Skip to main content
Weddings

Gateaux Bakery Reviews

Gateaux Bakery View more information

49 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 49
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

9 User photos

  • Narcissa
    Narcissa M. Married on 08/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Totally Awesome

    We collaborated with Michelle for our wedding cake and she was AMAZING! Not only was the cake delicious, she was so enthusiastic about bringing our vision of a castle cake to life. It was exceptional. Highly recommend Gateaux!
  • K
    Kennedy H. Married on 04/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect for everything!

    There are dozens of phenomenal bakeries in the Denver area, but Gateaux stands out above the rest for their creativity, organization, cost, flexibility, and of course, delectability! The head Chef, Michelle, is incredibly easy to work with and made this aspect of the planning process totally seamless. I will be going back for any event, big or small.
  • Marcia
    Marcia D. Married on 03/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best tasting and detailed wedding cake - EVER!

    Gauteaux’s team was great to work with and really made my dream cake come to life. Their detail, delivery, and not to mention amazing tasting cake (best cake I have ever had) just made my wedding day amazing. The flavor melts in your mouth and isn’t sickly sweet like grocery store cakes. Michelle and her entire team here went beyond and really did an amazing job on our cake. We choose a 3-tier for around 50 guests with each layer a different flavor (vanilla, marble, lemon poppyseed). I seriously will go to this venue in the future for any baked good, custom desserts, or just to grab something out of their bakery counter.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Madeline
    Madeline S. Married on 09/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious and beautiful cake!

    Gateaux Bakery provided exactly what we were looking for in a small cutting cake for our wedding. Originally, we had only intended it for the wedding party, but it served a surprisingly large amount of cake that our guests appreciated in addition to our dessert bar. The almond semi-naked cake was excellent in both style and flavor. Gateaux, also, was incredibly helpful in packaging and delivering the cake to our wedding coordinator, who took it to our venue, where it arrived safe and sound despite the two-hour drive.
  • Nicole
    Nicole S. Married on 10/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Wedding Cake

    I believe it was Michelle who did our wedding cake, and she did a fabulous job! It was simple buttercream on the outside with fresh flowers, and she made it look perfect. The cake itself was also delicious. It's in the fridge and we are still working on eating it! I would highly recommend Gateaux.
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 09/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cake was nailed!!!

    Michelle nailed our cake!! From our first impression I loved her!! We tried other places but the taste was nothing but phenomenal !!!! Worth the price and the taste! She did the design we wanted and more .. my parents cleaned up and she left us a whole bottom layer of our cake and in a year we receive one as well!! No other bakeries offered that!! I can’t even begin to explain the taste and how good the cake was.. you will not be disappointed!!
  • Noelle
    Noelle N. Married on 06/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Classy, Gorgeous, Delicious

    Michele nailed it, and made it look beautiful! We don't have our pictures to post yet, but we chose a "semi-nude" 3-tier with buttercream for our main cake with simple greens and figs to decorate. We also had 2 side 12 inch cakes, including a carrot cake that my wife said is the best carrot cake she's ever had! Our main 3-tier was their apricot/grand mariner and there's a reason it is the #1 choice - it is an amazing blend of flavor without being over the top.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 06/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Creative, Friendly, Best Bakery in Denver

    Best bakery in Denver!! Beyond their delicious pastries and other goodies in their case, they make BEAUTIFUL wedding cakes! We were married June 2019 and had Gateaux make our cake - one of the best decisions we made for our wedding day. Michelle and Kathleen are cake wizards and are so passionate and GOOD at what they do. They are so attentive to detail and captured our vision for our cake PERFECTLY. Not only did it look beautiful, but it tasted just as good, too!

    Brides and couples - If you are searching for a bakery, look no further! Gateaux has phenomenal customer service, variety and top-notch customer service.
  • Aubree
    Aubree Married on 09/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Sweetest Team and Best Cakes!

    Gateaux Bakery allowed us to have our gorgeous cake and eat a delicious one too. We scoured the Denver area trying to find a bakery that could produce a wedding cake as beautiful as it was tasty, and we only found Gateaux to get a perfect ten in both categories.

    Michelle Rasul, in particular, was the cake boss who worked with us from the start to turn our vision into a reality. We wanted a three-tiered cake with a classic white exterior and a cascading white peony fondant sash, and Michelle’s artistry and delicate touch made the difficult white-on-white design pop with stunning results. Then, illustrating Gateaux’s range, they also knocked the groom’s cake out of the park with a towering, conical croquembouche with each sumptuous puff pastry coated artfully in a yummy caramel.

    We both agree that if we could do any meal over and over again for the rest of our lives, it would have been the cake test tasting we did with Gateaux. We would have been happy with any of the filling options (and embarrassingly, we finished a slice of each flavor permutation), but ultimately we settled on two different choices for our tiers: vanilla cake with an apricot filling (that was so flavorful and not overly sweet or tart) and marble cake with a Grand Marnier filling that was divine.

    Michelle was incredibly helpful and responsive when we had questions about cake stands or anything else, and, on the day itself, she ensured the display was impeccable. We’ve been dreaming of eating the cake ever since, so we can’t wait to have a slice from the freezer on our anniversary.

    Go to Gateaux. We can’t recommend them enough.
  • E
    Erin Married on 08/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We worked with Michelle who put her creative genius to work on our cake. We walked in unsure of how we wanted it to look, but she took our vision, theme, and color scheme and transformed it into a gorgeous and absolutely delicious cake. We had the Carrot Cake and a Marble Raspberry/White Chocolate cake as the tiers and there was not one piece of Carrot Cake left at the end of the night due to its deliciousness.
  • H
    Harmony Married on 09/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our cake was great and the flavors were perfect. By the end of the night the cake was gone. I can't wait for our 1 year anniversary gift to get our free cake.
  • M
    Marlene Married on 05/13/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We ordered a large traditional french wedding cake (croquembouche) for our wedding. The Gateaux Bakery was the only place in Denver that advertised that they made them. We called and they walked us through all the options for decoration, filling, etc. We ended up with a salted caramel cream filling and a pink and burgundy fondant base. It was amazing, and as my husband and I walked into our reception venue, we basically pushed our guests away just to look at it. It was also the most delicious dessert we ever had. We plan on ordering a smaller one on our anniversary.
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 09/12/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kathleen and her team did an amazing job on our wedding cakes. We opted to do 6 smaller cakes (about 10 pieces each) of 5 different flavors: Lemon, carrot, white with apricot grand marnier (x2), chocolate with raspberry filling, and chocolate with chocolate ganache filling. Everyone loved them! We only had 45 guests and had 5 pieces leftover to enjoy the next night with a few people in our wedding party! The cakes were decorated with assistance from my florist but were beautifully done. Because we had our wedding in Breckenridge, they were brought and cut by my wedding planner but Kathleen was great at working with my wedding planner to ensure that they arrived on time and in perfect condition. In addition, she worked with me to do the tasting when I was in town for a business trip. There she had many different samples and different decorating styles. What a great job she did!
  • A
    Allison Married on 08/15/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved our beautiful wedding cake from Gateaux Pastries! It was absolutely perfect, delicious and beautiful. Kathleen worked with my husband and I from the very beginning. The tasting was probably my favorite part of planning the wedding and I met with Kathleen several more times to discuss the details. She accommodated my request to use vintage cake stands and used extra care to showcase our family heirloom cake topper. Everyone loved the moist and delicious cake and the fondant frosting was unbelievably delicious. We're so happy we used Gateaux Pastries for our cake!
  • S
    Sara Married on 08/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    For our wedding, we were unable to do food tastings since we live in VA, so we had to have our parents who live in CO try all the dessert options available to us. It was a tough job for them obviously, but after visiting a few bake shops, they gave us a definitive answer: Gateaux. And boy, they did not disappoint! Gateaux created some wonderful cupcakes for our wedding, and all of them were some of the best cupcakes we’ve ever had. There were options for everyone: red velvet, vanilla, chocolate, dark chocolate with filling, mint and more and our guests couldn’t get enough of them. Gateaux even created a cake using our wedding colors, complete with a large fondant sunflower on top! They worked with our wedding coordinator to incorporate some of our decorations onto the dessert table, and everything looked wonderful. For anyone looking for a quick snack or a full event with dessert, we couldn’t recommend Gateaux enough!
  • User2209035 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wow!! Michelle at Gateaux was a pleasure to work with and the cake was amazing!
  • B
    Barret Married on 03/16/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The cake was absolutely beautiful and tasted amazing! The fresh raspberry filling was unbelievable. The best part was that they worked with us to find a beautiful design and size that fit our budget. This is a Colorado home grown operation with incredible talent. I would recommend them in a heartbeat.
  • T
    Christie Married on 08/23/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing cakes. Kathleen was unbelievably helpful and both our wedding cake and the grooms cake were perfect! They were absolutely delicious and our guests devoured them. Go Cards!
  • B
    Brooke Married on 06/27/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They made the most beautiful wedding cake and listened to exactly what I wanted. Not to mention the cake was so incredibly delicious. They knew our venue well and took care of the delivery and set up. I would definitely recommend Gateaux Pastries to any bride! I am looking forward to the 1st year anniversary cake they provide for free!
  • User1644661 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing! I love this place their pastries are the best! We used Gateaux for our wedding cake, I expected nothing less then the best and that's exactly what we got, our cake was spot on with what we asked for, Beautiful! And as always delicious. Michelle made the process so easy and what a wonderful cake she made! Thank you!
  • R
    Robin Married on 10/19/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Michelle was great. And our cake was exactly liked we had discussed. Plus it was delicious. Not one piece remained.
  • B
    Boo Married on 08/31/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They did an amazing job with the cakes, the decorations - everything that my daughter wanted! And more!
    Tasty - yes! Very tasty!
  • Lizzy
    Lizzy Married on 07/05/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding cake made at Gataeux and they did a phenomenal job! We went in for a free consultation to let them know how we wanted the cake to look and got to try free samples to figure out what flavors we wanted. We ended up with two chocolate layers with chocolate ganache and one vanilla layer with raspberry preserves. DELICIOUS! We also chose the cream cheese frosting because I personally like it better and the butter cream frosting was way to buttery in my opinion. Everyone loved the cake and it looked beautiful! Thank you so much! :)

    [IMG]http://i43.tinypic.com/9rhekn.jpg[/IMG]
  • User952718 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great cake, great service, great people, great price. Loved everything about them!!!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/12/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Best cake in town! And the presentation was exactly as we hoped for.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message