Curran Photography Reviews

19 | Waitsfield, VT
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Curran Photography

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

19
Order by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis and his son, Brooks, photographed our wedding in late August and they were both excellent. Dennis was very professional, responsive, creative, friendly, and most importantly for my husband and I, easy to work with throughout the entire process. He came highly recommended from our venue, Sugarbush Resort, and we soon understood why. We initially reached out to Dennis 11 months before our wedding and we met with him in person twice before our big day. Each time we met, Dennis was accommodating to our requests (and budget!) while also providing guidance on best options based on his professional experience, making excellent recommendations on things like whether or not to do a first look, timing of the ceremony in order to capture the best lighting, and taking us to scenic local places to take our wedding pictures (these in particular came out phenomenally). On the day of our wedding, everything was seamless. Dennis and Brooks were able to capture amazing wedding pictures while also taking a bunch of excellent candid photos without ever feeling like they were in the way. We are SO pleased with the way all of our photos came out and are excited to work with Dennis and Brooks on our wedding album. We highly recommend them!

    Sent on 01/04/2017
  • R

    Rachelle · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Their photos are honest, creative and beautifully edited! Communicating with the Currans before, during and after our wedding was professional, flexible and easy. From landscapes to portraits we were amazed with every frame they shot and have received endless compliments on their work throughout the entire wedding celebration! We highly recommend Curran Photography!

    Sent on 11/13/2016
  • User4701377 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an absolute pleasure working with Dennis and Ellen of Curran Photography!

    From amazing images that we never would have imagined, including Ellen getting into the water to take the perfect shot, to helping us create the perfect nighttime image, we were so amazed!

    We never felt that we had to leave the party for the perfect picture, they just always seemed to capture right when the time was right!

    Could not ask for a better experience! The only hard thing will be choosing the best images to frame!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 08/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of getting to know Dennis Curran, along with his son Brooks, for both an engagement shoot and for our wedding photography. We loved having the opportunity to get to know Dennis over the engagement shoot and felt that he would fit seamlessly into our wedding day. He was incredibly flexible with setting up the engagement shoot and waited until we had beautiful weather in order to shoot in one of the most scenic areas of the Mad River Valley. We immediately bonded over our love of skiing and the Valley.

    It was wonderful to have both Dennis and Brooks on our wedding day. They were able to catch multiple angles of different moments and seemed like they were in a million places at once! Dennis took the time to get a sense of the style of photography we were interested in and it definitely showed in the final product. We were thrilled with the wonderful shots that they captured and had such a hard time choosing our favorites! Not only did they capture great candid shots and formal group shots, but they stayed late into the night to get some unbelievable action shots of the dancing! We were able to go through the pictures and feel like we were re-living the night all over again! They also captured wonderful pictures of the wish lanterns that we lit at the end of the night.

    Dennis and Brooks were incredibly generous with their time and were wonderful and genuine people to work with. They are very knowledgeable about the area and will make sure you have unbelievable backdrops for your photos!

    We feel very lucky to have worked with the Currans and would recommend them to anyone without hesitation!

    Sent on 03/04/2014
  • R

    Rick · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just wanted to drop you an email to let you know how much we appreciated working with you on our daughter and son-in-law's wedding day. The way you strived for perfection and to attain the requests of the bride and groom and the families so unobtrusively was magical. Everyone felt that you were able to capture the essence of the afternoon preparations, the ceremony and the raucous celebration so well. And the thoughtful presentation of an album to the bride and groom at the conclusion of the reception was so wonderful of you. They enjoyed sharing it immediately with everyone, so many of whom were impressed with your work and the expeditious nature of the album's completion.

    We got a first glance at the pictures and are impressed that you have truly captured the essence of the wedding day, especially from the pre-wedding preparation through the ceremony. there are many shots of our daughter and son-in-law where their expressions recall exactly what was being said at that very moment.

    We look forward to seeing all of your photos. Again, it was a pleasure meeting you and working with you . Thanks for helping to make this wedding day even more special and memorable.

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • I

    Ian · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of having Dennis & Ellen Curran along with their son Brooks as our wedding photographers this past June, 2013. Becky knew from the first meeting that they would be a perfect fit. They had fresh, original ideas for photos in addition to being very professional and honoring all of our requests, which ended up being a lot! They motivated us to take pictures when the lighting was just right (and the rainbow came out!) but at the same time were not pushy at all, and respected our wishes to take a break from photos to dance and enjoy our guests. They captured all of the candid moments that we had hoped for, and looking back on the pictures now, they truly did an amazing job of encapsulating the energy and essence of the entire event. They were willing to literally get down and dirty to capture that perfect shot, and they stayed until the very end of the party to make sure not a single moment was lost. In addition, all 3 of the Curran’s were a pleasure to work with and were very kind, friendly people. The perfect addition to a beautiful Vermont wedding was a friendly, honest, & hardworking Vermont family to capture it all on film. Make sure to ask them about the red canoe! Thanks again Curran’s, words can’t express our gratitude!

    Sent on 08/18/2013
  • User3772255 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of working with Dennis and Ellen Curran for both our engagement and wedding photos in Waitsfield, VT. It was really nice to have our engagement photo shoot not only for the pictures, but also as an opportunity to get to know Dennis before the wedding. We were able to travel around the area, going to different locations for pictures, and it was great that Dennis knew the area well and knew where to find the most beautiful spots with good natural lighting.

    Dennis and Ellen shot our wedding together, along with their son, and we found it invaluable to have multiple people there who knew each other and had worked with each other for so long that they were able to capture the day without redundancy. It was wonderful to be able to have pictures of the same moments from different angles, as well as different moments happening at the same time. We have a nice mix of pictures that are traditional group photos, wonderful candids, and beautiful pieces of art. There were a bunch of scenic/background pictures which we appreciated because it showed us details that we hadn’t noticed in the moment. One of the best parts of working with Dennis and Ellen was that they were great at guiding us without being intrusive. We appreciated their helpful suggestions for photos, but they also allowed us to do whatever felt natural to us. At the reception, they were able to navigate the crowds and create photo opportunities while dealing with a changing background of moving people. We were blown away when they ended the night with us, staying later than we had agreed, and presented us with a beautiful photo album with some of their favorite photos from the night. We couldn’t even figure out how they put it together so quickly.

    We feel so lucky that we found a photography pair as talented and genuine as these two. Not only were they able to capture our day better than we could have ever imagined, but they were a pleasure to work with throughout the process.

    Sent on 01/01/2014
  • E

    Erika · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with Dennis and Ellen Curran at our May wedding at the Mountain Top Inn. They were extremely reassuring when they called the day before the wedding to discuss the plan for the predicted rainy cold weather. They had great ideas about where to take our outdoor wedding photos in the rain and the photos came out beautifully. They also did a great job of making us all feel comfortable. At our reception, they managed to find many of the groups of our family and friends enjoying themselves without us pointing them out. They even surprised us by projecting our photos from earlier in the day during our reception and putting together an album that we could take away with us! We are extremely happy that we chose Dennis and Ellen to be our wedding photographers and would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 07/28/2013
  • J

    Jen · Married on 03/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Curran Photography was amazing! Dennis was there early and he knew exactly where we would get the best pictures. The photographs were absolutely perfect and worth every penny. Dennis' artistic nature and professional understanding of light, color and pose made for the best memories we could have hoped for. Would definitely recommend.

    Sent on 04/21/2013
  • P

    paula frese · Married on 12/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional and fun. We love the way our picture turned out. Our families tell us they are the best wedding pictures they have ever seen.

    Sent on 01/09/2013
  • User2614762 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although we ended up not having a professional photographer in out wedding for budget reasons, we would have without any doubt chosen Ellen and Dennis! We had the pleasure to compared their work with several other photographers in the area and without any doubt they were exceptional. Not only the professionalism, but also the personal touch they give to their work and relationship with their clients was unparalleled. Even the fact that we had to resign to sign the contract only a month prior to the wedding and they didn't offer any problem and totally understood the situation even being willing to adjust the price or the hours for us was really unbelievable. For sure we will be choosing them for future events and will recommend them to all our friends!

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis and Ellen were a joy to work with and they made the entire day fun and easy. We were married at Sugarbush in Waitsfield, VT. Not only did Dennis drive around with us the day before the wedding to pick out the perfect spots for photos, they also agreed to come early on the day of the wedding to capture all of our wonderful outdoor shots before it started pouring rain. They knew how important it was to us to get pictures outdoors, and were extremely flexible to help make that happen. Shooting photos with them was natural and seamless. So many people have commented on our amazing pictures - you will not regret your choice to work with these two!

    Sent on 12/03/2012
  • A

    Annemarie · Married on 06/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional and easy and pleasant to work with.

    Sent on 07/12/2012
  • User2907751 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis and Ellen were wonderful for our June Wedding. They found all of the photo locations prior to our big day, and each was gorgeous. Their experience was obvious, because they worked with our planner leading up to the wedding, and were fantastic with our guests the day of the wedding. We looked around for a long time before deciding to hire Curran photography, but now that we have such an amazing collection of memories from our special day we’re sure that we chose the most professional photographers. My wife and I would highly recommended Curran photography to anyone who realizes just how important the pictures from the wedding are!

    Sent on 12/27/2012
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis and Ellen Curran are amazing photographers and wonderful people! We found their book through our wedding venue, and immediately contacted them in hopes that they were not already booked for our wedding. They worked closely with us and were so open to our suggestions, while of course offering their professional expertise. We are so thrilled with the photos from the wedding, and recommend them to anyone!

    Thank you Curran Photography!

    Sent on 02/02/2013
  • User2796719 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Curran Photography has been an excellent experience! Dennis and Ellen artfully captured the setting, ceremony, participants and guests for our daughter’s wedding at the Inn at Mountain View farm (VT). We particularly liked their flexibility in accommodating our priorities and their ability to see and react to opportunities presented by Mother Nature. They also instinctively knew which guests to capture in candid photos without us providing a “photo list”. The results of their work are exquisite!

    Sent on 11/24/2012
  • User2777302 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis photographed our wedding in Woodstock, Vermont held in June 2011. It was a wonderful experience. Dennis was easy to work with from the beginning to the end. He brought his portfolios for us to take a look and gave us enough time to consider other options without being pushy. We end up choosing Dennis because we like his shooting style and his flexible and easy Vermont way. He blended into the wedding process and captured the whole ceremony well, without interfering in the event in anyway. We had a lot of outdoor shooting and the pictures turned out great. He also took many good pictures of our family and guests, which were equally important to us. We also appreciated that the detailed attention Dennis paid to the photo album. He asked us to review the album several times and made revision along the way. We love our wedding photo album and enjoy the experience with Dennis~ highly recommended.

    Sent on 11/17/2012
  • User2712424 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is an amazing photographer who has a true talent for what he does. We worked with Dennis for both our engagement and wedding photos. A resident of Vermont and outdoor enthusiast, Dennis has great suggestions for photo venues. During our engagement session, which was complimentary, Dennis took us to a beautiful hill that had both a barn and Sugarbush mountain as a backdrop.

    He paid close attention in our initial conversation and knew that my husband and I enjoyed skiing at Sugarbush and also planned to have a barn wedding. My husband and I also shared with Dennis that we loved to road bike and Dennis offered us another "prop" an vintage bicycle that would hold our wedding programs the day of the event. He traveled to my husbands "dude house" the morning of the wedding to get some great shots of the groom and groomsmen and then made it to the bridal party as we prepared for the big moment.

    Dennis was able to catch amazing shots and stayed through the reception, although he did so in a way that I never noticed he was there snapping photos. Sure enough, he certainly was and we received over a thousand photos of our special day. We are so pleased with the quality of the photos and wedding album and truly enjoyed working with Dennis throughout the entire process. He is very accommodating and easy to do business with. I would highly recommend him to anyone doing a wedding in the VT area.

    Sent on 10/14/2012
  • J

    Jana · Married on 07/31/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dennis is an amazing photographer who has a true talent for what he does. We worked with Dennis for both our engagement and wedding photos. A resident of Vermont and outdoor enthusiaist, Dennis has great suggestions for photo venues. During our engagement session, which was complimentary, Dennis took us to a beautiful hill that had both a barn and Sugarbush mountain as a backdrop. \r\n\r\nHe paid close attention in our initial conversation and knew that my husband and I enjoyed skiing at Sugarbush and also planned to have a barn wedding. My husband and I also shared with Dennis that we loved to road bike and Dennis offered us another \"prop\" an vintage bicycle that would hold our wedding programs the day of the event. He traveled to my husbands \"dude house\" the morning of the wedding to get some great shots of the groom and groomsmen and then made it to the bridal party as we prepared for the big moment. \r\n\r\nDennis was able to catch amazing shots and stayed through the reception, although he did so in a way that I never noticed he was there snapping photos. Sure enough, he certainly was and we received over a thousand photos of our special day. We are so pleased with the quality of the photos and wedding album and truly enjoyed working with Dennis throughout the entire process. He is very accommodating and easy to do business with. I would highly recommend him to anyone doing a wedding in the VT area.

    Sent on 10/14/2012