The Landing at Shilshole Bay Reviews

5 | Seattle, WA
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for The Landing at Shilshole Bay

Recommended by 22%

5

1.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 1.0
  • Professionalism 1.0
  • Flexibility 1.2
  • Value 1.2
  • Average response time 1.0

1 User photo

The Landing at Shilshole Bay 1
Sort by:
  • L

    Lyssa Clark · Married on 07/06/2019

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Beware! Unprofessional

    We found shilshole at the wedding show in January where they were promoting their new space with 25% off. We went and toured and the large downstairs space was under renovation, but Peter and Crystal sold us on the vision and the promise of flexibility on catering and bar options so we put a deposit down for July 6. For the next few months we tried to work on food, we were told we could bring in a caterer or food truck but later were informed the caterer could only "drop and go" and not serve or use any kitchen equipment. We were essentially forced to use their in house service. Chef Nora was the only professional staff they had and worked with us on menu and budget. Crystal, the coordinator, was awful. It took her a week+ to respond to emails and did not take notes, details would have to be told/confirmed/reconfirmed to ensure they weren't missed and her child and dog were always at the venue including on our wedding day! Renovations were not complete on the first floor by the time of our wedding, so we had to move upstairs to the much smaller finished space. Sounds like we we're one of the last to do so as now the venue is permanently closed due to lack of permitting for all the renos taking place. The only positive I will say is they had a great bar package and we definitely got our money's worth there. All in all not a great experience, but at least we got married which is more than I can say for a lot of couples they've now scammed out of a venue.

    Sent on 07/29/2019
  • Briana

    Briana Cheek · Married on 08/31/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    No Longer in Business/ Shut down

    The Landing at Shilshole Bay was shut down by the city of Seattle ~50 days out from our wedding. They did not notify us in a timely or professional manner (I found out from other brides on Facebook) and I had to scramble to find a new venue at the last minute which was a logistical nightmare and we had already put down a full deposit.

    Sent on 09/10/2019
  • K

    Kristin Le · Married on 07/13/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Wedding Nightmare

    My husband received a text the day of our wedding that the city had shut down the venue (this happened Friday evening from what I’ve heard - why the delay in notification? I will never know). We had to scramble to find a replacement venue for 240 guests in a matter of hours. Mike Thomas had posted a review in another post (yup - that’s my wedding they’re talking about in the Seattle Times). While the venue is beautiful, working with this venue was an utter nightmare. Just 2 days before the wedding, we had our rehearsal, and were assured that everything would be fine. For months, we were assured that. However, the venue had a stop work order in place since January. I was not notified of this by the owner until 6:32 am on the day of my wedding. Despite multiple attempts to reach out to the owners (Crystal’s email doesn’t even work anymore), we were met with radio silence.

    Sent on 07/26/2019
  • D

    D P Trickey · Married on 06/22/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Horrid Sham of a Venue operator

    Peter Olson should never be in business. He not only didn’t deliver on his promise to finish construction in time he lied about deadlines and added so much stress to our planning because he was dishonest from the beginning and has put so many brides and grooms through the same issue-i suspect this is the case at both his original venue at Tyee as well as The Lansing at Shilshole. So NOT book this venue and if you did find an alternate. And join the group who may need to prosecute him to get refunds.

    Sent on 07/25/2019
  • R

    R Thomas · Married on 06/22/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    HEARTLESS venue operator on a day that's about LOVE

    What do you do when your wedding venue has it's windows covered with paper a stop work order posted on the door on the day of your wedding?
    What do you do when the owner of the wedding venue promised it would be ready on time and then stopped communicating with you as it got closer?
    What do you do when guests from all over the world are heading to a wedding venue that is shut down?
    What do you do when the owner promised you your money back and never delivered on his promise?
    ANSWER: Find another venue! The Landing at Shilshole Bay might look wonderful on the outside, but it is ROTTEN TO THE CORE on the inside.
    See article below for the full story:
    https://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/couples-planning-weddings-jilted-by-owner-of-seattle-event-venue/

    Sent on 07/25/2019
    The Landing at Shilshole Bay 2

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review