belong to the club so they are not likely to change soon. Overall, there is a lot more they can do with the building, but the location is enough.

    I saw parking mentioned in an earlier post, and my response would be just to make guests aware of the parking situation on the invites/weddinging website/program etc. because there is plenty of parking on State Street.

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • D

    a · Married on 12/28/2008

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The staff is quite difficult to get anything out of. They do not offer up any info above and beyond what you ask about so be prepared. They do try to work with you, but don't expect any perks or extras. The food is wonderful and we had guests rave about the turkey and shrimp. Nobody on staff is there to help you though the day of so have a coordinator or a good friend helping you out. It was all about the process. They do not cater to a brides stress or mental needs. A bit cold really. It is a beautiful location, but make sure you ask them to have it clean. HIGHLY RECOMMEND adding the parking. It was a huge issue for us the night of. NOT something you want to try to figure out in a wedding dress on the sidewalk while your guests are inside waiting for you (if they found a spot to park, that is).

    Sent on 03/02/2009