34 Reviews for Steve Matteo Photography

5.0
out of 5.0
34 Steve Matteo Photography Reviews
Sort by:

4.8

Steve did a fantastic job with our engagement and wedding Photos! He was very accommodating to our needs, willing to work around our busy schedules and was as professional as i could have imagined. Myself and my wife are both from Chicago and had some specific places we thought would be great for pictures but other than locations we had no idea what would look good. Steve was amazing in the fact that he would use our locations and have us stand in different ways, doing different poses, and taking pictures at different angles to maximise the views and photos. At the time i was very annoyed by all the posing, and saw other couples taking pictures at these locations with just one camera being very quick (Steve had two cameras and two light stand tripod things). However during the photo shoot Steve showed me the difference on his camera if not done with the extra equipment he had and when i saw the change in quality i was dumbfounded. Steve is a master of his craft and we are still amazed at what he was able to do with our wedding photos. Steve gave us memories that will never fade and of such quality we will never tire of looking at them. If you like Steve's style of photography, like myself and my wife, then i highly recommend him to be the photographer you chose for your wedding.

Profile Picture Seamus, 4/30/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve was an absolute pleasure to work with: professional, experienced, creative, with precision and strong attention to detail.
We asked Steve to take photos of our civil union ceremony and around Chicago. He did a fantastic job. We did not know in advance what we wanted for the photoshoot and entrusted Steve to lead the way; as a native to Chicago, he knew all the best areas for shooting photos that managed to capture both the beauty of the city as well as highlight us as a couple. He even stayed overtime for no extra charge to satisfy a special request of ours with the Willis Tower in the background.

During the photo shoot, Steve would give very specific instructions on how and where to stand (always with an avuncular smile!), and we did our best to follow. It was not until after we received the photos that we could understand and appreciate his photo cues: he took gorgeous shots of us embracing, reflecting off entire buildings or taking advantage of the light. The photos turned out absolutely phenomenal. Within a day he had already touched up some of our photos and sent us samples to share with family and friends, and he delivered the entire set of photos in a matter of a couple of weeks. We received them as a shared Dropbox folder, with a complete set in color and another in black and white.

My fiance had initially been hesitant to spend money on a photographer, but after seeing the final product he was stunned and admitted that the level of quality and professionalism captured in each photo was worth it! As an aside, my fiance had contacted over 30 photographers in Chicago to obtain quotes for comparison. Steve was by far the most professional, and he also had the second lowest price (which he stuck to, true and true).

Overall, we strongly recommend Steve as a photographer.

Profile Picture User5453599, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve Matteo was such a joy to work with. He truly captured our beautiful wedding day and I am beyond happy with our pictures. Steve was very prompt with sending us our pictures after the wedding. It was so great to see pictures Steve captured without us even knowing he was there. He is very talented and I am so happy he was our photographer. I will be using him again in the future. I would recommend Steve Matteo Photography to anyone and especially friends and family.

Profile Picture Kelly, 6/20/15, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.9

We selected Steve after recommendations from friends and could not have been happier. I thought his prices were reasonable considering all we got- he has plenty of experience in wedding photography in the city and surrounding area plus we were able to get copies of all pictures in color and black and white to print as we wish. Steve photographed the girls pre ceremony and his assistant, Dale photographed the guys. During the ceremony Dale and Steve were nearly invisible, yet produced amazing shots and seemed to capture every moment of the ceremony. After the ceremony I literally just handed them a list of family poses I wanted and they worked to streamline the entire process. Steve rode with us on our trolley after and we got great shots of the wedding party with the skyline, near the bean and with some bridges. Steve pulled us away a few times during cocktail hour to take advantage of the light and we got some great night shots over the river. During the reception they took plenty of action shots and a few posed shots upon request. Overall I was very happy with all of the pictures we received. My parents and in-laws were blown away. Steve is a true professional who brings his wealth of experience to capture every moment of your special day. He is easy to work with and his end product is amazing. His approach is more photo journalistic than old school posed wedding photographer, in fact he won Wedding Photojournalist Association Photographer of the Year. The best part of using Steve as our wedding photographer was that I just knew I could trust him. I didn’t worry at all about our pictures, I knew they’d turn out great. One less thing to stress about on our wedding day was priceless.

Profile Picture Cyndi, 10/18/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve did our engagement photos and they were absolutely amazing. We received nothing but excellent comments on our photos. The first thing everyone asked was who took these photos? He had our proofs back in no time. Very professional and easy to work with! He knows how to capture the perfect shot!

Profile Picture Sarah, 8/6/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve was such a pleasure to work with. My wife and I sat down with him and got to know each other a bit before we hired him, but it didn't take long to realize that Steve was a perfect fit for us. He is very relaxed, funny, and professional. He has a ton of experience with weddings and live action events (sports) so he knows exactly how to capture the moment without being obtrusive. The posed shots that Steve took turned out great. He has a great eye for location, color, and fun shots. One of my favorites was of me in front of an old boat house with the silhouette of my bride posing inside the boat house. Very cool! When we looked at our pictures we were so glad that he captured fun family/friend moments that we missed in the whirlwind that is the wedding day. Bottom line, the photos are amazing and you will be so relaxed with Steve as your photographer. Trying to take a million family pictures right after the wedding can be...stressful, but Steve made the whole process quick, beautiful, and funny. Other bonuses: very quick turnaround so we could share photos on Facebook, CD with all your photos so you can print/share (we have a bunch hanging in the house), and a great value for the price! If I was going to get married again I would pick the same venue, the same bride, and the same photographer.

Profile Picture Zach, 10/6/12, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.3

We were very satisfied with Steve's services. He did a great job of capturing action shots. We appreciated that he took the time to meet with us before our event date on location to get a lay of the land and discuss possible photo ops.

Profile Picture Chelsea, 9/15/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

To me, the most important part of our wedding planning was who was going to capture it.I remember the day we called Steve. A few minutes previously, Michael and I were frustrated. We had been looking for a photographer in Las Vegas, and online, all that we saw were cheesy and boring pictures. Thankfully, a lightbulb went off. I remembered meeting Steve for the first time downtown with Michael next to his work. Once I thought of Steve and his talent and told Michael we knew he HAD to be the one to photograph our wedding.

I carry around Steve’s pictures with me in my day planner to remind me of our most special day of our lives - the comments I get to hear everytime I show them off are usually GASPS instead of comments! People are amazed! They are used to seeing the cookie cutter wedding pictures with no real capture of emotion. Steve instead captured everything, and I mean everything for us, which was our highest priority so we could remember our wedding day in the best way possible!

Yet talent means little unless you can combine it with a stellar personality! During our wedding day, Steve blended effortlessly with everyone. He is incredibly personable and funny (even without sitting on a cactus in the middle of our mountain photoshoot!). We are both incredibly blessed to have Steve as our photographer and our friend, and to have in our hands the most creative, unique, and classically beautiful pictures for our family for generations to come.

Profile Picture User2756299, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I am so happy we chose Steve as our wedding photographer. Leading up to the wedding, I especially appreciated his contacting me to check out the venue before the wedding date. I was reassured that he was someone who took pride in his work and was already considering the photographs and plans weeks before the wedding. I also liked that he had mentioned doing this at our initial meeting. It gave me a peace of mind, really. And I liked how easy it was to pay him the installments via paypal. Would I recommend him to others? YES! YES! YES! We are still talking about our wedding photos today. I carry some of them around on my iPhone in case anyone ever inquires. We get so many compliments on our photos. He is so talented, and I am very impressed that all our photos were taken by just ONE photographer. His prices are extremely reasonable compared to the other photographers I researched. I didn’t even realize how important photos were until I had so many amazing ones from my own wedding. When we have a child, I will contact Steve again to get some family shots too! :-) I LOVE my wedding photos.

Profile Picture Jennifer, 8/4/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.9

Steve photographed our wedding in July and I absolutely love our photos. They quality of them is fantastic. Steve was very easy to work with and had some really creative ideas. He was also very prompt about getting back to me when I had questions or concerns.

The only small complaint that I have is that I feel like a few elements are missing. For example, we don't have any pictures with our grandparents or pictures with me and my bridesmaids individually.. I know that Steve had asked us several times if there were any other shots we wanted and I said no. But my brain was going 1000 miles a minute and I didn't think about that.

If I could do it over, the only thing I would have done differently is to put more time into thinking about who I want photos with and compiling a list. Other than that, I'm absolutely and completely satisfied with our wedding photos. Steve did a fantastic job and I was definitely hire him again and recommend him to a friend.

Profile Picture Amanda, 7/7/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve and his partner rescued me after a previous photographer added last minute fees. I thought I was saving money (she seemed so much cheaper), but BE CAREFUL of last minute add-ons!! Steve Matteo photography was NOT ONLY a completely reasonable price, but you get AMAZING photos out of it too! I cannot recommend Steve Matteo photography more! Great guys, amazing photos, they’re up front and awesome about everything, and the price is totally reasonable (with the addition of having a serious, professional photographer. Not someone who decided to make their hobby into a small business)! You won’t regret it!

Profile Picture Stephanie, 3/30/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve was extremely helpful to my son and his new wife in providing his knowledge and experience to help them throughout the day. My son is in the marines and it was very hard for these newlyweds to put together plans, they are also very young. Steve had them relaxed and at ease throughout the whole day. His photography is excellent. The pictures are something you would see in a bridal magazine. This was a gift from me to my son and his wife on their wedding day. This is something they and their children will cherish for the rest of their lives. I couldn't have provided a better gift for them. The money spent for Steves artistry was worth every penny and then some. I will recommend Steve time and time again. He went beyond the call of duty.

Profile Picture MICHAEL, 3/17/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I can't say enough about the quality of Steve's work. His efforts to make every photo "just right" is impeccable. He has an artistic eye with the ability to make the most of the environment he is working. He is able to scan the room/ venue and determine exactly what will be needed to get the best shot. He will move furniture, lay on the floor, run outside across the street in order to capture the best image. It's not just about taking pictures for Steve, it is about creating an artistic image and capturing the emotion of the moment. Steve takes the time to discuss throughly what you would like to see in your images, where you would like to be photographed, the best way to capture the venue, and a detailed time line for the day to ensure that enough time will be allowed throughout the dayt to ensure you get the best possible photos. In addition, Steve has very reasonable prices for the quality of work you receive. If you select Steve, you will not be dissapointed!

Profile Picture Michele , 11/19/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

I came to appreciate Steve's work when he photographed a few of my fights at the Chicago Golden Gloves. The quality of those photos was unbelievable. When it came time for me to get married, there were a lot of tough decisions to be made, but choosing a photographer was the easiest. On the big day, Steve was punctual and very professional. He took some great photos of the bridal party before the ceremony. We were running late for our reception and Steve was able to work well under the pressure and snap numerous great photos in very little time after the ceremony at our church. At the reception, he took hundreds of photos, but I rarely noticed that he was even there. Nearly all the photos he took that day were wedding magazine quality.

If there was one thing I could tell you about Steve's work, it's that he will not provide you with the same old photos that many of the other photographers take. He takes very unique shots from unique angles and captures great candid moments. In terms of value, I don't think he could be beat.

Profile Picture Dennis, 11/11/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

my wife and I just got married in october and used steve matteo as our photographer. My wifes brother used steve and had a wonderful experience. the pictures were amazing so we decided to have steve shoot our wedding as well. We are beyond satisfied with steve's work and pictures. he was wonderful to work with and really worked well with the other vendors. We would highly recommend steve to anyone and hope to use him in the future for other events.

Renzo and Sara Berardi

Profile Picture Renzo, 10/29/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve did our engagement and wedding photos and we absolutely love how they turned out. We live in Springfield, IL and I was so impressed when he drove out hours early just to scout out the area for ideas. He is very creative and definitely has an eye for photography. I was also very impressed with his communication skills. He is one of the few vendors I could rely on to answer an email within a matter of hours. I would recommend Steve, even if you do not live in the Chicago area. The distance was never a problem! We will call Steve in the future for any photography we may need!

Profile Picture Megan, 9/24/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.8

Steve's laid back yet professional attitude allowed me to be "worry free" the day of my wedding. He's a creative person with an eye for the small stuff! Not to mention, his prices are very affordable for the resourceful bride and groom.

Profile Picture Daniella, 9/17/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Working with Steve Matteo was the best experience. He is so professional, personable, creative, and polite. He gave me exactly what I wanted and had great suggestions. Steve was very flexible, arrived on time, and even scheduled an evening session with us so that we could take pictures in front of Chicago landmarks downtown, after the reception. I booked Steve from out of state as I live in Kansas and he is in Chicago. I found him from a google search and it was such a good thing. I had never met him, but i read his reviews and looked at his photos and they were awesome. I would recommend his services to anyone and everyone. I do plan on using him again for future events.

Profile Picture Cydya, 8/27/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Working with Steve for my wedding was an absolute pleasure!!! He was incredibly professional and creative and our photos turned out spectacular!Steve really captured the relaxed, casual theme of my wedding. We actually received all of our pictures back by the time we were home from the honeymoon, which was a real treat!

Profile Picture Chanelle, 8/14/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My fiancee stumbled upon Steve's website when she was looking for someone to assist us with the photography for our engagements...I can not be more happy...Steve's work is exceptional..the attention to detail is amazing...We hired him to do a couple hour photoshoot in Downtown Chicago, the pics turned out great and we also had him for our Engagement ceremony - and the quality of pics for this event is amazing...Too sad, we are getting married in India, so unfortunately, we wont have him for the wedding...but, I sure would love to have the photos taken for our Wedding by Steve...Keep up the great work Steve and good luck...Also, highly recomended for anyone...

Profile Picture Bijal, 8/6/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We are so pleased with our decision to work with Steve. He was extremely easy to work with, prompt and professional! We wanted a photojournalistic view and Steve did not disappoint us. He captured the beauty of the church as well as candid pictures of our family and friends at the ceremony. He was even calm while taking a huge family picture! Afterward, we traveled around the city of Chicago on a trolley to take pictures and he certainly used the city as his backdrop! The pictures at the reception were amazing as well. Other than asking us a few questions at the beginning of the reception, we didn't even know Steve was there, and that was exactly what we wanted. He was focused on his work without being too assertive, and was friendly and thoughtful at the same time.

We received our discs a few weeks after our wedding. All of the pictures are in both color and in black and white. There are so many incredible pictures! From walking down the aisle to the beautiful pictures at the church to the fun pictures of the packed dance floor, Steve did a wonderful job capturing all of the day's events. We are extremely happy with the pictures and would highly recommend Steve Matteo! Thanks Steve!

Profile Picture Whitney, 7/9/11, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We were lucky to use Steve's services for a pre-wedding photo shoot as well as the ceremony and reception. He suggested some specific locations based on our preferences, let us pick the poses, or posed us when needed, and the results turned out great. During the wedding itself, he captured great angles that both we and our relatives were very impressed with. All of this while managing to stay out of the way of the guests and other vendors.

Overall Steve was remarkably flexible, and took all scheduling slip-ups that were beyond his control in stride. He managed guests politely when they got in the way of some family shots.

The quality of the photos was great, as expected. Where we did have some concerns, he made minor adjustments as needed. As mentioned previously, the number and quality of angles themselves was amazing. We also contracted with him to have an album made, and the layout he created was above our expectations.

We were very satisfied with Steve's work, and truly think we're lucky to have found him for our event.

Profile Picture p, 7/1/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve is an amazing photographer. I could not be more pleased with my wedding photos. They are so stunning and captured the essence of our day. A photographer is pretty much the most important vendor....you want to document one of the most important days of your life....and he helped do that. He really went above and beyond what I could have ever expected. It is just so fun looking through the pictures and reliving that day. My day was such a whirlwind, but I have photos that tell it all. I don't feel like I missed anything.

He was amazing when it came to group shots. He told me straight out to tell my family not to take photos while he is taking shots. It had not even crossed my mind. My family is large and they love to take photos of everything. We only had so much time before our reception. So, it made everything so smooth. He took a fabulous shot of my 20+ family members that were in attendance. We were able to get all the photos we wanted in like 20 minutes. He knew where everyone should stand to make the photo more pleasing to the eye. I couldn't believe his eye, that he could do all that he did and do it as well as he did in such a small time frame.

He absolutely loves shots outside. When we met before the wedding, he asked us where we wanted to take photos. While we walked around the Northwestern campus, he found places that were so close to the church that would create a beautiful background. I never imagined them turning out as beautiful as they did. When we walked to the secret garden at Northwestern, he immediately saw a great photo opportunity in front of rose bushes. He had us stand in front of them. He framed the shot so beautifully. In fact, this is the shot we are using for our photo album cover. I would never have seen that....it was so spontaneous. That is what makes a great photographer. They see things in the moment...he did that perfectly.

Steve was truly amazing. I could not have asked for more….I truly recommend him. You won’t be disappointed with his pictures. He is there for the bride and groom. That is what it is all about.

-Leanne and Derrick
Chicago, Il

Profile Picture Leanne, 6/26/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

It is a pleasure to recommend Mr Matteo as one of the finest photographers. After much research, we came across Steve's site and from the first look, I fell in love with the pictures. He seemed to be focused on making the pictures personable and spontaneous. As an extremely picky bride, making this decision was easy as I could tell that he cares about the story this couple is creating. Meeting him was as easy-going and productive as we expected. Steve listened to our suggestions and concerns and together we made a plan for the big day.

Photographing a big wedding is a challenge on its own, even more a 400 people wedding, with 12 wedding couples, additional flower-girls and junior grooms-men and a very large family. In a new setting, a large Romanian church with very many opinionated people, Steve maintained his calm and focused on us, and even managed to organize everyone. I was so impressed by his composure and the way he contained his hectic situation.

We started in the morning at the apt where the bride and some of the girls were getting ready. We proceeded to the long church ceremony and then the waterfront for some wedding party pictures. Although the weather was labile, Steve was able to capture some breath-taking pictures by the water. We had so much fun in the process and everytime we look at the pictures we relieve the moments. The church ceremony was so well done from different angles, incorporating the decor and catching candid shots of the couple, wedding party and participating members. We did some family portraits as well and they all turned out beautiful. I love the originality, focus, spontaneity and art that Steve incorporated in every picture.

As I am organizing them for a photo-book, I see something different every time I look at these pictures. They are rich in history and emotion. Steve has been extremely patient through-out the day and I was so surprised when he started taking some creative shots at our last pit-stop Ghirardelli, after a very long and strenuous day. They turned out amazing.

Everyone that sees the pictures is complimenting his skill. Thank you Steve so much for everything and we look forward to working with you in the future!!

Profile Picture Veronica, 5/21/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Steve did our engagement and wedding photos. We LOVED ALL of them. They have received so many compliments from family and friends, especially the more artistic photos that are more works of art rather than photos. He brought an easy going style to our photo shoot which helped us relax. The day of the wedding, though we were running behind due to a limo mix up and rain, Steve brought his A game and beyond exceeded our expectations for what a photographer would do. He adapted quickly and maintained a light hearted sense of humor which helped calm me(the bride) down. I truly feel he was one of the reasons why our guests had no idea the chaos that was going on behind the scenes. I cannot thank him enough for his dedication to his job and the beauty he captured through he camera. I would certainly recommend Steve for a wedding.

Profile Picture Gina, 4/25/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography