Yoshi Ohara Photography Reviews

22 | Torrance, CA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Yoshi Ohara Photography

Recommended by 100%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User6982654 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    He is very fun! He made us smile all the time while we were doing photo shoot. We could not save files from my video camera for some reason. So his photos (huge amount of pictures!) brought us back our memories.

    Sent on 07/19/2016
  • User6349925 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi made our wedding day truly unforgettable with the awesome shots that he took!!

    Sent on 02/11/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi was our photographer for our June 2014 wedding and we had an excellent experience with him! He was very professional and know how to catch the "moment." Our pictures turned out to be fun & natural, just the way we wanted! I would highly recommend Yoshi to my friends and family!

    Sent on 09/22/2014
  • User4122160 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love our photos! Yoshi was great! He made the entire process easy and comfortable. He was professional and available throughout the entire planning and after. We had so many great shots to choose from and we received them very quickly after the wedding. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 05/22/2014
  • T

    Teryn · Married on 10/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi was amazing! He shot my engagement pictures and my wedding and did a magnificent job with both!He helped my hubby and I by directing some of our poses that helped keep our pictures natural and fun. My family loved Yoshi at the wedding..he made sure they all looked great!

    Sent on 03/18/2014
  • M

    Mari · Married on 04/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Yoshi after searching and searching and searching for a unique photographer. We found Yoshi's website and instantly fell in love with his style of photography. He is also a fashion photographer, which may help him catch the most fantastic angles and moments in his photos. We met with Yoshi at his home! And we couldn't have felt more comfortable with him right off the bat. We explained to him that we had a smaller budget than most, and he didn't hesitate to create a perfect all day package that was perfect for us. Yoshi and his assistants were so flexible, fun and professional. We received all our pictures right when we got back from our honeymoon and there are so many it will take us awhile to get through them all. So many fantastic shots, and wonderful moments were captured by Yoshi. We highly highly recommend Yoshi!

    Sent on 12/23/2013
  • K

    Karen · Married on 07/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi is absolutely fabulous! My husband and I met him several months before the wedding, and he helped us figure out the best ways to go about taking our pictures. We looked at his albums from previous weddings he had photographed, and we absolutely fell in love with his work!!
    Yoshi takes pride and joy in his work, and you can see it through his directions, how he talks wih you, and through the quality of the pictures. He directs you in taking the most fabulous pictures, because these are what you will take with you from your wedding forever!
    He took all the pictures I wanted: getting ready pictures, all the shots I wanted in the ceremony, after the ceremony (with friends, family, my husband and I), and at the reception, along wih plenty of candid moments! There is an abundant amount of gorgeous pictures.
    He is incredibly professional, fun, and easy to gt ahold of. I highly recommend him as a photographer to anyone who wants to remember the best night of their lives through breathtaking pictures. The pictures he took tell the story of my wedding, because he captures the emotion, the excitement, the fun, the tears, and the laughter; and they will for anyone else. If I ever need a photographer for any reason, I will surely call Yoshi to come and help.

    Sent on 09/02/2012
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 05/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were interested in Yoshi's services because his style was unique and not at all the same as most other wedding photographers out there. He offers various wedding packages but he was flexible and provided us with a custom package. He and his assistant were a lot of fun and easy to work with on the day. They both offered suggestions and ideas that would make our pictures different than most others. I'm still waiting for the pictures, however, he says they turned out great and that he would use some for his website. :)
    Thank you!!

    Sent on 05/25/2012
  • A

    Ann · Married on 03/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi was so great to work with on both our engagement pictures and on the actual wedding day! He was punctual, professional, and offered cool poses for our shots. He took into account all of the ideas we had and incorporated them into something even better. Not only was Yoshi wonderful to work with on our big day, he has been just as responsive now with getting us our pictures and our awesome photobook of our wedding day. I was referred to him from a friend and I would refer him to all of my friends and anyone else who needs a reliable, artistic photographer for their wedding! I could not have asked for a better photographer to capture one of the happiest days of my life!

    Sent on 08/14/2012
  • M

    Monica · Married on 11/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi is absolutely wonderful! We booked him the same day we met him. It was the best decision we made. I had randomly stumbled upon his website and ended up making an appointment to meet with him. My husband and I instantly had a connection with him and felt like he was the one we wanted to work with. After our meeting, my husband and I went to our car. I told him I like Yoshi. He said he was thinking the same thing! So we looked at each other and said "then let's book him!" We walked back to our meeting spot, knocked on the door, and handed him our deposit check right there. From then on, Yoshi took care of everything. He contacted us and wanted to find out more about our families and close friends so he would know who to focus on the day of the wedding. Not only was he great with capturing all the perfect shots for our wedding, but he also has a great sense of humor. We felt like he was part of the family. We booked him for 9 hours and he did not disappoint at all! He and his assistant were taking photos continuously. Yoshi has a great eye for beautiful shots. When my husband and I got our wedding photos from him, we were so amazed at how great they turned out. It only took him 2-3 weeks to get all our finished photos to us! Some of our friends who had gotten married before us hadn't even received theirs from other photographers. Yoshi is vey honest and will tell you if something wouldn't look right. We really appreciated that because it made it so much easier for us and saved us so much time. He would make sure every single person in each photo looked their best. One example was when he asked someone to put their purse down so that it wouldn't be seen in the picture. I would have never thought of having someone do that! And after seeing all the photos I can see how that would have ruined the photos. Yoshi is super talented and gave each person direction so all our photos turned out so natural and perfect! We chose Yoshi because not only does he have over 20 years of experience, but he also has a wide range of experience in different aspects of photography such as photographing models and celebrities like Johnny Depp. In addition to all the traditional and "popular" poses, we also wanted some fun and creative poses. That was exactly what Yoshi did for us. If you haven't seen any of his work, be sure to check out his websites! You won't be disappointed! Thank you so much Yoshi for all our wonderful photos that we will cherish forever and ever! You are the best!

    Sent on 01/30/2012
  • A

    Adrian · Married on 10/08/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our photos are amazing and we only have Yoshi to thank for! No regrets! Believe me, you don't want any regrets at the end of the day; afterall, you only have one shot at that day!
    We interviewed many photographers for our wedding and Yoshi was a perfect fit. First and foremost, Yoshi has all the professional qualifications and extensive experience necessary that we were looking for to capture all the priceless moments on our special day. He was very easy to work with, extremely flexible and accomodating, confident and professional; yet, at times animated in order to engage the rest of the wedding party for that perfect shot. The quality of his work was superb and exceeded our expectations.

    In photography there are those who are good, but arrogant and difficult to work with or those who are nice, but terrible at photography; AND THEN THERE IS YOSHI, WHO IS A TRUE PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHER WHO IS EXTREMELY EASY TO WORK WITH.

    We highly recommend Yoshi. We promise you, you won't be disappointed

    Sent on 11/17/2012
  • R

    Reiko · Married on 09/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Photographer!

    When we were looking for a photographer in the LA area, we came across Yoshi’s website and we were so impressed by his professional and artistic work! All of his work was so sharp, vibrant and amazing! We contacted him to get information and he responded to us right away. When we first met him at his office, he was so helpful and informative. He covered every step of the way and we were very comfortable with him from the start. His itinerary was very structured and well planned. With his excellent experience in this field, he was giving us great shot lists and ideas for our wedding photos. Yoshi is easy to work with and has a great personality! He was able to work within our budget and produced such wonderful photos of our wedding. Yoshi artistically captured important moments in our ceremony and his quality of work is remarkable. Yoshi is diligent in his work and has an exceptional eye for details. Our portrait photos he took at the wedding were truly amazing and we had such a fun time with him. He made our day even more memorable! We will cherish every photo he took forever! We couldn’t have asked for anything more and highly recommend Yoshi for wedding photography. Thank you, Yoshi!!

    Sent on 12/22/2011
  • R

    Rosemary · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Yoshi by my cousin and he did not disappoint! Yoshi is a fantastic photographer. He has such a great personality that you cant help but feel comfortable around him. Yoshi really takes his job seriously and that is reflected in his beautiful photos. The angles, the lighting.....he knows what he's doing! Affordable prices, quality pictures, quick turnaround....that is what Yoshi Photography is all about. I would not hesitate to refer him to my friends.

    Sent on 09/21/2011
  • E

    Erika · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we met Yoshi Ohara, we instantly knew he would be our photographer for our wedding. Yoshi is AMAZING! He is a true expert, who knows exactly what lighting and poses make for a great shot. From our engagement session to our wedding day, Yoshi dedicates himself to capturing all those special moments. We are beyond delighted with how our photos turned out. The quality of his work and his overall professionalism is incomparable. Yoshi did an absolutely wonderful job coordinating our family and friends when taking group shots and capturing candid moments throughout our entire wedding. His easy going and warm personality made the entire experience enjoyable from start to finish. I can’t tell you how impressed my guests were with his work ethic. He was literally in every corner of the dance floor snapping shots of all our guests. We recommend Yoshi 110%. You won’t be disappointed with his knowledge of photography, his impeccable eye for detail and most of all the quality of his work! Yoshi, we can’t thank you enough for capturing all the wonderful moment of our wedding day!

    Sent on 08/17/2011
  • R

    Robert & Joyce · Married on 04/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing a photographer for our wedding was one of choices we agonized over during our vendor selection process. Eventually we narrowed it down to 2 – Yoshi and another photographer. We ended up choosing Yoshi because he was very personable, hands-on, and provided us a great amount of deal of his photographs as examples.

    From the very beginning, Yoshi explained how to best set our general timeline. He also provided feedback for us on our activities so he could best understand what type of photos we wanted. We created our timeline with his recommendations in mind and thankfully allotted for extra time at each location. Yoshi made extra use of this time and the results speak for themselves. He also worked within our budget and we opted for a package which included him and his second photographer. (Highly recommended to capture the more candid photos of the wedding.) Since they were looking to promote their videographer, we even received one for a deal.

    When taking the pictures, Yoshi was very professional. He drove the activities when necessary and made himself scarce during other times. The result was a nice mixture of photojournalism and posed pictures of not only us, but our guests as well. Yoshi even stayed past the agreed upon time to capture some extra photos of everyone dancing.

    We received the photos and videos within 2 weeks after the wedding – all 3500 of them. It took us a while to sort through the photos, but we’d rather have too many than not enough. They turned our fantastic and everyone was pleased with the results. Thanks Yoshi!

    Sent on 05/16/2011

    Yoshi Ohara Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for reviewing our service.
    It was pleasure working with you!!
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 10/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "We were very lucky to have met yoshi and his crew. At first we didn't quite know what to look for and expect in a professional photographer for our wedding. But after a brief meeting with Yoshi, he explained everything we needed to know very thoroughly. So we immediately knew that he would be our photographer for our wedding. Yoshi's professionalism and promptness were exceptional. Yoshi's work exceeded our expectations- You can see his passion for photography in the quality of his pictures- very clear and sharp, and quantity- we're so happy we got this many..!! He always came very well prepared with all of his top-notch equipment. In addition, we are not professional models, but Yoshi patiently guided us through on how to "act" in front of the camera so we got pictures from the best angle. Another thing we like is that Yoshi worked around with our expectation and what we wanted without compromising a single bit of his picture quality. We are very pleased with his work, and we will definitely use his service again for our future photoshoot." Sheila & Evan

    Sent on 05/17/2011
  • P

    Paul · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi Ohara is definitely the guy you want on your team for the BIG day!
    We were impressed with the quality of his photography and his flexibility in adjusting his packages to meet our specific needs. We signed up for an engagement session and were amazed with the variety of pictures that he took. All our engagement & wedding pictures came out to perfection. He is very professional and accommodating, taking into consideration the type of photos we wanted. Yoshi quickly returned to us every photo that he took after our engagement session and the wedding... we were so surprised with the huge number of pictures we received and the quality of all our photos! Yoshi was so much fun to be around, very professional, passionate and always looking for the perfect picture (we're still not sure if he ever took dinner because everytime we looked he was off taking another picture). Finding a good photographer was very important to us and we were so happy with our choice. Now that our special day has passed, we have an amazing set of pictures to remember it by."

    Sent on 05/25/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yoshi's pictures were amazing! I slowly went through all of them, there are so many :) Which is a plus! My husband and I could not be more pleased with his photos, he captured everything we wanted and more! He captured ALL the special and fun moments of the wedding so spectacularly. I'm not sure how to express this correctly, but the pictures looked so natural and genuine. My husbands biggest desire for his wedding photos, which he told me over and over, when we were looking for a photographer, was that he wanted the pictures to capture real moments and feelings and not look posed or fake. Yoshi hit that dead on and exceeded our expectations! What I love even more is that he was able to still capture those moments and make some great artistic pictures, which is what i wanted :) I was also very impressed by his efficiency, technique, knowledge of the lighting, how well he communicated with my guest, dedication to making sure he got all of the shots, and working with me on my schedule and concerns! I could really tell that he has a true passion for photography, and wasn't just there to take pictures. He really tried to capture the moment. We went to several other weddings that summer in the same area and i was not nearly as impressed with their photographers. Even other people that came to both my wedding and the other weddings made similar comments. They have told me that when they get married they are going to use our photographer. Even some of my friends mom's, who saw both sets of pictures, told their daughters they have to use Yoshi. I 100% recommend Yoshi, you will not regret it!

    Sent on 06/12/2011
  • pengwedding

    Srivitta & Steve · Married on 07/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Yoshi because he is the best. From the first time we met him, we saw the quality of his work, his stunning photographs, and his great personality. We did both our engagement session and wedding photography with Yoshi. He listened to our needs and customized a package just for us. He was always professional, prompt, efficient, and very easy to work with. After both our engagement session and wedding day, we received ALL our digital photos in less than two weeks. Once we selected the photos for our wedding album, Yoshi designed a beautiful layout and listened to our changes for the final print. We got a beautiful leatherbound wedding book handcrafted from Italy--it is absolutely STUNNING! We also have two mini-albums for our parents and are so excited to share it with them. Yoshi always came to our sessions early, well-prepared, and captured every moment. Truly, nearly every single shot he takes is a well-framed shot and needs very little photoshopping. Thank you, Yoshi Ohara, you are such a gem!

    Sent on 09/01/2011
  • R

    rosalind · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very good quality professional work while providing an exciting experience for not just my husband and I but for my entire family as well. His photographs were outstanding. Made us feel like superstars and very special. Very hard at work and provides excellent service. I highly recommend him! I had everyone ask for his bussiness number when they seen how he worked and most especially when they saw the photographs. I love the details and candid moments he captured during our special day.

    Sent on 06/30/2011
  • D

    daisy & leo · Married on 04/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    hi we are daisy and leo. yoshi did our wedding last year in april 2010. yoshi conducted him self in a very professional manner provided great service and created great shots. we've even refered yoshi to our family and friends. we look foward in working with yoshi soon..

    Sent on 05/25/2011
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/09/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing a photographer to capture the most important day of our lives was one of the biggest decisions for our wedding, aside from choosing each other of course! Since my now husband and I both have modeling experience, and I myself am a photographer, we knew it would be tough to find someone who could meet our expectations.

    I searched the internet for countless hours trying to find just the right look. When I found Yoshi’s website I fell in love right away! You could tell he was not just documenting the day, but capturing the love, humor, and the emotion and placing it into his art.

    Yoshi is so warm and made us feel comfortable right away. He also listened to our ideas and made them even better. I have never seen a photographer work so tirelessly to make sure he had every moment captured. We were also so impressed with his professionalism and timeliness.

    The photos were meticulously retouched to make us look our very best. When we received our exquisite album both of our mouths dropped open as we turned each page, we had never seen anything so beautiful! We are forever grateful to have this work of art to show our friends and family and to cherish throughout the years.

    Thank you Yoshi for all your hard work and for sharing your God-given talent with us! Sincerest Thanks! Nicole and James Dawson
    (Wedding Date: August 9, 2009)

    Sent on 05/24/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review