Wendy Mitchell Photography Reviews

109 | Buffalo, NY
See photos, pricing and details

109 Reviews for Wendy Mitchell Photography

Recommended by 99%

109
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0

5 User photos

Wendy Mitchell Photography 1
Wendy Mitchell Photography 2
Wendy Mitchell Photography 3
Wendy Mitchell Photography 4
Wendy Mitchell Photography 5
Sort by:
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our best decision!

    Wendy was recommended by a friend, and she did not disappoint! From our first meeting with her we knew she was the one to photograph one of the best days of our lives! She first did our engagement photos which were absolutely beautiful, and then our wedding which took our breath away! There wasn’t a moment that she missed, and this was done with no “official list” of what I wanted. Wendy is very kind, funny, and easy going. I’m not big on having my pictures taken, but she always made me feel comfortable. Wendy was without a doubt the right choice!

  • T

    Tara Voorhies · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic wedding photographer!

    Wendy did an absolutely phenomenal job with our wedding photos! She took the time to meet with us prior to our wedding to discuss what we wanted and she was able to showcase her expertise to make our pictures amazing! Wendy was extremely professional and made it easy for us and our guests to have a blast without worry. Our photographs were promptly available both online and via personal USB with outstanding quality. We will definitely be seeking out Wendy again as our journey continues!

  • P

    Peggy · Married on 07/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional and flexible

    With no script to work from, and in a small space (60 people on a yacht), Wendy took beautiful candids of the guests, the dancing, families and the happy couple. She is the ultimate professional, and I highly recommend her photography service!

  • J

    jenna · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy was so fantastic throughout our wedding journey! It began with our engagement session at Knox farm in the middle of February (we wanted snow). It was cold, but she managed to get some amazing shots!. The day of our wedding Wendy was so helpful and flexible, and patient when our wedding party got a little distracted. Her photos are simply beautiful, and she really takes time to make the experience personal. Everyone in the wedding party loved her!

  • S

    Shea Breier · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond our wildest dreams!

    When my husband and I got engaged we both sat down and figured out our top #1 most important thing! My #1 was photography and his was food/alcohol. So he did our research and through a friend we found Wendy. We sat down with Wendy and were beyond impressed with her as a person and then the quality of her work was unreal! We did an engagement session with her and were blown away. But honestly nothing and I mean NOTHING can properly express my gratitude for what Wendy did for me on the day of our wedding. She was with me in the morning keeping me calm capturing moments I didn’t know happened. Even though we were late to the church she made sure I got a “first touch” with my husband and a friend praying over us. She did the work of 4 photographers somehow and captured angles we didn’t know one person could get! I get choked up writing this because Wendy was such an integral part of our wedding in a way that no other photographer could be. She remembered every single groomsmen and bridesmaids name which was such a feat because there were 16 of them. She was impeccable as a human being and as a photographer. My husband and I now refer to her as family! And we would never do photography with another person! We just drove home from Cleveland Ohio to get a couple Christmas photos which we could’ve easily done in this area but refuse to let anyone else take our photo. But that’s the clientele that Wendy elicits! I promise you you’ll go back and you’ll find ways to go back. She’s just that damn good!

    Wendy Mitchell Photography 6
    Wendy Mitchell Photography 7
    Wendy Mitchell Photography 8
    Wendy Mitchell Photography 9
    Wendy Mitchell Photography 10
  • D

    Dorothy Morehouse · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "We would friends in real life." She is the BEST!

    I knew I wanted to hire Wendy based on her previous work. She did not disappoint. I live in Missouri so we communicated entirely by email. She was prompt & easy to reach when I had questions or needed to comfirm something. When Wendy showed up at the hotel for the wedding it was like we were old friends. She was easy going & cool. When it came time for family photos & wedding party photos, she took charge & it was clear she had done many weddings. She fit in with my friends perfectly.

    When it came to getting the photos, she was just as easy to reach. When I missed the time to use the website to have my parents order, I emailed her and she was willing to put them back up on the site. Again, I never waited for than a half a day for an answer to any of my questions.

  • A

    Astrid · Married on 01/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm a little bit late in posting this but Wendy was the photographer for my wedding in January 2017. From start to finish she was really wonderful. After meeting with her just once my husband and I knew she would be a good fit and we didn't interview any other photographers.
    The day of the wedding she was on time and dressed professionally. She was willing to go the extra step for us to get the shots we wanted...to the extent of even bearing the cold, snowy January weather to get some photos outside. The guests loved her too, she mingled well and everyone could tell she really loves her work. I have since mentioned to many people that there isn't one photo that she took that I didn't like. She was really able to capture the essence and emotions of the day.
    I can't express how happy I am that Wendy was our wedding photographer. I definitely recommend her and would hire her again in an instant!

  • C

    Christina · Married on 10/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking Wendy was one of the best decisions we made in our wedding planning process. We set up a bunch of meetings with photographers to see who would be the best fit,. Just based on pictures from websites and blogs, Wendy was our top choice going in. When we met for our initial meeting it was like sitting down to catch up with an old friend. When she left, I turned to my husband and said "Oh man, I would totally hang out with her. She's awesome." And that was pretty much it, we knew we'd found the right fit.

    We booked an engagement shoot before our wedding. My husband is not the biggest fan of having his picture taken and being the center of attention makes him uncomfortable, so we definitely wanted to practice for the wedding. At the engagement session, Wendy made Matt feel at ease. We're not the most affectionate couple in front of other people, so we were definitely one of those couples who needed direction as far as what to do, but Wendy never made us feel bad about that. The whole process made both of us feel great. And of course we were blown away by the pictures we received.

    The day of the wedding, Wendy was a breath of fresh air. She was on top of the schedule and gently pointed me in the direction I needed to go in throughout the day, which was very helpful and appreciated. She was present and personable without being overt and in people's faces like some photographers can be. Wendy was great about the little things that were important, and was super patient when my nieces and nephew were just NOT having it with the pictures. We received so many compliments, not just about her work but regarding Wendy as a person. Everyone loved her, and so did we.

    Wendy is an exceptional photographer and an absolute joy to work with. She is worth every single penny.

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Before I even met Wendy I knew I loved her attention to detail, and her uncanny ability to capture emotion. Any wedding photographer can stage a beautiful photo, and dress it up with a bunch of cool effects and fancy software... if that's what you're looking for, cool! But to me there's something special about the ones who can truly capture all the raw energy and excitement of such an emotional day through their natural candids (and still make everyone look good in the process! Because we've all seen poorly timed candids, and nobody wants to look like a hot mess on their wedding day!) Maybe part of this is because she'd had a chance to get to know us and our personalities through our engagement session (hint: SIGN UP for the engagement session!)... but I think a bigger part of it comes from true passion for what she does. She treated us through the whole process- from booking, to the day of the wedding, to hand delivering our album (and staying to chat for over an hour) as though we were the only wedding on her schedule for the whole year. You can tell talking to her that she loves what she does, and you can FEEL it in her photos.

    As others have mentioned, her personality brought an aura of calm to what could have been a crazy day, and I experienced both moments where I forgot she was even there while she snuck the most beautiful pictures in the background, and moments where just having her there helped settle my nerves, keep me on schedule, and remind me to enjoy every moment of the day. Wendy "got" me. She was my kind of person. And I can't wait to share her pictures with my grandchildren someday.

  • D

    Deanna · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    During our wedding planning process, my now husband and I had no prior experience in hiring a photographer. After Wendy photographed our engagement session in August 2014 and wedding in September 2015, she has certainly set our baseline expectations. Wendy's photography style is classic, yet candid and incredibly stunning. During our wedding ceremony and reception, I barely remember seeing Wendy, which amazes me considering the amount of candid photos she was able to capture. In addition, her laidback and zen disposition is extremely calming on a day of complete organized chaos. Wendy felt like a member of the family at our wedding that just happened to also be capturing every moment of our big day.

    Despite Wendy's very busy schedule (we booked her over a year and a half in advance), she responds quickly and thoroughly to all emails and concerns. Considering all of these elements, the value of her high-quality services is very reasonable. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a professional and equally talented wedding photographer in the Buffalo-Niagara region. I'm convinced that come Christmas, my family and I will still be pouring over our beautiful wedding photos and raving about her extreme talent. Look no further than Wendy Mitchell - you will seriously not be disappointed.

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy Mitchell was the absolute best and most talented wedding photographer. She doesn't need to rely on photoshop for high quality images of your important day. She was extremely professional and had the capacity to go with the flow and capture those special moments. You will be lucky if you can snag her for your big day. No regrets. A few family members have passed since our wedding and we cherish the memories that Wendy captured. Thank you so much.

  • A

    Alex · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough good things about Wendy! She is fantastic! She is very professional, responsive, polite and FUN! I learned about her though a coworker that used Wendy for her wedding. I loved my co workers' pictures and album and knew I had to book her. She fills up quick and well in advance, which is a sign of an excellent photographer. Wendy put together a timeline for my wedding way back when we initially started planning that I stuck to the day of the wedding. She knows what she is doing and keeps everyone on track. Wendy was so patience with everyone and didn't get annoyed by some of our craziness! She was courteous to the parents and grand parents and made sure everyone was happy. Wendy gave us a couple sneak peaks of our pictures immediately after the wedding on her facebook page and had a blog up with 30 photos within three days of the wedding. Not only does she provide quality work but she is quick too. THANK YOU Wendy!!! :)

  • A

    Ann · Married on 06/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Wendy to shoot our wedding at The Foundry in Buffalo in June based on the recommendations of several friends who have used her. Wendy started with "first look" photos in the afternoon, then formals with our wedding party, then family photos, ceremony, and reception. I really cannot say enough about her. It was a hectic day (aren't all weddings?) and she was the consummate professional throughout it all. She had great suggestions for locations and poses, and she just melted into the background. It was really important to me to have a photographer who isn't obtrusive - I think it's incredibly rude when the guests can't see the ceremony because the photographer is in the way. Wendy made a point of making herself invisible, but she didn't miss a single shot. Even when my aunt, who is a self-styled photographer, showed up and insisted that she would take our photos, even going so far as to nudge Wendy out of the way, Wendy handled it like a pro. She also worked with our other vendors (videographer, DJ, site coordinator, etc) to make sure that she was in the right place at the right time and everything ran smoothly.
    We got a few photos on her blog within days of the wedding, and the entire set (450+ photos!!) within a MONTH. Her turnaround times are unheard of. Her photos were gorgeous: she really captured the little moments beautifully. The only difficult part of working with Wendy is you won't be able to choose which photos to put in your album, you'll want to use every one. Her prices are also extremely reasonable, and she was willing to work with us to give us everything we wanted and nothing we didn't. I would hire her again in a heartbeat. She's a dream to work with and worth every penny. You can't do better than Wendy Mitchell Photography.

  • A

    Ann-Katrin · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Wendy through weddingwire and fell in love with her work so we decided to book her for our wedding. And what can I say, she did an amazing job with our pictures! It was like she wasnt even there that day and still she made sure all the pics we wanted were taken and she brought in so many ideas. We fell in love with the pics we already got to see. A lot of family and friends tell me it looks like out of a movie. And we were even told by friends that attended several weddings before that she was the best photographer they have worked with so far.
    Everything was easy and smooth with Wendy even though we were never able to meet her in person to talk things over before our wedding and had to do that through Skype.
    Thank you so much Wendy! You are so talented and helped making our day perfect and having the best pictures to remember every part of it!
    If youre still looking for a photographer, search no longer and hire her, you will not be disappointed!

  • User5218522 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy was absolutely amazing and we could not have asked for a better person to capture our special day. Everything went so smoothly and she makes you feel so at ease throughout the entire process. We had chosen Wendy because she photographed my friend's wedding a few years previous and did a great job. Since we live out of state from where we had our wedding, we met via video chat which was very helpful. She knows what works well and captured all the little moments that made our day so special.
    You will not be disappointed with Wendy, she is a wonderful person and a wonderful photographer.

  • K

    KATHERINE · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is so much I could say about Wendy and all of it is great. After falling in love with her work it was an easy choice to pick her for our wedding. Sure, I could have spent less, or gotten a package from some combo company with a photobooth or fancy lights. Attend a single wedding show and you will go home with at least 20 cards from photographers. BUT when it comes to the most important moment in your life that you want to remember, the last thing you want is a blurry picture or stale shot that makes you grimace. I wanted to see my photos and feel only joy at the great day we had. Wendy did that for us. She was quick to respond to all my questions, made sure to get all the shots I wanted, and provided a full set of photos in high resolution so I could print them. We also have an online gallery to share with friends and family. I have received so many complements on my photos and her style at the wedding. She was never in the way or rude to people to get a shot. It was like having a great friend take your photos. She knew where to be and when, but had fun while doing it. Anybody can buy a camera but it takes a true eye for beauty to be a great photographer and she certainly has it down.

    I could not recommend anyone else. If you want the best, you want Wendy. Plain and simple. But do book early as she is so fantastic that she books up rather quickly.

  • M

    Meghan · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meeting Wendy was like reconnecting with a long-lost friend. She is extremely personable and her personality allows you to be 100% yourself in front of the camera which is a rare quality. Additionally, her work is absolutely stunning. We hired her to do our wedding on 10/04/2014. She has already uploaded a blog post and several amazing pictures that allow us to relive every moment of our spectacular wedding. I would highly recommend her to anyone.

  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having Wendy as our wedding photographer. Not only are our photos absolutely beautiful, but she also was so much fun to work with! We received many compliments from our friends and family on how friendly and easygoing she was, and what a great job she did capturing all of the special details of our wedding. We would highly recommend her to anyone!

  • User3674034 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brides - Look no further! Wendy Mitchell Photography is the easiest and best decision you will make for your wedding. We knew we wanted Wendy from the moment we first laid eyes on her work. She was the first and only photographer we met with as we knew we didn't need to look any further.

    The first time we met her, we quickly learned that she was just as great of a person as her photos were breathtaking. Some vendors require a lot of oversight and a lot of management. Wendy was on the other end of this spectrum. I knew with her I could give her an idea of what I was looking for and she would run with it. Not only would she run with it, but also it turned out even better than what I had envisioned.

    Wedding planning is stressful. Wedding day coordination is stressful. Wendy removed all of that in all areas that she could, even outside of photography. Our venue coordinator was horrible (to say the least) and Wendy stepped right in. She also did an excellent job working hand in hand with our videographer. The way they worked together, you would have thought they had been working together for years. Our guests commented how great she was the entire day of the wedding. They loved her fun, easygoing nature, and you would have thought she was a friend of ours thy way she fit right in. Our guests couldn't wait to see the photos, and when they did, they fell in love all over again.... just like my husband and I did.

    Although your wedding day goes by so fast after so much planning, the product that Wendy provided us will allow us to forever relive the best day of our life and the beginning of our Happily Ever After through her talented eye and perfect lens. We can't thank Wendy enough.

  • J

    Journey · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough great things about Wendy! She is an amazing, talented photographer and is so easy to work with . She knows exactly what she is doing, is professional and so much fun! I didn't have to stress for one minute on that day. She was flexible, really listened and paid attention to our vision for the day. She was able to get images that were important to us as well as the ones she knew would be priceless, even despite my husband disliking pictures! I highly recommend Wendy and can't wait to see the rest of the photos!
    Journey
    August 30, 2014

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 08/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy is personable, discreet and extremely talented. She truly has an eye for finding the perfect spot, lighting and timing in her photos. When we got engaged, we knew we wanted Wendy (she had photographed one my best friend's wedding) and we even choose our specific date based on her availability! Any couple who has the pleasure of working with her will never regret it! Thank you Wendy!

  • Jillian

    Jillian · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Wendy. We are from out of town, and we also weren't quite sure of our wedding picture locations until the last minute, but Wendy was very flexible and easy to work with the entire time. She had great ideas for photo locations, but also was open to all of our ideas as well. We didn't want photographs that looked too posed or cheesy, and we didn't even have to tell her that-- all of our pictures were so natural. She was great to have around during the wedding day as well. She always happened to be in right place at the right time, and she was never intrusive. We are so happy we chose her as our photographer and would recommend her to others in an instant.

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough good things about Wendy Mitchell. We had Wendy photograph our engagement session, as well as our wedding. The photos from both sessions turned out absolutely beautiful and we couldn't be happier! Wendy is super friendly and responsive. We never had an issue with her returning calls or emails. She really cares about her job and you can tell how much with how great her finished products turn out (right down to the packaging!). We would highly recommend Wendy to anyone looking for a photographer! You won't regret it.

  • B

    Barbara · Married on 06/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy is the best! She's photographed both my daughter's weddings, a niece and I also referred her to a friend for her daughter's wedding. We've all been thrilled with the pictures. I had another niece who wanted to have Wendy photograph her wedding but alas she was booked on that day. We call her the wedding ninja. She gets these amazing shots and half the time you don't even know she was there! She captures the beauty of the settings and the joy and emotion of the day perfectly.

  • User4240532 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy was AMAZING start to finish!! All people do is comment on how beautiful our pictures are and ask us who took them! We actually have friends who just got engaged and instantly wanted her information. We had a very large wedding party and by the time we took group pictures she had memorize everyone's name!! This helped not only in ease of picture taking, but in the comfort of our friends!! Our parents were also very pleased with how attentive Wendy was and made sure everyone had all the pictures they wanted!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review